Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Quay

• 30-04-2012 5:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭

Has turned into one big accident black spot. When the cars are waiting to pull into city square car park there are cars overtaking on the inside and some waiting til the car in front has turned right. The disastrous work that they did extending the car park will lead to many accidents.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Do you mean cars turning into the Car Park from the bridge direction, and not the Tower Hotel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

I think he means further down by the turn into City Square. If it's that section then it's a complete joke and a disaster. Why the city council did it, nobody knows only them. There are still loads of drivers unfamiliar with the section and getting caught out at the very last second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Coming from the bridge at ulster bank there

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Okay so your in a queue waiting to turn right when there is a break in oncoming traffic. So if your not waiting, you go into the inner left lane and continue onwards to the Tower Hotel.

Where is the problem? I'm still not seeing it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

The part that cuts the lanes from 2 to 1 all of a sudden and then reopens to 2 lanes. That small section I guess.

kensutz wrote: »
    The part that cuts the lanes from 2 to 1 all of a sudden and then reopens to 2 lanes. That small section I guess.

Yeah, I mentioned that problem in another thread. I assume its still work in progress and will eventually be a roundabout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Brick Session

The contractor who was doing the work on the quays and the footpath areas around the Mall over the last 12-14 months has gone to the wall recently so all works have come to a stop until the City Council get another contractor to complete the works. This will probably take a considerable amount of time due to tendering etc so expect the quays to be a bit of a traffic nightmare for quite some time yet.

Coming from the bridge towards the Tower Hotel is a bit mental of late with the lanes going from 2 into 1 lane then back to 2 lanes again, entrances to car parks on the left as you come down the quays, traffic lane hopping to avoid right turning traffic etc, lets hope there is no serious accidents.

They were taking their time anyway with the development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

After thhe thread i started about this i posted on the council facebook page, they directed someone else. i got a complete cotton wool answer as to when the rounabout at the gpo would be finished. If they just closed the left lane from the clock tower down it would be safer. As it is i have seen so many near misses. I just avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

I've seen a few near misses in the last few days. The Quay is in an awful state.

Road works on the Quay atm, and further down outside Waterford Crystal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

pretty bad alright, but those of us who've done karting lessons get to the Tower lights on the front row in pole with a hard left onto Lombard and a straight run to Park, chink left, up the hill to Newtown, hard left, into the chicane ...... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭MikeyReilly

I agree it is very messy but is there not signs further back warning of the 2 lanes merging into 1. I find this a problem with many drivers these days that they just don't look at roadsigns. Another example would be the road from Mooncoin to Carrick (I know is not waterford just an example). I drive this road everyday and there is always one idiot who doesn't see the sign for the two lanes merging to one and nearly cause's an accident. Drivers need to be more aware of everthing around them not just the road ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

Roundabout supposed to be past post office , so if you were coming from clock tower to city square you'd have to go around the roundabout and head back up the quay to city square .

That will jelp if we ever get it. I find everyone is in the right hand lane at the clock tower but as soon as some one indicates to turn right at city square theres a squarmish to under take and thats where it gets dangerous. The near miss i had was when i slowed on the right hand lane to let the car in front turn right and the car behind swung into the left then the right lane, just i was moving off. He came inches away from my car then hit the brakes, then hit the poles in the hatched area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

From driving the Quay most days, Ive come to the conclusion that very few people know how to use multiple lanes at all. Constantly people stopping in them,switching over and over for no reason, driving half n half and just causing mayhem in general.
    Single lanes with the 2 roundabouts and no crossovers will work much better when its done. It'll slow the traffic down granted but it'll be safer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭padraig.od

From driving the Quay most days, Ive come to the conclusion that very few people know how to use multiple lanes at all. Constantly people stopping in them,switching over and over for no reason, driving half n half and just causing mayhem in general.
    Single lanes with the 2 roundabouts and no crossovers will work much better when its done. It'll slow the traffic down granted but it'll be safer

Don't talk to me about clowns double parking and blocking entire lanes of traffic at Shaws and at Traceys (or whatever its called now). They drive me mental. They just pull in there and stick on the hazard lights oblivious to the disruption they cause.

padraig.od wrote: »
    Don't talk to me about clowns double parking and blocking entire lanes of traffic at Shaws and at Traceys (or whatever its called now). They drive me mental. They just pull in there and stick on the hazard lights oblivious to the disruption they cause.

Thats cause they have the idea of there being an entire other lane to use. I've lost count how many times Ive have to slam on the brakes because the knob in front suddenly stops and puts on his hazards so, god forbid, the middle aged cow in the passenger seat has to walk more then 5 feet to shaws

i've seen my father just stop behind a car that did that at dooleys and 'sit' on the horn until the car pulled off..... glad i dont live in a flat in town anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

decies wrote: »
    Roundabout supposed to be past post office , so if you were coming from clock tower to city square you'd have to go around the roundabout and head back up the quay to city square .

I beg to differ,you should be in the right hand lane and indicate to turn right into exchange street,there is no need to use roundabout unless of course there is a no right turn sign at the junction of the quay and exchange street,which i think is highly unlikely.

I dont think therell be any crossovers. Think the plan is for a central island the length of the quay except from the roundabouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭rayc

wmpdd3 wrote: »
    i've seen my father just stop behind a car that did that at dooleys and 'sit' on the horn until the car pulled off..... glad i dont live in a flat in town anymore.

That's generally my approach to these idiots too. I never understood why the guards didn't just patrol that section for just a few days solid, giving tickets to everyone who did that. Would have solved the problem years ago.

rayc wrote: »
    That's generally my approach to these idiots too. I never understood why the guards didn't just patrol that section for just a few days solid, giving tickets to everyone who did that. Would have solved the problem years ago.

Theyd make a fortune giving tickets if they set up camp between AIB and Dooleys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Thats pretty ignorant from your father as well in fairness.

Like it or not the road is poorly designed, and people will need to stop in the left hand lane now and again with the current setup down there. There is a bus station there, hotels, dozens of shops and hardly anywhere to let someone out.

While I don't agree with people stopping in the lane, common sense has led me to never use the left lane until I go past the bus station when I'm turning left over the bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭padraig.od

hardybuck wrote: »
    Thats pretty ignorant from your father as well in fairness.

Like it or not the road is poorly designed, and people will need to stop in the left hand lane now and again with the current setup down there. There is a bus station there, hotels, dozens of shops and hardly anywhere to let someone out.

While I don't agree with people stopping in the lane, common sense has led me to never use the left lane until I go past the bus station when I'm turning left over the bridge.

Why can't they turn onto Vulcan st and leave the person out? Or drive up O'Connell st. and leave the person out? Rather than block an entire lane of traffic on one of the busiest roads in the city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Why can't they turn onto Vulcan st and leave the person out? Or drive up O'Connell st. and leave the person out? Rather than block an entire lane of traffic on one of the busiest roads in the city?

2 reasons Padraig:
    1. ignorance
    2. no courtesy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Sometimes possible, but if you take the hotels and the bus station into account, you're often going to have people with bags and suitcases, as well as old people etc. who will ideally have a closer drop off point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

hardybuck wrote: »
    Sometimes possible, but if you take the hotels and the bus station into account, you're often going to have people with bags and suitcases, as well as old people etc. who will ideally have a closer drop off point.

Yeah, i wouldnt mind tourist buses but 99% of time, its some lad who nipped in to pay his insurance, into shop etc. If the person is capable of walking and its not the middle of the night, turning up Vulcan street/O'Connell st. should be fine, its only a small extra few metres to the pedestrian crossing.

outside dooleys there's usually one car parked a foot from the zebra crossing, on yellow lines. not great but not blocking the road. my father loses the plot when another car stops beside this car blocking the lane.

i agree the bus station is a nightmare, the car parks either side are €5 per exit so you cant even go in for 20 mins. train station is worse i always get picked up at jury's instead of waiting 20 mins to get onto the roundabout.

what company was doing the work on the roundabout?

Theres always cars outside shaws aswell making it a complete nightmare to see if youre pulling out from gladstone street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Just to add to the issues the OP refers to, the entrance to the car park by the clock tower requires one to turn across two lanes of oncoming traffic from the bridge. I have never found that to be a problem if people keep their wits about them and exploit a gap. However, once turned into the ticket machine lane one finds the machine and barrier installed on the outside of the tight access bend. I drive a large car, and I can't get in close enough to the machine without having to get out to get a ticket. The bend radius is less than the length of my car! That means if there are two others following me in, the last one is likely to have his ass sticking out into the carriageway.

So why couldn't the corpo have put the barrier and ticket machine further into the car park on a straight stretch? For God's sake it would only cost them a couple of parking bays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

rayc wrote: »
    I never understood why the guards didn't just patrol that section for just a few days solid, giving tickets to everyone who did that.

A few reasons i've been told:

A: The torrent of abuse they get ("Go catch proper criminals")
    B: Regardless of how long they stay there, the second they leave someone will pull in
    C: People will complain that the Guards do nothing but issue tickets

As for the roadworks, it's patience that causes accidents, or lack thereof. God forbid you'd be held up 10-15 seconds getting to that important place you have to go... I've a simple solution; close the left hand lane 20 meters back, then people will have no choice but to wait for the car turning right to turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

with the newish taxi renk outside aib i see more taxis just stopping in the middle of the road and u turning across the 2 lanes into their rank , wont be long before theres a big smash......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭jayboi

Hoffmans wrote: »
    with the newish taxi renk outside aib i see more taxis just stopping in the middle of the road and u turning across the 2 lanes into their rank , wont be long before theres a big smash......
    The town seems to be held to ransom by taxis everywhere i look theres a taxi rank nearly always with more cars then it was designed for. its like a couple of hundred taxi drivers ganged up on the town and said "we are way more taxis than you need, cater for us"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

The Quay is nothing short of a disaster. I always make sure now that I'm in the right hand lane at the traffic lights at the Clock Tower, but then you can get caught behind someone turning into City Square. If you're lucky you'll have a chance to undertake them, if not you're sat there. I got caught in the left hand lane not so long ago, and had to wait to pull out into the right hand lane. I clearly had my indicator on, was waiting on a break in traffic to pull into the right hand lane, as were a few cars behind me. I saw my chance and had just started to pull out when the twat behind me shot out into the lane before me, don't know how he didn't go into me. I know the Quay well, it's the thoughts of anyone who's just passing through, not having a clue what's going on. Going in the other direction is a pure nightmare, once you get to Dooley's up until the bridge, you're avoiding the parked cars and buses, while trying not to cut up someone in the right hand lane. And don't get me started on the people who won't walk a few extra feet to cross safely at a crossing, and walk out in the middle of the traffic, kids and all:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

73Cat wrote: »
    And don't get me started on the people who won't walk a few extra feet to cross safely at a crossing, and walk out in the middle of the traffic, kids and all:mad:

I saw a woman yesterday evening, trying to cross right by the GPO, standing in the middle of what was basically a maelstrom of traffic, on the phone :eek:

A woman was killed right at that spot about a year ago, and there's a perfecty good crossing just a wee bit further down. Why the fcuk don't they use it?

3 cars parked in the 'roundabout' at the gpo today.

friend from cork just laughs at our quay, ' you wouldn't get away with crap like that in cork'. he just cant understand why the cops dont sort it.

i miss shopping in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭GrandBlaa

Just saw a car stop opposite the Grandville in the left lane before the lights at the clock tower, hazard lights on for a good 5 minutes while they let people out and got their luggage.

Caused chaos, what with cars trying to undercut/overtake and reshuffle for the lights. So dangerous!

I absolutely hate The Quay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 pixieprinny

i agree the bus station is a nightmare, the car parks either side are €5 per exit so you cant even go in for 20 mins. train station is worse i always get picked up at jury's instead of waiting 20 mins to get onto the roundabout.

what company was doing the work on the roundabout?

I have to agree with ya the train station roundabout is a joke. People pulling passed the white line, blocking the entrance to the train station and then waving at ya happily as they pull out infront of ya, because you have no other option then to slow down to a crawl or stop to leave them out. Assholes.

People walking across the Quay is a joke. Plenty of pedestrian crossings on it.

As anyone notice the increasing number of pulling into the turn right box at the end of bunkers hill when the light from bunker hill to bath street is red.

Was behind a learner drive the other day and this woman pulls all the way down and into the box. The poor learner smashed on the brakes, say he thought she wasn't going to stop. And the other day, spotted another person doing it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

I agree it is very messy but is there not signs further back warning of the 2 lanes merging into 1. I find this a problem with many drivers these days that they just don't look at roadsigns. Another example would be the road from Mooncoin to Carrick (I know is not waterford just an example). I drive this road everyday and there is always one idiot who doesn't see the sign for the two lanes merging to one and nearly cause's an accident. Drivers need to be more aware of everthing around them not just the road ahead.

In fairness while some of that behaviour on the Carrick road might be down to people not looking at the road signs, I find that more often than not it's down to people trying to "beat the traffic", racing to the front so they don't get stuck behind anybody. I drive a motorbike so it's not like i take up as much road as a car and I've lost count of the number of times even i've had to swerve in towards the hard shoulder to avoid being ploughed out of it by someone racing up beside me even after the broken white line has disappeared.
    decies wrote: »

Yeah the bit of work that was being done the last time I was on the Quay (about 2 weeks ago) seems to point to the roundabout being down further from the turn to city square.
    I have to agree with ya the train station roundabout is a joke. People pulling passed the white line, blocking the entrance to the train station and then waving at ya happily as they pull out infront of ya, because you have no other option then to slow down to a crawl or stop to leave them out. Assholes.

People walking across the Quay is a joke. Plenty of pedestrian crossings on it.

As anyone notice the increasing number of pulling into the turn right box at the end of bunkers hill when the light from bunker hill to bath street is red.

Was behind a learner drive the other day and this woman pulls all the way down and into the box. The poor learner smashed on the brakes, say he thought she wasn't going to stop. And the other day, spotted another person doing it....

That drives me bonkers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭messynessie

What drives me insane is approaching the bridge from the Newrath road side, I'm in the lane for the Quay and someone else is in the lane for Bridge street and when we get around the roundabout they cut in right in front of me to go into the Quay lane on the bridge. Almost every time I've come that way it happens, pure ignorance not reading the multitude of signs or thinking they will skip the line of traffic and hop in in front of me. Wouldn't wanna have bad brakes or lose concentration going around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

That drives me bonkers!!

Lads, ye need to get over yereselves or ye'll drop dead from stress.

It's hard to get out of that train station, and mostly you move forward about a foot at a time, braking because someone coming over the bridge is bombing straight at you at 45 mph. It's madness there.

They should just put traffic lights there, now that the old N25 is no longer the only route through the city. They can leave the left-slip lane in place for traffic coming out of the city going to the M9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Still and all, inconveniences aside, it's a handy enough town to drive through if you're chilled about it. 20 mins from one end to the other in most cases, 10 from Williamstown to the bridge on a quiet day. Try driving somewhere like Palermo if you want real stress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Or "one way Wexford"

What drives me insane is approaching the bridge from the Newrath road side, I'm in the lane for the Quay and someone else is in the lane for Bridge street and when we get around the roundabout they cut in right in front of me to go into the Quay lane on the bridge. Almost every time I've come that way it happens, pure ignorance not reading the multitude of signs or thinking they will skip the line of traffic and hop in in front of me. Wouldn't wanna have bad brakes or lose concentration going around!

Totally agree, but there's a sign missing. There used to be a big one just across from swan plastics, showing which lane you should be in and saying 'get into lane'. But when they renamed the roads they never replaced it. Also the road markings on the lanes before the pedestrian crossing is completely gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 pixieprinny

fricatus wrote: »

It's hard to get out of that train station, and mostly you move forward about a foot at a time, braking because someone coming over the bridge is bombing straight at you at 45 mph. It's madness there.

They should just put traffic lights there, now that the old N25 is no longer the only route through the city. They can leave the left-slip lane in place for traffic coming out of the city going to the M9.

We're talking about people coming from sallypark that block the entrance to the train station. Not getting out of the train station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

fricatus wrote: »

Ah yeah sure I forgot it's perfectly legal and safe to stop on a roundabout and block traffic to allow other road users, who don't understand what white lines represent, to proceed onto the roundabout :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Bards

or people who are in the right hand lane with a comnplete view to their right (traffic comming from Waterford) to edge over the white line and blocking those in the left lane from seeing past them, which then in turn forces those in the left lane out over their white line thus blocking the entrance to the train station:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭spankmemunkey

I agree, worst decision every made, this has made this area a bottle neck, traffic gets piled up as people are turning right to go into City Square Parking, then they try to go into the outside lane to in front of the traffic, its a nightmare and the person who drew those plans should be repromanded,

By the way have any of you that have complained about this here actually contacted Waterford City Council?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

I agree, worst decision every made, this has made this area a bottle neck, traffic gets piled up as people are turning right to go into City Square Parking, then they try to go into the outside lane to in front of the traffic, its a nightmare and the person who drew those plans should be repromanded,

By the way have any of you that have complained about this here actually contacted Waterford City Council?

Have you? And could you detail how you did please.