Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hares

• 29-04-2012 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭

Does anyone know the real reason for not shooting hares?
    Something about fairies i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shooting101

i think its september

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

they can be shot within their season which is 26th September to 28th February using a shotgun only.

People dont shoot them though because their meet is real dark and most people dont like the taste of it.
    Also their numbers are quiet low in certain areas so people dont shoot them.

And finally
    In Irish folklore, the hare is often associated with Sidh (Fairy) or other pagan elements. In these stories characters who harm hares often suffer dreadful consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Until they start eating fowl or a farmer asks me too shoot them, I leave them alone . Lovely looking animal.

Garv is spot on as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Longfellow

A couple of lads from the gunclub shot a hare on da Father's land. He told them if he ever saw them at that craic again he would hang them from meat hooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

And finally[/QUOTE]
    we aint go ahunting for fear of little men,wee folk,small folk trooping all together,green jackets red caps with white owl feathers:D:D:D sorry couldnt resist:):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

The reasons I wouldnt shoot them
    1) Not many people eat them
    2) They are harmless and dont do the same damage as rabbits
    3) They are often left alone in areas out of respect to coursing clubs . . another mans sport etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

on serious note i never shoot them either ,they are a magnificent animal,and outa respect to coursing men,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

I'll answer your question best I can. Old folks used to say its bad luck to shoot a hare as if you wound them they will cry exactly like a baby and yes its true they do sound exactly like a baby crying if they get injured. Many years ago when God was a gossin all farmers would kill hares found among the cattle on May Day in the belief that they were witches in disguise :p . Bad luck for a hare to cross your path as its a sign of disaster. They are bad luck to kill in every culture a far as i know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

4200fps, have to disagree with you there. Hare is very highly valued game meat in north western Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

4200fps wrote: »
    I'll answer your question best I can. Old folks used to say its bad luck to shoot a hare as if you wound them they will cry exactly like a baby and yes its true they do sound exactly like a baby crying if they get injured. Many years ago when God was a gossin all farmers would kill hares found among the cattle on May Day in the belief that they were witches in disguise :p . Bad luck for a hare to cross your path as its a sign of disaster. They are bad luck to kill in every culture a far as i know.

Jesus you just reminded me of the old tales I used to hear back when I were a young lad :D !! That story about hares crying like a baby used to send shivers down my spine and still does !! . Would never ever shoot one.

Ah those stories, hare crossing your path, stray sod, :p

4200fps, have to disagree with you there. Hare is very highly valued game meat in north western Europe.
    You most definitely could be right but that's what i was told when i was younger

Jesus you just reminded me of the old tales I used to hear back when I were a young lad :D !! That story about hares crying like a baby used to send shivers down my spine and still does !! . Would never ever shoot one.

Ah those stories, hare crossing your path, stray sod, :p
    There's loads of them like if you dream of them its bad omen or death on the way. If a hare crossed your path, a disastrous journey or ill luck lies ahead of you. To counteract this, spit over your left shoulder and say "Hare before, trouble behind. Change ye, Cross, and free me." There will be a fire if a hare runs past your home. If an old hare ran across the path of a pregnant woman, the child would be born with a harelip unless the woman quickly made a tear in her undergarments.Its nearly all pure bull but about the hare crying like a baby if it gets hurt/injured that is 100% true and about your stray sod turn your sweater inside out :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭wetdogsmell

the were WARE HARES in irish mytholigy, i'd never shoot one, they're more sport with dogs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Couldnt be arsed because i wont eat it and iv only seen one round my spots so no damage being done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

They do big damage if they get into newly planted forestry. A rabbit will just damage 1 or 2 trees together but a hare will take a bite out of each tree in the line.
    I cooked one in a casserole once, one of the nicest bits of meat I've ever had.
    Ive being asked not to shoot them before for folklore reasons, otherwise if one crossed my path... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Don't think I would go out of my way to look for one but if he crossed my path that is a different story, just one to taste and take it from there:p

Our land is full of hares but never noticed any damage they would have caused. There a nice animal.

garv123 wrote: »
    they can be shot within their season which is 26th September to 28th February using a shotgun only.

Shotgun only? is this true? surely one could get a cleaner kill with a rifle.:confused::confused:

Yeah its written somewhere in the act if you feel like looking for it.

how wouldnt a shotgun give a clean kill?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

I'd say it's more for sporting reasons, to give a chance while they're running away after being flushed. It'd be too easy to shoot them at range with a rifle.

Yeah its written somewhere in the act if you feel like looking for it.

how wouldnt a shotgun give a clean kill?:confused:

You can get a clean kill with a shotgun but I said a cleaner kill with a rifle.
    At least I can get a cleaner kill with the rifle. Running target with shotgun you can wound or miss easier then a standing target with a rifle this is what I think anyway. But if the law states only shotgun then only shotgun it is.

The law makes no distinction between shooting them with a rifle or a shotgun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

4200fps wrote: »
    The law makes no distinction between shooting them with a rifle or a shotgun
    It does lad, it has been posted here a few times in the past and the wording does specify shotgun only

You could be right lad. I couldn't find it anywhere.

they can be shot with a rilfe under a section 42 if the section 42 specifies it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

I shot one once when I was young and foolish,my uncle gave me the beating of my life and made me carry it about 2 miles, then made me bring it back the 2 miles to where I shot it and leave it there and say a prayer.If I was with someone and they shot one I'd never go shooting with them again,I'd have no problem with a dog chasing and killing one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Very tasty meat, it would give venison a run for its money, I have shot them before and they do sound like a baby, don't shoot them any more. As for dogs, if bullet or shot may not do the trick then me thinks teeth are not the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I shot one once,a good while back, ate it, liked it, but felt like ****e after it. I wouldn't shoot another one and would be well pissed off if I was with someone who did. I'll leave them be for as long as I'm still fit to shoot. It just doesn't feel right to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Very tasty meat, it would give venison a run for its money, .

Yeah - had it as part of hunters grill a few years back along with venison, wild duck and wild boar sausages. I found it tasy enough.

PS: Is Jugged Hare a Welsh dish??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Yeah - had it as part of hunters grill a few years back along with venison, wild duck and wild boar sausages. I found it tasy enough.

PS: Is Jugged Hare a Welsh dish??
    Jugging is a English term for 'Civet' a French game stew cooked in a sealed earthenware dish or 'Jug'. Meats were cooked in a stong red wine thickend with the animals blood. Over the years some have come to think the term 'jugging' is to do with the use of wine but in fact it is to do with the cooking container.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

marlin vs wrote: »
    I shot one once when I was young and foolish,my uncle gave me the beating of my life and made me carry it about 2 miles, then made me bring it back the 2 miles to where I shot it and leave it there and say a prayer.If I was with someone and they shot one I'd never go shooting with them again,I'd have no problem with a dog chasing and killing one.

What's the difference ? Except that the hare killed with a shotgun will have died a lot quicker than the one chased by a dog ?

If religion and folklore was a reason than nobody should be shooting red deer at all since Christ manifested himself through a red stag to St Hubertus if the legend can be believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

What's the difference ? Except that the hare killed with a shotgun will have died a lot quicker than the one chased by a dog ?

If religion and folklore was a reason than nobody should be shooting red deer at all since Christ manifested himself through a red stag to St Hubertus if the legend can be believed.
    No difference, it's up to the individual whether they kill a hare or not,although i'm licenced to shoot them with a shotgun I wouldn't, and wouldn't hunt with someone that would i'm probably old fashioned,I actually love to see the dog setting on them and giving a Tallo hoo! when they bust out of their form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

marlin vs wrote: »
    I actually love to see the dog setting on them and giving a Tallo hoo! when they bust out of their form.

I've grown to be the same. It fills the gaps between birds & nice to see game - especially when they sit tight & you can see them in the grass.
    Like so:

2694a4f4.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I agree with Marlin on this one I would not shoot one and I would never like to see one shot. However there is nothing like a good hunt of a hare with a few terriers and beagles. Love to get a good run of one when the foxes are not playing ball with our assorted crew of mongrels. We have never and doubt we ever will catch one and I would not like to see one being caught because for us it is all about the hunt and watching the dogs give chase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

I don't shoot them myself but hope to fly my hawk at a few this coming season.I don't mind if she catches one or not but they will be so evenly matched the flights will be great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Its the old can we shoot hares with a rifle again!! IF I remember correctly the legislation say basicly you can only shoot birds and vermin with a shotgun not protected mamals except for the poor old hare!!. It also says that you can only shoot protected mamals with a rifle under licence, ie deer licence, so if the nwps gave out hare licences, which they don't you could legally shoot one with a rifle, but since you can't get a licence for hares they can only be shot with a shotgun in season.Typicaly bloody Irish law if you ask me, totally confused!!:D

It would of course also be unsporting to shoot hares with rifles as they just sit there and try to hide!!