Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Personal Trainer / S&C / Fitness Coach

• 26-04-2012 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

I'm looking for recommendations for a personal trainer / s&c coach or somebody else who could help me design a fitness and strength programme that would benefit my soccer game.

In my gym when I was getting my assessment done I mentioned this to the instructor. At the time I didn't know much better and just did what he told me. After doing some research i know now that the programme wasn't the best or sports specific.

I had a shocker of a season this season where my strength and fitness left a lot to be desired despite my best efforts. I want to get a good foundation for next season.

I'm in Dublin and I travel all over the city due to work so location of a trainer is not a problem.

Anybody any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Brian87

Yourfitness.ie they are located in deansgrange and ive used them!unbelivabele service and make everything so simple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 local_lad

Brian87 wrote: »
    Yourfitness.ie they are located in deansgrange and ive used them!unbelivabele service and make everything so simple!

thanks, i will check them out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

http://functionaltraining.ie/

give these boys a shout

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    http://functionaltraining.ie/

give these boys a shout

FTI are awesome dudes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

befitforlife in sandyford are great, run by a ex pro soccer player. Lots of athleets (as well as us fatties) in there training. Its hardcore, so beware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

define hardcore

They have a prowler.

Hanley wrote: »
    define hardcore

They have a prowler.

Still don't have my impressed face on.

Just your fitness snob one? :D:D

A prowler does not the hardcore gym make.

I just wanted a run down from the previous poster what makes the gym hardcore.

I don't like the way that word is bandied around.

A prowler does not the hardcore gym make.

I just wanted a run down from the previous poster what makes the gym hardcore.

I don't like the way that word is bandied around.

Complete sales video but looks pretty hardcore

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3-kGM3sxq4U

What would you define hardcore as?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Da Za

I am hard core to the glutinous Maximus

Da Za wrote: »
    I am hard core to the glutinous Maximus

you're definitely guilty of one of the 7 deadly sins.
    Gluttony!

it looks very decent.

I recognise the Maher fella from the articles he writes in the Indo Health Section on Tuesdays.

I dont really have a definition of hardcore, Im just interested in what other people mean when they use the word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭UL_heart_throb

i think that clip is excellent and went to check the website, which unfortunately seems to have been designed by a Nigerian 419 scammer, but it's extremely expensive. 267 a month (or 216 for signing up for 6).

not sure what the rules on this forum are for discussing pricing but it's a pity it's so expensive (not questioning value currently)

i think that clip is excellent and went to check the website, which unfortunately seems to have been designed by a Nigerian 419 scammer, but it's extremely expensive. 267 a month (or 216 for signing up for 6).

not sure what the rules on this forum are for discussing pricing but it's a pity it's so expensive (not questioning value currently)

The site is SEO optimised. It looks f*cking repulsive but it's the standard fitness website now a days. Great for getting google hits and bodies in.

If people are paying the price they must value it. OR they price it high online so that when you go in and haggle you feel great for getting a deal. I've no idea tbh.

If it's small group PT as well multiple times per week it's not the worst either.

pretty outrageous pricing alright.
    I pay 1/3 of that for 3 coached sessions per week.

Hardcore is
    1. 4-5 sessions a week of 1 hour and 15 minutes.
    2. Body fat measurement weekly.
    3. Training is all in supersets with minimal rest.
    4. Prowler and strongman training.
    5. 6:15 AM early class.
    6. Custom Diet plan and supplements plan.
    7. Accountability
    8. Emphasis in compound exercises like squats, chins, bench press and dead lift.

There are clients in there that are pro bodybuilders and athleets. There are clients that have lost half their bodyweight in a year. My own personal results are rapid and astonishing. I am still absoutly wrecked by the training as they keep changing the tempo and rest periods of the sessions.

Its expensive because its good. If you want cheap go somewhere cheap there are plenty about, most of the people there have been long term members of cheaper gyms and achieved little results, its not for everyone.

I have no affiliation with this place except my personal recommendation.

Hardcore is
    7. Accountability
    8. Emphasis in compound exercises like squats, chins, bench press and dead lift.

There are clients in there that are pro bodybuilders and athleets. There are clients that have lost half their bodyweight in a year. My own personal results are rapid and astonishing. I am still absoutly wrecked by the training as they keep changing the tempo and rest periods of the sessions.

Its expensive because its good. If you want cheap go somewhere cheap there are plenty about, most of the people there have been long term members of cheaper gyms and achieved little results, its not for everyone.

I agree with everything you're saying there and am glad you clarified :)

...buuuuuuuuut, pro bodybuilders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

Hardcore is
    7. Accountability

That aint hardcore, thats just solid training.;)

Well poorly chosen words,,competitive bodybuilders and fitness chaps. I am not clear on the exact terminology all I know is there are some seriously big dudes there, skinny dudes, fat dudes, fit dudes, tri-athleets, marathon runners, and all the same in women.

I have been to other boot camps and Gyms this is the hardest training with the most intensive diet control I have seen (I rowed in college and that training was not as hard). The trainers ride you like you wouldn't believe. I have vomited on one occasion after strongman training. Maybe you guys are fitter and stronger than me, but I think the average person looking to get in shape would find it hardcore. Nowhere else I have been measures you progress and thoroughly and frequently.

xgtdec wrote: »
    That aint hardcore, thats just solid training.;)

Haha in fairness, it's more solid than 90% of people are doing and it's something he should be commended for!
    Well poorly chosen words,,competitive bodybuilders and fitness chaps. I am not clear on the exact terminology all I know is there are some seriously big dudes there, skinny dudes, fat dudes, fit dudes, tri-athleets, marathon runners, and all the same in women.

There's skinny dudes and fat dudes in women?! What the hell sort of gym are you going to!??!!??! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭diegowhite

Hardcore is
    7. Accountability

I like a couple of your hardcore points and I think the 6.15am start is the reason the membership is so pricey, you'd have to be paying serious cash to get me up that early:)

BUT how does this relate to what the original guy who wants to get the best fitness and strength training for his sport? They promote minimal rest and in the video you can see a lot of sloppy form. Oh and after pounding out a lot of squats and lower body lifts, what's the reason to get them doing farmers walk on concrete to pound the legs some more.

A guy who wants to get better at football needs to build leg strength, explosiveness, balance, have endurance for 45min halves, be able to change direction fast and in all training minimise the chance of injury. Seems like these guys are more focussed on fat loss and burning calories. I know this is an american video and more american football focussed and some moves don't apply but I would think this way more 'hardcore' and appropriate to training for sports:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

Jesus no i wouldnt diss it at all...training is training and to be encouraged in all its shapes and forms!!!

But i have to agree with inspector...hardcore is a word used all too easy.....almost hardcore easy if you will!!

My recommendation seem to use the Charles Poliquin method, I dont know exactly what that is but it seem focused on training people for sport. I think its enough for me to give the recommendation, lets leave the terminology there, I bow to your guys superior knowledge of this topic. I lost 2 stone in 2 months, lost 5% bodyfat and gained half a stone of lean muscle. I am not trying to ram it down anyones throat, I like it and the people there that play sports say it helps them a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

My recommendation seem to use the Charles Poliquin method, I dont know exactly what that is but it seem focused on training people for sport. I think its enough for me to give the recommendation, lets leave the terminology there, I bow to your guys superior knowledge of this topic. I lost 2 stone in 2 months, lost 5% bodyfat and gained half a stone of lean muscle. I am not trying to ram it down anyones throat, I like it and the people there that play sports say it helps them a lot.
    Good man and it throws up another option for the op.

The site is SEO optimised.

The frontend shouldn't be affected by SEO, Search engine robots are programmes that scan webpages for words and links. Whether you highlight text in yellow or have exclamation points makes no difference to SEO

What are you paying for though? The facility being in sandyford area? Having a morning class? the equipment.

Seems to me you're paying for someone to encourage you, which i guess is the basis of personal training. how do they personalise the product? do you get mcuh individual technical instruction.

i'd pay 50 quid an hour for someone to show me something complex, not scream in my ear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

What are you paying for though? The facility being in sandyford area? Having a morning class? the equipment.

Seems to me you're paying for someone to encourage you, which i guess is the basis of personal training. how do they personalise the product? do you get mcuh individual technical instruction.

i'd pay 50 quid an hour for someone to show me something complex, not scream in my ear.
    Value is based on perception. So if he perceives he's getting value, who cares? Better question, why do you care? Leave him off.

Based on experience, cheap prices get cheap customers. Last year I gave a talk to a bunch of soccer coaches for free and ran some training sessions for them at a reduced "mates rate". When I switched to my regular rate (with fair warning), they dropped me for being too expensive, then replaced me with someone just as expensive! You give someone something for cheap and they value it as cheap and give you commitment to match. The reverse also applies.

It shouldn't, but it does.

What are you paying for though? The facility being in sandyford area? Having a morning class? the equipment

I pay for results, and honestly I would pay double. The results are a combination of factors and each is as important as the others for me.

What are you paying for though? The facility being in sandyford area? Having a morning class? the equipment

I pay for results, and honestly I would pay double. The results are a combination of factors and each is as important as the others for me.

If people are happy to pay the price well then it's at the right price, both parties are happy so it's cool.

But I think the original author would be better spending his cash on something else that actually is aiming to give him the results he wants ie. improved performance he never said he wanted to lose fat and do some general fitness bootcamp at 6am.

Everyone is entitled to give their recommendation based on their experiences but it seems like bootcamp training is being given as the answer to everyone's specific fitness or body goals on here. When it's nothing more than a way to get people moving, burn energy, build a little bit of muscle and maybe make friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

http://www.elitetraining.ie/index.html

This place may also be an option for the OP. It is very similar to the place fitzgeme suggested, and is also "hardcore" ;)
    It is based in Glenageary and I think it is €100 per month.

All the training and diet in tailored to the specific clients needs and a bodysig is performed as often as you like. I know a guy who was a member for a while who was a basketball player and he got given a routine designed to improve his jump and reach. So they could easily draw up a preogramme for a footballer.
    They also run strongman and bootcamp classes that non members can pay for.

I am not a member here but know a few of the lads who are and I have also done a few of the strongman sessions, which I found very tiring and rewarding.
    Hope this helps :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Amaru KGB

Can someone recommend a personal trainer in Cork preferably near Ballincollig?

Good to see the PT's rise to the bait and jump down anyone's throat who questions the value of the product they offer. So essentially, the quality of the product doesn't change when you charge different amounts for it, but people's perception of its value and quality does. So there is a niche market for people wanting to spend over 3k on the gym a year and there is a market for people that want to spend 300 on the gym on the year. Some people are going for the 3k market.

I just don't think it's sustainable or even healthy to rely on a PT as a motivator to improve your fitness. Are you going to be a client for the next 50 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Good to see the PT's rise to the bait and jump down anyone's throat who questions the value of the product they offer. So essentially, the quality of the product doesn't change when you charge different amounts for it, but people's perception of its value and quality does. So there is a niche market for people wanting to spend over 3k on the gym a year and there is a market for people that want to spend 300 on the gym on the year. Some people are going for the 3k market.

I just don't think it's sustainable or even healthy to rely on a PT as a motivator to improve your fitness. Are you going to be a client for the next 50 years?

Although I look at the price quoted for the bootcamp and think it's a CRAZY amount of money....you need to put it into perspective.

I have plenty of friends who go out 1-2 a week and spend at least 50+euro on a night out. Therefore, even if they only head out one night a week thats 200euro a month..if I was gonna make a choice Id rather pay 200 on something that'll help my health rather than deteriorate it. And another fact that comes into mind is that there are quite a few people who hire a PT for an hour a week at 50quid per session..works out at 200 a month for 4 sessions. 200 a month sounds excessive but if it's what your into I say fair play!!!

So I think you fundamentally misunderstand some of the psychology behind value and quality, or perhaps are not aware of it. "Value" is perception. BMWs probably don't cost much more to produce than the equivalent sized Skoda, but people perceive greater value in the BMW badge- reliability, image, performance. This perception often runs contrary to the hard evidence. In other words, if people followed your thinking, everyone would buy the cheapest car available. They don't, because they equate value and quality with price. The guy who buys the €80,000 car will never say "what a frickin waste of money that was".

Likewise, if two trainers offer the very same package, side by side, but with a 50% price difference, there is hard evidence to suggest that the cheaper guy may initially get more clients, but that they will be less likely to stick with his programmes, and that the more expensive guy will achieve better results purely on the basis of having a greater price. We, and by we I mean huming beans, will work harder for the expensive guy so as to avoid the cognitive dissonance associated with handing over money and receiving no value in return.

Thanks for the primer on consumer psychology, it was very helpful in understanding the rationale behind snake oil pedlars.

Do people feel the same about buying milk? If i stocked avonmore in my local store and sold it for 2 euro a litre and then i stocked a brand called Excelsior and sold it in real glass bottles with a really nice label and charged 4 euro for it, would people presume the Excelsior is actually superior and subsequently elitists would buy it?

Some what a kin to Haagan daas?

Thanks for the primer on consumer psychology, it was very helpful in understanding the rationale behind snake oil pedlars.

Do people feel the same about buying milk? If i stocked avonmore in my local store and sold it for 2 euro a litre and then i stocked a brand called Excelsior and sold it in real glass bottles with a really nice label and charged 4 euro for it, would people presume the Excelsior is actually superior and subsequently elitists would buy it?

4cac706f3b1be.jpg

In essence, you're right, though I do dislike your tone.

Snake Oil salesmen use the same rationale as any other marketer- from your local shop to Apple. The difference is that they generally have a false or non-existent product to sell. That's not what's happening here.

Most consumer products and services have the same message. "This product/service will improve your quality of life". They're not selling something that has a definitive value, like gold or coal, they're selling something that you perceive to be useful or necessary.

Your milk analogy already exists. There's a shop beside our gym that sells generic brand milk at €1 per 2 litre as, presumably, a loss leader for their other business. This happens everywhere but Avonmore aren't going out of business despite their milk costing up to 100% more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

Yea exactly as it is. It's known as the price/quality heuristic. Why do you think people still buy avenmore and premier dairies when they can get exactly the same product in the guise of an own band product for half the price? Answer, percieved quality because of price.

Anyway I didn't mean to cause a consumer psychology tangent. I just wanted to hear the other posters rationale for doing what he does. He barged into the thread exclaiming his training is the best and is worth lots of money, so I felt entitled to ask him to substantiate his claim. Other than it works for him right now, I don't think there was anything particularly awesome about the bootcamp service to warrant the prices they seek (imo).

I am in no way trying to imply he is gullible for paying these prices, the bootcamp gym are ripping him off nor the fitness experience isn't excellent. I am totally in favour of people getting a positive training experience, of people making a successful business and people getting healthier.

I just wanted to hear from the horses mouth why he likes the taste of that expensive water, and I didn't really need some white knight advocating for him.

I think your memory if this thread is being coloured by your pwned tinted spectacles.

What actually happened is that you swooped in with some half baked notion of fitness snobbery, attempted to mock the poster and then the professionals who subsequently responded, and it failed miserably.

Now if you'd like, I can jump in as a white knight for you when people begin attacking you for being so arrogant, which they should. Just shine a giant dome shaped head into the sky and I'll be there as soon as I can.

Sorry there UL heart throb I didn't realise giving a recommendation on a thread asking for recommendations was barging into the thread.

I feel that I get value for money. It is more than a boot camp, the boot camp portion is only the exercise part. I think that the OP would benefit greatly in his sport with this type of training. I also think that it will give me the knowledge and skills to carry a healthy lifestyle forward into my life.

I am sorry that the fees offend you so. I know I can get it cheaper but having tried other cheaper options I dont think its comparing apples with apples. This is IMHO a superior service which demands superior fees. I have had to make sacrifices in other aspects of my life to afford it, but thats a price I am willing to pay. As I said it would not be for everyone.

It always amused me that people will accept price and quality difference in most consumer products: cars, clothes, food, holidays, houses etc. Mostly its those selling a cheaper product that cannot fathom 1:)How somebody can provide a better service than them 2:) get clients to pay extra for this better service. I despise paying for low quality services, I think thats the real ripoff.

I just wanted to give the recommendation, why do I keep getting drawn into defending myself, and what is the ire that some have for this?

I dont buy bottled water, I fill from the tap

I don't see any problem with fitzgeme paying the price he does. He gets his value for money so why does anyone else care about it, maybe someone else viewing this can afford that price and will go for it too and what harm, it's there money. Others with less cash have plenty of other options.

The only thing I would disagree with is fitzgeme recommending this for anyone else other than someone who want's to lose fat or have 'general' fitness. Their training programs are general and someone who truly wants to get better at their sport should look for a sport specific program which measures and improves their performance in the areas that are most important on the field

Everyone seems to think this is bootcamp only training, thats what comes up on google but mostly its PT going on, which I also do. This would be better for the OP, my recommendation was not for bootcamp.

diegowhite wrote: »
    I don't see any problem with fitzgeme paying the price he does. He gets his value for money so why does anyone else care about it, maybe someone else viewing this can afford that price and will go for it too and what harm, it's there money. Others with less cash have plenty of other options.

The only thing I would disagree with is fitzgeme recommending this for anyone else other than someone who want's to lose fat or have 'general' fitness. Their training programs are general and someone who truly wants to get better at their sport should look for a sport specific program which measures and improves their performance in the areas that are most important on the field

Depending on the level of the OP, something more generalist could be perfect, assuming there's adequate injury prevention stuff in it.

The beauty of GPP programs is that for most, they're perfect. You might get marginally better results on a sports specific program, but probably not by any great shakes.

The rules change the more "elite" the person is tho and the specificity becomes more necessary, in my opinion, of course.

The beauty of GPP programs is that for most, they're perfect.

Can you tell me how you justify that statement, any research or documented accounts from sports people?

How can you say that putting pushups&pullups&squats in max rounds in 20 minutes has a relationship to what one would be doing on a soccer field, where usually it's a low to mid intensity jogging with short bursts of effort. Sure the GPP challenges energy systems and will give marginal improvement in their strength in those areas but any experience I have or seen anyone else have is train what you want to get better at, start to add in too many other things and the gains start to slow down.

Can you tell me how you justify that statement, any research or documented accounts from sports people?

How can you say that putting pushups&pullups&squats in max rounds in 20 minutes has a relationship to what one would be doing on a soccer field, where usually it's a low to mid intensity jogging with short bursts of effort. Sure the GPP challenges energy systems and will give marginal improvement in their strength in those areas but any experience I have or seen anyone else have is train what you want to get better at, start to add in too many other things and the gains start to slow down.

Are you really equating someone who plays a sport recreationally 1-2x per week to a professional sports person?

A "perfect" program is f*cking crap if it's so unrealistic someone will never do it. Reckon you could get a 30 year old who plays astro 1-2x per week to run sprint drills on his own on days off?

When you deal with real people, there's compromise involved. Motivations come into play, and the textbooks need to be thrown out the window.

And I never said anything about push up/pull up/squat x20 minutes, or professional/higher level sports people, but whatever.

And actually, what the f*ck is the story with the selective quoting? I CLEARLY said that the higher the level the person, the more specificity that is required.

I justify my statement by working with people playing GAA, tag and soccer recreationally coming back to me and thanking me for making their game better by improving their ability to run faster, more frequently and for greater distances.

And you assume all bootcamps are the same. Depending on how individual workouts and cycles are programmed, you can get vastly different effects.

You're looking at my statement too narrow minded and trying to argue what you THINK I'm saying versus what I'm actually saying. You can do that if you want, but everyone's going to see straight thru it.

I'm not some idiot military bootcamp dude in camo screaming at people to do another 20 push ups and sit ups after a 1km run.