Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

threatening email

• 24-04-2012 11:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭

i got a threatening email from a person that claims to be from a goat heritage trust. telling me that it is illegal to hunt wild goats unless permitted from the department of agriculture.

this is news to me. can anyone shed some light on this or is it some self proclaimed protection group trying to tell me what i can and cant do.

this is the crowd that emailed me

"Irish Society For Welfare and Preservation of wild Goat Herds"

their website is http://www.bilberrygoatheritagetrust.com/contact.htm

any thoughts would be great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

An animal rights crank chancing their arm, in what way was the mail threatening ? Might be a job for the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

goats have no season. Just like foxes and rabbits.

Reckon they're bullsh1tting you altogether.
    How did they get your email and know you shoot goats though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

garv123 wrote: »

Reckon they're bullsh1tting you altogether.
    How did they get your email and know you shoot goats though?

well i am on youtube and made the mistake of responding to teamwild with my email address. i invited them over to shoot a goat and that is what prompted the threatening mail.
    i have already told them to take a running jump but as always i am making sure its ok after the horse has bolted so to speak.

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    well i am on youtube and made the mistake of responding to teamwild with my email address. i invited them over to shoot a goat and that is what prompted the threatening mail.
    i have already told them to take a running jump but as always i am making sure its ok after the horse has bolted so to speak.

Ah so you fell victim to the anti's trolling the youtube video's.

People who appear on Fieldsports Britain get a serious amount of threats and abuse off them.

rowa wrote: »
    An animal rights crank chancing their arm, in what way was the mail threatening ? Might be a job for the guards.

i will post the email in the morning i am off to bed now.

they didnt threaten me physically so to speak more that they will be telling my super intendant by email and more or less stirring up sh1t.

dont get me wrong i am not worried but i want to know is there anything in what they are saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭johnfaul

This is what annoys me about this forum could we not have it closed off and to enter you have to be evaluated by the mods and agree to some disclaimed might help stop this nonsence.
    And be careful dont give out info on youtube. atb john

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

johnfaul wrote: »
    This is what annoys me about this forum could we not have it closed off and to enter you have to be evaluated by the mods and agree to some disclaimed might help stop this nonsence.

The way it is at the moment any open minded person can come onto the forum and make up their own mind about shooting and hunting, be it good or bad,
    If they like it they can post and get info about the sport or if they don't like it they can be on their merry way!

But If you close off the forum then we will come across as some wired gang who don't like to mix with others and god only knows what opinions ppl Wouk have of this forum then! :P

Never mind the email Paul and best of luck with Team wild if it comes through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

I have no sympathy for anyone making threats.

On this specific point, I just wonder about ANY wild creature having no closed season in the 21st season, especially if they are seasonal breeders. I hate to see vixens shot when they are clearly rearing cubs, knowing their litter will have a long slow death, and I assume the same consequence will follow if a milking nanny is shot.

I admit there's a hole in this reasoning for non-seasonal breeding vermin, but where there is a clear breeding season, I think it does the image of shooting a lot of good to have a closed season, or at least to show some restraint in the breeding season.

Sorry for the slight diversion - be clear I have no truck with the viewpoint or modus operandi of whoever emailed the OP.

LostCovey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

shoot 'em all......:mad:

the goats I mean:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

4gun wrote: »
    shoot 'em all......:mad:

[SIZE="1"]the goats I mean[/SIZE]:D:D:D
    I read somewhere there is a few nice ones hanging around waterford....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

i got a threatening email from a person that claims to be from a goat heritage trust. telling me that it is illegal to hunt wild goats unless permitted from the department of agriculture.

this is news to me. can anyone shed some light on this or is it some self proclaimed protection group trying to tell me what i can and cant do.

I am not suggesting anybody go and shoot the bilberry goats but do understand that feral/wild goats have no standing in law and that once permission is granted by a land owner or if they are on common ground they are fair game to anyone. (Correct me if I am wrong as this my understanding of it)

LostCovey wrote: »
    I have no sympathy for anyone making threats.

On this specific point, I just wonder about ANY wild creature having no closed season in the 21st season, especially if they are seasonal breeders. I hate to see vixens shot when they are clearly rearing cubs, knowing their litter will have a long slow death,

LostCovey

Most people wont shoot vixens at this time of year but if she so happens to take a liking for the farmers lambs well then something has to be done about it, and most people will go find the den and look for cubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

i estimate that goat lover at 600 yds :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

I wouldn't get too cranked up about it, me. I've had e-mail DEATH threats from a fellow narrow gauge model railroader, fer gosh sakes.

Remember that the person who sent you this unpleasant stuff can be traced back to source as easily as anybody else.

As my my death-threater, I met up with him at a friendly get-together and introduced him to a better way of expressing his obvious upset.

tac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

E-mail the Dept of Agriculture and the NPWS and ask for an official stance on shooting Feral Goats.

Maybe something has changed recently that we are unaware of. Always best to cover yourself in these scenarios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

I'd have to agree with Lostcovey, I believe people should leave well alone during breeding season if nothing else for concervation reasons, I came across a large group of goats the other day with quite a few kids and it was nice to see, If people go mad shooting them, I'd hate to see them going rhe same way as the wolf (I know it's a bit extreme)

On a more relitave note, if you look up the seasons is says beside rabbit/fox all year but there is no mention of feral goats?
    I think it needs to be cleared up instead of just sayin there's "no season!"

There is no season on horses but you can't pop black and white horses over the hedge!!!!!

On the email front, I'd treat it like one of those emails you get saying you won the lotto in Nigeria!!

Just my 2 cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

The godfather scene with a goat head would be funny lol I see there collecting "donations" for a wild animal ? How does that work !!! That's like me collecting "donations" for the sparrows in the farm yard LMAO

Ignore them and if you get another email from them refer it to the gards for you to be covered

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

johnfaul wrote: »
    Care to explain this a little better?

The OP said this e-mail originated from/because of a video on Youtube, and not through Boards.ie. Boards does not give out e-mail addresses, and any user that provides his e-mail to another party does so of their own free will, and so are responsible for any mail after that. Not boards.

Also, as was already said, if we close of access to everyone then newbies cannot get access, and we look like the secretive, animal killers that antis think we are.

The mods do the best they can to regulate, and remove any crap from trolls to keep the forum clean, and safe to post in. So blaming "this forum" is premature, and baseless.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

Don't mind them gob****es poulo, you're not doing anything wrong, and fair play for asking the team wild lads over.
    On a side note, where in any of his posts did poulo say anything about shooting during the breeding season? It could take a couple of months to organise getting them boys over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fallowbuck

Its the fecking anti,s there sturing ****e up every where on hunting site There evrywhere the freaks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fallowbuck

Most people wont shoot vixens at this time of year but if she so happens to take a liking for the farmers lambs well then something has to be done about it, and most people will go find the den and look for cubs.
    I think in that case terrier work over gun is the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Threat somthing along the lines of this perhaps????http://chickenbuckets.blogspot.com/2011/12/goat-and-sheep-hunting-in-ireland-by.html
    Find it in the comment section.
    Seems that this has got this goat appreciation societies goat alright!:p

So much to the point that the rep in the threatning comment is the same as the herd keeper in the website.
    Somone is playing silly feckers!!!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

The name is martin doyle grizz, same on both as heardkeeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

So it is! Missed that bit!:o and corrected

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Polio let them at it. Not a thing they can do. Wild feral goats belong to nobody and is a pest species can be shot any time of year. You shot them legally and in a humane mannor. I asume they were not tagged and you have permission to shoot on the lands so they have not a leg to stand on and thats fact. I can promus you they cant do a thing and egnore them totally lad. You did the right thing by culling them as they are pests

There is no season on horses but you can't pop black and white horses over the hedge!!!!!

Someone owns the black and white horse over the fence. Big difference.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Threat somthing along the lines of this perhaps????http://chickenbuckets.blogspot.com/2011/12/goat-and-sheep-hunting-in-ireland-by.html
    Find it in the comment section.
    Seems that this has got this goat appreciation societies goat alright!:p

So much to the point that the rep in the threatning comment is the same as the herd keeper in the website.
    Somone is playing silly feckers!!!

thats it exactly griz.

thanks to everyone for their comments. to up date ye all so far i have contacted the department of agriculture, des croftin and the garda in waterford. all of which said they know of no such laws protecting goats.

only the obvious like having permission to shoot from land owner and having a licensed firearm.

i even tried to ring the number shown in their website. a lady answered and claimed that there is no martin doyle there and she had no contact number for him

all very odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

This topic is very emotive at present around me some Gob****e has cleaned out a wild herd that has been on a hill at least 300 years. Apparently the skins have value for Bodhrans. But then again I wouldn't rule out the "shot for the craic" element that is starting to sneak in.

Allways remember Just because they can be shot doesn't mean they should be shot. If they are causing a problem for Farmers yes cull them to control their numbers, The meat is quite tasty also (young goat). But it is about moderation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 fear tuath

Totally agree with cavan shooter
    There used to be a nice herd here ,i used to shoot a kid once a year or we used to shoot old pucks in winter when the used to come off the hill,we gave up culling them when the ate my spring grass because any not shot would be back in the field the following day,better to chase them up the hill with dogs and they were gone for a week. Coillte brought some clowns from Limerick to shoot them and they were stopped because the left them to rot on the hill .Only one small group left now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The meat is quite tasty also (young goat). .

I've tried it in a stew with some Rosemary and other herbs, plus potatoes and various veg - very nice it was too. I'll try and dig up the receipe and put in the relevant section:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Hmm :confused:

A paper bag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭pioboyle

was the coilte shootings in athea? heard about there a few years ago.. made the limerick leader...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 fear tuath

pioboyle wrote: »
    was the coilte shootings in athea? heard about there a few years ago.. made the limerick leader...

The hills of Clare.