Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Top 5 Unintentional Comedies

• 23-04-2012 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭

You know the type, basically movies that are so bad they're good.
    Or optionally try so hard at being serious your not sure if it's just taking the P1ss.

Mine are

1. Kickboxer
    Dont know where to start with this one, the whole premiss of the movie perhaps? I'm not how a world champion goes to fight in the back country of nowhere with only his brother in the corner. The cheesy one liners are all there and I'm not sure how this Dance scene didnt earn it an oscar.
    There is a montage scene that's up there with all of rocky's but just 5X better.
    2. Wicker Man
    A classic Nicolous Cage movie where he goes batsh!t crazy quite a bit.
    3. Street Fighter
    Guile the all American airforce pilot is played by Mr.USA himself Jean Claude Van Damme
    4. Total Recall
    Many arnie films could go here but I had to go with this one for the three boobie's bit :)
    5. Transformers 3 (I had to throw at least one recent one in.)
    So many plot holes (soldiers suddenly have 100lbs of diving equipment), and with many attempts to make the audience feel empathy with soulless characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Twilight is definitely mine, myself and my former housemate watched it with his then girlfriend and were in tears laughing ripping it apart.

The Core, saw this with friends at the cinema and the same, we knew what it would be and had a hoot watching it.

Commando, bad dummies with heads falling off, the same stunmen being killed over and over, hilarious continuity errors and Bennets mesh vest/cardigan thing, face meltingly funny watched with beers and friends.

Showgirls: dolphin sex, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

krudler wrote: »
    Twilight is definitely mine, myself and my former housemate watched it with his then girlfriend and were in tears laughing ripping it apart.

The Core, saw this with friends at the cinema and the same, we knew what it would be and had a hoot watching it.

Commando, bad dummies with heads falling off, the same stunmen being killed over and over, hilarious continuity errors and Bennets mesh vest/cardigan thing, face meltingly funny watched with beers and friends.

Havent seen show girls or twilight but I can just imagine the horror!

How did I forget commando, so many one liners
    "let of some steam bennet"
    "WRONG- Bullet to the head"
    "I lied - Drops of a cliff"

Oh yeah the core, is that the one with the big diamond cavern and everyone can breath no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I would add any modern Disaster movie to that e.g. 2012 just had me rolling in the aisles, while The Day After Tomorrow isn't too far behind thanks to its freaky weather.

2012: "The Neutrinos ... have Mutated." :pac:

PS: before a Mod comes down on this like a tonne of DVDs, note what the Charter says about List threads and why they're frowned upon ... it's OK if you justify your choices a bit.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Thoms Yorkie Bars

Has to be Batman & Robin. Oh those puns, genius writing to be fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Batman and Robin (1997), an awful film, but some parts are hilarious. "cowabunga". Leaving Las Vegas was very funny too, with yer man in the horrors the whole time. Predator is a brilliant film, but some parts are so funny. "he Couldnt see me" "get to da Chappa"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,559 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Don't remember that part. But I had to laugh when I was in Philadelphia on a work trip and VH1 were showing Showgirls. Was a version with no nudity, sex or swearing. Yet it still managed to last about 90 mins. Really had to laugh when they actually went to the bother of digitally painting clothes on in a couple of scenes.

Thunderbirds. Saw this in the cinema and enjoyed it for the cheese it was.

Quarantine: I don't know if I would say unintentionally comedic but there were only a few others apart from the ones I was with and everyone would laugh after jumpy parts or at stupid decisions. Was actually really enjoyable cinema trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Fatal Deviation

I'm sure the makers didn't want it to be deemed as a comedy but this is one of the funniest things I've ever seen. Irish kickboxing... FFS like. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭livinsane

Seraphim Falls. No idea why, but that movie cracked me up. I had great expectations for it, usually love movies in that genre with a slowing moving plot, but I found it to be a ridiculous movie full of cliches and spent alot of it laughing. However, I could have been drunk at the time.

Also, Ricochet is phenomonally funny. John Lithgoe's evil genius is by far one of my favourite movie villians. It is portrayed as a serious movie (particularly with the casting of Denzel Washington as the main cop character) but I presume the director was aiming for some tongue in cheek humour along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

The Butterfly Effect - I swear I thought this was a comedy especially when Ashton Kuther has no legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

In utter disbelief that no one has mentioned The Room yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Hard to beat The Wicker man TBH but:

I think I mentioned this before but the film "you got served" has to be seen to be believed. I came across it one night in the middle and without a word of a lie I thought it was a spoof on the orginal for about 5 minutes. great to watch in a group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 badtinegirl

Metallica: Some kind of Monster.

More spinal tap than spinal tap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I thought Nicolas Cage's the Wicker Man WAS tongue in cheek???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

american psycho

do you like phil collins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

I think my all time winner in this category is Sling Blade.

Love the movie but seriously I can't listen to Billy Bob Thorton for more than about 10 seconds without laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    In utter disbelief that no one has mentioned The Room yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Thoms Yorkie Bars

sky88 wrote: »
    american psycho

do you like phil collins

I'm fairly certain that's meant to be hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 impala67

the funiest quote in that movie came from the baby, ASSHhhhoooooolllllllEEE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 impala67

the last boy scount with bruce willis and one of those waynes brothers in it is so bad its actually good it has tones of great one liners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

the big boss, bruce lee movie, or fist of fury. the first has a scene where a guy gets punched through a wooden fence and it leaves a shape like something you'd see in a cartoon. the latter has the original kung fu student screaming they killed my teacher! hilarious stuff

Godfather III whenever Sofia Coppola is on screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

The funniest confrontation of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭ohsurelook

I think I was the only person to ever watch this but....

Furry Vengeance made tears roll down my face it was so bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

american psycho

do you like phil collins

I think you missed the point

impala67 wrote: »
    the last boy scount with bruce willis and one of those waynes brothers in it is so bad its actually good it has tones of great one liners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

american psycho

do you like phil collins

I don’t think the comedy was completely unintentional to be fair, certainly not the music review sections

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

american psycho

do you like phil collins

The whole film is a black comedy. I think you missed the point.

Chuck Norris in Invasion USA is mine.

Hilarious stuff.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Pretty sure every Steven Seagal film is a parade of unintentional laughs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Most recently but very very deserving is battleship. The predictable one liners, rhianna being so brilliantly terrible and the rules of the game bing shoehorned in made me leave the cinema with a pain in my sides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

This Boys Life - I have seen this twice, slightly worse for wear, late at night and I can honestly say that De Niro (Dwight) gives the greatest unintentional comedic performance that I have ever seen.

Some of the stuff he comes out with while tormenting Di Caprios character is so outrageous you just have to think its a piss take even though it is based on a true story iirc?

Dwight wearing a brand new scout uniform is a personal highlight.

I am interested to know if anyone else has found this film hilarious, I watched it with a friend one night and we both were in stitches however I have never heard of this reaction from anyone else?

This Boys Life - I have seen this twice, slightly worse for wear, late at night and I can honestly say that De Niro (Dwight) gives the greatest unintentional comedic performance that I have ever seen.

Some of the stuff he comes out with while tormenting Di Caprios character is so outrageous you just have to think its a piss take even though it is based on a true story iirc?

Dwight wearing a brand new scout uniform is a personal highlight.

I am interested to know if anyone else has found this film hilarious, I watched it with a friend one night and we both were in stitches however I have never heard of this reaction from anyone else?

I think your in the minority. De Niro starts out as a charming gentleman but once married turns into a jealous asshole. It's set in the 50's so the way they spoke was slightly different to today. I thought it was a very good film.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Oh yeah? An' ye think yer some kind o' hawt-shawt now? Better 'n everybody else? Lemme tell ya I know a thing or two about a thing or two and this movie was nuthin' to laught abouuwt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Revenge of the Fallen, I mean Shia Lebouff in robot heaven!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭OldeCinemaSoz

That yoke with tom cruise where he tried to talk irish
    provided us with many laughs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The Running Man with good old Arnie, its shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭OldeCinemaSoz

shi(tanic)

the over wrought scenes in the engine room looked as if
    they came out of a big budget '50s musical.

all they needed was some WB dixie dancers to complete
    the effect.

;):D

Ridley Scott's Robin Hood (for whatever accent Russell Crowe was trying to do there).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭p to the e

Most recently but very very deserving is battleship. The predictable one liners, rhianna being so brilliantly terrible and the rules of the game bing shoehorned in made me leave the cinema with a pain in my sides

You forgot the funniest bit when all the old lads on the ship stand up to fight while an American flag flaps in the wind. It was like something out of a Cher video.

One film I couldn't help but laugh at was Mask with Eric Stoltz. Why? Because of this! Oh Karma better not be true.
    http://cdn2.mamapop.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/Eric-stoltz-mask.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

Troll 2 I guess.
    american psycho

do you like phil collins

Meant to be funny. Cause we all get implicated in Bateman's sadism through laughing at him. Or something. Maybe someone who's read the book could put it better.