Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I have been approved for a student grant.

• 21-04-2012 9:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

I was just wondering about my grand in relation to my college fees.
    I have been awarded €5976 grant from the vec and I just wanted to know is this to pay my fees also ? So will I get 3976 after the 2000 is paid or will my fees be paid seperate and I will get the full 5976??
    Any help is much appreciated :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I was just wondering about my grand in relation to my college fees.
    I have been awarded €5976 grant from the vec and I just wanted to know is this to pay my fees also ? So will I get 3976 after the 2000 is paid or will my fees be paid seperate and I will get the full 5976??
    Any help is much appreciated :D

I think that you get the €5976 plus fees

Ring the VEC and ask them

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

You will get the full amount plus they will pay your fees. Dear god though are they still backlogged with grant apps that they have only approved yours now, when college is near over for the year!!!

I wonder with the 'central processing' next year whether or not things will improve, or it will go the way of medical cards!!

congrats on your grant btw, should be a weight off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Super_Sazzo

Really? :D
    Wow I shall have a great summer with that!! ;)
    Yeah they only approved it last week after applying last august its a joke!! But after a tough year with absolutely no money I will make up for it this summer :D
    Thanks so much this really has made my whole week but I will ring the VEC just to make sure :) dont wanna get my hopes up :) :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Really? :D
    Wow I shall have a great summer with that!! ;)
    Yeah they only approved it last week after applying last august its a joke!! But after a tough year with absolutely no money I will make up for it this summer :D
    Thanks so much this really has made my whole week but I will ring the VEC just to make sure :) dont wanna get my hopes up :) :cool:
    Best put some of that away for next year as they will probably be as late paying you then also.

I dont think so because they only took so long because I am a first year but I just have to send in a renewal form... Idont think I could spend near 6000 in 3 months to be honest haha I've always been careful with money :-)

ah the innocence of first years!!! yup they could DEFFO still take that long processing your payments next year, even if you are a returning student and still only have to fill in the renewal form. best bet is hold on to a chunk of that money, especially if you have no other form of income. otherwise you may find yourself struggling

Well, job interview on Tuesday n support from the parents so I should be ok thanks for the advice :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

hdowney wrote: »
    ah the innocence of first years!!! yup they could DEFFO still take that long processing your payments next year, even if you are a returning student and still only have to fill in the renewal form. best bet is hold on to a chunk of that money, especially if you have no other form of income. otherwise you may find yourself struggling
    I doubt someone planning on spending their grant on a summer holiday is going to find themselves struggling...

Eh sorry but if you read that correctly it says 'I will make up for it this summer' clearly doesn't imply I will be going on a summer holiday!

Actually it does quite heavily imply you will be spending the money on fun, recreational activities this summer - which may include a holiday.

I'm not criticising you, you're free to spend the money however you want. Hasn't come from my pocket. Have a good one.

I doubt someone planning on spending their grant on a summer holiday is going to find themselves struggling...

fair enough. but then when it was suggested you hold onto some of it incase next years grant gets backed up you stated that

"job interview on Tuesday n support from the parents"

now whoo hoo for you. delighted that you have a job interview tues, and good luck with that. but a lot of posters on here questioning about the grant etc DON'T have support from the parents (hence the reason why they are getting the grant). so singing about how you will 'make up for it' during the summer, which screams spend spend spend, is probably not the wisest move to make.

not having a go, just giving you a heads up

I wouldn't blame OP anyway, I'd blame the government who think it makes sense to put the money directly into the bank account of a student that the have literally defined as being financially dependent on their parents.

The whole system is messed up,I went to college with a fella 10 yrs ago whose dad was a TD and himself and his brother both got the grant while I was entitled to squat and my folks earnt significantly less than him.

Well I said parents because this is a public site but actually I am dependant on my mother who is a lone parent with no contact with my father my whole life. So I have grown up knowing that money doesnt grow on trees so you can imagine how tough its been this past year so now that I have my grant I will spend it how I like but most importantly I can finally give my mother back some of the money she has been supporting me with the past year :D certainly wouldnt go on a holiday though I wouldnt waste money on something like that I'm not that selfish. When I said I was gonna spend it I mean on logical things like a new laptop for college because mine is on its last legs and its necessary for college :)

Much the same situation here, and I too will be using most of it to repay my parents. Certainly the registration fee reimbursement. Not going to pretend some of the other funds will go unaccounted for though ;) I learnt that from the lads in Dail Eireann.

I don't mean to hi-jack your thread, but you'll probably be interested in the answer to this anyway, so could someone tell us how long after submitting the form with the bank details we should expect wait for the money?

Much the same situation here, and I too will be using most of it to repay my parents. Certainly the registration fee reimbursement. Not going to pretend some of the other funds will go unaccounted for though ;) I learnt that from the lads in Dail Eireann.

I don't mean to hi-jack your thread, but you'll probably be interested in the answer to this anyway, so could someone tell us how long after submitting the form with the bank details we should expect wait for the money?

The Co Dub VEC told me I will get mine with the next installment which is the 4th of may :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

I would caution the OP that the renewal process takes longer than anticipated, and they regularly ask for resubmission of documentation to confirm that you are still eligible. So be prepared with documentation and savings at the start of the college year.

Tree wrote: »
    I would caution the OP that the renewal process takes longer than anticipated, and they regularly ask for resubmission of documentation to confirm that you are still eligible. So be prepared with documentation and savings at the start of the college year.

I am aware it will take some time to renew it but I'm not on my own I have free accommodation beside my college so no worries for travel expenses etc. And I will have my family supporting me financially if I need it

Well you clearly don't need a grant as it appears you can cope adequately without state/taxpayer assistance.

If I didn't need the grant then why was I approved ? My mother is a single parent so clearly I do need it... If it is delayed again I will most likely have to turn to extended family for some help so clearly I do need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sarah88

Sappa wrote: »
    Well you clearly don't need a grant as it appears you can cope adequately without state/taxpayer assistance.

Oh cop on, jesus the grant system is strict enough, if someone falls under the criteria, they are entitled to it! and it's up to them how they spend it! The OP came on here looking for advice not for begrudging comments:rolleyes:

laptop is a good expense. i was just warning you that it is wise to choose your words carefully to avoid barages of abuse

The Co Dub VEC told me I will get mine with the next installment which is the 4th of may :D

yea you don't normally get it special if you have been waiting. you normally have to wait till they do the payrun for the next installment
    If I didn't need the grant then why was I approved ? My mother is a single parent so clearly I do need it... If it is delayed again I will most likely have to turn to extended family for some help so clearly I do need it.

well ya see you KEEP saying you can get money off of family members. now not saying you won't be paying said family back when the grant comes in, but the point is these family members obviously can and will stump up the cash for you. a lot of people CANNOT get cash from family members. so whilst waiting on the grant they literally have NOTHING to live on. this is the point that is rankling with people. you seem in a better position and slightly flaunting said position. as above, choose your words carefully so as not to cause ructions. it is for the best.

anyway good luck to ya

sarah88 wrote: »
    Oh cop on, jesus the grant system is strict enough, if someone falls under the criteria, they are entitled to it! and it's up to them how they spend it! The OP came on here looking for advice not for begrudging comments:rolleyes:

true, but he also doesn't seem to understand how the things he says can rile up other people - which is why i suggested to him to choose his words carefully. by going on about how he can get people to give him money he is going to cause ructions amongst some people on here.

i think it is great that he can get back-up whilst waiting for a grant, always helpful. but the legion of people who cannot, and have spent months barely scraping by might just not like the tone he conveyed or how he phrased certain things. this is boards after all and a LOT of the time people attack how they perceive things were phrased etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,891 ✭✭✭✭ted1

If I didn't need the grant then why was I approved ? My mother is a single parent so clearly I do need it.t.

I know plenty of single mothers who would take great insult to that statement. There are plenty of single parents out there who can provide for their family without having to take hand outs from the state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sarah88

true, but he also doesn't seem to understand how the things he says can rile up other people - which is why i suggested to him to choose his words carefully. by going on about how he can get people to give him money he is going to cause ructions amongst some people on here.

i think it is great that he can get back-up whilst waiting for a grant, always helpful. but the legion of people who cannot, and have spent months barely scraping by might just not like the tone he conveyed or how he phrased certain things. this is boards after all and a LOT of the time people attack how they perceive things were phrased etc.

I just don't understand why people are getting worked up, if people are only scraping by on what they get on a grant, get job! I'm in my final year, work almost every evening, because the grant (which I have not received yet) is not enough to live on. Of course it's hard working and going to college but if you can't live on what is being provided, instead of criticizing those who don't have to scrape by, go get a job!

The Op came across a little smug in their posting,this is why people are critising them.
    I struggled through college financially and could only dream of a grant,my parents forked out for 4 of us to go to college working two jobs to make ends meet.
    If you cannot live on 200 quid a week,which is what the grant is then your clearly living beyond your means.
    There may not be so many part time jobs around as before but we were always working in the summer trying to save a bit for the year ahead,a holiday was unheard of until I got my first job.
    The Op should be a little more tactful in their posts and people might have a bit of sympathy for them then.

getting a job is not always possible. there are not an abundance of jobs out there as some people make out. and the amount looking for experience these days is laughable. i saw one the other day for a barperson, only people with 5+ years experience need apply!!!

also (now first i am a, not having a go at the op, was just giving them a heads up, and b am a mature student not dependant on anyone but) some courses make working a little difficult. mine for example. first it takes me 40 min to drive to college, sometimes more depending on traffic. then i have to change. my classes start at 8 or earlier some mornings and end at 9 or 10 some evenings. then there is weekend work exp. when would someone like me find time for a job, as well as assignments etc?

realisticly just saying everyone should 'get a job' is narrow minded and judgemental.

I don't understand why people are getting so worked up about this. I have gone the whole college year on just about 35euro a week, now that I am gettin my grant in one installment I am entitled to treat my self a little bit? I don't mean to come across as smug but I have never had that amount of money in my life. And fair enough other students can't turn to family members, I can but why should I have to when I am entitled to a grant, and its not as if I am doing nothing to get a job as mentioned above jobs are scarce these days, but I do have an interview this week. Apologies to anyone I have offended and fyi I am a girl :-)