Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society Outing - Mount Wolseley 28th April

• 19-04-2012 8:17pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Thread here for all info for the next outing at the Mount Wolseley GC Carlow.

Looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Thread here for all info for the next outing at the Mount Wolseley GC Carlow.

Looking forward to it.

Ah im supposed to be playing Knightsbrook that day :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭bailey99

One of my favourite courses but I'm booked in for the scratch cup in Ring of Kerry that Saturday.

Enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Only 13 so far so room for 7 more, it's in good codition at the moment and is a really nice course.

It's in Tullow, Co. Carlow so coming from Dublin/North direction come off the M9 at Castledermot and follow the signs to Tullow and then Mount Wolseley is well sign posted, it's about 20 minutes from Castledermot.

Coming from the South you can exit at exit 5 on the M9 and go through Rathoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭dwolf20

Do you have details on cost/timesheet etc?

How do you get your name down?

Thanks.

dwolf20 PM pistolpetes11 wiht your email address and he can add you to Teamer.

The times for Mount Wolseley are 2:20 to 3:00 and it's €35 for the course.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

dwolf20 wrote: »
    Do you have details on cost/timesheet etc?

How do you get your name down?

Thanks.

Hay dwolf Il add you onto teamer later on , crazy busy in work at the mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

hey folks where can I find the link to see who is going on the Mount Wolseley outing ??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    hey folks where can I find the link to see who is going on the Mount Wolseley outing ??

It will be on teamer site ,

We have 15 at the moment , two of the lads not added onto teamer yet but are playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

Played there yesterday - it's an undeniably beautiful course and in great condition. Tough start (index 3, 7 and 1 I think). Would imagine yellow tees are long enough for a society outing although I didn't find the whites overly long and I am in no way a big hitter.

It's a tough challenge but in no way unfair, found the par 3s very tough (and long) but there are opportunities to score on the par 5s.

Only negative was that it was very, very slow. Not sure what time slot you have booked but if it's not until the afternoon then you could be waiting around. Also a few greens were littered with pitch marks, but I don't think the club can be blamed for this. I wonder with the amount of hotel residents and societies playing are people just not as respectful as they would be with their home course?

Anyway, fantastic course with an absolutely beautiful finishing hole (my favourite I think), few narrow looking drives but once you make it through the gaps the fairways do open up. Very friendly staff both in the club shop and the hotel and the food in the hotel is lovely.

You'll have a great day - would love to go back for another go but unfortunately can't make it. Enjoy.

Oh - one last thing. Would advise picking up a stroke-saver in the club shop (€5). The only distance markers are in the middle of the fairways and if you're anything like me you wont spend much time there!

Well 15 maybe 16 as it stands ,

8 players still to reply but I doubt it at this stage that they will be playing .

I meant to ask with up to maybe 50 mil of rain due mid week how will the course be after it ? Does it have good drainage , will it still be playable ?

I know there is only 13 on this list :

201786.png

Well the 50mm is over stated based on latest weather models but Mount Wolseley has very good drainage and it shouldn't be any issue, the only problem you might have is some water lying in some bunkers.

Can we maybe have a close off time. I've booked 5 slots so if aren't getting more than 16 we could hand one back?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Villain wrote: »
    Well the 50mm is over stated based on latest weather models but Mount Wolseley has very good drainage and it shouldn't be any issue, the only problem you might have is some water lying in some bunkers.

Can we maybe have a close off time. I've booked 5 slots so if aren't getting more than 16 we could hand one back?

if we do hand a slot back, any chance it could be the later one?

Will we call it 5 pm on Wednesday ?

Yea Wednesday sounds good, I can try hand back latest one, there was over 250 out last Saturday hence link 2007 saying it was slow!

Will we call it 5 pm on Wednesday ?

sounds good to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Sorry have to pull out of this outing.

Numbers not looking good, anyone else want to play?

Hmmmm miiiight be able to fill in a spot, hardly gonna be 35 tho seeing as im a member? lol

Tones69 wrote: »
    Hmmmm miiiight be able to fill in a spot, hardly gonna be 35 tho seeing as im a member? lol

if you could it would be great.

Tones that would be great because it would keep the costs down, do you have any vouchers by any chance? oh and yes you are free of course :)

We have 16 if Tones69 is going to play .

Im giving up an outing in the K CLub to play and keep the numbers up , no more takers out there ???

We have 16 if Tones69 is going to play .

Im giving up an outing in the K CLub to play and keep the numbers up , no more takers out there ???

fair play Pete.

Il let you know for deffo tonight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭dolally

Hi lads, If your stuck for players I can play in this..I live in Carlow but the only problem I have is I'd have to be out as early as possible as i have to travel to Dublin straight after golf.If that doesn't suit, no problems.

Cant see any hassle with that , the earliest that we will have is 2.20 so not sure if that suits you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭dolally

if you can put me out at 2.20 ( if it's available ) that would be brilliant thanks. Really looking forward to it, it's a great track. I played it last month and didn't do it justice. Now lets hope the weather gods are good to us.

dolally wrote: »
    if you can put me out at 2.20 ( if it's available ) that would be brilliant thanks. Really looking forward to it, it's a great track. I played it last month and didn't do it justice. Now lets hope the weather gods are good to us.

Cool il leave you with the 16 so?

Tones69 wrote: »
    Cool il leave you with the 16 so?

If your around the more the merrier :D

dolally wrote: »

Cool Il have you out first then .

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I will put my name in the mix too.

great, that's 18 so.
    I might head out with you dolally as I need to be back in athlone for 9. Mission impossible me thinks!!

Come on 2 more to complete it :)

fingers crossed it won't be too bad.......
    Saturday : Quite cool, with moderate northeast breezes. Sunny spells everywhere, but some scattered heavy showers also and with a risk of thundery downpours, especially in the east and south. Parts of Connacht and Ulster could stay largely if not completely dry. Max. 10 to 13 or 14 C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

Hope its nothing like the moate outting.

golfnut1 wrote: »
    Hope its nothing like the moate outting.

don't say that!!!!

I think we'll take a rain check on friday night with Villan to see how the course is (pun intended!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Gmpd

This would of been my first outing but unfortuately the missus auntie passed away last night. Most likely the funeral will be on sat.. So I'll be giving this one a miss.. Sorry folks!

We dodged the worst today only had 5mm so shouldn't be any issues, Saturday will be showery like recent weeks, details on http://www.carlowweather.com/

Gmpd wrote: »
    This would of been my first outing but unfortuately the missus auntie passed away last night. Most likely the funeral will be on sat.. So I'll be giving this one a miss.. Sorry folks!

sorry for your loss. see ya next time.

Gmpd wrote: »

Sorry to hear that ,

Ok folks we now have 16 that with Tones69 and Dolally .

We can give back that last time slot , said we call it at 5 ,

4 X 4 balls

Ok I'll hand back the last slot all going well

Sorry to hear that ,

Ok folks we now have 16 that with Tones69 and Dolally .

We can give back that last time slot , said we call it at 5 ,

4 X 4 balls

have you included PhilipMarlowe in the list? Can you send it on the list to me when you get a chance?

Yep have Philip on the List, will copy the list over to you later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Guys, I'll need to go out in the last group if thats alright, should be there for 2.20 ish

scubapro wrote: »
    Guys, I'll need to go out in the last group if thats alright, should be there for 2.20 ish

spot on, i think out tee times are 2:20 onwards anyway.

ok re-confirmed times of 2:20, 2:30, 2:40 and 2:50 it's €36 a head now because of the reduced numbers, it's usually €40 but I'm using some vouchers from my book to keep the cost down.

My weather station showed we missed most of rain yesterday and overnight so course will be fine, my weather station is only a mile from the course so it's pretty spot on for it.

fair play, looking forward to it.

i just double checked my route there, don't think i'm going to make my family engagement saturday night - herself will be impressed.....2h 20m drive (90miles cross country!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Looking forward to this now !!
    Hope we get some sort of decent weather on the day.

ok re-confirmed times of 2:20, 2:30, 2:40 and 2:50 it's €36 a head now because of the reduced numbers, it's usually €40 but I'm using some vouchers from my book to keep the cost down.

Cheers for this Villan, just a quick reminder for everyone to add on the €5 to contribute towards the prizes.

Unfortunately Keano has them so all prizes will be awarded at the next outing in Naas if that's OK with everyone?

and looking at Villan's weather station its giving it fine for tomorrow but gusts of wind, excellent news

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Cheers for this Villan, just a quick reminder for everyone to add on the €5 to contribute towards the prizes.

Unfortunately Keano has them so all prizes will be awarded at the next outing in Naas if that's OK with everyone?

and looking at Villan's weather station its giving it fine for tomorrow but gusts of wind, excellent news
    My boot is loaded with them at this stage! Might just happen to forget the next outing ;)

Right a quick forecast for tomorrow:
    A cool afternoon about 9c to 10c with som sunny spells but mainly cloudy wind will be strong enough about 15mph gusting to 25mph from the NE, which makes the Par5's play downwind and some of the Par 4's extra long.

Are we playing off Whites or Yellows? I'll be there early but would like to get out in first or second group as I hae to head to a confirmation after.