Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are NCT still actin the maggot

• 19-04-2012 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,853 ✭✭✭

Hello

In regard to this thread :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056033755&page=3

The above thread is 2 years old
    I have been out of the VRT loop for a while so not sure on it lately.

In essence the above thread is saying as of 2 years ago, that when you bring a car in from the UK, that instead of the old process of bringing a car to the Revenue office and paying the VRT , you now bring it to an NCT centre and pay the VRT there

But the big issue was that , you could go on to ROS input your exact car details, and get a VRT quote of for example 1500 Euro.............then when you bring the car to the NCT centre to pay the VRT and they do their calculations, they could come up with a figure of for 3000 Euro for VRT

Is this still in a mess or has it been sorted since 2 years ago ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

No, its still a mess. You bring your vehicle, the NCT take the details and the Revenue calculate the duty. What the website says and what the 'man' says are often different.

'cptr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,853 ✭✭✭obi604

No, its still a mess. You bring your vehicle, the NCT take the details and the Revenue calculate the duty. What the website says and what the 'man' says are often different.

'cptr

Jaysus, what a b@lls up

So more a less you could bring in a car in from the UK, work out the cost of car in uk, flights, taxies, ferrries etc. but you have no way of working out the true cost of VRT until you arrive at NCT office, what a joke !!

So you cant even estimate how much bringing in a car from the UK will cost

I dunno, this country is getting worse by the day

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Well an estimate is by its very name is just that. My brother brings in 08/09 520's 2 or 3 times a month. Working with the same models continually means he has a good idea of the cost, but even still there are times when they go way over. When this happens he pays up and makes an appeal, and more often than not, gets a refund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The online VRT calculator will give you a ball park figure but it does not take into account factory extras which are charged VRT on cars upto 4 years old.

delly wrote: »
    Well an estimate is by its very name is just that. My brother brings in 08/09 520's 2 or 3 times a month. Working with the same models continually means he has a good idea of the cost, but even still there are times when they go way over. When this happens he pays up and makes an appeal, and more often than not, gets a refund.

fair enough but just another waste of time and public resources having to go through all this crap, why the hell cant they just charge the correct amount the first time round and be done with it, as opposed to this appeal ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

I import cars on a regular basis - a few a month for the last 5-6 years, and I can think of only one occasion where the amount I has to pay was different to the ROS system.

To get an accurate quote, you have to fill in the info on the form correctly, eg, mileage, engine size, month of registration etc. If you fill in the form incorrectly your quote will obviously not be valid.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

lifer_sean wrote: »
    I import cars on a regular basis - a few a month for the last 5-6 years, and I can think of only one occasion where the amount I has to pay was different to the ROS system.

To get an accurate quote, you have to fill in the info on the form correctly, eg, mileage, engine size, month of registration etc. If you fill in the form incorrectly your quote will obviously not be valid.

How do you factor in extras?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Ive brought the car 3 times, been turned away 3 times, 1st time wasnt booked in, the last two I was, all in different centres, so in my experience they are constantley ****. How hard is it to give away the guts of a grand?? Hopefully Ill be 4th time lucky:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

kona wrote: »
    Ive brought the car 3 times, been turned away 3 times, 1st time wasnt booked in, the last two I was, all in different centres, so in my experience they are constantley ****. How hard is it to give away the guts of a grand?? Hopefully Ill be 4th time lucky:rolleyes:

Did you book it online or the callcentre?

godtabh wrote: »
    lifer_sean wrote: »

How do you factor in extras?

For BMW's, Audi, mercs etc under 4 years old it will go to revenue for a manual valuation, they decide the cost of extras.

michellie wrote: »

Called them. They have the most awkward opening hours too.

Most centres the hours have been cut back due to the lack of cars being imported. It wouldn't be possible to have someone there 5 days a week(in most centres) as much as the employees would like to be working more days, they can't:(

Well to be fair, the rules are you have to present the car within 24 hours for VRT. This in my experience is impossible. Hopefully Im fourth time lucky :p

It's not 24 hours. Hasn't been like that for nearly 2 years. It has to be paid within 30 days.

Ah right, when I did it first I just strolled up and paid. This system seems to be a bigger pain. Well the car has been booked in twice and presented twice 30 days after it came in and still no luck. :pac: I have an appointment for next week so we will see then how it goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Why is all this money being exported to GB? I thought the boom time fad of buying cars from across the water would have died down by now. Obviously not from reading this one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Yeah, ye should be ashamed of yereselves, with yere "savings" and "quality". I bet ye all shop in Lidl too. Dirty feckers.

finbarrk wrote: »
    Why is all this money being exported to GB? I thought the boom time fad of buying cars from across the water would have died down by now. Obviously not from reading this one.

Irish spec cars are not great

The car I'm looking for is not available at all in Ireland............as we have become diesel obsessed

And anyway, it is probably cheaper to go to the UK to buy a car............if the VRT does not over charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

UK cars come with better spec (you'd want to be fairly special to try and find a car from the UK as basic as the poverty spec crap sold here), better engines (same thing - the Brits like their cars to have real engines not the least powerful boggo diesel like here), and most of all - service history - they're anal about that kind of thing over there.

Only drawback about UK cars is that they still have mph clocks, but let's face it, it's hardly a deal breaker - mph clocks show kph anyway!

So yeah, lots of good reasons to bring in a car from across the water:)!

Because Irish cars are ****, overpriced and not looked after. Also some models are hard to get here and cost stupid money, where as in the UK they aint so rare and much cheaper. Not a fad..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 niner99

Hi, guys, Im hoping to get exemption from VRT as have been living in the North since last August and moving back over the border soon. Someone has told me that the NCT guys have information on everyone from the revenue offices e.g taxes paid, etc Do they really have this information or is this just bull I've been told? Not that I have anything to worry about :cool: Cheers