Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I change

• 17-04-2012 8:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭

Hi I have a 02 micra. I love it. It's a tank of a car but with a growing family 4 kids I think it's time I get a new car but please don't laugh I'm TERRIfED of driving a big car, so I'm looking at a dihatsu sirloin as its bigger inside room but a small boot. I don't know what to do . My micra has 48k miles but has a yellow sensor light that comes on and sometimes goes off. Does anyone think a sirloin is a good car. I had to take it for a test drive all of two
    Mins as I has the 5 month old and 9 yr old with me. They are looking for my car and 3 k and I'm sorry but I really don't have anyone to ask. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

If your car is the new shape micra then the Sirion won't be much bigger.

The sirion is a favourite of mine, it's the ugly half sister of the Yaris and has many Toyota components, but I don't think it will be signigicantly bigger.

Which shape Micra have you got? the one that's around since the early 90's or the one that was just replaced recently (the weird looking one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

How do you get four kids into a Micra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

How do you get four kids into a Micra?

I'd be more worried about getting them onto a cow.:)
    cathy01 wrote: »
    , so I'm looking at a dihatsu sirloin

3 in the back and one in the front is the most likely configuration?

I'd be more worried about getting them onto a cow.:)

Is there an udder car you'd suggest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Austin Hereford

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTeyQiU86D8MdIMVhaHhxSdwmVQ7wafeL_q7NgzVnpR5NVs87RyUKzigv6eqw

Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

3 in the back and eldest in the front. It's the older type micra. I'm thinking as long as the pram , changing bag school bag x2 baby car seat fit in we should be ok. I can leave hockey sticks etc behind. The boot is about the same size as the micra and it's higher up so it's a bit easier to see out , I'm 5 ft 3 so it's difficult to see over the steering wheel. One guy offered me a coushion . Really thanks for the advice I'd be lost without yous .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It might be daunting at first, but tbh something like a Ford Focus would suit a lot better imo. It'd probably take you a few miles to get used to it, but it's nothing to be afraid of:)

I'd suggest a Punto or Panda, they're pretty big inside without being big outside. they also have a high seating position and the Punto has a proper height adjustable seat to help you see out better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

I wouldn't feel safe with my kids in a car where the crumple zones are your knee's, driving a corolla/golf sized car is just as easy if not easier tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

48k miles is barely run-in.

If you like the car so much,why not get the sensor light checked.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'd suggest a Punto or Panda, they're pretty big inside without being big outside. they also have a high seating position and the Punto has a proper height adjustable seat to help you see out better.
    The panda had a Tini tiny boot. I couldn't even fit her small pram folded. I'll have a look at a focus. Thanks again for the help. I know it's hard for some people to understand but big cars are scary.

Also get someone to mind the kids for the day and get someone who knows a bit about cars to go around with you for the day and look at cars for the day. this is a big decision and 4 kids in tow will be a distraction that could make you buy the wrong car.

Jaysus seats on 2nd one could do with a jar of elbow grease and afew buckets of steam

There are a couple of cars in between size between Micra sized cars and focus sized cars.

cml387 wrote: »
    48k miles is barely run-in.

If you like the car so much,why not get the sensor light checked.
    I'm going to take it to a garage tomorrow. It's a great car and I feel safe in it as its like a tank it's just small, thanks for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If you don't like driving big cars it's probably just a lack of experience and the difficulty of parking them.
    A big car can be fitted with parking sensors back and front.
    Also a better upright position will let you see better. A minivan can be easier to drive than you think.

Micra is by no means a tank tbh, think of your kids ;)

Right what I think I'm going to do is... See about getting mine fixed it's due it's NCt if it's too dear then I'll go for the dihatsu as its working high up and has room for 3 with proper seat belts in the back it should be good leg room for when I get a forward facing car seat for when the baby turns 1. I'm also never ever having any more kids as the idea the very mention of a 7 seater would send me over the edge. I'll let yous know how I get on. I read the fist post what to look for when buying a car and will do them. I couldn't think right today as it was raining and the baby was grizzle and I had my 9 yr old that had mild autism and HATES change with me giving out yards. Thanks again.

One last thing, what year is the Sirion?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    One last thing, what year is the Sirion?

I'd be taking a drive to tipp for this 2007 one, Asking €3750.

Best of luck with your new car OP, don't mean to come across as pushy on car size but trust me 1h or so driving the new motor with only yourself in the car and nobody else distracting you and not only will you get a great confidence boost but it will feel like second nature ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Matthewjohn

Hi Cathy,
    I know you have already made up your mind but I think you should take a look at these cars as well there small but have plenty of space and a far safer than a Micra or Sirion.

Opel Meriva
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3112973

Ford Fusion
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3249049

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I would have said a Honda Jazz, small car with loads of room inside. Anyway, enjoy your new motor OP.