Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Car

• 17-04-2012 5:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭

Hello I am going getting my first car in a few months and I cant decide to go for a 1 litre Volkswagon Polo or a 1.1 Peugeot 206.
    (1 litre due to cheaper insurance for a 19 year old girl)
    Does any one have any experience with these cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Moved to a new thread. Please don't drag up old threads, you're welcome to start new ones:)

Don't restrict yourself to 1.0/1.1, going up to 1.6 and even beyond is fine for insurance. It all depends on the car in question, not the engine size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Don't forget, from December 2012 gender will be irrelevant to insurance quotes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

consider a Yaris, nippy for a 1.0 and as reliable as the day is long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Consider some other small cars:

Fiesta (1.3 or 1.25)
    Ford Ka (1.3)
    Toyota Starlet (1.3)
    Clio (1.2)
    106/Saxo (1.1/1.0)
    Micra (1.0)

I would be looking at insurance costs and ease of driving (position, visibility etc) over everything else in a small car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Mine was a Skoda Octavia which im getting rid of in a couple of months, wasn't the car i wanted but the VAG build quality was great even on the 1.4 with weak suspension. I found the big backside on it troublesome at first but got over it.

One thing i will say is you are going to have small scrapes, when i got my 1st car it was only 5 years old and i was abit nervous to take it out just started at it through the kitchen window flummoxxed that it was my very own car :p 1st time i took it out through the pillars i scraped it, it will happen sooner or later :p

Also if new to driving don't let people tlaking to you while driving distract you as it got me in 2 close calls over the 5 years, politely ask them to hush or turn up the radio (some people don't settle for spoken replies and expect you to turn to them and nod etc and it will cause problems)

Overall good luck with your search ^^ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

First car, 0 NCB, 19.... Consider the Yaris and other low end engine ranges as suggested.

Not a yaris they are overpriced and the 1.0 is ashmathic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Not a yaris they are overpriced and the 1.0 is ashmathic

My ladyfriend got one for her 1st car at the same age, hers is a 02, insurance was 1200 at the time, the car was bought for 3500 yoyos.

The engine shows its true colours when the car has 4 people in it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

dgt wrote: »
    My ladyfriend got one for her 1st car at the same age, hers is a 02, insurance was 1200 at the time, the car was bought for 3500 yoyos.

The engine shows its true colours when the car has 4 people in it :pac:

I had 4 passengers in the mothers yaris there last week it strugeld to climb a steep hill. :(

O.P.
    Fiat punto mk1 (My mother used to have one, but sold it for the yaris:rolleyes:), Fiat punto mk2 both seem to be good starter cars.:)

Yaris has 65hp which is more than enough for what it is. and compare with the 45 or so you'd get in a Polo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Yaris has 65hp which is more than enough for what it is. and compare with the 45 or so you'd get in a Polo.

I do have to take my hat off there it has a lot more hp than most other 1.0l cars out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

1.2 VAG packs 55 :eek:

Shuuure my auld tavia had 75 when it was brand new, dunno what it has now 60 max :p

With 3 feckin bales of briquttes in the boot too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭ger10

Hey op.
    A one litre would most defiently a perfect car for a learner. I have a polo, and although it is slow, its cheap and bulletproof. Also easy to park :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Don't forget, from December 2012 gender will be irrelevant to insurance quotes

For men it will, yeah. We'll just keep paying what we have been. Womens will go up to match though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Limbo123

For men it will, yeah. We'll just keep paying what we have been. Womens will go up to match though.

Here's to equal opportunities :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Yaris has only 65hp.....and here was I thinking my 115hp civic was low. OP do you have a full license?

What were you expecting from a 1.0 run of the mill car from 13 years ago?

Just for comparison

1.0 Polo 45hp
    1.0 corsa 54hp
    1.0 Saxo 50hp
    1.1 Punto 55hp
    1.0 Swift 51hp
    1.0 Sirion 54hp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

What were you expecting from a 1.0 run of the mill car from 13 years ago?

Just for comparison

1.0 Polo 45hp
    1.0 corsa 54hp
    1.0 Saxo 50hp
    1.1 Punto 55hp
    1.0 Swift 51hp
    1.0 Sirion 54hp

thanks, I never drove any car under 1.4l, since they never interested me. Just assumed most were 80/90hp. :)very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭listenup

Hello I am going getting my first car in a few months and I cant decide to go for a 1 litre Volkswagon Polo or a 1.1 Peugeot 206.
    (1 litre due to cheaper insurance for a 19 year old girl)
    Does any one have any experience with these cars?
    polo all the way trust me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭boomtown123

Fiat punto! My first car and still have it. My dad can't get over how I haven't had any serious trouble with it yet - 11 years old. And the city steering button is great for starting off - easier to park in tricky situations.

And also, forgot to mention - my brother and his friend had 206s and they got nothing but hardship with them. My brother got rid of his within a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Willard

had to put up with a polo for years, hated every minute of it. they are as slow as a wet week. the car is way too heavy for a 1.0. the missus currently has a fiesta 1.25 zetec & she loves it, they are cheap as chips at the moment, pros; lively, fun, cheap, small reliable engine. con; switches go in it now and again but never any real problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭teR_

If you going for a polo get the mk5 facelift model as the rest are bleh imo (but maybe you like em) 206 is a grand little first car too ..you can't go wrong with either of them.

And.. to throw a spanner in the works - Clio 1.2 16v good bit of poke in them, around 75hp ('',)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Try find a 1.4 206. It'll still be useful once you've completed your learner phase!

Avoid the Polo like the plague, it's as slow as a wet Irish winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Well.

Didn't want to start a new thread for basically the same topic. I want to get my first car this week but don't know what to get. I'm 20 and male. I was insured in my fathers 2003 opel frontera. I think it was a 2 litre engine but not too sure. Didn't think much of it but was happy to be insured in something.

Now I want my own. I was looking at polo's and 206's and other small cars. But we have a 2002 skoda octavia out the back with a new engine and 1.2 litre so its ideal. But he said he put 1500 into it in the last year and its still f*cked. He said he'll give it to me for nothing if I can fix it.

I don't know much about cars so just wondering should I buy something or try fix the Skoda? All I know thats wrong with it is the timing belt is gone? What do ye reckon?

EDIT: Sorry OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Atlantis50

hefferboi wrote: »
    Well.

Didn't want to start a new thread for basically the same topic. I want to get my first car this week but don't know what to get. I'm 20 and male. I was insured in my fathers 2003 opel frontera. I think it was a 2 litre engine but not too sure. Didn't think much of it but was happy to be insured in something.

Now I want my own. I was looking at polo's and 206's and other small cars. But we have a 2002 skoda octavia out the back with a new engine and 1.2 litre so its ideal. But he said he put 1500 into it in the last year and its still f*cked. He said he'll give it to me for nothing if I can fix it.

I don't know much about cars so just wondering should I buy something or try fix the Skoda? All I know thats wrong with it is the timing belt is gone? What do ye reckon?

EDIT: Sorry OP!
    I think you'd be better off starting your own thread tbh as people familiar with Skoda Octavias might chime in on costs of replacing timing belt etc