Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England has not held enough major tournaments

• 16-04-2012 10:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭

It's an absolute disgrace that since 1966 England has only hosted Euro 96.
    Given the numer of modern stadiums and quality infrastructure England would easily be able to host a major tournament at very short notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Flancrest wrote: »
    Given the numer of modern stadiums and quality infrastructure England would easily be able to host a major tournament at very short notice.

Their shít at bribes.

Hmmm, thread title..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Classy title for the thread! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Wowie with the thread title...

35b8py.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

ffs change the name of the thread man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

it is puzzling that they have held anything since then. we know they have had some high profile bids for tournaments ultimately fail. its, imo, a shame they didn't get 2018 or 2022. russia i can understand to a degree but staging a world cup in quatar (sic) is a joke. why haven't they got another tourno? fear of hooliganism? the london 2012 olympics may have adversely affected the country getting footy tournos. is the next euros on in france?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

FutureGuy wrote: »
    ffs change the name of the thread man.

Sadly that's the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I actually dont believe that thread title is a coincidence

Anyway, a disgrace? yeah sure, I have lost lots of sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

FIFA's corrupt as feck, big money is exchanged to get the tourneys these days, fair play to England to not stoop to the level of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Do not feed the troll ! Yawn.

kryogen wrote: »
    I actually dont believe that thread title is a coincidence

especially when you read his recent posts.

Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

No way that thread title is a coincidence.

OP, you should be ashamed of yourself.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

The thread title is intentional for god's sake people.

Not sure what to say, I usually don't have a problem with any type of gutter humour, I think pretty much nothing is out of bounds.

but.. is there ANY audience for this 'joke'?

:eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

What the **** man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

bloody hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Flancrest

title changed
    apologies for any offence caused
    genuinely not meant
    I may have some controversial opinions but that would be a disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

Ah come on lads, I'm sure he meant nothing by the title. It's changed now so let's just discuss the topic.

The thread about the forum being gone to the dogs is ****ing bang on the money tbh. The fact the OP needs to dress up what is actually a decent question in the rags of a sick attempt at WUMing is a sad reflection on the state of the place.

Fwiw I agree and think it's madness they haven't had one in so long. Fair enough FIFA/UEFA may want to bring the game globally via the international tournaments but they'd do well to remember the areas where the game is most popular. Don't bite the hand that feeds you etc.

Given your posting history it's pretty obvious you're both a troll and a liar. This forum is going down the toilet because of snide crap like this.

title changed
    apologies for any offence caused
    genuinely not meant
    I may have some controversial opinions but that would be a disgrace

So now you are a liar as well? At least have the balls to admit what you were trying to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

spockety wrote: »

Yeah, I thought it was funny

So now you are a liar as well? At least have the balls to admit what you were trying to do.
    aswell as what?
    An honest mistake
    I apologised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Can I ask what the original title was?

aswell as what?
    An honest mistake
    I apologised

An honest mistake my bollix.

You've turned what's a very reasonable question and could have been a good thread into 2 pages so far of posters pulling you up on WUMing.

DB21 wrote: »

"96 was not enough".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Modern Stadiums and improved infrastructures has only really come after the Taylor Report. Since then, all England thought they had to do was throw their hat into the ring and parade David Beckham around the place and they'd win and that arrogance has blown up in their faces a few times now.

"96 was not enough"

'96 Not Enough

Classy guy.

aswell as what?
    An honest mistake
    I apologised

Honest mistake my hole.

Of all the possible thread titles

"1966 and 1996 were not enough"
    "England don't get enough tournaments"

even

"1996 was not enough".

You chose "96 was not enough", a phrase already bandied around, right smack on the anniversary of Hillsborough?

Nobody believes you.

cson wrote: »
    An honest mistake my bollix.

You've turned what's a very reasonable question and could have been a good thread into 2 pages so far of posters pulling you up on WUMing.
    OK so clearly you know me personally then.
    If you think its a good question feel free to discuss it. If you post anything I don't agree with I'll be happy to take that as a differing POV without resorting to calling you a WUM or a troll

Honest mistake my hole.

Of all the possible thread titles

"1966 and 1996 were not enough"
    "England don't get enough tournaments"

even

"1996 was not enough".

You chose "96 was not enough", a phrase already bandied around, right smack on the anniversary of Hillsborough?

Nobody believes you.
    You don't speak for the masses.
    You choose not to believe me.
    If this was some kind of wind up I would have left the original title

You don't speak for the masses.
    You choose not to believe me.
    If this was some kind of wind up I would have left the original title

I guarantee you that I speak for everyone here.

You changed the thread title because you s**t yourself at the reaction you're getting and fear a ban etc.

aswell as what?
    An honest mistake
    I apologised

You changed the thread title because you s**t yourself at the reaction you're getting and fear a ban etc.

Exactly. Stop trying to weasel your way out of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

If that is how you (and the other fool who thought it was funny) get your jollies, then I genuinely pity you. I really do.

Let's all make snide references at people being crushed to death. How sad and limited you both are that you can't find any other way to get a laugh than to make silly references to people (including children) getting crushed to death.

Pitiful. Grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Paparazzo wrote: »

Yeah, I thought it was funny

Yeah I chuckled too, obv completely out of line and intentional from OP though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Thread Checklist

Pick Subtle Title To Wind Up LFC Fans
    Let Angry Reactions Pour In
    Change Title and Apologise for 'mistake'
    Let More reactions come in accusing you of lying
    Accuse Liverpool fan's of being over-sensitive and playing the "always the victim card!"

OK.
    If the title was intentional do you not think thats the reaction I would have expected and therefore left it as it was.

You speak for yourself not everyone posting here.
    I do understand why you find the original title so offenceive. That's the reason I changed it.

If future posts are just going to be more accusations against me save yourself the repetitive strain injury

FYI OP

28d84f75-c2ea-49a7-8b8f-baf7a4ea4328iphone_photo.jpg

murpho999 wrote: »
    Thread Checklist

Accuse Liverpool fan's of being over-sensitive and playing the "always the victim card!"

Well I'm a Utd fan and I think it was bang out of order.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Thread Checklist

Never accused anyone of being over sensitive
    Sensitivity on the subject is understandable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Good luck trying to weasel your way out of that :rolleyes:
    Honest mistake......LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Should be banned... scumbag thread title!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I dont think anyone has ever shít themselves because they might get a ban from boards soccer forum in fainess.
    But to get back on topic:
    Dempsey wrote: »
    Modern Stadiums and improved infrastructures has only really come after the Taylor Report. Since then, all England thought they had to do was throw their hat into the ring and parade David Beckham around the place and they'd win and that arrogance has blown up in their faces a few times now.
    Remember around 1999-2000 when they were going for the 2006 world cup, the sun (most popular paper in england) had some of the worst crap ever posted. Showed a load of german stadiums that were delapadated, grass growing on the terrace etc. Basically laughing at their bid and showing the stadiums england had. One sun opinion piece had a big string of crap about why they should host it and it finished with the sentence "in short, we are the best people in the world" :eek:
    We all know that the german stadiums were all top notch and they did an unreal job of hosting it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

OK.
    If the title was intentional do you not think thats the reaction I would have expected and therefore left it as it was.

You speak for yourself not everyone posting here.
    I do understand why you find the original title so offenceive. That's the reason I changed it.

If future posts are just going to be more accusations against me save yourself the repetitive strain injury

You must take us all for idiots if you actually think we believe that your title was not an intentional troll around the time of the anniversary of Hillsborough.

You post enough on the "Is kenny done" thread to know that that exact phrase carries hateful undertones. The fact that you are in your mid 20s means you grew up with the disaster in your conscience.

You have no excuse man. I'm hoping that people see you for what you are and that you'll get a ban from some forum in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Good riddance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Well I'm a Utd fan and I think it was bang out of order.

Was not having a go at Utd fans at all. I know the vast majority would not support that.
    Never accused anyone of being over sensitive
    Sensitivity on the subject is understandable

Not yet....that's why it wasn't crossed out!

FutureGuy wrote: »
    You must take us all for idiots if you actually think we believe that your title was not an intentional troll around the time of the anniversary of Hillsborough.

You post enough on the "Is kenny done" thread to know that that exact phrase carries hateful undertones. The fact that you are in your mid 20s means you grew up with the disaster in your conscience.

You have no excuse man. I'm hoping that people see you for what you are and that you'll get a ban from some forum in the future.
    Look if a ban comes because of this I will accept it. To make fun in anyway of such a horrific event is a terrible thing to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Thanks guys.

OP, WTF is wrong with you? I'm United born and bred, and even I don't joke about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Remember around 1999-2000 when they were going for the 2006 world cup, the sun (most popular paper in england) had some of the worst crap ever posted. Showed a load of german stadiums that were delapadated, grass growing on the terrace etc. Basically laughing at their bid and showing the stadiums england had. One sun opinion piece had a big string of crap about why they should host it and it finished with the sentence "in short, we are the best people in the world" :eek:
    We all know that the german stadiums were all top notch and they did an unreal job of hosting it.

Did Jeremy Clarkson write that article :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

High time we had a sub forum for United and Liverpool tbh.