Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIP Piermario Morosini

• 14-04-2012 3:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭

Died this afternoon after collapsing on the field while playing for Livorno today with a heart problem.

Surely training needs to be looked at if things like this keep happening?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Training might have made no difference at all though. Screening should become compulsory as that can make a huge difference.
    R.I.P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

I'm pretty sure screening's compulsary in Italy, correct me if I'm wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

All Italian games suspended according to Sky Italia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Very sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Aye, just saw the new myself and was coming on to post. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

G.K. wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure screening's compulsary in Italy, correct me if I'm wrong?

I remember Mancini saying how appalled he was at the lack of thorough medicals and screening in England compared to Italy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Lads, these conditions are virtually undetectable as has been said every time these tragedies occur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Genetics and predisposition play a massive factor in these sudden death cases. SDC (Sudden Cardiac Death) can encompass anything from death due to Cardiac Arrhythmia, Arrhythmogenic Right Ventricular Cardiomyopathy / Dysplasia (ARVC/D), Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, Long QT Syndrome, Wolff Parkinson White syndrome, ect, ect.

So while proper cardiac studies might unveil an individuals risk. Such intensive screening is expensive and are unlikely to occur as a standard. Especially when considering the cost and effort involved, measured against the rarity of SCD cases occurring. The most effective route imo, is through player education raising awareness.

But regardless of what the lad died of, it's sad to hear of such tragic cases.

May he R.I.P.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Huge tragedy. Makes you appreciate how lucky Muamba was, and the efforts of those on the scene who saved him.

RIP.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Morricone

baz2009 wrote: »
    Died this afternoon after collapsing on the field while playing for Livorno today with a heart problem.

Surely training needs to be looked at if things like this keep happening?

Its hardly fúcking training. Look at the ultra marathon runners and the training they do. It definitely isn't the training.

This happened in Italy, a country where the pros have compulsory cardiac screenings.

Like what more can you do? It was obviously a apreviously undetectable cardiac problem, one of the ones you don't find out about until someone dies.

The whole, someone died, someone or something must be the problem is annoying.

Its tragic and incedibly sad but he died of a previously undetectable cardiac problem. C'est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Very sad altogether. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭eugeneious

Apparently a vehicle was blocking an ambulance from getting on to the pitch. Disgraceful if true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

The Chief Cardiologist from the hospital in Pescara was at the game and ran to the pitch but wasn't able to do anything. He was pronounced dead before the Medics even arrived.

Poor fella's family.

He was only 25..

:(

riposi in pace Piermario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

eugeneious wrote: »
    Apparently a vehicle was blocking an ambulance from getting on to the pitch. Disgraceful if true.

A parked police car to be more specific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

R I P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

RIP

Think they really ought to remove the video from the gazetta site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

RIP

Think they really ought to remove the video from the gazetta site

Yeah I just saw it there and it's a bit much. Riposi in pace Piermario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Seaneh wrote: »
    The Chief Cardiologist from the hospital in Pescara was at the game and ran to the pitch but wasn't able to do anything. He was pronounced dead before the Medics even arrived.

Poor fella's family.

He was only 25..

:(

riposi in pace Piermario.

Wasn't Muamba technically dead? What is the difference between these situations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

RIP young man :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

JPA wrote: »
    Wasn't Muamba technically dead? What is the difference between these situations?

Far as I know, and im no doctor, but just from reading about it. The muscular part of his heart was technically dead, but the electric working of his heart still had signs of activity, and they could keep this alive until they finally got him to respond to shocks etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

JPA wrote: »

I don't know, I'm not a cardiologist and I wasn't there...

Maybe wait for a press release from Livrono or the hospital in Pescara?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Sasquatch76

Jesus, no age at all. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Really sad. :(

You really don't know when or if it could happen to you. Hopefully something like this doesn't crop up too soon, although it does seem inevitable.

R.I.P. Priemario Morosini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Very very sad.

Frightening how this can happen, but don't see what can be done about it, just one of those sad unfortunate things.

Also amazing how different the media coverage is as he's not British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

murpho999 wrote: »

Also amazing how different the media coverage is as he's not British.

Was there much coverage of the Muamba incident in Italy or elsewhere in Europe?

I was in a hotel in Bolton that weekend so didnt see much TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Riposa in Pace Piermario.

Such a tragedy.

He lost his mother in 2001 (at 15) and his father two years later. His disabled brother took his own life too and his only other close family member, his older sister, is also seriously ill.

He is quoted as saying:

"Vorrei diventare un buon calciatore soprattutto per loro, perché so quanto li farebbe felici".

I would like to become a good footballer especially for them, because I know how happy it would have made them.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

R.I.P. Piermario :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Sad to hear this

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Such a tragedy.

He lost his mother in 2001 (at 15) and his father two years later. His disabled brother took his own life too and his only other close family member, his older sister, is also seriously ill.

He is quoted as saying:

"Vorrei diventare un buon calciatore soprattutto per loro, perché so quanto li farebbe felici".

I would like to become a good footballer especially for them, because I know how happy it would have made them.

RIP

Horrible.

Such sad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Such a tragedy.

He is quoted as saying:

RIP

Very sad to hear of his untimely death, even more sadder to hear of what happened with his family and his strong character in the face of such tragedy. Life can be so cruel, puts things into perspective.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

In horse racing a race can't start unless there's 2 ambulances on stand by, if there is an injury to a jockey and he's taking to hospital the racing will be delayed until another ambulance arrives, surely if they can afford to have 2 ambulances at all times on a race course they can have them waiting in a football stadium, this probably wouldn't have prevented yesterday's tragedy but when your hear of an ambulance being blocked by a car it pisses me off, the difference between someone living or dying shouldn't be decided by something so ridiculous as an ambulance being delayed.

The guy had a tough life at least now he's with his family
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Caveman1 wrote: »
    In horse racing a race can't start unless there's 2 ambulances on stand by, if there is an injury to a jockey and he's taking to hospital the racing will be delayed until another ambulance arrives, surely if they can afford to have 2 ambulances at all times on a race course they can have them waiting in a football stadium, this probably wouldn't have prevented yesterday's tragedy but when your hear of an ambulance being blocked by a car it pisses me off, the difference between someone living or dying shouldn't be decided by something so ridiculous as an ambulance being delayed.

The guy had a tough life at least now he's with his family
    RIP

Not sure how accurate the account of what happened is from wiki, but here it is anyway:

Wikipedia wrote:
    On 14 April 2012, while representing Livorno, Morosini suffered a cardiac arrest and fell to the ground in the 31st minute of the Serie B match against Pescara.[2] He unsuccessfully tried to get up before receiving medical attention on the field.[3] A defibrillator was used on Morosini, who was conscious when he was taken on the stretcher.[4] The News agency ANSA reported that a police car was blocking the stadium's exit for the ambulance for nearly a minute, but a heart specialist said that the delay made no difference.[5] After Morosini was taken to the hospital, the match was abandoned with Livorno leading 2–0, and some players reportedly "left the field in tears".[6][7]

Morosini was rushed to the Santo Spirito hospital, but reports later indicated he was dead before reaching the hospital.[8][9] Italian media reports were alerted of Morosini's death after an "explosion of shouts and tears" by his team-mates who had gone to the hospital.[10] All of the Italian football league matches for the weekend were suspended.[11]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I saw the clip on the gazetta website and he did try to get up after going down first.

Ridiculous thing to happen with the ambulance if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

http://www.football-italia.net/17735/udinese-look-after-morosinis-sister
    Udinese have confirmed they will look after Piermario Morosini’s sister, who relied on the player for financial and emotional support.

Morosini was under contract with Udinese and on loan at Livorno when he died during Saturday’s Serie B game with Pescara.

The 25-year-old had a very difficult life, as he lost both his parents before turning 18 and his disabled brother committed suicide.

The only remaining family member is his sister, who is also gravely ill and relied upon him for financial support.

Udinese and captain Antonio Di Natale have now confirmed they will ensure Morosini’s sister is looked after.

“He was an exceptional lad, so full of life. Despite all the problems he had, he was always at the disposal of the team and every day gave us all strength,” said Di Natale.

“I lost my mother four years ago and, as he had already been through this, he was very close to me. Watching the images on television was shocking. He wanted to get back up, but fell again. When seeing that, all you can do is pray the Lord will give you a hand.

“He wanted so much to live and find success, for himself, for the family he no longer had and his sister. I immediately said we could not play last night, as it wasn’t right. I compliment Inter and the FIGC for making that decision, as on a day like this football becomes impossible.”

Livorno and his girlfriend Anna released a statement thanking “all those who in these hours of pain have been close to us in their memories of a great athlete and a special person.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

RIP
    Awful unfair thing to happen to someone so young and who had had such a struggle in life.
    Thoughts and love with his sister, girlfriend and friends x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Paully D wrote: »

Di Natale has taken guardianship of his sister.
    Antonio Di Natale—"I will ensure that the sister of Piermario is not abandoned. She has already lost everybody" --- "I will be there to help his sister, not just for a day, but for her whole life. The girl needs us. This is for her and for Mario"

Fair play to him and the club. What a gesture from Di Natale.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Hero is one of those words tossed around too much without much meaning to it. But, Di Natale is just that. Already respected him for his football abilities, he's a class act off the pitch as he is on it. So much admiration for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Jacksquat

Terribly sad. RIP A great gesture to help his sister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

RIP Piermario. Tragic, only 25 and after all he's been through

Great respect for Di Natale, class act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I found the footage of Morisini collapsing very upsetting. I don't think i could watch it again. I can only imagine what torment his sister and girlfriend must be going through.

Di Natale has always been a pure gentleman on the field, and now he's has proven it off the field too.

RIP Piermario