Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicolas Anelka Player - Manager

• 12-04-2012 10:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17688465

Nicolas Anelka is expected to be confirmed as player-manager of Shanghai Shenhua in the next 24 hours.

The ambitious Chinese Super League team have moved to replace boss Jean Tigana following a poor run of results.

The former Chelsea striker oversaw his first training session in Shanghai on Thursday.

Zhu Jun, the chief executive of Shanghai Shenhua, is hopeful Anelka's contacts in the game will help him attract other big names to the club.

The 33-year-old has been allowed to bring in three coaches, including his assistant Baptiste Gentili.

Although the Chinese club moved to play down Tigana's departure, it is understood Anelka will replace, rather than assist, his French compatriot once the former Fulham manager has agreed a severance package.

The appointment of Anelka, who signed a two-year deal with Shenhua in December, represents the player's first move into coaching.

He will be tasked with arresting a slump in form that has left Shenhua in the bottom five of the Chinese league after five matches.

Shenhua have already signed Brazilian forwards Cleo and Muriqui in a bid to bolster their squad, while reports linking Chelsea striker Didier Drogba with a move to Shanghai are likely to gather momentum.

Drogba's contract at Stamford Bridge expires next summer and talks over an extension are deadlocked.

The Ivory Coast forward has asked for a new two-year deal, but Chelsea are only willing to offer the 33-year-old an additional 12 months and no further meetings are planned.

Drogba has attracted interest from all over the world, including Los Angeles Galaxy and Anzhi Makhachkala, of Russia, but Shenhua are expected to be the first to make a formal approach.

Must be one of the weirder football stories I've heard in awhile, fair play to him. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

He's one of the least people I would ever expect to go into management. Interested to see how he gets on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Didn't have him down as manager material at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Agreed with both of ye, I dont think he'd be the manager type but apparently he was liked in the Chelsea dressing room and fairly easy going, contrary to what characteristics he portrayed in his early Arsenal/Real/PSG days.

I dont imagine coaching badges were neceassary in China either as I couldnt imagine Anelka holding any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

whats the chances of him winning everything in Asia and coming back to manage Chelsea within a decade?

With Roman at the helm thats not far from the realms of possibilty I reckon. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Be honest - did anyone see Paulo DiCanio becoming a manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Be honest - did anyone see Paulo DiCanio becoming a manager?

I think DiCanio is different

for me he always showed a love for the game which often Anelka seemed to not have

also, DiCanio displayed a fire that Anelka didnt have but then there are different styles to management...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Sky are saying its as coach

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/7667004/Anelka-moves-into-coaching

Shanghai Shenhua have given Nicolas Anelka his first step into coaching as he aims to end their poor start to the season.
    The former Chelsea striker moved to the Chinese Super League in January and has scored two goals for the club.
    But new manager Jean Tigana has not had a successful beginning after taking over for the new season, having won just once in his opening five games.
    They were expected to challenge at the top of the table this term, but their disappointing start has led to speculation that Tigana would be sacked.
    Anelka was made team captain for the campaign and will now combine his role on the pitch with a coaching role behind the scenes.
    Expectations

A club statement read: "Due to the team's recent record which has not met the expectations and demands of the club's fans, media and other parties and the fact the foreign players are in urgent need of high-quality training the club has made the decision to replace some members of the coaching staff.
    "The club will introduce four coaches from the United Kingdom and France to join the coaching staff to provide the necessary training support to ensure the competitive state of the players.
    "In addition, the team captain Nicolas Anelka will coach and participate in the team's daily training management."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Alright lads, pass the ball to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Hope he fails miserably tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

Not sure what he'll do when he falls out with himself

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

From the thread title I thought this was going to be about a new sitcom/mockumentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

This should go well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

hope he makes a success of it - surprised tbh but I'd be interested to hear the opinions of managers who've managed him and fellow players and see if they're as surprised as me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

greendom wrote: »
    hope he makes a success of it - surprised tbh but I'd be interested to hear the opinions of managers who've managed him and fellow players and see if they're as surprised as me.

Ask Raymond Domenech. He'd probably give you an accurate picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

token101 wrote: »
    Ask Raymond Domenech. He'd probably give you an accurate picture.

he'd know his star sign. i wouldn't trust anything else he had to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Somewhere Arsene Wenger is spitting his coffee out laughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭RiseToTheTop

A great bunch of players.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Redzer7 wrote: »
    Hope he fails miserably tbh.

Well he seems to do everything else miserably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I always liked him. Hope he does well and comes back to England.