Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why the FECK is there not Private Plates here?

• 10-04-2012 1:08pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭

...like they would have made a KILLING in the boom with all the money sloshing around back then. The dept could have done a "kickback" deal with car dealers so if they sold you a private plate with the car, they could have got back lets say €50 for an example...and the dept could have got maybe €450 ...so €500 a plate. Nice jam I think you'll agree and an easy sell.

and what about now.......the Gov need the cash, dealers need a way to shift metal, and car buyers could buy a nice bangernomic and no one would ever know what year it was. I'll give you this example, this nice looking Alfa could be bought for reasonable cash. It a 98 plate, but with a private plate on it like "SEXY YOKE":pac: (just a stupid example..lol ), the neighbours would never know how old yer car is, and you could drive around in an optical illusion......
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=78047376&postcount=2286

.....but would they do it? .......Naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, shure it'd be too much work for them public Sector workers........:rolleyes:

Discuss......:P

Presumably the private plates would have to be totally unique to anything in the UK too, that would limit the options somewhat maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Because they're stupid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Believe or not, but I had the same discussion with my friends yesterday over a pint.

I would love to get an OUTATIME plate :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

draffodx wrote: »
    Because they're stupid?

I don't think they're stupid.....I'd like to have X5 MM1 on my X5, just because you might think its stupid does'nt mean that it should not be available to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

MidlandsM wrote: »
    ...like they would have made a KILLING in the boom with all the money sloshing around back then.

And what do you think the FF government would have done with the money? Another round of Benchmarking maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

juan.kerr wrote: »
    And what do you think the FF government would have done with the money? Another round of Benchmarking maybe?

Irrespective.

The point is that if they brought it in now, they could make some good hard cold cash from it.

I'd consider buying my own cherished plate if I had the opportunity.

I don't think they're stupid.....I'd like to have X5 MM1 on my X5, just because you might think its stupid does'nt mean that it should not be available to me.

For what reason? What purpose would that serve? Our current registration is simple, to the point and effective. Year, county, number - easy, simple and it works. Having private plates serve no legitimate purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

For what reason? What purpose would that serve? Our current registration is simple, to the point and effective. Year, county, number - easy, simple and it works. Having private plates serve no legitimate purpose.

Nor does a spoiler on a 91 Civic...... The owner likes it though. :)

Having private plates serve no legitimate purpose.

like to make revenue?
    To drive sales?
    To help employment (from the sales)
    and I like in a free democracy, and if I want a private plate, why can't I have one?

MugMugs wrote: »
    Nor does a spoiler on a 91 Civic...... The owner likes it though. :)

True but a spoiler is not used for identification purposes.

44967845834308963315.png

How about something like this? The original plate number being located under the cherished name?

Sobanek wrote: »
    44967845834308963315.png

How about something like this? The original plate number being located under the cherished name?

that seems like best of both worlds to me!

like to make revenue?
    To drive sales?
    To help employment (from the sales)
    and I like in a free democracy, and if I want a private plate, why can't I have one?

Thats fair enough but what I'm saying is the current system is an excellent system, how would you integrate private plates into it without effecting its simplicity and effectiveness?

You can't have the majority driving around with one format of Year - County - Number and people with private plates driving around with a different format or is that what you envisage?

EDIT: Damn Sobanek! I suppose a plate like that could work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

They look stupid pretentious and stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Mossess

I’d have to say that in my opinion they are remarkably stupid. However I can see many great reasons for having them.

The arguments for are:
    1) There are a lot of remarkably tasteless stupid people out there and it would give them a warm fussy feeling on the inside, and this is a good thing.
    2) It would be a great revenue stream for the poor pockets of the country.

The arguments against it:
    1) The odds are that the quango of ‘jobs for the boys’ would actually cost more than it would generate
    2) It’s tasteless (but that’s a matter of view)

All in all on the balance it’s probably a good idea.

71180003346210345384.jpg

Just tried to make the idea more clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Now add into it local government. Where each county decides on how much it costs to have the plate per year if registered in that county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

pete4130 wrote: »
    Now add into it local government. Where each county decides on how much it costs to have the plate per year if registered in that county.
    And the 200 euro surcharge for printing new plates.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Main reason why it's not done? Dealers Nd reg snobbery. You no longer need to buy a new car as nobody knows how old your car is. Revenue is down on new car sales, so there will need to be an increase for the motor industry in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

Id say the complete oposite of that, yeah the year, county, number is easy but surly what they have in the states is easier, just a random number with the state. If people want to get there own plate why cant they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

Great idea OP.

All in the best possible taste.

Bags I

I-VOTE-FF

:p

Overature wrote: »
    Id say the complete oposite of that, yeah the year, county, number is easy but surly what they have in the states is easier, just a random number with the state. If people want to get there own plate why cant they?

So essentially just remove the year on our plates? Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

i think if people have the option then private plates should be allowed, they are just another extra to personalise your car and could be a revenue generator for county councils. Image reg's like BUNG1, RIMA1M (resting in my account 1million)!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

Thats fair enough but what I'm saying is the current system is an excellent system

Why is it excellent exactly?
    You can't have the majority driving around with one format of Year - County - Number and people with private plates driving around with a different format or is that what you envisage?

Why, because it's really super important for everyone to know that my car was the 4127th car registered in Co. Clare in 2005?

All that matters is that it's a unique identifier that can't easily be confused with anything else.

The reason you can't have it in Ireland is simply lack of imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Miscreant

I was under the impression that one could reserve a number for a car reg for a fee. I think that is about as far as personalisation goes here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Miscreant wrote: »
    I was under the impression that one could reserve a number for a car reg for a fee. I think that is about as far as personalisation goes here.
    And even at that you can't use the plate until that year.

firefly08 wrote: »
    Why is it excellent exactly?

Straight forward, to the point, easy to read and easy to pick up a registration at a glimpse when required.
    firefly08 wrote: »
    Why, because it's really super important for everyone to know that my car was the 4127th car registered in Co. Clare in 2005?

All that matters is that it's a unique identifier that can't easily be confused with anything else.

The reason you can't have it in Ireland is simply lack of imagination.

Is it really super important that someone has a personalised plate? I don't think so.

Don't get me wrong I have nothing against personalised plates as long as they are not done in the same manner as the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

My opinion hasnt changed from the last thread on this 2 days ago. The reg is there for avery important purpose, to identify the car. Theres a whole car for people to customise as they want. The plate should be left alone. We have a nice simple registration system as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

If you want a personal plate, just change your name by deed pole to reflect your current plate.

Best Regards,

98 LM 1254

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

The reg is there for avery important purpose, to identify the car.

So is a private plate. Just because it doesn't conform to SIMI's ideal doesn't stop it performing that function. If anything, private plates are /more/ identifiable.

dahamsta wrote: »
    So is a private plate. Just because it doesn't conform to SIMI's ideal doesn't stop it performing that function. If anything, private plates are /more/ identifiable.

have to agree, if my local bank go robbed, i thikn I'd remember the reg no : BMWLOVER quicker than 04D13678 or whatever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Thats fair enough but what I'm saying is the current system is an excellent system, how would you integrate private plates into it without effecting its simplicity and effectiveness?

Very easily.
    Normal plate - 04-KY-123456 (2 digits, 1 or 2 letters and 1 to 6 digits).
    Personlized plate - 08-OY-JOHNY (2 digits, 1 or 2 letters and 1 to 6 personalized letters) - only last part personlized.

Simple and keeps simplicity and effectiveness of standard plates you mentioned.
    However I can't see what this effectiveness is about, as first two digits show date of first registration, which might be actually different to date of manufacture and therefore doesn't reflect how old is the car, while letters show county of first registration, so considering not many people stick to brand new cars for more than few years, and most cars on Irish roads are over few years old, then it says nothing as it's just random.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Our current registration is simple, to the point and effective. Year, county, number - easy, simple and it works. Having private plates serve no legitimate purpose.

That's exactly what makes them so boring! I hate the plate system here and i always find it difficult to explain why. I guess I'm old enough to remember the old pre '87 system in general use and at least there was a CHANCE of 3 letters and 3 numbers throwing up something interesting or memorable. As a car mad kid I could remember the registration numbers of my relatives and neighbours. OK, so kids have Wii & iPads now and are probably a bit more sophisticated:p. But even if they weren't they'd want to be fairly sad to remember '09 D 10****'.

Also, most other countries, especially small ones seem to get by with plates with much fewer characters - easier to remember, more distinctive, more aesthetically appealing (IMO). Surely all you need is a letter to denote year and maybe one to denote region/county (if you must)?

The main beneficiaries of the current system is the SIMI and the badge snobbery that motivates people to buy new cars.

I'll tell you something else for certain - when I was growing up NO-ONE ever referred to the year of a car and unless you knew a little about cars your neighbour's new motor could be a year old or 5 yrs old and no-one gave much of a ****.

We can't have that though can we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Declan Lander

and what about now.......the Gov need the cash, dealers need a way to shift metal, and car buyers could buy a nice bangernomic and no one would ever know what year it was.
    Discuss......:P

The answer is simple, the SIMI have had slimey Irish politicians in their back pockets for years. It's tradition. So dream on about private plates, never ever will they be allowed in this country.

Why should I be forced to display what year I can afford and the county of the first owner, on my own private car ? Other than being a nice little earner for the SIMI and their bought political friends, there is no legitimate reason why this information needs to displayed on the registration plate.

So what would you be happy to display?
    Nearly every country forces it's citizens to display at least some information on number plate.
    F.e. in Poland you have to display the area where you live, and it's quite precise area, as whole country is divided into nearly 800 areas.
    Here's the map611px-Plcarplates379v06.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Ninap

Nah, it's crap. Failing to use letters in the main part of the reg reduces the character combinations leading to ridiculously long reg nos. I'll be returning to Irl shortly and will have to re register a car which will end up with a 9 character reg plate. Others will be driving around with 4 character plates. There's no consistency. Plus, letters are easier to remember, and there isn't a good reason to have the age of the car on the plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

to change the system would require the government to spend money on it...

it's the sort of thing that shouldn't cost too much to change however this is Ireland so it'll take 100 years to pay back the cost of changing the system to allow custom registration plates from the amount of people who will actually use them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭breadmonster

I think the motor industry wants to have 2 plates a year so they can shift more new cars later in the year.

So you could have something like:
    13-d-12345 (2013 early) jan-jun
    13L-d-12345 (2013 late) jul -dec

Or if they doubled the first number it would be
    26-d-12345 (2013 early)
    27-d-12345 (2013 late)
    reset at 2050

They look stupid pretentious and stupid.

Some do, but most private plates in the uk are just random letters / numbers from an old issue, making current year and location much more private.

CiniO wrote: »

Why do we have to display anything? The year benefits only snobs and the motor industry. The county has /some/ benefit as it /may/ indicate condition, but that's not guaranteed, and it can appear on the reg cert and be requested by buyers. Same goes for the increment.
    Nearly every country forces it's citizens to display at least some information on number plate.

And that makes it right because...?

Just a random reg combination, that does not advertise and shout out what year you can afford and which county the first owner lived in. Some of us don't need or want such suffocating nanny state attitude interfereing in such things. As long as the police and authorities can look up the owner from the reg when needs be, no more info should be included on the plate to please the cosy SIMI cartel and their bought out slimy half wit politicians.

Just a random reg combination, that does not advertise and shout out what year you can afford and which county the first owner lived in. Some of us don't need or want a suffocating nanny state attitude interfereing in such things. As long as the police and authorties can look up the owner from the reg when needs be, no more info should be included on the plate to please the cosy SIMI cartel and their bought out politicans.

It actually sounds reasonable to me.

So why don't we do ABC-123 number plate style.
    Three random letters and three random digits.
    That will cover 17.5 million variations, so it will be way more than ever needed in Ireland.
    Also it limits regs to only 6 characters, which will be easier to read. They can be bigger then.

Because the problem with Irish number plates is as well that font is pretty small, and can't be read easily from far enough. No county name at the top, so more space to make bigger font.

But still personalized plates will be possible - like BMW-535

It actually sounds reasonable to me.

So why don't we do ABC-123 number plate style.
    Three random letters and three random digits.
    That will cover 17.5 million variations, so it will be way more than ever needed in Ireland.
    Also it limits regs to only 6 characters, which will be easier to read. They can be bigger then.

Because the problem with Irish number plates is as well that font is pretty small, and can't be read easily from far enough. No county name at the top, so more space to make bigger font.

But still personalized plates will be possible - like BMW-535

You're right, but far too sensible and practical for half wit Irish politicians, and not enough money in it for them and their pals in the SIMI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

System we have is fine. All a number plate needs to do is uniquely identify a car, and the one we have does this excellently well. People who get caught about about the year of their car just need to get life.

Most people remember the year, so if the Gardai say they are looking for a blue 2010 Cork registered Focus there is a reasonably small subset of cars. Compare to explaining to the general public that you are looking for a Blue Mk2 Facelift Focus.

It's hardly a major supporting factor. And in fact in the context of this thread a number plate saying BIGKNOB might be somewhat of a help..... ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Syllabus

by that thinking we should all have the same haircut or ringtone on the mobile or all wear the same clothes

maidhc wrote: »
    System we have is fine. All a number plate needs to do is uniquely identify a car, and the one we have does this excellently well. People who get caught about about the year of their car just need to get life.

Most people remember the year, so if the Gardai say they are looking for a blue 2010 Cork registered Focus there is a reasonably small subset of cars. Compare to explaining to the general public that you are looking for a Blue Mk2 Facelift Focus.

No its not, the current reg system, is a shyte backward nanny state effort that condenses the bulk of the motor trade into three months of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

No its not, the current reg system, is a shyte backward nanny state effort that condenses the bulk of the motor trade into three months of the year.

So?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭creedp

The next NB step for this nanny state is to direct that we all drive a 1.6tdci silver focus .. looking fwd to it!