Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Psychic hides behind religious rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,723 ✭✭✭✭Penn

And yet, if they had killed someone and claimed it to be a "religious right", they'd be thrown in jail.

As bad as they are, how in this day and age do people fall for that? Sure, spending a few hundred on psychics... I don't understand how you can fall for that but fair enough. But millions? Giving them your cars, your house... In a way they almost deserve it for being so f*cking stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Penn wrote: »
    And yet, if they had killed someone and claimed it to be a "religious right", they'd be thrown in jail.

As bad as they are, how in this day and age do people fall for that? Sure, spending a few hundred on psychics... I don't understand how you can fall for that but fair enough. But millions? Giving them your cars, your house... In a way they almost deserve it for being so f*cking stupid.

I think most people can probably guess how I feel about this type of thing and the people that use these services, but at the same time, they are desparate people in awful positions; ripe forgo be taken advantage of.

Irrespective of how stupid they have been the behaviour of the thieves cannot be excused simply because the victims were idiots.

MrP

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

A girl i know believes all that twaddle. I had a conversation with her a few weeks ago, it started about my lack of religious beliefs but then it went on to psychics and the like (of course she doesn't realise its not in tune with her catholic beliefs to believe that stuff).

I tried to explain its a con, and even though some psychics probably genuinely believe they're psychic its all down to leading questions and the ability to read people etc. Then she asked me to explain how someone I've never met could tell me the name of my dead grand mother, and I couldn't.

She's also spent a load of money on doing a course on Reiki(another thing against her catholic beliefs). In fairness considering the amount people charge for a Reiki session I might do one myself, its easy money in this day and age.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I tried to explain its a con, and even though some psychics probably genuinely believe they're psychic its all down to leading questions and the ability to read people etc. Then she asked me to explain how someone I've never met could tell me the name of my dead grand mother, and I couldn't.

Well, you can't, and neither can they. What will usually happen is they will say something like "I'm getting something like... l (mark nods or makes some other sign to show this popular letter for a name is a hit)..li..( shocked mark confirms, could have been linda et al ) elizabeth? You know an elizabeth, yes? (mark confirms dead granny was named elizabeth)"

But of course all your friend remembers is a psychic knowing someone's name.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Well, you can't, and neither can they. What will usually happen is they will say something like "I'm getting something like... l (mark nods or makes some other sign to show this popular letter for a name is a hit)..li..( shocked mark confirms, could have been linda et al ) elizabeth? You know an elizabeth, yes? (mark confirms dead granny was named elizabeth)"

Yea I tried to explain that too but they were adament that they don't do that. Selective memory and all that.

Check out this episode of Derren Brown Investigates:

www.channel4.com/programmes/derren-brown-investigates/episode-guide/series-12/episode-2

He spends a week with the poisonous little sh1t, Joe Power. Derren colds reads a woman, before he starts he tell her he is not psychic and that he will be cold reading her. After he is finished they ask her what she thought and her response was, and I am paraphrasing here, "I don't care what he says, he is psychic."

People seem to have a need to believe this sh1t.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Yea I tried to explain that too but they were adament that they don't do that. Selective memory and all that.

Maybe, as mentioned above, you should get them to watch the Derren Brown program on it then :)

Might just do that! I seriously doubt it will make much of a difference though. If someone really wants to believe that stuff its next to impossible to get them to change.

Considering the aforementioned woman in said show insisted Brown was a psychic even though he made it abundantly clear that he was not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I'm probably missing something here but: Psychicism isn't a religion, is it? And don't religions have to be registered before they're legit? And isn't being psychic generally considered witchcraft by many religions?

Surely if she doesn't belong to a registered religion, and mainstream religions will disown her based on the fact she's a witch, then she can't claim religious protection for swindling any more than I could claim that my membership of the Church of the Butt Crack means I get to walk around with no trousers on, right?

MrPudding wrote: »

I think most people can probably guess how I feel about this type of thing and the people that use these services, but at the same time, they are desparate people in awful positions; ripe forgo be taken advantage of.

Irrespective of how stupid they have been the behaviour of the thieves cannot be excused simply because the victims were idiots.

MrP

Oh yeah, trust me, those guys should be arrested for fraud. The 'religious right' excuse is bull****. Like I said, if it was murder, that excuse wouldn't work, and I don't think it should work here.

Hmmm....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

www.channel4.com/programmes/derren-brown-investigates/episode-guide/series-12/episode-2

He spends a week with the poisonous little sh1t, Joe Power. Derren colds reads a woman, before he starts he tell her he is not psychic and that he will be cold reading her. After he is finished they ask her what she thought and her response was, and I am paraphrasing here, "I don't care what he says, he is psychic."

MrP

What I loved about that was how much better a job he did at reading her than Power did - and Power is sitting there saying that the difference is that he deals in "facts".

How about the bit where Mr Power told the girl her boyfriend had been cheating? It just seemed like a nasty malicious thing to do. Scumbag.

MrP

How about the bit where Mr Power told the girl her boyfriend had been cheating? It just seemed like a nasty malicious thing to do. Scumbag.

MrP

Oh yeah, I forgot about that. Horrible, and then he acted like it was a joke to cover himself; if it was true, she'd think he was psychic; if not, he was joking and she'd forget.

Meh, if your girlfriend dumps you because a psychic told her you were cheating then you're MUCH better off not spending your time with someone so easily led
    unless your feeling kinky

Trying to watch it now, that 4od player never feckin works properly.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

After he is finished they ask her what she thought and her response was, and I am paraphrasing here, "I don't care what he says, he is psychic."
    Same with Dawkins "The Enemies of Reason where he had some actors do the whole mind, body, aura massaging thing. Turned out that the patients reported a better healing experience with the actors. I seem to recall at at least one patient telling one actor "hey, man, you gotta gift...!" or thereabouts.

//sheesh

kylith wrote: »
    I'm probably missing something here but: Psychicism isn't a religion, is it? And don't religions have to be registered before they're legit? And isn't being psychic generally considered witchcraft by many religions?

Surely if she doesn't belong to a registered religion, and mainstream religions will disown her based on the fact she's a witch, then she can't claim religious protection for swindling any more than I could claim that my membership of the Church of the Butt Crack means I get to walk around with no trousers on, right?
    Well Spiritualism (with a capital S) is kinda sorta a religion. They have "churches" and the have some loose organisation.
    But according to the article the lawyers and the defendant are planing to play up the psychic's supposed Roma heritage, which would form the basis of it being a religious thing.

robindch wrote: »
    Same with Dawkins "The Enemies of Reason where he had some actors do the whole mind, body, aura massaging thing. Turned out that the patients reported a better healing experience with the actors. I seem to recall at at least one patient telling one actor "hey, man, you gotta gift...!" or thereabouts.

//sheesh

I once came across someone who argued that Derren Brown was in fact really actually psychic for reals, but was pretending not to be for some reason.

King Mob wrote: »
    I once came across someone who argued that Derren Brown was in fact really actually psychic for reals, but was pretending not to be for some reason.

Arthur Conan Doyle was convinced the same was true of Harry Houdini. The two actually fell out over it, though they'd been great friends earlier on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭muppeteer

King Mob wrote: »
    Yep he's totally legit, he just plays along to get the skeptic pound:pac::pac::rolleyes:

While these psychics are frauds to a man, it is the ones who specifically target the vulnerable, such as the woman who lost her 8 year old, who need locking up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

MrP

It's a lot like what happened between Harry Houdini and Arthur Conan Doyle. Houdini and Doyle were originally friends, but Doyle was very much into spiritualism and Houdini got into debunking and exposing mediums. Doyle became convinced that Houdini was a very powerful medium himself, and he was using his own magic powers to block the other mediums before debunking them. Houdini was never able to convince Doyle that his own feats were just illusions, and eventually they had a bitter falling out over it.

EDIT: Damn you Mad Hatter, you beat me to it. No doubt using your medium powers to tell what I was going to write.

Arthur Conan Doyle was convinced the same was true of Harry Houdini. The two actually fell out over it, though they'd been great friends earlier on.

That's like someone saying that Christopher Hitchens was doing the Lord's work and helping to test their faith by pretending to not believe God existed

Any Clive Barker fans? Harry D'Amour...

MrP

MrP

That was a good show. surprised Derren didn't call him up on going to the toilet everytime he entered house, seems it was obviously to get a quick look at any pictures hanging on the walls etc.

I might get my friend to watch it but I'm pretty sure what she'll say "Oh well obviously that guy is fake, but I'm not talking about that guy" which is what she said when I mentioned the woman that was on the Late Late a few months back.

That was a good show. surprised Derren didn't call him up on going to the toilet everytime he entered house, seems it was obviously to get a quick look at any pictures hanging on the walls etc.

I might get my friend to watch it but I'm pretty sure what she'll say "Oh well obviously that guy is fake, but I'm not talking about that guy" which is what she said when I mentioned the woman that was on the Late Late a few months back.
    As Mr Hitchins, or possibly House MD, once said, "you can't reason a person out of a position they did not reason themselves into."

MrP

Knasher wrote: »
    It's a lot like what happened between Harry Houdini and Arthur Conan Doyle. Houdini and Doyle were originally friends, but Doyle was very much into spiritualism and Houdini got into debunking and exposing mediums. Doyle became convinced that Houdini was a very powerful medium himself, and he was using his own magic powers to block the other mediums before debunking them. Houdini was never able to convince Doyle that his own feats were just illusions, and eventually they had a bitter falling out over it.

EDIT: Damn you Mad Hatter, you beat me to it. No doubt using your medium powers to tell what I was going to write.

I'd forgotten the detail of him thinking Houdini was blocking other psychics with his superpowers, though:)

muppeteer wrote: »
    Yep he's totally legit, he just plays along to get the skeptic pound:pac::pac::rolleyes:

While these psychics are frauds to a man, it is the ones who specifically target the vulnerable, such as the woman who lost her 8 year old, who need locking up.

That reminds me of a guy who does a public access Atheist show in America, Matt Dillahunty.

When faced with the question of are the areligious moral, he usually points out that as a public atheist figure in the heartland of the bible belt (Texas), who volunteers for pretty much nothing, he could make millions off pretending to have a revelation and becoming a Christian off book sales, all the while doing whatever he wants behind the scenes. The odd time he'll say to people then to think about their own minister/ priest when he points this out.

Knasher wrote: »

Psychic battle!!!!