Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Deere 6610 SE

• 09-04-2012 12:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭

Now lads, a john Deere 6610 SE, (not a premium, I know theyre the best) good or bad? No opinions without a story behind it. This will influence my opinion on them, looking at one for second tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

BalingMad wrote: »
    Now lads, a john Deere 6610 SE, (not a premium, I know theyre the best) good or bad? No opinions without a story behind it. This will influence my opinion on them, looking at one for second tractor.

a great tractor,i know a neighbour od mine that i spread slurry for with a 03 one,12k hours pulling mostly a 2350 gallon tank and sometimes 3000 gallon,all was ever done to it was a seal in the back axle and the brakes were done when it was split for that,and the single thing that makes it a great yoke is that alot and i mean ALOT of seriously rough c**nts drove this tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

The in-laws have one they bought new in 02 and it's without doubt the most troublesome, unreliable tractor I've ever come into contact with. It has around 4000 hours on the clock and in the last 6 months alone 2 bearings have collapsed in the rear axle on both occasions cracking the housing while it was at it, it's needed a new valve chest on the back end, a new hydraulic pump, a new diesel pump, a new exhaust manifold, the shuttle never worked properly on it, it over-heats regularly, the steering locks numerous times a day and it won't lift a 4 furrow plough when it's hot. I'd avoid an SE like the plague, they're cheaper for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Drove one of these for 2 years pulling 18ton dump trailer. All it ever needed was tyres and diesel. That's coming from someone thats not a deere fan;) Credit where credit is due, was one the best IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Two words, bullet proof. Working for a contractor for the last 5 years that has 2 of them and bout have around 10000 hours on them now. They never missed a beat. Very simple tractors with feck all electrics in them. A bit heavy on diesel but I couldnt rate them highly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭flatout11

drove a fair few 6 series deeres tough workhorse, but they like their diesel .... what kinda money is it coming in at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Skiup

Have a 01 6610 for about 7 years with a loader. Couldn't fault it a great tractor. Any 10 series i've driven has never disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Fermec

The 10 Series were the Last of the Good JDs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Fermec wrote: »
    The 10 Series were the Last of the Good JDs

+1 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭valtra8150

can i ask im comfused the se versons are the shuttle on the right beside the 123 gear and the exhaust coming up the side of the bonnet and the premuim the shuttle on the steering wheel with the exhaust going up the side of the cab, what about a 6610 with the exhaust on the bonnet but with the shuttle on the steering wheel, what model is this one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

valtra8150 wrote: »
    can i ask im comfused the se versons are the shuttle on the right beside the 123 gear and the exhaust coming up the side of the bonnet and the premuim the shuttle on the steering wheel with the exhaust going up the side of the cab, what about a 6610 with the exhaust on the bonnet but with the shuttle on the steering wheel, what model is this one

Corner post exhaust was an option on the se versions but its not on all. All se deere's I have driven have a left hand shuttle beside the steering wheel, its cable controlled I think and not like the clicky type shuttles on the premiums which move up and down with the dash and steering wheel but still fairly operator friendly to use.

To sum up on a 10 series se model the main differences I can think of are. There is a digital dash mounted on the steering coloum with the shuttle lever on it. In the se's there is stalk coming out of the dash with the shuttle on it and the steering wheel is seperate from the dash and you dont get a digital dash, just normal gauges and dials. Heater controls and wipers are by the right hand window in the premiums with more setting than the se versions where the controls are overhead, There is also a litle dash under the heater controls on the premiums that has the pto, 4wd, diff lock lights on it and more. I have never seen a sunroof on a premium model as they come with air con but air con was an option on the se's too. On the 2 rear corner posts of the cab there is a plastic cover on the premiums which wasnt on the se's and also the rear mudguards are different. There are probably way more differences but these are the ones springing to mind. I can vouch for the 6610 se being a great tractor. I have put up about 6000 hrs between 2 of them over a few summers and they never missed a beat and they are a pretty simple straight forward tractor. They have feck all electrics and if the do go wrong you would be better off with a hammer than a multimeter to try and put them right again :D