Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Size 8, 12 or 14!

• 08-04-2012 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Bambii_

I found this article while browsing the internet..

http://pinkmsg.wordpress.com/2010/03/31/size-8-12-or-14/

The article is based on an online poll where it asked men which size woman they would prefer as their girlfriend. 41% said they would like the size 12, 20% said they like the size 8 and 39% said they would like the size 10 girl.

I'm a size 14 now, but would love to be back to my size 10-12 figure. I've been working hard at the gym and really enjoying it!

So, lovely ladies, what size would be your ideal size?

What would be your ideal size? 129 votes

Size 8
    0%
    Size 12
    56%
    UnknownMoonbeamEKRIUQZuluBalmed Out[Deleted User]RacoonQueenShagNastiiMars BarHermione*gubbieKathy22notahappycamperCatari Jaguarcoxy14[Deleted User]personaltrainer[Deleted User]mocosupermouse 73 votes
    Size 14
    43%
    UnknownDas KittyneilmOwenMdragonaKorvanicapow wowJuliusCaesarnicowaNualeahylwmpdd3FionaSkuxxmonicafussyMoonDancerm'ladylil-ms-vodkaAcoshlaLola18 56 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Size 12
    What's wrong with size 10?

8 or 10 would be fine for me. I'm currently sitting between 12 and 14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Whats wrong with a size 16??

Poll that asked men >_<

Sooooo many things wrong here I don't know where to start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Bambii_

Size 14
    Mars Bar wrote: »
    What's wrong with size 10?

Nothing wrong with size 10 (: I'd be happy being a size 10-12, I just put the sizes on the poll that were in the article. Nothing wrong with any other sizes. Every size is beautiful if worn with confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

If you asked my boyfriend or my lad mates about womens sizes they wouldn't know a 6 from a 16 (other than basics bigger number = bigger girl). As in if you ask "what size do you think that girl is/what size do you like?" they wouldn't have a clue...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I find this thread inane and disappointing.

The comments on that article hurt my face. Possibly the worst thing I've read in a while.

So sad polls like this exist to enforce these ideals in women, "Who is the ideal girlfriend?"

Plus its so moronic, I think out of all types of measurements to go on dress size has to be the most misleading.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

bubblefett wrote: »
    If you asked my boyfriend or my lad mates about womens sizes they wouldn't know a 6 from a 16 (other than basics bigger number = bigger girl). As in if you ask "what size do you think that girl is/what size do you like?" they wouldn't have a clue...
    :o:D Generally I'm pretty good at telling sizes. Actually on that score are those models quoted American sizes or European? The size 8 looks smaller to me, more like a 6. The 12 more like a 10. Of course we don't know their heights so that goes out the window. The 8 could be 5ft 8 in old money.

Looking back I prefer the very lean look/size, but I have to say I would be pretty unusual among my mates on that score. More men IME would go for the "14", especially Irish men. It can be quite cultural. The Latins would be more on my speed.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

So sad polls like this exist to enforce these ideals in women, "Who is the ideal girlfriend?"
    Very much so. Speaking as a bloke who hears other men in unguarded moments and all that, women worry way more about it than men generally do. Cellulite? Barely ever a topic of male convo, but a multimillion quid industry exists trying to convince women it is. The multimillion part is the dead giveaway of course...

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Your probably right I wouldn't have clue myself, but afaik the original survey just had pictures of different girls and asked them which they preferred without telling them the size.

I'm no expert on girls clothes but surly size is only a small part of it. Presumably you could have a small height and build girl who was size 12 and who would kinda be a bit overweight or a tall big build girl who was 12 and ideal weight. (I may have my sizes way off here but I'm sure you get the point).

I don't really see any problem in the survey tbh. If anything I thoughts girls would be pleased to see that guys aren't all mad for size 8 girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Size 14

Speaking as I guy, I would agree with this!! The majority of my friends wouldnt know I reckon!!
    My gf is a size 12 (and beautiful at that, wouldnt change her for the world) but using her as something to compare other women against is the only way I'd know ...ie bigger then her = more than a 12!!
    I'd be clueless otherwise!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Size 12
    I think a lot of people hold the relationship between size, weight and appearance to be more related than it is. Girls can be a size 10 and be skin and bones or be a size 8 and have a fat belly, so size isn't everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭SingItOut

Size 12
    The size 8 & 12 model look the same in body weight to me to be honest. If they had used more average height women I'm sure the difference in sizes would've been more noticeable. I'm a size 6/8, 5ft4, pretty curvy & no way are my legs as skinny as the models, that's for sure! I tried putting on weight as the "skinny minny" taunts got to me but then felt miserable when I did so I'm happy to be back at this weight... even if that article & comments make me feel sh*tty about my size :o .. more over why was this article posted here on chocolate day!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

More weight stuff, great craic.

Yer one in the middle looks like a size 10, not a 12. Or an 8 even. She basically looks like my body with chunkier legs and boobs...and I'm a size 8!

But whatever.

Wibbs wrote: »
    :o:D Generally I'm pretty good at telling sizes. Actually on that score are those models quoted American sizes or European? The size 8 looks smaller to me, more like a 6. The 12 more like a 10. Of course we don't know their heights so that goes out the window. The 8 could be 5ft 8 in old money.

Looking back I prefer the very lean look/size, but I have to say I would be pretty unusual among my mates on that score. More men IME would go for the "14", especially Irish men. It can be quite cultural. The Latins would be more on my speed.

if they were american the 12 would look like a 16 i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I really don't like this new trend of bashing thin women, and making them feel ugly and unnattractive to men because they don't have 'curves'.Based on all these ridiculous 'statistics' I see in newspapers,online and on the front of magazines my naturally thin body is absolutely repulsive to men.

Thought Ladies Lounge was meant to be a nice place for us Ladies to hang out? These 'surveys' serve only to make us feel bad about how we look and question our desirability to the opposite sex. We get enough of that crap in the real world, must we have it inflicted on us here too.

Girls, It doesn't matter what size you are, as long as you are healthy, feel happy and confident in yourself, then it really doesn't matter if your size 8 or 14.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Size 12
    Love the airbrushing in that pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

I've been an 8 ive been a 12 an ive been a 14.

I looked best at a size 12, when i was a size 8 i was too slim , when i was a size 12 i had curves and 14 i looked pudsy. My husbands friends used to think i was i'll when i was a size 8 but after i had our first baby i would get more coments on how good i looked.

Im 5 foot 4.5.

My daughters (age 12) is just an inch shorter than me now and is a size 8, I couldnt imagine being her size...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The "size 12" in that pic looks like a size 8 IMO.

This should give a better idea of what sizes are like

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1383640/Bridget-Jones-Bridget-Bones-Renee-Zellweger-just-decide.html

Renee is of simular height to myself. Her weight has fluctuated with the Bridget Jones movies, when she was a size 14 i had the same body shape as her...

I know its the daily mail.......

RZ: I have to admit I think her body looks fine at the 12-14 but her face looks better on the size 6-8. Looks a too skinny at size 4 though honestly

Size 12
    No ways is she a size 14 here :confused:

article-1383640-0BE8BE1C00000578-337_306x765.jpg

I think she looks quite good as a size 6 there, looks a little bit lollipop headed though. Looks great as a size 8 IMO. Looks very natural.

I haven't an ideal size or weight - just wanna look good nekkid. :cool:
    Whatever size keeps my boobs and bum curvy but tones my tum/thighs.

No ways is she a size 14 here :confused:

I think she looks quite good as a size 6 there, looks a little bit lollipop headed though. Looks great as a size 8 IMO. Looks very natural.
    She was slated and dissected when she put on weight - in publications that also put out the message that you should be happy with your body whatever size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

Size 12
    My ideal, size 10, isn't on the list. :confused:

I'll go with size 8 so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I own a size 8 pair of jeans, I own dresses that are size 10...another pair of jeans that are a size 12. God knows what size I am. I don't care. If I look in the mirror and like what I see, that's all that matters. I didn't find out what weight I was till I tried to give blood last week and they weighed me. I look at photos of myself when I was 25 and I was bigger than I am now but genuinely, I didn't realise it at the time. I feel the same size and just as happy with my appearance. I don't obsess over clothes sizes as I know they're messed up anyway. I love having boobs and an arse but that's just me...I might be a good bit bigger than the average girl living in Madrid but it's how I'm built. I'm not built to be that slim. They look great but I don't aspire to look like them...I'm from different genetic stock and that's the end of it.

We all come in different shapes and sizes. Some women look better very slim, some look better with some weight on them. It's not a case of one size fits all. We all have our own individual "ideal" weight and that's the weight you personally feel comfortabe with. Comparing yourself to women who are naturally smaller or more curvaceous is a receipe for disaster. So to be honest, feck this rubbish of, "Men prefer women who are size 8" (for example)....I personally wouldn't look good that size. It's so much more important to learn to be happy in your own skin instead of trying to fit in with what you perceive others want you to be.

All this talk of weight and size is a waste of precious time that could be used more constructively and it really does my head in. It's relentless.

Size 12
    Wibbs wrote: »

She does look a 14 to me and I disagree that she'd be the most popular of the three. I reckon the size 12 (looks more a 10) would be the pick of the bunch. IME, lots of Irish lads like, and end up with, slimmer girls. It's not that unusual.

Size 12
    Lia_lia wrote: »
    :rolleyes:She basically looks like my body with chunkier legs and boobs...and I'm a size 8!

But whatever.

Chunky is a pretty negative connotation word to use for a girl who has very lovely legs.

Look at the photo they've chosen of her. She could look great that weight if she was dressed differently and didn't have that crazed look about her. They wouldn't show a woman smaller than her in old tracksuit bottoms and a crappy string top. What kind of message are they sending out here? People need to be wise enough to see what they're doing here and to rise above it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sambuka41

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Look at the photo they've chosen of her. She could look great that weight if she was dressed differently and didn't have that crazed look about her. They wouldn't show a woman smaller than her in old tracksuit bottoms and a crappy string top. What kind of message are they sending out here? People need to be wise enough to see what they're doing here and to rise above it.

I get what you are saying about being more aware of how magazines, advertisers are manipulating us; you are totally right. But she is dressed the same way I am most days, and I feel beautiful dressed exactly that way. I don't need dresses, skirts, tight jeans or what ever is in fashion to feel beautiful. They want to sell you clothes so they will make you think that to be beautiful you must have a certain aesthetic.

They print pictures of Rene and ignore completely that it is her working industry who has dictated how she is to look, if she wants to be successful she needs to adapt (unfortunately these actors sacrifice their health/mental health to adapt). These magazines place no responsibility on the executives that decide these standards,mainly because they have a vested interest in the exact media that is producing these pictures and sending these messages. :rolleyes:

Spot-on Eve. And her upper bod looks pretty lean, so fail on the "Isn't she fat?" connotations by them tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭SurferRosa

panda100 wrote: »
    I really don't like this new trend of bashing thin women, and making them feel ugly and unnattractive to men because they don't have 'curves'.Based on all these ridiculous 'statistics' I see in newspapers,online and on the front of magazines my naturally thin body is absolutely repulsive to men.

Thought Ladies Lounge was meant to be a nice place for us Ladies to hang out? These 'surveys' serve only to make us feel bad about how we look and question our desirability to the opposite sex. We get enough of that crap in the real world, must we have it inflicted on us here too.

Girls, It doesn't matter what size you are, as long as you are healthy, feel happy and confident in yourself, then it really doesn't matter if your size 8 or 14.

I completely agree. I've always been very slim - even as a newborn I was skinny! I'm 5'6 and a small 8. I have a good bum, but very small boobs. ( A cups, only C cups now I'm pregnant again) I eat healthily - ie. my face is still full and not gaunt, but I cannot easily gain weight at all. If I ever do gain weight, from a serious few days binging, it falls off within a week or two with now effort.
    I keep seeing posts/articles about so called "real women" as in anyone higher than an 8 or 10 is a real woman. What am I then? I am pregnant with my 3rd child and breastfed my first 2 for nearly a year. To me this is as much 'real' woman as having huge boobs. I seem to function just fine despite not being 'real'.
    I'm sure some guys like women with a bit of meat on them. But there surely is a market for us skinnies too.
    As said above, as long as you're healthy and not obese/ starving yourself, the dress size itself doesn't matter - more so how fit/ toned you are etc.

sambuka41 wrote: »
    I get what you are saying about being more aware of how magazines, advertisers are manipulating us; you are totally right. But she is dressed the same way I am most days, and I feel beautiful dressed exactly that way. I don't need dresses, skirts, tight jeans or what ever is in fashion to feel beautiful. They want to sell you clothes so they will make you think that to be beautiful you must have a certain aesthetic.

No listen, you're right and after I wrote that post, I realised that. I don't parade around in high-heels and little black dresses everyday. I suppose it's the facial expression and her pose. It's not the most flattering of poses and they've purposely chosen this particular photo over other ones where she's the same size and looks more "normal". She looks like a mad woman in this photo - not because of her clothes because you're right, they're just casual, everyday-type clothing but the overall shot. They're trying to portray her as looking worse because she's carrying more weight than normal when if you look properly, she still looks lovely and is still quite slim.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    No listen, you're right and after I wrote that post, I realised that. I don't parade around in high-heels and little black dresses everyday. I suppose it's the facial expression and her pose. It's not the most flattering of poses and they've purposely chosen this particular photo over other ones where she's the same size and looks more "normal". She looks like a mad woman in this photo - not because of her clothes because you're right, they're just casual, everyday-type clothing but the overall shot. They're trying to portray her as looking worse because she's carrying more weight than normal when if you look properly, she still looks lovely and is still quite slim.

Yeah for sure, its not a very good comparison when you take two photos with make-up and fancy dress and compare it to what is obviously a paparazzi shot; especially when the audience is already primed to equate make-up and fancy clothes as beautiful.

I've been reading Jean Kilbourne's book for about a year now, I can't get through it because I get angry after each chapter; I have to go away and analyse and think about it then return to the book again. We are so entrenched in this beauty myth that it's hard to see straight. It takes training and lots of thought to be able to see past it. (for me anyway)

Dudess wrote: »
    She was slated and dissected when she put on weight - in publications that also put out the message that you should be happy with your body whatever size.

Give it a few months and she'll be slated for losing too much weight and being too skinny.

Magazines are the worst at giving mixed messages. And the back of every magazine will have a couple of pages of diets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭KamiKazeKitten

Ah here, this sizing crap is ridiculous. Can we not all just be happy in our own skins?

About the article - are those girls really the sizes it says they are? I mean, I'm an 8, and look pretty much like that size 12 model, cept she's got bigger boobs than me. The size 8 girl looks like maybe a 4! Then again, they are models, maybe they carry their weight differently?

Look at the way that photo was staged, the size 8 girl has been edited to look less attractive than the other two imo. Her knees and ankles are bony, you can see the muscles in her leg, and her hair looks sort of fuzzy. The other girls have a much softer look to them, and their hair looks much glossier and healthier.

I don't like this new trend of "real women", and bashing smaller girls in the media. If it's ok to say no to size zeroes to make bigger women feel better about themselves, should the reverse not apply also? I used to hate my size, used to always try and put on weight. It used to bother me as much as being overweight bothers some of my friends. Now, I don't give a damn, and I'm happy in my own skin (though there are always those days when the mirror hates me...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I'm a size 10 and I am happy with that. I used be a size 8 but as I got older I am more of a size 10 and happy with that to be honest. Wouldn't want to be any other size really. I'm petite and slim anyway so a size 10 is probably a more ideal size for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭Nyan Cat

I think they probably chose an unhealthy skinny 6-8 as opposed to a healthy and naturally thin size 8 model.

I have size 12 clothes and a few 10s. But I prefer a 14 or even 18 (not trousers) for the looser fit cos many clothes are designed to look tight which I don't like the feel of and as we all know we can be different sizes in different shops.
    Does it matter to me? Apart from when I'm looking for trousers (oh the long leg, big booty, shop size issue nightmares) it dies matter.

I was a size 8-10 for a few years at one point and I looked really unhealthy - being 5.7 who looks lighter than she is, you could see some of my bones and I knew it. I couldn't carry the lack of weight. There ate people who can though!

I'd say my upper bod is a size bigger than my lower bod. I've slim legs, no hips and a small bum. I've big boobs and a sticky out tum though and fairly broad shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

sambuka41 wrote: »
    I've been reading Jean Kilbourne's book for about a year now, I can't get through it because I get angry after each chapter; I have to go away and analyse and think about it then return to the book again. We are so entrenched in this beauty myth that it's hard to see straight. It takes training and lots of thought to be able to see past it. (for me anyway)

Whats that book sambuka?Sounds interesting.

Give it a few months and she'll be slated for losing too much weight and being too skinny.

Magazines are the worst at giving mixed messages. And the back of every magazine will have a couple of pages of diets!
    +1000. You would swear the magazines were a part of some global conspiracy to keep women in a constant state of self doubt and doubt about their gender. You'll see an article on starlet X(naturally tiny framed, barely eats, personal trainer) saying how great she looks and in the next issue pics of same starlet X and her "cellulite". Mad.

good christ nobody would look good at that first shot

She's stunning, no matter what those vultures attempt in order to make her seem unattractive.

panda100 wrote: »
    Whats that book sambuka?Sounds interesting.

Its called, Can't Buy my Love. It breaks down how advertisers manipulate us. Very good read, and it helps to see beyond the myth of beauty and how it is conceived all at the expense of women, I mean that both ways, its at our expense mentally/happiness and monetarily at our expense. It pays if we continue to hate our bodies, the money we spend on make-up, clothes, diet pills/foods, anti wrinkle creams........ I could go on forever.

I just read a brilliant statement from Ashley Judd about how the media are tearing apart her appearance, but worse how women join in.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2012/04/09/ashley-judd-slaps-media-in-the-face-for-speculation-over-her-puffy-appearance.html
    That women are joining in the ongoing disassembling of my appearance is salient. Patriarchy is not men. Patriarchy is a system in which both women and men participate. It privileges, inter alia, the interests of boys and men over the bodily integrity, autonomy, and dignity of girls and women.

Diet industry too. It needs people to fail to stick to their diets.

Size 12
    My ideal size would probably be an 8, but that's in my head, in reality I probably would look too thin. So then a ten? I'll never be happy with my body though. Ever :(

Personally I'd prefer to be bigger than an 8 - not because an 8 can't be attractive, of course it can, but because the look I love is that very retro, Betty Grable, burlesque style, and also the very voluptuous vampire lady style of the late 60s. Probably about a size 10-12.

i'm built pretty big and i don't think smaller than a 12 would suit me
    so 12

I have no desires to be an 8 or a 10...

I'd be very happy at size 12. I'm almost there :). Another inch and I will be a perfect 12. I'm a 12 up top and a big 12 small 14 on the bottom... I like having a bit of meat on my bones, I like the curves that a size 12 gives me hips and a 34d bust.

at a size 8/10 I had a 32b bust and no hips. My 12 year old is a 32 a and a size 8. I think it would be way to weird to be the same size as her. That to me is a child's body... Not a woman's. I do have a few friends that are a size 10 and look great, it just not for me ;)

Size 12
    Dudess wrote: »
    Personally I'd prefer to be bigger than an 8 - not because an 8 can't be attractive, of course it can, but because the look I love is that very retro, Betty Grable, burlesque style, and also the very voluptuous vampire lady style of the late 60s. Probably about a size 10-12.

If you look at the measurements of all those 50s burlesque ladies, many of them wouldn't be bigger than a size 8, esp in the waist.