Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spotted my "neighbour" drink / driving. Malahide Garda "unable to do anything"..

• 03-04-2012 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭

Hi Folks,

I spotted my "neighbour" walking around our apartment complex drinking an open can of Budweiser at 18:00 on a Monday evening.

Although, at this time I did not know he lived on our complex, so I kept an eye on him (as he was hanging around the underground car park).

I went down to the car park to see him getting into a car and driving off (behind the wheel).

I rang Malahide Garda Station, because I thought he had maybe stolen the car.

I gave them as much detail as I could: car description, registration plate, a description of himself etc.

Anyway, half an hour goes by and I’m going out myself, when he drives back into the complex and parks the car.

I immediately rang Malahide Garda station with an update, i.e. he did not steal the car, he does live in the complex, and he is there now.

The Garda on the other end just told me: “well there’s nothing we can do about that!! We have to catch him out on the road in order to do anything!”

Is that just lazy police work?

Surely they could have “run the plates” and called on the residence to have a word?

Any thoughts on this Folks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

They have to catch him on the road. He has to be over the limit (how could you tell?). He might have had tea in the can for all you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Sempai

Were you able to tell them what direction he went? if not, all they can do is patrol the local area and hope they come across him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

As already mentioned he could have been drinking anything out of that can, also just because he may have been drinking a can of beer while driving, this does not automatically put him over the limit.

By ' drink/ driving' do you mean drinking while driving or drunk and driving?

Infairness I am sure The Gardai in Malahide appreciated the call, it would of course have been logical for them to check that reg as you described. That would have shown various details of the vehicle, which would have discounted the report of it been stolen. I am sure they would have circulated the reg, but in order for them to catch the guy they would have had to witness him driving that car.

Infairness don't forget, they have to go to court with these cases and we all know what courts are like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

A sincere thanks for the info/tip, it would be taken on board, but as said already - They literally have to catch him on a public road, behind the wheel, which is easier said than done.

Consider for a moment that in modern day Ireland, it is likely when you rang it in that the guards in your area were already busy dealing with another call, or perhaps following up on calls from the prior few days. Or someone that rang something that important in, in the past 15 minutes ago and is still waiting for Gardai. Or workloads the guards have taken on over the past few weeks, months, promises to do this and that. Which calls should they go to first?! Perhaps something pops up that is potentially life/death issue as happens regularly. Sorry... i realize drink driving is a serious thing and potentially life threatening to have a drunk at the wheel, but in reality, you may have to wait 10-15mins, 20 mins etc...... ...... They, the car crews will however do their best to respond asap.

However contrary to popular belief there is NOT a deluxe car of guards sitting in the car outside the station just waiting to speed off when you ring these things in...
    It just doesn't work like that.

I don't want to get into the in's and out's of it but, no, its not as simple as just 'running the plates' and calling to the address to 'have a word.' There is a bit more to it than that, both logistically and from a procedures point of view and believe you me, its far from lazy policing.