Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheeler Dealers tonight @ 9pm - M5 restoration

• 03-04-2012 01:39PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭

Hey lads, just to give yous a heads up, the subject of tonight's wheeler dealers on Discovery channel will be a BMW M5.
    A while back they did a 840Ci and a E36 M3, and they did a great job on both cars.
    I know there are a few BMW fans who frequent this forum, so I think it would be relevant in case any of yous aren't already aware of this.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭pcardin

Which M5, e34 or e39?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

E39 according to the ads. Thanks for the heads up OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ongarite

It was for sale on Pistonheads recently, black M5 i think..

Found it on eBay (contains spoilers of work completed by Ed)
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2000-BMW-M5-BLACK-E39-SALE-/260901573958?pt=Automobiles_UK&hash=item3cbef21546#ht_785wt_922

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Ad doesn't mention MOT...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

I love that show
    Edd china is a genius
    Straight talking no gibberish
    His aerosol work is a bit suspect though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Is there any way to watch it online? No discovery Chanell :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

no you'll have to wait till it gets uploaded by someone to the web, usually its few hours after being aired

this show is being shot in UK therefore no early premieres in US and no early downloads for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

BMW M5

Mike gets a great deal on an M5, but it's cheap for a reason. It's in rough condition and totally unloved. Can Mike and Edd rejuvenate this decrepit vehicle and make a profit?..............PROFIT

no MOT on eBay which means...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

voojeq wrote: »
    no MOT on eBay which means...

Nothing really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

They're doing a Renault Alpine too are they not, that must be soon? Would love one of those.

New Series Sneak Peek - BMW M5 - Wheeler Dealers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RMKWzJpqemM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

BUMP.

My sky is gone so I have to drive 5 miles:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

"straight down the road, past the trees?" , "oh I see the front of the car"

Yeah Mike, funnily enough right beside your cameraman.

Whats the point of those stupid bits with the pretend meeting like the "surpirse " Daz doorstep challenge where the cameraman is behind the person answering the door.

What the hell happened to the bonnet.

4 grand. Not bad, lots of niggles with it thought, as per usual!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

There was nothing wrong with the air filter. It was spotless! It seemed to have been replaced with a performance K and N one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Any link to where I can see the show again on the net?great motoring show BTW.....give me wheeler dealers any day over top gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Nothing really major done with it, strange way of replacing the top mounts too imo...

Whoever is in charge of video editing needs a slap though, couldn't tell if the car is blue or black for most of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I don't think he accounted for the price of the tyres when doing the sums. Good show though, have to say it's one of the very few TV programmes I watch. Wheeler Dealers and Fair City, oh yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

The price of M5s just went up a couple of grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Was it just me or did the front driver side tyre look extremely worn when Ed had it up on the ramp replacing the altenator?

Yep, but they put four brand new tyres on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Anyone upload this episode yet? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Would four brand new tyres for an m5 not have turned profit into loss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭skibum

gollywog wrote: »
    Would four brand new tyres for an m5 not have turned profit into loss?

Thats what I was thinking, as Gary ITR said they definitely replaced the tyres but didn't seem to account for them in their costing.

Still enjoyed the show, at least the chubby little b@stard didn't sit on the bonnet or rev the tits off it while cold as he usually does.....

Would love one of these...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

I do like wheeler dealers, but I wouldn't pay too much attention to the profits at the end, labour is never accounted for, and for some jobs Ed does are seriously labour intensive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Nothing really major done with it, strange way of replacing the top mounts too imo...

Whoever is in charge of video editing needs a slap though, couldn't tell if the car is blue or black for most of it
    I thought it was a bit odd too, I would have removed the shocks.

And yeah Gary I noticed that too with the tyres. Free tyres:rolleyes: I guarantee you the car got a full service as well. Also he didn't factor in the labour so I was right again, they made a big loss as usual:pac:

bonzos wrote: »
    Any link to where I can see the show again on the net?great motoring show BTW.....give me wheeler dealers any day over top gear

http://www.streetfire.net/videos/search.aspx?t=wheeler%20dealers

Here you have full episodes of Wheeler Dealers, Top Gear and Fifth Gear all on one site.

I've pasted the link to wheeler dealers only but just enter whatever you're searching for in the search box.

Still no m5 ep uploaded, although I see it on piratebay available for download =]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭pippip

I don't think they factor in labour as its suppose to be something you do as a hobby, not a business. :)

Yeah, the labour wouldn't bother me, take the show with a pinch of salt and it's really enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Connavar

Also, remember they are making profit from making the show about it which would probably more than cover those costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

There was nothing wrong with the air filter. It was spotless! It seemed to have been replaced with a performance K and N one.

What about the Second filter, no mention of that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Yeah, the labour wouldn't bother me, take the show with a pinch of salt and it's really enjoyable

Agreed.

It's great to look at the original shows and see how they've progressed, I think the originals shows were better.

They bought a rescue model and then Mike went off and tested a Concours one as a comparison, while Ed was fixing the junker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Yeah, I liked the bit where Mike tested a pristine example of the car they were restoring. Bring that back. Also enjoyed the "On the road" series. Be great if they did more Euro and US imports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Agricola wrote: »
    Be great if they did more Euro and US imports.
    Euro imports..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Friel

Thought they did a really good job on the M5. Still a good going thing, 160mph they were sitting at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Pique

labour is never accounted for, and for some jobs Ed does are seriously labour intensive...
    Plug wrote: »
    Also he didn't factor in the labour so I was right again, they made a big loss as usual:pac:

I've never seen this posted in a thread about Wheeler Dealers before..are you sure ? ;)
    pippip wrote: »
    I don't think they factor in labour as its suppose to be something you do as a hobby, not a business. :)
    /\This /\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,812 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I love the show and dont worry too much about the labour end of things as you should be thinking along the lines of buying yourself and doing work yourself then ending up with a few quid profit at the end. If it gets to a situation though where you exclude labour and still make a loss, I would be of the opinion that its a bit of a poor effort. If that car was worth 6.5k fixed, he overpaid for it when buying it. Looking at the show, they got the mounts with the car and got out of every other problem as cheaply as could be expected with no surprises yet still made a loss when tyres are counted. Not very wheeler dealer. Any fool could buy a car for selling on, pump money into it and sell it on at a loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭The Tyre Dude

Really want an E39 again....

i think that this episode was more about fixing and showing a cool car for the show than making a profit, previous cars were not that sporty as this one is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Missed it. But, they did a sh1t job on the 8er imo. Totally overlooked any of the 8 critical jobs and went for the standard things.

Most likely same with the M5 ? spit, polish, a balljoint and some WD40 and it's 'mint' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Euro imports..?

they were in Italy at least twice - Fiat 500 and a Dino Coupe.

E39MSport wrote: »
    Missed it. But, they did a sh1t job on the 8er imo. Totally overlooked any of the 8 critical jobs and went for the standard things.

Most likely same with the M5 ? spit, polish, a balljoint and some WD40 and it's 'mint' ?

What would they have had to do to actually make it "mint"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭The Tyre Dude

Agricola wrote: »
    What would they have had to do to actually make it "mint"

Restore a Polo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 vodkatime

They bought falken 452 tyres for the m5 which work out on camskill at £522 delivered. Factor in 40 for fitting and they still make a very small profit of £168.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Plug wrote: »
    I thought it was a bit odd too, I would have removed the shocks.

And yeah Gary I noticed that too with the tyres. Free tyres:rolleyes: I guarantee you the car got a full service as well. Also he didn't factor in the labour so I was right again, they made a big loss as usual:pac:

I've always wondered that. I'm sure that Ed and Paul do a full service on all of the cars whilst they're in the shop.

Given that it's an M5 too the buyer really does score when it comes to getting a quality/checked out vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

RobAMerc wrote: »
    they were in Italy at least twice - Fiat 500 and a Dino Coupe.

Oh.. I guess, but I would consider everything here "Euro" and since we are in Europe (as are the UK) they wouldnt be "imports". Its just a strange statement..

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Oh.. I guess, but I would consider everything here "Euro" and since we are in Europe (as are the UK) they wouldnt be "imports". Its just a strange statement..

Well If i was buying a car from Italy or even the UK, I'd consider it an import. Of course we are all in europe but bringing in these vehicles isnt like ordering a DVD from Holland! You could be buying a LHD car which on arrival will incur hefty government duties, the need for new plates, headlight adjustments etc. If the whole continent was subject to the exact same driving laws and buying something from the continent was as easy as buying a car in Dublin, then I might agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Wonder what the cheapest, cheapest, shít bucket E39 M5 available goes for in the UK? I'd love to drop the V8 into an E38. :D