Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards not pulling you straight away

• 02-04-2012 11:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭

This evening I was coming home from a job on a dual carriageway and I was eating a bag of sweets, I dropped the bag at my feet and as I went to pick it up the car swerved a bit in towards the outside lane. Now it wasn't anything serious but it may have looked as if I'd been after a few pints, anyway just as I had picked up the bag of sweets a garda car passed me. It drove on and I thought nothing of it.

I drove on for about 5 minutes then I saw blue lights in the hard shoulder and a guard waving at me to pull in. There were no exits from where I had swerved up to this point. The guard asked me why I had swerved I just
    told him about the bag of sweets and offered him one (he declined), he then breathalyzed me and I was clear and he told me to drive home safely. When I asked him about why he took so long to pull me he said because he felt like it and then he jumped into the car and drove off :confused:

Does anyone have any idea why he may have done that?

ids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

As it was dual carriageway, maybe he wanted to stop you in a safe place, not just random spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i dont know sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

idunnoshur wrote: »
    because he felt like it and then he jumped into the car and drove off :confused:

hahahaha :pac:

i mean, what can you say back to that ? :pac:

Legendary garda and legendary OP for offering him sweets :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Were they humbugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭idunnoshur

Were they humbugs?

Nope they were those black oval shaped ones that come in the clear plastic bag, my favorite :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

CiniO wrote: »
    As it was dual carriageway, maybe he wanted to stop you in a safe place, not just random spot.
    Surely it's worth the risk pulling him on the spot wherever it may be instead of letting a suspected drunk driver continue on the road for five minutes? What's more dangerous?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

expect some high horses i'd image.

i was pulled in on the motorway 3 or 4 times in one week there last year (for no tax, despite having car tax :pac:) and i came to find that they always follow you for a minute or so before they turn on the lights and pull you in.

i asume its because they are "running your reg" and doing a bit of a background check to make sure your not a nutter and the car isn't stolen etc before they get too involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

He was probably on the phone or outside the area he was supposed to be in.

andyseadog wrote: »

i was pulled in on the motorway 3 or 4 times in one week there last year (for no tax, despite having car tax :pac:) and i came to find that they always follow you for a minute or so before they turn on the lights and pull you in.

i asume its because they are "running your reg" and doing a bit of a background check to make sure your not a nutter and the car isn't stolen etc before they get too involved.
    Yes but in the OP's case they overtook him drove a mile or two up the road and were waiting for him. Complete opposite of being followed for a while and then being pulled over. I have to agree with the OP even if they didn't want to pull him over there and then I can't think of a single reason as to why they would overtake him and drive on to wait instead of follow him to a safe spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

idunnoshur wrote: »
    Does anyone have any idea why he may have done that?

ids

Yes, but I doubt he'll post on Boards to answer you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

There was some in the YLYL3 thread earlier :pac:. Did you see the pic's? *BOT* I'm sure the gaurd had his reasons for waiting, could have being checking the ole pulse computer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

its also to collect more points and slap you with bigger fine where possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Nothing unusual on this, they tail you to observe your driving a little more and run details.

its common practice with all police forces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

Next time, especially if you don't want to be pulled over find an exit.

If you're ever being tailed, pull in to a garage and get some petrol. Unless he was going to pull you over anyway, he won't wait around and will move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I've seen unmarked cars following (and often tailgating) dozey speeders for a couple of miles on the N4 before pulling them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

you know that thread title is going to lead to innuendo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

fryup wrote: »
    The blue balling bastards.

I can understand the OP wanting to pick up the sweets as they might end up under the pedals and cause more problems. I saw a woman the other day tending to a child in the back seat, I think she was handing them a soft toy. She didn't just pass it back, or hand it to the front seat passenger to deal with. She actually turned around, between the two seats to face the child for a couple of seconds :eek: Granted it was at low speeds pulling away from traffic lights, but the car still swerved. No one around to pull her ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

voojeq wrote: »

its also to collect more points and slap you with bigger fine where possible

Not really because 1 they were ahead of him and 2 you will only really get one set of points for multiple offences at once IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

I saw a woman the other day tending to a child in the back seat, I think she was handing them a soft toy. She didn't just pass it back, or hand it to the front seat passenger to deal with. She actually turned around, between the two seats to face the child for a couple of seconds :eek: Granted it was at low speeds pulling away from traffic lights, but the car still swerved. No one around to pull her ;)

I bet the dizzy cow has a baby on board sticker and gives out constantly about drivers not paying due attention to the safety of her and her family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

voojeq wrote: »

Not really because 1 they were ahead of him and 2 you will only really get one set of points for multiple offences at once IIRC.

i didnt say that :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Paddy De Plasterer

The majority of guards are morons, only interested i n free grub, property and nixers like bouncers at night clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

newkie wrote: »
    If you're ever being tailed, pull in to a garage and get some petrol. Unless he was going to pull you over anyway, he won't wait around and will move on.

Criminal mastermind 101,that is genius.Imagine the amount of major art,gold and bank robbers that could have gotten away scott free if only they pulled in for petrol.:D
    The majority of guards are morons, only interested i n free grub, property and nixers like bouncers at night clubs.

The majority? surely all of them no? Or are you reading from an older edition of "gross generalizations and total horse manure" than me? the newer edition is out in Easons and all good book shops now,you really should pick it up and get with the program.

listermint wrote: »
    Nothing unusual on this, they tail you to observe your driving a little more and run details.

its common practice with all police forces.
    Why do people keep ignoring the point that the OP's question is regarding the fact that they overtook him, carried on and were waiting for him five minutes ahead? Nobody said anything about following or tailing.

fryup wrote: »
    Yeah I remember the last time I asked a guard for a hand job, she took forever before getting down to business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭McCrack

Somehow I get the feeling and Im not sure why that Gardai make a better contribution to civilization/life/society than you do

Forgive me if I am wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

MyKeyG wrote: »
    Yeah I remember the last time I asked a guard for a hand job, she took forever before getting down to business.

Please don't post rubbish like that in here

Get a sense of humour bud! My comment was a play on the title and the fact that another poster said it could be construed as innuendo. You guys don't have to show off the mod muscle every chance ye get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Get a sense of humour bud! My comment was a play on the title and the fact that another poster said it could be construed as innuendo. You guys don't have to show off the mod muscle every chance ye get!

Do it again and you're gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

He wanted to finish his breakfast roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

i didnt say that :confused:

yeh sry, dunno what i did there posted it on my phone so musta deleted the wrong part. :)

tossy wrote: »
    Criminal mastermind 101,that is genius.Imagine the amount of major art,gold and bank robbers that could have gotten away scott free if only they pulled in for petrol.:D

The majority? surely all of them no? Or are you reading from an older edition of "gross generalizations and total horse manure" than me? the newer edition is out in Easons and all good book shops now,you really should pick it up and get with the program.

are you telling me they are no longer bouncers and property letting/owners. Have they become so sophisticated that some of them work in Easons as nixers. If so that is progress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

what is the relevance of the o.ps question. they stopped you what difference does it make if it was straight away or five minutes later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

So should the guards stop everyone now if they swirl or steer over a pothole every time someone does that on the spot ? They might of been behind you for a while and after your move they decided to be on the safe side and stop you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 josephwhfc27

He obs wanted to pull u in a safer spot, he obs u swerve ur vehicle u cuda bn pissed for al he knew n caused a crash down d road, and his response cause he wanted to well he does have the power to and obs ur erratic driving, he cuda done u for careless driving stupid little mistakes like that hav cost lives on d road before, only takes a split second and ur on the other side of d road, wake up dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

He obs wanted to pull u in a safer spot, he obs u swerve ur vehicle u cuda bn pissed for al he knew n caused a crash down d road, and his response cause he wanted to well he does have the power to and obs ur erratic driving, he cuda done u for careless driving stupid little mistakes like that hav cost lives on d road before, only takes a split second and ur on the other side of d road, wake up dude

Ya hve a kybrd, use it.

are you telling me they are no longer bouncers and property letting/owners. Have they become so sophisticated that some of them work in Easons as nixers. If so that is progress.

Yes that is exactly what i'm telling you,here's another tip-a-roo while you are Easons pick up "recognising sarcasm in all it's forms" it's a cracker!

another thing stupid guards ask you when they stop you is where are you coming from and going too. They have no right to ask that question. I told one of them so recently and he went mad, made me do a breath test even though i had no drink, and checked my car in every way. Now mind you my same car was broken into twice, my house was robbed, and i had a bicycle stolen- all separate incidents. Do you think the guards bothered doing anything - not on your life. But if my tax was out, or NCT, or if i went over limit on Stillorgan dual carriageway the knives would be out for me by the same guards.

If i was a guard and i came across you at a check point with your lip and h'attitude i'd react the very same - It's in the boooooooooook!!

D%27Unbelievables_on_The_Late_Late_Show.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

They have every right to ask that question, just like everyone else has. You're confusing your right to not answer with others' right to ask.

It's a common tool, slurred speech, boozy breath, etc helps him decide whether or not to give you a roadside test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

This thread is going in a great direction anyway.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    They have every right to ask that question, just like everyone else has. You're confusing your right to not answer with others' right to ask.

It's a common tool, slurred speech, boozy breath, etc helps him decide whether or not to give you a roadside test.

no they have not the right to ask, it is an abuse of authority. And its meaningless. If one says i am coming from Cork, going to Belfast, what does not mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭mooman

no they have not the right to ask, it is an abuse of authority. And its meaningless. If one says i am coming from Cork, going to Belfast, what does not mean.

It means he's had a chance to talk to you to see if you are slurring your speech, I don't think they give a sh*t where you are coming from or going to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭idunnoshur

scamalert wrote: »
    They might of been behind you for a while and after your move they decided to be on the safe side and stop you.

I've never corrected someones grammar before on this site but "might of" and "should off" really piss me off.

Learn to ****ing spell and use punctuation you gowl. To be honest I can't really make sense of most of your post but it was a perfectly straight stretch of road with a good wide hard shoulder. I also made sure that there were no cars immediately behind me because I've had enough crashes as it is (3 weren't my fault, 1 was).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭McCrack

"Abuse of Authority". What a ridiculous comment to make.

Anyone can ask anybody a question. You don't have to answer.

A Garda stopping you at a checkpoint asking you where you are going/coming from isn't particularly interested but is interested to gauge you and confirm whether you might be drunk and/or high.I think that is pretty obvious to most people and entirely reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Surely it's worth the risk pulling him on the spot wherever it may be instead of letting a suspected drunk driver continue on the road for five minutes? What's more dangerous?

Maybe the Garda (who is not a robot) thought about it for awhile and after mulling over the reasons for a sudden swerve while all the time observing the driver in his rear view mirror decided to make sure the driver was not drunk and pulled him over.
    Fair play to him and the OP.

The guards are no more than a glorified traffic warden/clamper outfit. If you transgress as a a motorist they will nail you, but if your house or car are robbed they will do nothing for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

The guards are no more than a glorified traffic warden/clamper outfit. If you transgress as a a motorist they will nail you, but if your house or car are robbed they will do nothing for you.

Would you like some salt with that......

chip-on-shoulder.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭kopfan77

Jesus youre talking some ****e there....when did the gardai EVER clamp anyone????

kopfan77 wrote: »
    Jesus youre talking some ****e there....when did the gardai EVER clamp anyone????[/QUOTE

i never said they did you plank. But they are in the same category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

kopfan77 wrote: »
    Jesus youre talking some ****e there....when did the gardai EVER clamp anyone????[/QUOTE

i never said they did you plank. But they are in the same category.

Maybe you should give them a dig-out.