Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nissan qashqai and Nissan juke drivers :(

• 02-04-2012 10:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭

They seem to be the new slow coaches on the road, the new Micra of the teenies. Countless times now being stuck behind them doing 50 in a 60 zone, just as bad as the ford Galaxy crew, what is it? Former Micra drivers who've moved up in the world?

Who or what out there is your car you don't want to be behind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

padma wrote: »
    They seem to be the new slow coaches on the road, the new Micra of the teenies. Countless times now being stuck behind them doing 50 in a 60 zone, just as bad as the ford Galaxy crew, what is it? Former Micra drivers who've moved up in the world?

Nowt wrong with 50 in a 60, Clarkson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Everything wrong with doing 50 in a 60

Fixed your post. Slow drivers are if anything more dangerous than boy racers. If they weren't driving so slowly, people who have lives which aren't so boring that they have time to waste by driving ridiculously slowly on the roads wouldn't have to overtake the slow coaches and risk their own lives by driving on the wrong side of the road.

If everyone drove at the speed limit then the number of times the rest of us have to overtake would be massively reduced, thereby improving road safety.

If your life is so boring and you want to deliberately endanger the lives of others, pull into the hard shoulder and let the rest of us get by. After all you're not in a rush, so you can afford to waste a few more seconds of your time by not holding the rest of us up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Nowt wrong with 50 in a 60, Clarkson.

+1. You would swear they were doing 50kmph on the motorway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

well said captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Fixed your post. Slow drivers are if anything more dangerous than boy racers. If they weren't driving so slowly, people who have lives which aren't so boring that they have time to waste by driving ridiculously slowly on the roads wouldn't have to overtake the slow coaches and risk their own lives by driving on the wrong side of the road.

If everyone drove at the speed limit then the number of times the rest of us have to overtake would be massively reduced, thereby improving road safety.

If your life is so boring and you want to deliberately endanger the lives of others, pull into the hard shoulder and let the rest of us get by. After all you're not in a rush, so you can afford to waste a few more seconds of your time by not holding the rest of us up.

You are talking about 10 kilometres under the limit.

Jimdagym wrote: »
    You are talking about 10 kilometres under the limit.[/QUOT

actually 25% under the limit, its called failure to progress and you would fail your test for it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

well in Fairness, 50kmh is painfully slow to drive anywhere and it is tragic that its the national speed limit:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

These kind of threads tend to spiral downwards quite fast, but I do find the demographic of Juke drivers interesting. In my area, the 5 or 6 I see about are all 50 years plus, quite unusual considering the styling of the car.

The Qashqai is incredibly popular, all that fills my local Nissan dealers forecourt are these yokes. Typically 30-50 something female drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I think you may have started a flame war with that statement...

Anyways, I'll agree with you, may a time I've been behind a rolling roadblock/ snake and whats up the front? Cashcow. Idiot causing a jam in some sidestreet trying to park? Cashcow. Creeping up a country road? Cashcow...

The worst I have ever seen was a Puke on the M3 in the outside lane. For no reason whatsoever, jammed on the brakes from 110kms to stop. Even from a great distance away that nearly caused me to run into them, as there was a car I was overtaking at the time. Thankfully that car saw what had happened, braked to let me in and past that shíte. Looked in my rearview mirror and another car had started to spin trying to avoid them. What did they do? Drive off :mad: when they eventually went past, I really let them know how mad that made me :mad::mad::mad:

I'm generally finding them very unpredictable,at lights, roundabouts, shopping centres. What is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yummy Mummies doing the crech/school run, me thinks.

Certainly out by castletroy it is

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

50 km/h in a 60 km/h zone?
    Annoying, but not the end of the world.
    What does grate on me is people overtaking a truck on the motorway going exactly 0.0015 km/h faster than the truck.
    If you're not in a hurry, what's the point?

I think a lot of Micra drivers have moved to the Yaris, these always seem to be crawling and swerving all over the road because the occupant is an octogenarian.
    This is actually confusing, since a lot of the old Micras are being driven by young blokes at high speed.
    And the new breed of slow drivers are actually young-ish blokes driving any kind of car (well, chaep aul' banger), they don't have money, so they're driving on the motorway at 80 km/h to save fuel.
    50 in a 60? Pah! Methinks someone doesn't have any real problems in life.
    It's by far not the worst thing Nissan drivers do on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Qashqai/juke are being bought by the people who used to buy Micras and Almeras, and they drive the same way they always did, so you can expect one of these at the front of any queue of traffic.

So, I was right, the former Micra owners who've moved up in the world. !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Jesus, complaining about doing 50-60kp/h on a 100kp/h national road is an arguement I would agree with from a danger point of view.

But posts like the above about 50 in a 60 zone ffs:confused:

Simple fact though, unless you have blue flashing lights on your roof, its not your place to decide that your journey is more important then someone elses.

I am not, by any means a slow driver, often quite the opposite in fact, and I do get fraustrated by slow drivers, but common sense dictates that if the driver in front is too nervous/inexperienced or whatever to go faster, then some muppet sitting on their bumper trying to force them out of the way is only going to make an accident more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭Bigus

They drive them Jukes fast in Dubai :D

Never said I was sitting on the bumper, on the contrary I find I have to sit a bit further back from them if overtaking is not a possibility due to the unpredictability of said driver. still doing 25% under the limit is causing unnecessary frustration. the 50 in a 60 zone is only one example of Nissan drivers :) I mean juke drivers that can be frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭creedp

dgt wrote: »
    The worst I have ever seen was a Puke on the M3 in the outside lane. For no reason whatsoever, jammed on the brakes from 110kms to stop.

They were probably temporarily dazzled from the sun reflecting off all the crazy angles and bulges on the bonnet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

If you're stuck behind a car doing fifty in a sixty zone for a full ten kilometres, you're losing a grand total of two minutes. And that's not taking into account how rare it'll be that there'll be a 10k stretch without a safe overtaking spot. Nobody is forcing anyone to risk their lives overtaking, except the overtaker's deranged set of priorities.

creedp wrote: »
    They were probably temporarily dazzled from the sun reflecting off all the crazy angles and bulges on the bonnet!

I heard a traffic announcement later that day "a traffic jam on the M3 inbound cause is unknown as of yet" :rolleyes:

If you're stuck behind a car doing fifty in a sixty zone for a full ten kilometres, you're losing a grand total of two minutes. And that's not taking into account how rare it'll be that there'll be a 10k stretch without a safe overtaking spot. Nobody is forcing anyone to risk their lives overtaking, except the overtaker's deranged set of priorities.

So overtaking is now because you've a deranged set of priorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

So overtaking is now because you've a deranged set of priorities.

Anyone who does so in a way which "risks their own lives" (to quote an earlier poster) in order to save less than two minutes is very much in possession of a deranged set of priorities. A car doing fifty in a sixty zone is simply not an issue unless you're driving dangerously in overtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭lau1247

I'm all for safe driving but I cannot stand slow driver.. that's just me I guess.. if they move to the side then I'll thank them as I go by.. the problem is the ones that don't let people go past them..

Just a potential scenario, one of these slow driver up front, you have 10 cars in between you and the very first car all trying to get by the slow driver.. there's not much opportunity to overtake..

if it takes one car 10Km or as your example put it, 2 mins to pass.. by the time it gets to you, you've probably spent about 15 mins waiting.. that's only one stretch of road and only one car holding people up..

Imagine you're driving a 3-4 hour journey and you come across three of these scenario within that time.. that's about 45 mins..

One would understand why people aren't happy about slow driver..

Just my two cents

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

1. It's not 25% below. It's ~17%.
    2. For the amount of times it happens in your life, just wait, don't endanger my life by being impatient, for the sake of 10kph.

1. It's not 25% below. It's ~17%.
    2. For the amount of times it happens in your life, just wait, don't endanger my life by being impatient, for the sake of 10kph.

I'm glad your relaxed lifetstyle takes precedence over everybody elses rush! You go on and take it easy now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the juke and quashqai just seem to be the go to cars for people who are afraid of motor tax but love to convince themselves that they drive an SUV. Think of them as the range rover sport for penny-wise, pound foolish people who see a car as simply something to go from A-B and impress the neighbours with the highest possible first digits on the reg plate

creedp wrote: »
    I'm glad your relaxed lifetstyle takes precedence over everybody elses rush! You go on and take it easy now:)

But why should 'everyone elses rush' take precedence over his relaxed lifestyle?

If I am in a hurry to get somehwere and am getting held up by someone choosing to drive slower then I want to....is it fraustrating? Yes, is it their fault I'm late? No, its my fault for not leaving on time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

How could anyone think 25% of 60 is 10? This means they either do not know 25% = 1/4 or 10x4 does not equal 60 :eek:
    I'm more worried that people that moronic are allowed to drive on public roads.

But why should 'everyone elses rush' take precedence over his relaxed lifestyle?

If I am in a hurry to get somehwere and am getting held up by someone choosing to drive slower then I want to....is it fraustrating? Yes, is it their fault I'm late? No, its my fault for not leaving on time!

Hold on I didn't say those ina rush took precedence over those more relaxed persons .. what I was commenting on was that a more relaxed persons was telling everybody else to slow down to his speed becasue he didn't want his life to be put in danger. There's no 'I' in Team boy!!

To be in college for 9 (28 miles away) sometimes I leave at 6.40. Never late when I leave at that time, I avoid most of the arseholes at that time of the morning and can drive at my leisure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭C4Kid

dgt wrote: »
    To be in college for 9 (28 miles away) sometimes I leave at 6.40. Never late when I leave at that time, I avoid most of the arseholes at that time of the morning and can drive at my leisure :)

I've began doing the same and it's the best thing I've ever done:)

Like you say: less traffic to deal with and usually I've time to go to the gym before hand too, it's a win win for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

Way to generalise there lady, whats wrong were you late going for a top up on your fake tan.

Reg'stoy wrote: »

Way to generalise there lady, whats wrong were you late going for a top up on your fake tan.

First of all I'm a man. Second of all this is about being stuck behind certain cars which annoy. Some people don't like being behind buses and trucks cos of the spray etc others don't like being behind tractors. I am not fond of being behind Nissan qashqai and jukes.

To clear upmy previous calculation of 25% I was thinking in mph as the old limit was 40 mph ie now 60 k and the old limit of 30 mph now being 50 k. So was using this to get the reference of 25%. My mistake I apologise though am not too fond of being called moronic by another poster.

The fact is driving under the limit is dangerous. To all qashqai drivers who drive 25% under the limit please use the three c's. Courtesy, care and consideration.

First of all I'm a man. Second of all this is about being stuck behind certain cars which annoy. Some people don't like being behind buses and trucks cos of the spray etc others don't like being behind tractors. I am not fond of being behind Nissan qashqai and jukes.

To clear upmy previous calculation of 25% I was thinking in mph as the old limit was 40 mph ie now 60 k and the old limit of 30 mph now being 50 k. So was using this to get the reference of 25%. My mistake I apologise though am not too fond of being called moronic by another poster.

The fact is driving under the limit is dangerous. To all qashqai drivers who drive 25% under the limit please use the three c's. Courtesy, care and consideration.

:rolleyes: Like I said, driving at maybe 60kp/h in a 100kp/h zone or 80 in a 120 could be dangerous, but 50 in a 60 just isn't...by any stretch of the imagination, not to anyone paying the least bit of attention to the road anyway.

Most people generally keep close to the limit Nissan doc. From my observation and a few others the qashqai and juke drivers a higher percentage of them tend to steer a bit further from the limit than the rest of the population. Why roll your eyes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

..... Slow drivers are if anything more dangerous than boy racers. If they weren't driving so slowly, people who have lives which aren't so boring that they have time to waste by driving ridiculously slowly on the roads wouldn't have to overtake the slow coaches and risk their own lives by driving on the wrong side of the road. ...
    And of course you have statistics and research to support all this nonsense supposition which you'll point us to. I'll be interested to see it but it still sounds to me like the childish "He made me do it Mammy. He drove slowly and now I'm dead Mammy because I ran into the lorry when I overtook him dangerously Mammy. It's not my fault, he's to blame. Boo Hoo Mammy."

I pointed this out in one of the numerous older (and exceedingly boring) threads on the same topic some time ago. A speed limit is a maximum limit for that road; it's not a target you must achieve to prove you have larger cojones than the dude behind you or the gum-chewing, vacant-eyed dudette beside you.
    .... please use the three c's. Courtesy, care and consideration.
    I used that as well but only in the context of being taught to drive and taking my test in England. Strange to have good advice misused this way; btw "care" always comes first, just so you'll know in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

mathepac wrote: »
    And of course you have statistics and research to support all this nonsense supposition which you'll point us to. I'll be interested to see it but it still sounds to me like the childish "He made me do it Mammy. He drove slowly and now I'm dead Mammy because I ran into the lorry when I overtook him dangerously Mammy. It's not my fault, he's to blame. Boo Hoo Mammy."

I pointed this out in one of the numerous older (and exceedingly boring) threads on the same topic some time ago. A speed limit is a maximum limit for that road; it's not a target you must achieve to prove you have larger cojones than the dude behind you or the gum-chewing, vacant-eyed dudette beside you.

I used that as well but only in the context of being taught to drive and taking my test in England. Strange to have good advice misused this way; btw "care" always comes first, just so you'll know in future.

Sorry, are you saying the dudette beside him has testicles or wha?

mathepac wrote: »

It is good advice and can be used in the context I put it in, the truth is you will fail your driving test if you fail to progress, apparently one of the most common reasons for failure, in the RSA's own words.. Inadequate progress at junctions, roundabouts, on the straight, and when overtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

I'm sorry, I naturally jumped to a conculsion based on nothing other then my opinion of posters who make broad sweeping statements based on car ownership; that you must be female.

Reg'stoy wrote: »
    I'm sorry, I naturally jumped to a conculsion based on nothing other then my opinion of posters who make broad sweeping statements based on car ownership; that you must be female.

your excused

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I think the Yaris is the latest car of choice for the slow and confused - whenever I get stuck behind some bewildered dawdler it seems 8/10 are in a Yawnris. Usually when I'm busting a gut to get to some breakdown or other with the customer roaring "where the feck are ye??"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Friel

I drive my folks' Qashqai, and got pulled at half 2 last night for driving too fast. Sooo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Jaysus this thread is a disaster. 50 in a 60? Right. Life and death right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Boots2006

They're not all slow drivers.
    I got passed by a Qashqai doing well north of 110 mph (180 kph). I didn't even think they could go that fast, vmax I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

I would have been one of these people who would have hated been stuck behind a slower driver, but I have started leaving a few minutes earlier in the morning, taken things handy and found some important things, I usually get to where I want to be early and I have been saving fuel, MPG has increased, major plus at current fuel prices. I am also less stressed about traffic now therefore less stressed about life...

So slow down relax and save money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Dub XV wrote: »
    Sorry, are you saying the dudette beside him has testicles or wha?
    Quelle surprise, mon ami, quelle surprise.

I would have been one of these people who would have hated been stuck behind a slower driver, but I have started leaving a few minutes earlier in the morning, taken things handy and found some important things, I usually get to where I want to be early and I have been saving fuel, MPG has increased, major plus at current fuel prices. I am also less stressed about traffic now therefore less stressed about life...

It's called growing up......roads would be a safer place if more people did it:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

In my case it's the motorway 10 minutes from my door to 5 minutes away from work that did the trick.
    And not a huge amount of traffic between 7 and 8 and most of the loons are still in bed.
    Radio on, coffee in hand, cruising along at 110 km/h (whilst giving way to faster traffic, of course) and chillax.
    Not being on the road for a living has it's advantages and to all of you who are on the road for a living: You lucky bastards!;) I'm stuck in an office all day!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Tubbs4

Its still not 25 % as 60 is 37.5 mph and 50 is 31.25 which equals just under 17%.
    While it is annoying and i scream at them . the best thing is just to stay back and just overtake them when safe.
    Also never let them out in front of you as you know they drive s***e.