Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First car opitions (1.0-1.6)

• 01-04-2012 4:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭

Last year I was considering looking at buying my (first) own car but for money reasons I decided to put it off for about a year so now I'm on the look out again now.

For insurance reason I've ruled it down to the following.

Micra 1.0
    Corsa 1.2
    Fiesta 1.25
    Focus 1.4 and maybe 1.6
    Golf 1.4.

All in and around 1999-2002 with a budget of about €900 to €1300.

Funny enough its the same to insure the Golf, Focus (1.4) and Micra. While the Fiesta is the same as a 1.6 Focus and the Corsa coming in the cheapest.

Would be mostly doing city driving.

Any opinions on the above and which would be best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Philbagg might have a nice 99 car for €750 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Don't worry I don't intend on letting anyone **** me about like that and I will defiantly be bringing a mechanic with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

first car I bought was a 00 seat ibiza. identical to the polo but half the price. worth a look, I got mine for 450e there a few years back. drove great for 2 years.

the golf 1.4 is a bit of a lottery, lots of niggles. the 1.6 is more reliable, check the price difference to insure before buying a 1.4

if the corsa insures cheaply, go with that. first year or two.. car is a car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

If you are doing a lot of city driving go for a 1 litre, if you do a lot of motorway driving go for a higher litre, I'd go for something in between and go for a 1.4 litre

mawk wrote: »
    first car I bought was a 00 seat ibiza. identical to the polo but half the price. worth a look, I got mine for 450e there a few years back. drove great for 2 years.

the golf 1.4 is a bit of a lottery, lots of niggles. the 1.6 is more reliable, check the price difference to insure before buying a 1.4

if the corsa insures cheaply, go with that. first year or two.. car is a car

Bout 200 quid in the difference. Same with the two Focus's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭hadepsx

opel astra 1.4, not a bad car

Duffff-Man wrote: »
    If you are doing a lot of city driving go for a 1 litre, if you do a lot of motorway driving go for a higher litre, I'd go for something in between and go for a 1.4 litre

Would be mostly city driving with the occasional country/N road so a bit of power would be nice.

At the moment though from personal preference the 1.4 Focus is at the top of my list. Have yet to look into mpg though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Bout 200 quid in the difference. Same with the two Focus's.

I wouldn't be surprised if two hundred in insurance was canceled out by not spending three hundred in repairs if you got an unlucky 1.4 golf

hadepsx wrote: »
    opel astra 1.4, not a bad car

Nice looking car with a decent spec, don't really know much about them though.
    Sacramento wrote: »

Nice car as well, heard they have solid engines but I ruled them out when I did the online quote for them. :(

I must look into the 1.3's though and see when their like.

mawk wrote: »
    I wouldn't be surprised if two hundred in insurance was canceled out by not spending three hundred in repairs if you got an unlucky 1.4 golf

Well this is why im asking here of course to find out things like this. Would only plan on keeping it for about a year or a bit longer.

Bearing in mind I'm only basing these quotes from Britton. I've yet to check Aviva, my previous insurer who I'm entitled to a few discounts off but I have a feeling that they'd still be just as expensive.

Thanks again people. :)

Bump

Any more useful opinions on either the focus or golf with both engines.

And after doing a bit of research I've ruled out the Corsa. 45 bhp doesn't appeal to me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Bump

Any more useful opinions on either the focus or golf with both engines.

And after doing a bit of research I've ruled out the Corsa. 45 bhp doesn't appeal to me at all.

Corsa is 65 bhp. It is not that slow, acceleration is the same, maybe even slightly better than Focus and Golf. If you are looking for best performance, Fiesta 1.25 is the best option. Just so you can compare:

Corsa 1.2 16v - 0-100 km/h in 14.0s, max speed 163 km/h
    Focus 1.4 0-100 km/h in 14.1s, max speed 171 km/h
    Fiesta 1.25 16v 0-100 km/h in 12.2s, max speed 170 km/h
    Golf 1.4 0-100 km/h in 13.0s, max speed 171km/h

Mpg would be better for Corsa and fiesta, as they are much lighter, and not so underpowered. The only problem is that both Golf and Focus are more comfortable, and better looking. Also Golf and Focusgonna cost you much more than the others.

wonski wrote: »
    Corsa is 65 bhp. It is not that slow, acceleration is the same, maybe even slightly better than Focus and Golf. If you are looking for best performance, Fiesta 1.25 is the best option. Just so you can compare:

Mpg would be better for Corsa and fiesta, as they are much lighter, and not so underpowered. The only problem is that both Golf and Focus are more comfortable, and better looking. Also Golf and Focus gonna cost you much more than the others.

What model Corsa is that ?

This is where I saw that they are only 45 bhp.

I am starting to realize now that I would be doing well if I picked up a Focus or Golf for under €1300 with under 90,000 miles and an NCT.

The Fiesta's are nice but there a bit more expensive on insurance and I've heard that they are rust prone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I am starting to realize now that I would be doing well if I picked up a Focus or Golf for under €1300 with under 90,000 miles and an NCT.

The Fiesta's are nice but there a bit more expensive on insurance and I've heard that they are rust prone ?

If you look again at your link you will see 1.2 16v from 2000 is listed as 73bhp, it is the older unit that is 45bhp, later replaced with 3pot 1.0 12v, 54bhp.

I doubt you will find decent example of Golf for that money, but it is not impossible. As i said before Golf and Focus are generally much nicer cars than the rest of your choosen types, but if money are tight, sometimes it is better to go for something smaller, but reliable. Good luck with browsing Donedeal, hope you find what you are looking for.

If you look again at your link you will see 1.2 16v from 2000 is listed as 73bhp, it is the older unit that is 45bhp, later replaced with 3pot 1.0 12v, 54bhp.

I doubt you will find decent example of Golf for that money, but it is not impossible. As i said before Golf and Focus are generally much nicer cars than the rest of your choosen types, but if money are tight, sometimes it is better to go for something smaller, but reliable. Good luck with browsing Donedeal, hope you find what you are looking for.

Yep its the older one I'd be looking at.

Got a few quotes of Aviva that frightened me for those cars so thats them crossed of the list. Nearly 800 quid difference between them and Britton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

If you are going for looks then the Focus/Golf 1.4s are the obvious choice. The Focus has a woeful record of clutch / gearbox trouble like the Escort before it and the VW 1.4 is a poor unit full stop. The VW 1.6 should be considered well ahead of the 1.4 if it makes financial sense to you but all Volksy's of that era will give a good bit of engine management / electrical sensor issues.

For a first car if looks aren't as important to you the Micra is the best of that bunch, cheap, economical as can be, very reliable and nippy enough for what it is. One in a nice colour with a clean set of Nissan alloys doesn't look too shabby really anyway. Corsa 1.2 is not a bad yoke either, but in my opinion aren't as nice to drive as the Micra. There's something very detached and unresponsive feeling about them.

May be slightly dearer but a 99/00 1.3 Corolla hatchback is worth considering over the Focus / Golf as well. Better car really and a clean example will look well at around the €1200 mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Mpg would be better for Corsa and fiesta, as they are much lighter, and not so underpowered. The only problem is that both Golf and Focus are more comfortable, and better looking. Also Golf and Focusgonna cost you much more than the others.

I had borrowed a 1.25 fiesta for a week and I was rather underwhelmed by them. They were not noticeably faster then my old starlet and less economical. You had to rev the nuts out of that engine to get anywhere. However, it was far better then the old 1.3 kent engine.

BX 19 wrote: »
    I had borrowed a 1.25 fiesta for a week and I was rather underwhelmed by them. They were not noticeably faster then my old starlet and less economical. You had to rev the nuts out of that engine to get anywhere. However, it was far better then the old 1.3 kent engine.

The fiesta does look to be the favorite atm. Got some very decent quotes for myself yesterday and some crazy ones as well.

My only worry with them if I got one would be the rust around the arches. There any way of preventing this happening of I picked up a clean one ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 90 ✭✭windingo

My first car was a 1.25 fiesta, it was a great we car and didn't have much trouble with it. Would recommend one..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Beware of rusty Festers, my old Fester had rusty sills under the b pillar, a common rust patch.

The gearbox ain't as tough as theyre made out to be.

If the clutch was changed recently, ask was the slave changed too. Otherwise it will fail and youll be wondering why the car is losing fluid and why the clutch won't work.

Generally a decent car, albeit a little dull. Perfect for a starter car :D

I had 2 and many posts on here about them btw ;)

Only saw the last two post above just there.

Heard some news about a mates fiesta (01) being declared a write off after its nct due to rust and the front breaks not too long ago. Bit of a put off now if you ask me and with places flooding more lately that doesn't help either. Looking on Parkers also revealed 40 mpg from the 1.2. Surely that has to be bull **** ?

Ive been told to stay away from Punto's, Brava's and Bravo's from some people but I'm still drawn to them.

Otherwise the Focus is the strongest contender for me. Any other things on both the 1.4 and 1.6 I should know about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

Had a 99 Focus last year for a few months (5months at least) 1.4ltr , only thing I can say about it is small engine on a was is quite a big car, So I do believe the mpg was a bit poor. other than that it was a reasonable good car.

On the Fiesta's depending on which one of these you go for if you do. GF has a 05 Zetec steel one. It came with 16inch Alloys and low profile tyres. Have to say biggest failing on the car is them. Our roads suck and eventually you hit a pot hole and they buckle , I have had all 4 repaired and am currently looking to replace them. Other than that :D , Good car ,this is her second fiesta. First was a 99zetec drove it for 3years not one problem(head on with a truck killed the car and the truck. airbags and seat-belts all worked and she walked away so they are pretty safe as well) , Got the 05 new , have still running away Problem free ( except for the alloys)

Heard some news about a mates fiesta (01) being declared a write off after its nct due to rust and the front breaks not too long ago. Bit of a put off now if you ask me and with places flooding more lately that doesn't help either. Looking on Parkers also revealed 40 mpg from the 1.2. Surely that has to be bull **** ?

Didn't get the rust in time...

40mpg from a Fiesta doesn't really surprise me, I'd be expecting a lot more tbh! Mine did around 45 on long runs :)
    Ive been told to stay away from Punto's, Brava's and Bravo's from some people but I'm still drawn to them.

Otherwise the Focus is the strongest contender for me. Any other things on both the 1.4 and 1.6 I should know about ?

I'd safely say that the people who told you that have never had one or if they did never minded it.

Hand on heart, a good example of a Bravo is probably the best car out on the roads you can buy for peanuts (I'll prob get laughed at but I don't care). They ain't dull to look at, have a well put together interior that isn't depressing and are cheap to maintain. This is from someone who has had 6 of them around the house at one stage, currently down to 3 and worked on many, many more. My 1.2 Bravo (albeit with a few customisations here and there) would easily out pace a 1.4 Focus and even the 1.6... In standard guise the 99-00 CF2 ones produce 82 bhp and the 00-01 CF3 ones produce 80bhp. Worth mentioning that on a recent mpg test, I got 48mpg on along run :)

They have a few common faults:
    • People rarely keep on track of the coolant. Forget to change it every 2 years and the hg will let go
    • Keep an eye on the front suspension components, some of these cars like going through wishbones if constantly driven in rough conditions
    • Some of the gearboxes have a diff that comes apart inside (again rough driving leads to an early demise)

It's worth paying the bit extra for one that has been looked after, it will serve you well for many years :)

Joeface wrote: »
    Had a 99 Focus last year for a few months (5months at least) 1.4ltr , only thing I can say about it is small engine on a was is quite a big car, So I do believe the mpg was a bit poor. other than that it was a reasonable good car.

On the Fiesta's depending on which one of these you go for if you do. GF has a 05 Zetec steel one. It came with 16inch Alloys and low profile tyres. Have to say biggest failing on the car is them. Our roads suck and eventually you hit a pot hole and they buckle , I have had all 4 repaired and am currently looking to replace them. Other than that :D , Good car ,this is her second fiesta. First was a 99zetec drove it for 3years not one problem(head on with a truck killed the car and the truck. airbags and seat-belts all worked and she walked away so they are pretty safe as well) , Got the 05 new , have still running away Problem free ( except for the alloys)

media_%2811%29__m.jpg&w=400&h=300&ei=1sGaT6H7F4nKhAekoYzvDg&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=680&vpy=298&dur=60&hovh=194&hovw=259&tx=138&ty=150&sig=107790126369348920951&page=1&tbnh=136&tbnw=163&start=0&ndsp=18&ved=1t:429,r:9,s:0,i:83media_%2811%29__m.jpg

They the wheels your referring to ?

I've driven the mk V 1.4 before so im a bit more familiar with them, however they would be outside of my budget.
    dgt wrote: »

40mpg from a Fiesta doesn't really surprise me, I'd be expecting a lot more tbh! Mine did around 45 on long runs :)

I have heard that they weren't the best 1.2's when it came to the juice, but if 40mpg is true that's a bit poor imo.

I'd safely say that the people who told you that have never had one or if they did never minded it.

Kind of true yeah.
    Hand on heart, a good example of a Bravo is probably the best car out on the roads you can buy for peanuts (I'll prob get laughed at but I don't care). They ain't dull to look at, have a well put together interior that isn't depressing and are cheap to maintain. This is from someone who has had 6 of them around the house at one stage, currently down to 3 and worked on many, many more. My 1.2 Bravo (albeit with a few customisations here and there) would easily out pace a 1.4 Focus and even the 1.6... In standard guise the 99-00 CF2 ones produce 82 bhp and the 00-01 CF3 ones produce 80bhp. Worth mentioning that on a recent mpg test, I got 48mpg on along run :)

• People rarely keep on track of the coolant. Forget to change it every 2 years and the hg will let go
    • Keep an eye on the front suspension components, some of these cars like going through wishbones if constantly driven in rough conditions
    • Some of the gearboxes have a diff that comes apart inside (again rough driving leads to an early demise)

It's worth paying the bit extra for one that has been looked after, it will serve you well for many years :)

Thanks for that dgt, there have being 3 hsx brava's in my family with one still going, although it does have less then 30000 miles on the clock i believe but still.

Looking on DD there and found this and wondering what you think ? I know for sure that the cheap insurance bit is kind of bull as the quotes I got were coming in dearer then most other cars of its kind. This seems to be the case with Fiats for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭dillo2k10

I had a 1.4 astra for my first car, I thought it was grand for a first car.

Insurance was cheap enough and it was pretty comfortable :) (I always felt a bit low down though)

It was okay on petrol but probably not the most reliable or powerful car.

The insurance would be a bit more expensive but a 1.6 3 door focus would be much better. It would use less petrol, much more reliable, nicer to drive, looks better and would be faster.

Much better car all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 kerinethan

Can't go wrong with a 99 toyota starlet!
    They are bulletproof!!
    1.3 so cheap to ensure!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭dillo2k10

Looking on DD there and found this and wondering what you think ? I know for sure that the cheap insurance bit is kind of bull as the quotes I got were coming in dearer then most other cars of its kind. This seems to be the case with Fiats for some reason.

Probably because people keep burning them as they are constantly breaking down

Not a bad car for the money, beware the electronic assisted power steering, can give trouble or just stop working (a step back imo). These cars also won't take kindly to a weak battery as a lot of power is needed for the power steering. Not a bad car, that's the up-markety Sporting as it has the 6 cd changer, air con and should have a factory amp in the boot. I have one too, mpgs would be over the 50s now and again so very frugal on juice.

Insurance is high as these cars are the Sporty model and have a poor reputation once again due to neglect. You can see that mickey mouse attitude displayed by some posters in the forum! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

To add to what dgt said about Fiats, I've found a Punto is fairly indestructible if it's been looked after (serviced when appropriate, etc). There are a few threads on this forum about them being great little cars. Fiat's reputation is hugely misleading.

My 1.2 8v mk2 gets dragged around Dublin on a daily basis, has never caused me a hint of trouble and burns very little fuel (45-52mpg, depending on traffic/roads).

One bit of advice that nobody here has mentioned (but is worth saying anyway) is check the car's history with cartell or motorcheck before you buy. There's an unnerving amount of dodgy crap out there.

Found this earlier, http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3299507.

Price is fine, mileage is grand, A years NCT and tax till Dec.

However the photos don't add up, especially the first two.

Whats do yous reckon ?

Found this earlier, http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3299507.

Price is fine, mileage is grand, A years NCT and tax till Dec.

However the photos don't add up, especially the first two.

Whats do yous reckon ?

I can't see the reg plates....

When I sold my Fiesta, it as a 1997. Not as long an NCT but the phone went bananas. Plates clearly visible. Asking price was 650, I got 450 for it.

Don't be surprised if its gone by now or if it isn't there's something major wrong with the car (I'm always very suspicious about stuff that good that cheap!)

I can't see the reg plates....

When I sold my Fiesta, it as a 1997. Not as long an NCT but the phone went bananas. Plates clearly visible. Asking price was 650, I got 450 for it.

Don't be surprised if its gone by now or if it isn't there's something major wrong with the car (I'm always very suspicious about stuff that good that cheap!)

Can't get through to him at the moment.

But am I right in saying that the first photo is of a Zetec and the second a Ghia ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

But am I right in saying that the first photo is of a Zetec and the second a Ghia ?

Looks like a garage selling it? Why else is it parked outside a simi dealer?

Different cars. One has the mirror broke, in the other its there. Bumper strips are painted in the other one too, black in the other.

Run away!!!

Looks like a garage selling it? Why else is it parked outside a simi dealer?

For a second I though that building was what used to be Blanchardstown Renault/Kia but their gone a while now. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Maybe I need to upgrade to get better insurance, I always thought mine was too much for a 1.25 :), not sure about the prone to rust overall, but mine is fine as a 98, the 99-02 is the mk 4 or mk 4 facelifted version. Good cars I reckon, assuming they have been reasonably looked after, like any I suppose.

The 1.25 is a great engine, I hope I'm not tempting fate now, even though i would really like an excuse to replace mine, I'd happily drive it on for a few years also. It's still a 1.25 but its pretty lively for a smallish engine, good enough for city driving and motorway/long distances too.
    I dont believe I've had to rev the nuts out of it myself, but different cars.
    Beware of rusty Festers, my old Fester had rusty sills under the b pillar, a common rust patch.

The gearbox ain't as tough as theyre made out to be.

If the clutch was changed recently, ask was the slave changed too. Otherwise it will fail and youll be wondering why the car is losing fluid and why the clutch won't work.

Generally a decent car, albeit a little dull. Perfect for a starter car :D

I had 2 and many posts on here about them btw ;)

Rust if it starts, I'll agree it's a problem. Though, I've seen cleaner examples on the road and for sale with less mileage than mine, if its a first car, the 1.25 covers the starter driver for a few/good few years when they may feel the need for more if they bought any 1 litre and where a larger engine 1.4 focus/golf isn't as good/more expensive car on insurance?
    Only saw the last two post above just there.

Rust, could be on any car, depends on its usage/care, same for front breaks (sic) (brakes)
    As for the mpg, thats normal, maybe less doing very short journeys but average 38-40 easily on very short journeys and plus 42-46 on longer ones, I've measured greater on one long non stop journey (54+mpg), and thats filling/driving/cloking it/refilling.

The bravo, I think the older one was a highly underrated car, drove a 1.4 one at one stage, but believe the 1.2 version ahs the same/more power??, couldn't fault it (3 door) back seats folded flat (great for storage), shame to see it go. Didn't sound as solid as other cars but seemed ok on the road to me, steering very light (fully powered) nice enough to look at inside/outside.
    I like the new one (no saloon versions around this time?), so few of them seem to be around, If i had the money i think I'd go for one as an alternative to the focus/golf/whatever car, they look nice on the inside and out.

All in, I think the Fiesta 1.25 is your best bet if you can get a clean one, but you haven't really said, other than city driving, what kind of driving you plan to do or how many to carry? so usage or for how long you plan to keep it??
    If it really will be mostly city driving and insurance/tax cost is a priority then a 1 litre micra mk2 (k11) is a great car (chain timing belt), some downsides but still a great car.

Different cars. One has the mirror broke, in the other its there. Bumper strips are painted in the other one too, black in the other.

Run away!!!

That could be because the dealer has mixed up pictures

Id be more concerned they are saying the owner is emigrating but the car is pictured parked outside a dealers??
    like they are trying to sell it as a private sale with no warranty

The mileage is low, but thats not impossible.
    It looks like it might have been a lower spec version than the ghia? I cant see the ghia badges on the outside nor the ghia wooden trim/possibly the usual beige seats?? it appears to have a front fog light button but not a front window demistor (handy) which i have on an older (pre facelift non ghia) car.
    I dislike anything that says no timewasters and hate that in particular from a dealer, if I'm buying I will look at a few cars, if there is something wrong with a car and I walk, they think I am a timewaster when in fact I feel they have wasted my time, part of me makes me think this is a ploy to persuade/press people to feel guilted into buying a car quickly or be made feel bad. While i agree you should look around, you need to narrow the options after a few viewings/test drives, so you dont waste your own time and so you can rule in/out possibilities and then make a decision.

Helpful if you can have someone with some experience look at a car with you, try not let your heart rule your decisions and dont rush to pay a large or any non refundable deposit, consider a car and go back and have a second look, I've ruled out cars that way on second viewings after I had time to think of stuff, bring a checklist and tick stuff off.

Dont get car/motor tell checks on every car either, only do that when you have narrowed it down to a few cars and even then ask the seller to do it.

These may be useful tips on other cars as that one is sold anyway.

Merch wrote: »
    That could be because the dealer has mixed up pictures

Id be more concerned they are saying the owner is emigrating but the car is pictured parked outside a dealers??
    like they are trying to sell it as a private sale with no warranty

The mileage is low, but thats not impossible.
    It looks like it might have been a lower spec version than the ghia? I cant see the ghia badges on the outside nor the ghia wooden trim/possibly the usual beige seats?? it appears to have a front fog light button but not a front window demistor (handy) which i have on an older (pre facelift non ghia) car.
    I dislike anything that says no timewasters and hate that in particular from a dealer, if I'm buying I will look at a few cars, if there is something wrong with a car and I walk, they think I am a timewaster when in fact I feel they have wasted my time, part of me makes me think this is a ploy to persuade/press people to feel guilted into buying a car quickly or be made feel bad. While i agree you should look around, you need to narrow the options after a few viewings/test drives, so you dont waste your own time and so you can rule in/out possibilities and then make a decision.

To be honest I'd be very surprised if it was a dealer that was selling that car, why the mobile number ? why the mixed up pictures (sloppy) ? Why only three pictures? You allowed to put 9 up as far as I know.

Just cos its a dealer doesn't mean they wont be sloppy, have seen plenty of adds where the dealer has clearly copied, pasted and duplicated selling points, provided poor/limited or repeats of the same pictures and atrocious spelling.
    I'd expect it off a private seller that doesnt really care about their car, but there are plenty of private sellers with good pictures from different angles and good details.
    Definitely have come across cars that were being sold by dealers that wanted to sell a car but didn't want to provide a warranty so try sell/claim it as private seller/sale.
    I particularly don't like the owner emigrating thing in an add, what relevance? its like dont expect a warranty, you've no hope of ever finding me again when the car claps next week cos I'm going to throw this SIM card in the bin, cynical, me? maybe ;)

Any opinions on the Mk2 Astra 1.4 ? Seem to be going for reasonably cheap.

? :o