Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's in the back lads?

• 31-03-2012 10:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,307 ✭✭✭✭

So, what do you keep in the boot?

I don't commute in the car, but travel and I holiday in it and there's a few musts for me that I keep in a 'secret' large compartment I have between the spare tyre space and the boot. (It's a huge boot)

Torch
    Rope (not a tow strap/rope)
    Jump leads
    gaffer tape
    Engine oil
    Meindle boots
    Roof rack straps
    Ireland road map
    RSA rules of the road book
    Spare bulbs
    Shopping bags
    Rain jacket and warm hat
    Frisbee
    Sports stuff
    A litre of water

So, what's yours? Bag of lime and a shovel? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

CDs ( very little storage in the Cabin)
    Socket set (between spare wheel and carpet)
    Polish
    Son of a gun
    Leather cleaner

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Current contents:

Rain mack
    Chinese Lanterns
    Glow Sticks
    12 Easter Eggs
    Rubber edging for a classic mini
    Haynes Manual
    Heat shield for a windscreen
    Gas canister for a portable stove
    2 pallet fences
    Ronseal wood stain
    Walkers Cheese and Onion crisps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I my boot you will find the following to the addition to manufacturers equipment (spare wheels, jack, etc).

Towing rope,
    Jump leads,
    First aid kit,
    Warning triangle,
    Air compressor (car lighter plug operated),
    Accident emergency kit (containing disposable camera, measuring tape, chalk, torch, pen, accident report form, etc).

In addition whenever I'm driving any further than home, work, shop, etc I put my toolbox which includes plenty of tools (spanners, pliers, vice-grips, small hammer, plenty of screwdrivers, electric multimeter, spare bulbs, allen keys, socket and drive keys set, and tens of other little things).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

In the boot: 1/2" drive rachet with a 19mm socket for removing the wheels. 1l of coolant and a small bottle of engine oil. Pair of boots and my coat. Socket set. Screwdriver set. Vise Grips, snips and pliers. My trangia stove with meths fuel and some firesteel. My DSLR

My EMT kit bag is usually comes with me. Has come in handy in RTAs.

There is spare bulbs in the Glovebox and various OS maps. Car phone charger. Box of tea and some el chepo tesco red bull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭gpjordanf1

Loads of the bits that fall off the ends of Peat Briquettes!

A couple of buckets & spades from beach visits last summer, but hey that was last year!

A little ot, but what the hell are these

gold.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

BX 19 wrote: »
    A little ot, but what the hell are these

gold.png

It would appear to be a cruel joke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Rastapitts

a dead body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

One of my mates says I have a rape kit in my boot. I have Rope, duct tape, a folding shovel.....oh and a de-activated Colt 45. I have a plausible reason for each of those

@ Alanstrainor

Forgot it was after 12 and its now April the first. bugger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Socket set
    Screw drivers
    Space licence plate - best place to keep it
    Cleaning towels and products
    Air compressor
    Tyre gunk
    First aid kit
    Insulin
    And a scarf. It's been there a long time and I just leave it there because I don't know what to do with it or where it came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Socket set
    Screw drivers
    Space licence plate - best place to keep it
    Cleaning towels and products
    Air compressor
    Tyre gunk
    First aid kit
    Insulin
    And a scarf. It's been there a long time and I just leave it there because I don't know what to do with it or where it came from.

Diabetic aye...high five!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

No idea - can't see past all the sh1te the missus and kids bung in there to tell whats what - appears to be a collection of clothing, bags, boots and sports equipment - could be a dumping ground for the GAA but not positive. Also appears to be an unfeasibly large amount of empty drinks containers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Perhaps you're a closet scarf wearer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Heavy coat
    Window cleaner and clothes
    Mouth wash, tooth brush and paste
    Jump leads (found spare ones)
    Air compressor
    High viz
    Warning triangle
    Spare fuses
    Gunk for wheel repairs
    Spare license plate
    Torch
    Jack kit with screwdriver etc
    Big blanket
    Airsoft gun
    Bottle of durex tingle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,307 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I'm guessing we have so far a sports car enthusiast, a raver, paramedic, two dedicated dads, a diabetic closet hipster, a dogger and I can't see that image, I need a gold account to view it?!? but, sounds worrying... tongue.gif And, MajorMax... explain please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭tvercetti

A burst spare wheel
    Oil (My car has a slow oil leak)
    Torch
    4 way wheel brace with 1 broken arm
    Jack
    Funnel (is that spelt right?)
    Can of Degreaser (to clean up the oil that leaks)

Oh and my rape whistle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

tvercetti wrote: »
    A burst spare wheel
    Oil (My car has a slow oil leak)
    Torch
    4 way wheel brace with 1 broken arm
    Jack
    Funnel (is that spelt right?)
    Can of Degreaser (to clean up the oil that leaks)

Oh and my rape whistle
    so no chance of getting your wooden gun back then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Lets see....

My van has in the "cargo space"
    • A decent set of tools (allen keys, screw drivers, spanners)
    • Plusgas + WD40
    • Crowbar
    • Hi vis
    • Rifle cleaning kit
    • Medical Kit
    • A guide on how to use this (don't ask)
    • Mug + cutlery
    • 2 number plates from different vehicles from the past
    • A can of Brut
    • One metric fúckton of receipts
    • Several air fresheners
    • A heap of red bull cans and bottles
    • A blanket + big box of cond....iments ;)

There's other stuff in he door pockets, glove box and ashtray. Spare temp sensor or BMW badge anyone? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

(With the possible exception of bangernomics heaps,) I've never understood why people carry so much crap around in their cars. Ye're probably the first to complain about the price of fuel, and no wonder!

My car is 12 years old, but my towrope and jump leads (and tools, and axle stands, and engine hoist!) stay at home. If I'm nearby, the wife can bring them. If I'm not, the recovery service that's bundled with my insurance can.

Going by the amount of metal some of ye carry around, ye probably wouldn't know the car if ye took it all out. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

a 3/4 full mitre football
    possibly a jack under the wheel
    a pair of wetsuit booties

dahamsta wrote: »
    (With the possible exception of bangernomics heaps,) I've never understood why people carry so much crap around in their cars. Ye're probably the first to complain about the price of fuel, and no wonder!

My car is 12 years old, but my towrope and jump leads (and tools, and axle stands, and engine hoist!) stay at home. If I'm nearby, the wife can bring them. If I'm not, the recovery service that's bundled with my insurance can.

Going by the amount of metal some of ye carry around, ye probably wouldn't know the car if ye took it all out. :)

Tool box only comes with me on extended journeys. The rest of my assorted crap is fairly light.

I don't have breakdown assist, so I bring what ever i need to get me out of a hole.

I tore out most of the interior in the back of my van anyway... Along with some un-necessary plastic bits around the engine bay. Even with the steel floor, heavier brakes and towbar it was lighter than the equivalent standard car :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,307 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Can of Brut and a rifle cleaning kit? Are they the same?

So, along with a sports car enthusiast, a raver, paramedic, two dedicated dads, a diabetic closet hipster, a dogger we have a phsychopath (dgt), a waterpolo player with cold feet (theteal), a man with a great wife (dahamsta).

(all in jest lads...)

dgt wrote: »
    I tore out most of the interior in the back of my van anyway... Along with some un-necessary plastic bits around the engine bay. Even with the steel floor, heavier brakes and towbar it was lighter than the equivalent standard car :pac:

I took the entire back out of the mother's car one weekend as an experiment. Quicker, but noisy. She was none the wiser afterwards. :)

No argument here about the wife!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

No joke but I found frankincense and myrrh in mine today! Unopened pot pourri left over from Christmas. Now can't remember if I bought it to give to someone or did someone give it to me! :confused:

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Can of Brut and a rifle cleaning kit? Are they the same?

It's fairly sore on the nose... I might try and use it to take off tar someday :pac:

Now that's just one vehicles contents :P

There's prolly a whole other thread in Things You Found Down The Back Of The Seats. My current car had hair clips, dog hair, a betting shop pen (buried in the centre console), coins, and a very, very soggy boiled sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Tyre iron
    Small toolbox
    12v air compressor (with light)
    Rain proof folding jacket with hood
    Rubber gloves
    Small first aid kit
    Disposable latex gloves
    Hand cream
    Spare bulbs
    A can of de-icer
    Car interior cleaning products
    Shopping bags
    An old pair of flat shoes
    Litre of water
    Wind up torch
    Hi viz vest
    Fuses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

I have about 60kg of these

pic_weights.jpg

and about 70kg of these

145.jpg

and an industrial tub / amount of this

unbranded-deep-heat-rub-size-100g.jpg

There's prolly a whole other thread in Things You Found Down The Back Of The Seats. My current car had hair clips, dog hair, a betting shop pen (buried in the centre console), coins, and a very, very soggy boiled sweet.

I could write a book with some of the stuff I found in cars that came in here over the years. Some of my favourites include a Mars bar that expired in 1994, hard disk drive for a spare wheel, €20 and £6 stg! However gloopy diet coke, soiled trousers and half a bra in the boot of my old 520i tops the list I thinks! :eek:

In the most recent yoke these were found
    Image1966.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

DSCF3595.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

In the Mazda - a chain and lock, the baby's buggy, a car stereo :confused:

In the Mitsubishi - another buggy, shopping bags, and a million ratchet straps (for when I have the motobike in the trailer) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

too much, somehow the stuff multiplies faster than rabbits

first aid kit
    fire extinguisher and fire blanket
    two blankets
    mineral water
    a bag with crayons, toys, wellies, baby wipes and a nappy
    change of shoes for me
    a goretex jacket
    reflective vest
    spare tyre and kit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

A mother-in-law disposal kit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,679 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

1/3 of a 5l Dipentane Funnel in a plastic bag.
    2 Thule roofracks for the roofrails.
    4-5 Straps for the racks
    6" Mole grips
    Rivet gun
    Pair of Lidl Wiper blades
    WD40 handwipes in a tub.
    1 x Aerosol WD40 Contact cleaner
    1 x 3n1 Oil
    Small coolbox.
    Small box of Lobster tags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

When I had the toledo the quite huge boot held the following; my tool box, a spare work uniform, an assortment of food and drinks, coolant, oil, 2L water, wipes, kitchen roll... the list goes on.

Now I have a 1.2 clio so just a spare tyre and wheel change kit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

38 posts and no Octavia joke..:)

Presumably that's where fasttalkerchat keeps the 1.2 Clio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Presumably that's where fasttalkerchat keeps the 1.2 Clio.
    Actually the toledo boot is about the same size as an octavia so i could have a russian doll situation on my hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

Since changing car to the gti I have narrowed down the ****e I have in the boot.

Currently have:
    a huge blanket (for keeping the dogs off the seats)
    Small toolkit
    Over night pack (toothbrush, lynx etc)
    Surveying equipment
    Cleaning gear (demon shine love it!!!)
    A large pack of microfiber clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

i've very little :L spare tire a jack (thats 2 big to fit under the car) and the wheel brace
    a bottle of polish and a bottle of wax
    micro fibre towels and form aplicater pads :L
    i think another good thread would be whats in the glove box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Spacesaver wheel wrapped in a blanket,
    1 litre bottle of oil,
    First Aid kit,
    Spare bulb kit,
    Golf umbrella,
    Hi Vis vest, jack, wheel brace and jump leads in the storage compartment underneath the boot floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I must be the only one who keeps nothing in the boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I try to carry as little as possible, aside from the spare wheel and jack etc there's very little else in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Well my car didn't come with a spare wheel or tyre well so when I ditched the RFTs I had to put the space saver in the boot. Still room for shopping bags, laptop and other stuff. Don't really use my boot that much to be honest.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Very little in my boot, a sheet of plastic in case I have to carry anything that might be dirty and a high viz jacket. Try not to carry too much as the boot is rather large and I used to have loads of stuff in it and the car was guzzling petrol..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

A re-usable Superquinn bag with my shopping list in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

bazz26 wrote: »
    Spacesaver wheel wrapped in a blanket,

Why is it wrapped up? Is there anywhere to store a spare in the 3 series?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Socket set
    Screwdriver set
    Spare bulbs
    Water
    Anti freeze
    Wiper fluid
    Engine oil
    Jump leads
    Torch
    High vis vest
    Football bag