Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle4life, Dunboyne, Co. Meath

• 28-03-2012 4:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

The inaugural cycle4life will take place on the 19th of May in Dunboyne Co. Meath. The aim of the event is to raise much needed funds for Temple Street Children's hospital and is being co-ordinated by Dunboyne Cycling Club and D.I.D Electrical.

There are 3 routes: a 5-15km route for families, an intermediate distance of 65km and the more experienced cyclists can complete a 143km route.

To participate in the medium or long event you must submit the minimum sponsorship of €79.99. Please note, you can register now and you do not need to submit the full amount until 30/04/2012, so that gives you a bit of time to collect. All paid up registrants will receive a Cycle4life cycling jersey (below), a packed goody bag (these will be good!) plus food and refreshments provided on the day. The event will be marshaled with support vehicles on the route.

For more information or to register visit www.cycle4life.ie or see our facebook page. We hope to see you there for what will be an excellent event!

Event Jersey:
    scaled.php?server=13&filename=jerseyi.jpg&res=medium

Long Route:
    mapou.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

Already signed up :) Looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭jameverywhere

I signed up today and built a sponsorship page (better late than never!)

Wondering if anyone would be going there from Dublin? I'm planning on doing the middle-length one (65-70 km) and any sort of company, even at the starting line only, would be grand.

Company on the train there in the morning/evening, or possibly a ride in a car (:D) would be really cool too. Would totes contribute to gas cost if someone gave a ride.

current plan is to take the train there from heuston or connolly on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

I am a relative newbie to cycling, well compared to you lot anyway! I am in the saddle about 4 times a week kicking out between 20 and 30 km per spin. I feel great on the bike, overweight but determined. I am interested in this spin, but my longest to date has been 34km. I could have kept going but ran out of time. I can average almost 25km on a flat spin. With just 4 weeks to go to this one, I would love to give it a go, but I dont know if I would be able to get the interm route completed.

Planning a 40+km run at the weekend to test the lungs and legs, but am seeking advise before I open a charity page and register.

The only temptation is that I cycle past my house with about 10km to go! I probably wouldnt be allowed to stop as my kids would pelt me with wet sponges or get the hose out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

t'bear wrote: »
    I am a relative newbie to cycling, well compared to you lot anyway! I am in the saddle about 4 times a week kicking out between 20 and 30 km per spin. I feel great on the bike, overweight but determined. I am interested in this spin, but my longest to date has been 34km. I could have kept going but ran out of time. I can average almost 25km on a flat spin. With just 4 weeks to go to this one, I would love to give it a go, but I dont know if I would be able to get the interm route completed.

Planning a 40+km run at the weekend to test the lungs and legs, but am seeking advise before I open a charity page and register.

The only temptation is that I cycle past my house with about 10km to go! I probably wouldnt be allowed to stop as my kids would pelt me with wet sponges or get the hose out!
    If ya can manage 40km on your own, you'll be well able for 65km in a group ;)

Cheers for the input. It helps

But you assume a group would have me !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

I'm doing the middle spin myself. Looking forward to it

Any news on possible company (on train or at the event itself)... or rides? <_< :D >_>

I'll be in me leisurecycling.ie kit.

@ t'bear my longest spin so far has been 40ish km I think, including one climb and some riding into heavy wind. But I'm recovering from knee problems and in the process of correcting a muscle imbalance in my legs, so I've been mostly out of the saddle for the past like two months. getting out maybe once a week, not including 30 min a day of commuting.

I've already signed up tho'. still at zero for donations haha better call my dad and beg soon :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Finances have eased a bit and I'm trying to fill up my calendar, so I'm considering this. There's also allegedly a reduced entry fee of €50 for CI members. I should check that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

seamus wrote: »
    Finances have eased a bit and I'm trying to fill up my calendar, so I'm considering this. There's also allegedly a reduced entry fee of €50 for CI members. I should check that.
    If that's the case then I would be interested in doing it too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Signed up for it this morning, my baby son has been in temple St twice (nothing serious) over his first 3 months so I'll gladly do this event, great hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 cycle4life

Hi folks, only 11 days to go and we are gearing up for a great turnout... We have Stephen Roche on the day and Dan Martin may also be joining us so all we need is some glorious weather!

We are in the process of filling the goody bags for all participants (which are excellent) and the jerseys are in and looking great... you may have seen them on the roads already.

Our auction is also underway and we have some great lots that you may be interested in:
    1. An incredible opportunity for your child to be the mascot for the Dublin Senior Football Team in their first match aginst Westmeath/Louth on Sunday 3rd June in Croke Park (3 match tickets included).
    2. Hurling club team training session with members of Brian Cody’s Kilkenny Hurling team, probably the greatest hurling team EVER! This has only ever been done ONCE before.
    3. An opportunity for up to 10 persons to go for a group cycle with Garmin Barracuda professional cyclist Dan Martin.
    4. Sinead’s having a baby’ by Kevin Sharkey is an oil on canvas painting by Kevin Sharkey, signed and dated ‘08 lower right, Kevin is a world renowned artist who’s work is auctioned for thousands of euro and highly sought after.
    5. One off Irish champion cycling helmet designed for 2010 & 2011 Irish National Champion Matt Brammeier.

You can bid on lots up to the 19th of May by visiting www.cycle4life.ie/event/charity-auction

All money goes to purchasing vital equipment for the ICU department in Temple Street Children's hospital.

Hope to see you there

Sorry, I am only getting to look through the comments now.
    Wondering if anyone would be going there from Dublin? I'm planning on doing the middle-length one (65-70 km) and any sort of company, even at the starting line only, would be grand.

Where are you coming from? I will be coming up from Portlaoise and I have a bikerack that can hold 3 bikes if anyone needs a lift. If you PM me where you are coming from I can see if there is anyone who can pick you up. Apologies for the late reply... been uber busy the last few weeks.

To be honest I am only cycling 3 months doing one spin a week, I was going up to 80k by myself but had to stop due to wifey having our first baby. I am still going for the 143k spin... I will probably die afterward but its a worthy cause. You would definitely be able to for interim spin, its so much easier when you are cycling in a group.
    But I'm recovering from knee problems

Me too, smashed mine 6 years ago and its never been right, had it rebuilt but still gives me problems. Cycling seems to do it a lot of good... a lot better than football and Muay Thai anyhow.

I signed up today and built a sponsorship page (better late than never!)

Wondering if anyone would be going there from Dublin
    ? I'm planning on doing the middle-length one (65-70 km) and any sort of company, even at the starting line only, would be grand.

Company on the train there in the morning/evening, or possibly a ride in a car (:D) would be really cool too. Would totes contribute to gas cost if someone gave a ride.

current plan is to take the train there from heuston or connolly on the day.

I'm cycling from Finglas if you are near by and want to try it.

jaqian wrote: »
    I'm cycling from Finglas if you are near by and want to try it.

oh hay it looks like Dunboyne is only like 15 km from my house (I live 10 min from Pheonix park off the Navan road). of course, cycling there and back would add 30 km to the 70 km making a round total of 100... I could manage that with breaks in between probably... I'll have to see how I feel about it closer to when the day is coming I guess.

Here's a question. Do most people wear the jersey for the event at the event? like, if I didn't would I be out of place?

I would say most people would wear it unless it turned out to be too small. Great advertising for the sponsors. With all the colours I doubt you would be seen as out of place anyway.

Yeah dunboyne is quite close. The trip home I suspect if fairly flat you will have a belly full of energy and all the way home you can bask in your achievement. I am a noob as well doing the 70k. Pm me if you want to meet up somewhere around the village

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭poolboy

seamus wrote: »

Is this true didnt see anything on website

poolboy wrote: »
    Is this true didnt see anything on website
    I asked on facebook and they replied but then deleted my post so I didn't see the whole thing, only what the preview on my phone said. The gist I got was that you needed to email them to claim this discount.

I decided to sign up for the Mount Leinster Challenge instead.

My only concern would be getting lost on the way there and then being late for the kickoff to the event... >_<; (I get lost a lot)

Straight up the Navan Road and take the exit for Dunboyne. Its signposted so even I cannot get lost, probably get lost on the day though :-D

As you get onto the N3 road approaching blanchardstown shopping centre, keep going, the road turns into the M3' just before there is an exit for Clonee, take this and go thought the village, At the small roundabout take first exit and follow the road over a bridge intof the village. No sure of car park arrangements in the village area though

There will be loads of parking in Dunboyne for the event, I will post more details about that later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 skauldy1

Will there be a collection point for sponsorship cards at the event or do we have to post them off.

Yep there will be a collection point for sponsorship on the day.

What if there is no sponsor card and all donations are online with my charity

Just let us know the link to your mycharity page when you register and we can do the rest. Hope you enjoy the day, looking forward to it myself.

dont think i did that? how do i do it now

Don't worry about it, if you have a mycharity page we can sort it out with your name and address :-)

Ok cheers so I'll just say that at the day that I have the page ye

blahblah06 wrote: »

Already donated the money online, do I need to bring the receipt as proof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

I'm going to do the 140km version of this tomorrow, my first attempt a this distance so I'll be taking it nice and easy, I'll be on my own so if anyone out there is in the same boat fancies a bit of company PM me and we could sort something out.

Anyone know anything about parking arrangements?

I think parking is organised and you will be directed as you enter the village from pretty much any side. I'd say the village will be overrun for the few hours at the start and at the end. Would have liked to join you but I am doing the 70km spin with a later start time.

Enjoy the day though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Is the family cycle simply multiple laps of the of the 4K route here?

http://www.cycle4life.ie/routes/?utm_source=Cycle4Life&utm_campaign=826d2479ea-last_email_before_cycle5_17_2012&utm_medium=email

We just bring our receipt/registration details on the day?

Where are the start times? The email I got had them all at the same time?

I see it now...
    Check-In Details
    Route 1 – 143km
    Saturday 19th May 2012 ; 06:30 – 07:50am at event HQ, Main Street, Dunboyne, County Meath.
    Route 2 – 67km
    Saturday 19th May 2012 ; 06:45 – 08:50am at event HQ, Main Street, Dunboyne, County Meath.
    Route 3 – Family Event 15km
    Saturday 19th May 2012 ; 06:45 – 09:50am at event HQ, Main Street, Dunboyne, County Meath.

so yeah I've decided I'm going to cycle up there and back tomorrow, therefore adding 15 km each way so I'll be going 100 km that day even tho I'm doing the 70 km route.

I'll be wearing the cycle4life jersey but leisurecycling.ie bib shorts. If the weather is cold, I'll be in purple tights possibly. if you recognise me say hi and say that you're from boards.ie. My name is Jam.

haha the leisurecycling bib shorts are orange and do not match this jersey at all but that's part of the fun of it :D

see you guys there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

What sort of ages is the family route suitable for?

so yeah I've decided I'm going to cycle up there and back tomorrow, therefore adding 15 km each way so I'll be going 100 km that day even tho I'm doing the 70 km route.

I'll be wearing the cycle4life jersey but leisurecycling.ie bib shorts. If the weather is cold, I'll be in purple tights possibly. if you recognise me say hi and say that you're from boards.ie. My name is Jam.

haha the leisurecycling bib shorts are orange and do not match this jersey at all but that's part of the fun of it :D

see you guys there!

I did the same cycled from Finglas up and back but did the 140km. Legs were jelly after and went for a massage before cycling home. Any who did the same route might have recognised me as I was the only eejit on a hybrid :-) Completed it bang on 6hrs though might of shaved off 30min but blame the wind ;-) Surprised I didn't spot any boardsie jerseys there.

Have to say Cycle4Life did a fantastic job organising it with loads of food/water stops, jerseys, marshals and a much needed massage after. Count me in for next year... should have recovered by then :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

I really enjoyed today once I warmed up, good organisation and marshalling, nice rolling roads and surfaces (apart from Athboy) and good company on the way round. As jaqian said there was plenty of food and drink, though a cup of coffee to go with my sambo wouldn't have gone astray.

I finished in 5hrs 12mins, happy enough with that cause it was my first time to do much more than 100km, the course is ideal for someone looking to step their distance up.

If it's on again next year I'll be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerd4

I did the 68 as I'm not ready for anymore at the moment. Very well ran and organised. Was chatting to a Marshall who reckons it'll definitely be on next year.
    There was a lad on a cheap mountain bike that monstered the 68, either that or he didn't stop for the food stop.

Some photos...
    picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=12888
    picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=12889
    picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=12891
    picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=12894
    picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=12893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Well done to all the participants, it was a bit cold on the motorcycle, but it was a great route and everyone seemed to be enjoying the cycle. It was very well organised, credit to those involved, and I hope that the fundraising went well for a great cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭inkedpt

Two food stops plus all the food you could eat in the end, a massage tent, a goody bag, marshals in every single intersection, organization cars and motorbikes constantly back and forward and the highlight of the day (for me) a long talk with Stephen Roche about the good old days.
    Last year's event was very good but this one was just fantastic.

inkedpt wrote: »
    Two food stops plus all the food you could eat in the end, a massage tent, a goody bag, marshals in every single intersection, organization cars and motorbikes constantly back and forward and the highlight of the day (for me) a long talk with Stephen Roche about the good old days.
    Last year's event was very good but this one was just fantastic.

Was it not four food stops or was it you only used two? Tara he first one was a slippery slope, wheels were spinning in the muck. Didn't use the last one myself as too close to the finish line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭inkedpt

Was it not four food stops or was it you only used two? Tara he first one was a slippery slope, wheels were spinning in the muck. Didn't use the last one myself as too close to the finish line.

I can only speak for myself... I did the medium one :D

Ah that explains it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

jaqian wrote: »

Ah that explains it :-)
    5 foodstops on the long spin

Thanks to all that participated, it was a very good day. Pity about the weather as I think there would have been a much better turn out if it was sunny! The wind was an absolute mare as I seemed to be always cycling into it. I have to say, that was the longest I have ever cycled and it took me 6 hours 30 mins (I was the bloke wearing the skeleton Gilet) but I have only been doing it 3 months and with the arrival of my first child 3 weeks ago, I haven't been able to do much training for the last month so I think it was about my 10th time out on a bike so I am happy with that.

I will post more info on the final total raised when its all worked out. Once again, thanks to all the participated and volunteered. It was a great day and it will only get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭mad dave

For anyone who is interested, this is happening again this year on the 4th of May starting from the same place in Dunboyne. http://www.cycle4life.ie/

Clashes with the Orwell Randonnee unfortunately, so I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

Also clashes with the Cycle against Suicide ...