Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irelands relationship with China.

• 28-03-2012 3:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭

Is it just the media and government making this sound better than it really is or do we actually have a great relationship with China?
    Every week there seems to be some agreement or positive news between us, especially in recent months with vice president Xi Jinping's visit to Ireland and now Enda Kenny is off visiting them.

RTE news today cites - http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0328/economy_china.html
    Ireland and China have confirmed they have established a strategic partnership for co-operation on a range of issues.

The deal includes the areas of trade and investment, tourism, education, science, agriculture and food.

The two countries issued a joint statement following Taoiseach Enda Kenny’s meeting with Wu Bangguo, Chairman of the National People’s Congress in Beijing today.
    Does China really think much of us, or are we just another country they want to gain a foothold in? I know they have a lot to offer us but I dont think there is much we can offer them and surely there are other countries they would rather be doing business with.

Mods feel free to move to correct forum if you feel AH isnt suited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭AboutTwoFiddy

I saw the article on RTE News where they made a huge deal out of an Irish company starting to manufacture electronic devices over there and I thought WTF? How is that good for Irish workers? It's not.

The the counter deal was that China can now buy our bonds...so there goes Paddy with his cap in hand again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭GHOST MGG2

I for one welcome our new chinese overlords.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...usual diplomatic hyped cack. We trade with them, some of them know we exist and where....nothing out of the ordinary, as far as I know.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Love you china long time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

The Chinese are a great bunch of lads imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Hmm a small bankrupt country with good ties to UK and US. Going cheap...

2nd largest economy in the world looking to expand into Europe

It must be love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

personally, i would rather keeping our distance from china

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

goat2 wrote: »

Thankfully you've no say in the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

We have two unused international airports. Handy for sending stuff into Europe. And we could have deadly call centres staffed by Chinese takeaway staff. They could also build some missile sites here for "protection". The ghost estates could be posh worker villages if they want to locate some manufacturing facilities here.

It win all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭harmoniums

They are securing their food sources.
    Did you know there are 9 head of cattel for every man, woman and child in this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

prostitution of a nation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

the trouble with a cooperative partnership with the chinese is half an hour later you fancy another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

D1stant wrote: »

It must be love.

Nail on the head bud.

We're selling our soul a little by ignoring human rights issues and claims from Tibet and Taiwan for independence but desperate times and all that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

goat2 wrote: »

It's a good job we're firmly rooted then, unlike the island in Lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Taiwan is independent. It's Tibet thats under the cosh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

cocoshovel wrote: »
    I know they have a lot to offer us but I dont think there is much we can offer them and surely there are other countries they would rather be doing business with.

we export FOOD to their 1 bil population they export poorly built electronics and crappy vending machine toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

harmoniums wrote: »
    They are securing their food sources.

Shur why would they feel the need to do that?
    We are all friends in this happy-clappy world.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

emo72 wrote: »
    prostitution of a nation

Its ok, they have small dicks, sure we won't even notice them wiggling around.

we should start breeding rhinos en masse so we can export the horns to the chinese men with flacid penis so they can feel more masculine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

we export FOOD to their 1 bil population they export poorly built electronics and crappy vending machine toys.

It's not very big or clever to criticise the efforts of children, they do their best.

Its ok, they have small dicks, sure we won't even notice them wiggling around.

don't misunderestimate our tight arses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Nodin wrote: »
    Taiwan is independent. It's Tibet thats under the cosh.

It's not independent according to the Chinese.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/shared/spl/hi/asia_pac/04/taiwan_flashpoint/html/independence_debate.stm

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/china/2012-03/22/content_14893364.htm

forfuxsake wrote: »
    It's not very big or clever to criticise the efforts of children, they do their best.

They should give them higher seats so that they can see what they're doing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

forfuxsake wrote: »
    don't misunderestimate our tight arses

Mines been loosened up with the years of abuse I've been on the receiving end off working in a call centre. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭dpaulod

D1stant wrote: »

It must be love.

Hi All,
    Documentary on channel 4 last Monday night, "China: Triumph and Turmoil" paint a very grim picture for countries that china has previously invested heavily in. Very slow to sell woodland, board gas or anything else for that matter to China for a fast buck, they will get always get a return on investment with a hell of a lot of interest.

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/china-triumph-and-turmoil/episode-guide/series-1/episode-3

Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

we should start breeding rhinos en masse so we can export the horns to the chinese men with flacid penis so they can feel more masculine.

No need, there's already a booming sea cucumber aphrodisiac business over there. Apparently stuffing tentacley turds into your gob gives you a bone for the missus that lasts until she shouts the walls down, Asian stylleeee. Who would have thunk it (except for scat enthusiasts).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

I'd just like to say welcome to out new overlords ....

I didnt realise the Germans were selling us

del88 wrote: »
    I'd just like to say welcome to out new overlords ....

they cant see it... the great firewall of china denies access

BBDBB wrote: »
    I didnt realise the Germans were selling us

Fianna Fail sold us years ago... just the mahon tribunal doesn't say it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I wonder where we would rank in terms of their relations with the world. Lets just hope we're high ranked :D

I know China has a horrible human rights record and some parts of the country are borderline poverty stricken but I dont think much is going to change this any time soon.
    If we leave that aside, I would love to see expansion of our relations with them, get in their good books early while they boot america out of the way in terms of world domination :pac:

I forgot about Shannon being a good stop over point for flights going to the US, if many even go that way from Asia.
    According to wiki there are about 16000 Chinese in Ireland which struck me as seeming a bit low. I wonder if flights to China will ever be feasible here. One can only dream :rolleyes:

Fianna Fail sold us years ago... just the mahon tribunal doesn't say it

so we cant even put "one careful owner" in the log book

:( feck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Hide your dogs!!!!!!

kiss me Im Chirish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

BBDBB wrote: »
    kiss me Im Chirish

A ginger Asian person with a thick Irish accent speaking Mandarin :eek:

cocoshovel wrote: »
    A ginger Asian person with a thick Irish accent speaking Mandarin :eek:

sure tis gleat claic;)

smash wrote: »
    Hide your dogs!!!!!!

put them with the swans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I bow before their greatness, they are a beacon to the rest of the world. A great bunch of lad. Right I got my crawling out of the way.

For those that still believe the stupid almost racist myth that the Chinese can't innovate or be creative.

Well here it is. China have surpassed both the US and Japan as the worlds leading Patent filer. This was inevitable really they have all the spare capital.

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=chinese%20patents%20surpass&source=web&cd=1&sqi=2&ved=0CCgQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.reuters.com%2Farticle%2F2011%2F12%2F21%2Fus-china-patents-idUSTRE7BK0LQ20111221&ei=ATJzT_i0NoWWhQeG-dSlBQ&usg=AFQjCNHdyTS3Vcx4cjzvuEG9_l5wgx5lYg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

we should all be speaking chinese to take advantage of their newfound prominence like me. "ching chong ching hon ching ching, hau so":)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Us Irish very good at software :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

44leto wrote: »
    For those that still believe the stupid almost racist myth that the Chinese can't innovate or be creative.

Filing a patent is not evidence of innovation. From the very article you linked to:
    However, legal experts said China would need to do more before it can lead the world in innovation as the quality of patents needed to improve.

The government provided attractive incentives for companies in China to file patent applications, regardless of whether a patent was eventually granted, they said.

"The idea of subsidizing patents is not bad in itself, however it is a blunt instrument because you get high figures for filings, but it does not tell you anything about the quality of the patents filed," said Elliot Papageorgiou, a Partner and Executive at law firm Rouse Legal (China).

Lack of innovation and critical thinking ability is a problem acknowledged by many Chinese and, iirc, the government itself. The method of teaching in many Chinese schools is grossly skewed towards rote learning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

44leto wrote: »
    I bow before their greatness, they are a beacon to the rest of the world. A great bunch of lad. Right I got my crawling out of the way.

Well here it is. China have surpassed both the US and Japan as the worlds leading Patent filer. This was inevitable really they have all the spare capital.

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=chinese%20patents%20surpass&source=web&cd=1&sqi=2&ved=0CCgQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.reuters.com%2Farticle%2F2011%2F12%2F21%2Fus-china-patents-idUSTRE7BK0LQ20111221&ei=ATJzT_i0NoWWhQeG-dSlBQ&usg=AFQjCNHdyTS3Vcx4cjzvuEG9_l5wgx5lYg[/QUOTE]

Indeed. There is a book by Thomas Friedman - "The world is flat"

In it he quotes a Chinese University Dean who explaining to an American counterpart..... "You know the expression a 1 in a million student.... well in China we have 1100 of them"

Innovative in reverse engineering and cyber-espionage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

I be scheming. Maybe we can trade women with a view to developing a better relationship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

doncarlos wrote: »
    Nail on the head bud.

We're selling our soul a little by ignoring human rights issues and claims from Tibet and Taiwan for independence but desperate times and all that....

While the situation in Tibet isn't ideal, at the end of the day there's nothing much Ireland can do about it, and the government should acting in the best interests of the people of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭OldeCinemaSoz

So what?

WE buggered and raped kids in the ophanages.

THEY just throw them in the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Nail on the head bud.

The Dalai Lama isn't claiming independence btw.

Nor do the people of Taiwan want to change the status quo.

Ireland has a lot to offer China, though in reality China has a lot more to offer Ireland.

Can you imagine Kerrygold being able to sell just one euro of goods to each individual in China? Ireland has a good reputation (small neutral nation), post colony of the British (HK shares a post colonial past).

There's a lot more that China and Ireland are doing together and it's all very exciting.

Because, if we are to base our economy being a small open one that relies on FDI then the Chinese, Americans, Germans etc are all very welcome to do business here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Nail on the head bud.

We've long since whored ourselves out to regimes that cause atrocious suffering.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Morals don't make money.

China will soon be the largest economy in the world and we need to get in on a slice of that pie as soon as humanly possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Nail on the head bud.

Meh. We've been doing something similar for years and years and years. We're trading with Saudi Arabia. I seem to recall some sort of beef deal with Iraq back in the day. I'm guessing we were trading with South Africa during the apartheid regime given that there were protests about it some years ago. I'm sure we were trading with America before the civil rights marches. The list goes on and on.

I'm curious as to why our relationship with China gets under the nose of some people. Is it just because it's in the news so much?