Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toxic Tuesday Cancelled

• 25-03-2012 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭

As you know from the email, Toxic (Or, "Tuesday at the Hub") has been cancelled.
    Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭sob1467

Was always kind if going that way between getting renamed and then increasing the price to €5 after 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Deckof52

As a person who is employed by the event I was angry at first but when I heard the reason, I understood that it's valid.
    Student safety has to come first on university grounds and it's also one of the duties of a students' union.
    You have to ask yourselves if you think student safety is at risk and your in the students' union executives position, what would you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

Not that surprising what with recent problems they were having. Living on campus you see most people just having drinks in the apartments on Tuesdays so Id wondered how much money they were making from the bar.

Im plenty in favour of them having an event off campus and more live gigs/acts instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Deckof52 wrote: »
    You have to ask yourselves if you think student safety is at risk
    Not particularly no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 caldera85

toxic lost its charm when it started to be treated like a nightclub (queing, overly packed). i actually prefer just a quiet night with friends and few beers, but i suppose i'll be in the minority there. i expect there will be accusations that the social life on campus will be dead and all that (i won't i always found the societies and union activities provided enough entertainment to keep me having a ball) and this will be a campaign issue in the up coming elections for sure

What exactly happened to cause it to be cancelled? all i heard was something involving one of the SU convenors but that maybe a rumour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭MrPirate

I never enjoyed going to Toxic, personally. But, as I worked it, I'll miss the food money.

Let's just hope that the SU actually keeps their word on smaller events/gigs.

Not particularly no?

Well I can tell you it has been analyzed by the university and the union, and it's been found to be a risk to student safety.

Deckof52 wrote: »
    Well I can tell you it has been analyzed by the university and the union, and it's been found to be a risk to student safety.

Crossing the road is a risk to student safety. Is this analysis available to read?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭liamtech

Crossing the road is a risk to student safety. Is this analysis available to read?

Here Here - How is the risk lessoned by sending students OFF CAMPUS to avail of Late licences and alcohol? It seems to me to be more related to liability - I went to toxic tuesday several times last semester and i enjoyed myself as it was exactly the same as a nightclub - So a few people were acting the maggot afterwards? What do you expect! The same thing happens outside EVERY nightclub in Dublin. its inevitable. This is obviously to do with
    • Disturbances in the local area
    • Liability

Disturbances could have been reduced and it seemed to me that increased security had played a part - fair play on that one - last time i was there, security were present in the surrounding estates - a real plus

Unless the SU actually announce the real reason why it has been stopped, i will assume it was simply a question of Insurance and liability -

I would add that i have the greatest respect for ALL the staff of the NU Bar and the security present at the events. i especially commend the NU Bar management and staff who have genuinely offered great service, a great atmosphere, and an all round great night out - I REALLY hope it comes back soon - i was planning on celebrating the end of semester with a Toxic Tuesday, followed swiftly by a SEVERELY HUNGOVER WEDNESDAY!

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

"Disturbances in the local area" is overhyped, I have family who live in the supposedly effected areas and the stuff that happens is tame... very tame.

The biggest issues with students in the area is them blocking up residential roads with their cars to the extent that oil deliveries/ambulances etc can't get up or down them.

Probably not considering the majority of incidents involve students, whose confidentiality has to be protected.
    The road isn't university property. The Hub is university/union property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

If this was an act of the SU and not some other part of the university there'll be a petition for referendum going by tomorrow afternoon (I might even start it myself!)

Wonder how this will affect elections for next year... I'm sure anyone who promises to reinstate toxic tuesdays (if we can't get a referendum) has a fighting chance of getting elected!
    Noodleworm wrote: »
    Not that surprising what with recent problems they were having. Living on campus you see most people just having drinks in the apartments on Tuesdays so Id wondered how much money they were making from the bar.

Im plenty in favour of them having an event off campus and more live gigs/acts instead.

Obviously enough to keep the bar open anyway. They're not there to make a profit at the end of the day, once they don't come out losing money (which I really doubt - normally there's a good wait to get a drink in there after about 12)

I'd be in favour of more live gigs too if it were any other college. However DCU has a very poor track record for gigs in that the acts they book are (almost) always crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

I'm actually happy about this. I'm a final year living in campus accommodation and the noise on Tuesdays is so frustrating. If it calms down the evening here even slightly I'd be happy. It's pretty much impossible to sleep until about 12am and then when people return between 3 and 5 you get to wake up to them screaming outside. It's pretty bad on other nights but usually Tuesday is the worst (except last week. Thursday was absolutely mental for some reason).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭XPS

Attol wrote: »
    I'm actually happy about this. I'm a final year living in campus accommodation and the noise on Tuesdays is so frustrating. If it calms down the evening here even slightly I'd be happy. It's pretty much impossible to sleep until about 12am and then when people return between 3 and 5 you get to wake up to them screaming outside. It's pretty bad on other nights but usually Tuesday is the worst (except last week. Thursday was absolutely mental for some reason).

I have to say I've noticed the noise increase. I live in PostGrad Block B and we have normally been immune to noise but the last few months it's been bad. And worse when students are coming home. Last night it went on for hours. Whatever was going on.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Only went once this year, in week one. Too crowded for my taste and the toilets got disgusting towards the end of the night.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

The timing could not have been worse, I have two 50% assignments to hand in tomorrow and was planning on going to this to celebrate finishing them :( Oh well. It's a shame they've had to cancel it because a minority of students were being idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 zack_k

I think that last year it was grand, I know there were a few complaints and all that, but otherwise, all the nights were pretty decent.

This year it was, well I think it was, a lot more mental. I only went once or twice and thought that it was way too packed, and the fact that most people were showing up already half pissed and ready to get into a bit of mischief wasn't going to do it any favours.

I'd say now though, it's going to be a big enough thing for next years SU, and you're going to hear someone talking about it at hustings and such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭Raoul

XPS wrote: »
    I have to say I've noticed the noise increase. I live in PostGrad Block B and we have normally been immune to noise but the last few months it's been bad. And worse when students are coming home. Last night it went on for hours. Whatever was going on.

I had to buy earplugs so that I could sleep before 1.30 or whatever time the night ends. Really not acceptable when you pay 500 euro a month for rent (was seriously considering of moving).

Once again woken up by some utter morons singing "Ole Ole Ole" and banging on the ground floor windows. They would not stop screaming! Any SU candidate who vows to make this a priority will get my vote. There need to be extortionate fines/people kicked out for that kind of antisocial behaviour. I'm in college to get a degree. Just because you have no work to do in your course does not mean that you can prevent others from sleeping. I am constantly exhausted! AGHHH!!!

And the same people just woke me up again >:(

But, you are in Uni? What do you expect to happen? Plus, if I was trying to sleep, the last thing I would do is turn on my laptop.:rolleyes:

If I've signed a lease that says that this area is silent from 12am-7am then I would expect that to be the case. Yes, I am in uni. Why? To get a degree. I don't see why I shouldn't be able to complain about people breaking the terms of their lease and harassing other students. Had I had a window on the ground floor last night I would have felt pretty intimidated to have had a huge group of wasted people banging on my window screaming. Do you really think that that is acceptable behaviour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Just get some ear plugs and get on with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 zack_k

I wonder which candidates are going to address it. It's going to be an issue for either President or Welfare.

But it's going to be a tough thing to talk about, chances are they won't be able to get any event like that back in for at least another year.

And it isn't fair that the people who're living in res are being woken up. I lived there last year when I was in third year, and I thought that I didn't want to have to go through that in final year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭lithiumoxide

Attol wrote: »
    If I've signed a lease that says that this area is silent from 12am-7am then I would expect that to be the case.

If the lease is being broken, might you have grounds for further action?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

Id agree with Attol, in the last week there has been screaming that sounds like someone being murdered, people jumping the fences, running through the college park ponds shrieking.
    Ground floor sucks, there is no soundproofing, I hear every word said by people passing my building. Ive also had a guy stand in the bush outside my window to piss last week, a bush I already have had to listen to girls fall into, and vomit into.

Look, people who are going out know they're loud, they know everyone can hear them and just carry on because they think they're entitled to it cos their students.

If I lived upstairs I would have emptied a bottle of water on someone by now. Sleepy students are angry and have little regard for the people keeping them awake.

But, you are in Uni? What do you expect to happen? Plus, if I was trying to sleep, the last thing I would do is turn on my laptop.:rolleyes:

A university exists for the purposes of scientific research and education, not to facilitate some dopes getting blind drunk and waking everyone up at night - especially when students are paying money to stay on campus.

Yeah sure who would expect drunken students on a college campus el_tren_3_small.png

There's a difference between being drunk and being a scumbag.