Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a Performance Car and the Risk of Theft

• 25-03-2012 10:00pm

Hi All,

I'm thinking about changing my car in the next 12 months for something more performance orientated. I would love to buy something like an Audi RS4, BMW M5 etc. While cars like this seem great to me in the sense that they are fast but can still be used every day, one thing that concerns me is theft.

One of my friends works in the motor trade, another is a Garda; both are big petrol heads like myself. However, both have warned me that buying a car like this is more trouble than its worth purely because of the likelihood of theft. I've read some horror stories, one in particular here on boards (see link below) about a fella having his RS4 stolen, with someone entering his house to get the keys etc.

Stolen RS4: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055447484

What I would like to ask all of you is what are your thoughts on buying a performance car in 2012 Ireland.
    • Is it more trouble than its worth?
    • Do you have any stories of car theft yourselves and the lengths burglars are willing to go for the car?
    • How secure should your home and vehicle be to deter a theft?
    At the end of the day guys if I owned a car such as the ones I've mentioned I wouldn't be trying to get into a fight to stop someone stealing it, I'm not willing to risk my family's safety for something thats insured and can be replaced. What I'd like to know is, is it worth it to begin with. Thanks for any feedback you can give.

Holmes

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

My car isn't a performance car, but it gets a serious amount attention. 50% unwanted. Lots of junkies and boy racers (actual boy racers) are always checking it out. It's secure by several visible locks, immobiliser, alarm and a few other things I'm not divulging! Theres normally also a car parked behind it. All the keys are kept in my kitchen, where my very large wolf dog sleeps.

Saying that, if someone wants your car, they will take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Never had money for cars like these, but if i had i wouldn't let some f*****s change the way i live. Cars get stolen, some more often than others. I don't think that owning RS4 would put your family at risk. Before immobilizers era cars were taken without getting into your house. Now every thief need the keys, and that put the pressure on the owners. I would leave them (the keys) downstairs, and let the Insurance company deal with it, if the worst happens. You may lose your NCB, but how likely is it that your car is taken, or - how likely is it to be taken more than once. The car crime in Ireland isn't as bad as in other countries, for some cars you will pay higher insurance premium, and thats it. I can see from your post that you know the rest. Good luck with your purchase...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭deandean

Buy it
    Enjoy it
    Don't worry about something that'll probably never happen.

wonski wrote: »
    Never had money for cars like these, but if i had i wouldn't let some f*****s change the way i live. Cars get stolen, some more often than others. I don't think that owning RS4 would put your family at risk. Before immobilizers era cars were taken without getting into your house. Now every thief need the keys, and that put the pressure on the owners. I would leave them (the keys) downstairs, and let the Insurance company deal with it, if the worst happens. You may lose your NCB, but how likely is it that your car is taken, or - how likely is it to be taken more than once. The car crime in Ireland isn't as bad as in other countries, for some cars you will pay higher insurance premium, and thats it. I can see from your post that you know the rest. Good luck with your purchase...

I'd definitely leave the keys downstairs Wonski, like you said let the insurance company worry about it.

In the grand scheme of things I wouldn't be awake every night peering out the window for potential burglars but I'd love to know how often guys with nice cars have people try and steal em. Perhaps a good set of windows and doors, and a (wolf) dog is enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

A neighbour had a new M5 back in 2007. He got some serious attention from scummers everytime he let the house and said never again. He felt like he was being watched everytime he took it out on the road.

Happily he had no incident but couldn't wait to get rid of it. What a car but I think I would be the same and the fear of a hijack with a baby in the back would just be too much. Give me a 535d and no attention any day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

veetwin wrote: »
    A neighbour had a new M5 back in 2007. He got some serious attention from scummers everytime he let the house and said never again. He felt like he was being watched everytime he took it out on the road.

Happily he had no incident but couldn't wait to get rid of it. What a car but I think I would be the same and the fear of a hijack with a baby in the back would just be too much. Give me a 535d and no attention any day of the week.

That's paranoia. i always look at nice cars, i'm not planning to steal them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

I have an RS6, debadging it helps deflect unwanted attention.

To be honest it wasnt really a an issue I even thought about when buying the car, if your thinking about "what if's" like that, maybe performance car ownership is not for you.

I have an RS6, debadging it helps deflect unwanted attention.

To be honest it wasnt really a an issue I even thought about when buying the car, if your thinking about "what if's" like that, maybe performance car ownership is not for you.

As I said in my previous reply stealthyspeeder I don't want to come across like I would be on tender hooks going to bed every night if I owned a nice car such as your one.

However I do feel that my question is warranted the way theft and burglary is unfortunately on the rise in Ireland. I wouldn't have really considered theft being an issue with the car only that my Garda friend made a point of saying that nice car = trouble.

Can I ask how your car is stored, I assume it not left on the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

Can I ask how your car is stored, I assume it not left on the street?

Ah no worries!

No its in a locked double gated CCTV'ed carpark. I would not leave a performance car on the street. I think vandalism risk would still be higher than burglary risk on the street though.

Nice cars will be stolen, however so will crap ones. My honest advice would be, if your in any doubt about the security of the place its parked or the area you live in dont get it. Im as happy as I can be at the mo, but when I stay at some friends houses overnight I get nervous when I hear people outside at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Depends were you live,my da has a 2008 Focus ST,has never had unwanted attention,a mate has a 2008 M5,often leaves it in the pub carpark overnight without problems,another mate has a 2009 Focus RS,outside on the driveway every night,no problems,he had a 850R before that,also no worrys.I had a heavily modified 1988 Escort RST outside my house for a year,no problem.I wouldnt let the thought of car robbers put me off owning a nice car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

The best deterrent in my opinion is to go an invest in a high quality chain and pad lock and lock it around the steering wheel and the driver seat frame.

Ah no worries!

No its in a locked double gated CCTV'ed carpark. I would not leave a performance car on the street. I think vandalism risk would still be higher than burglary risk on the street though.

Nice cars will be stolen, however so will crap ones. My honest advice would be, if your in any doubt about the security of the place its parked or the area you live in dont get it. Im as happy as I can be at the mo, but when I stay at some friends houses overnight I get nervous when I hear people outside at night!

Thanks for the info stealthyspeeder, much appreciated.
    Depends were you live,my da has a 2008 Focus ST,has never had unwanted attention,a mate has a 2008 M5,often leaves it in the pub carpark overnight without problems,another mate has a 2009 Focus RS,outside on the driveway every night,no problems,he had a 850R before that,also no worrys.I had a heavily modified 1988 Escort RST outside my house for a year,no problem.I wouldnt let the thought of car robbers put me off owning a nice car.

Its good to hear all of the people you know easygoing39 havent had any issues but what precautions do people like you Dad take when parking the car. If there's a few common things which are a great deterrent it would be great to know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭GaryIrv93

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

Hi All,

I'm thinking about changing my car in the next 12 months for something more performance orientated. I would love to buy something like an Audi RS4, BMW M5 etc. While cars like this seem great to me in the sense that they are fast but can still be used every day, one thing that concerns me is theft.

One of my friends works in the motor trade, another is a Garda; both are big petrol heads like myself. However, both have warned me that buying a car like this is more trouble than its worth purely because of the likelihood of theft. I've read some horror stories, one in particular here on boards (see link below) about a fella having his RS4 stolen, with someone entering his house to get the keys etc.

Stolen RS4: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055447484

What I would like to ask all of you is what are your thoughts on buying a performance car in 2012 Ireland.
    • Is it more trouble than its worth?
    • Do you have any stories of car theft yourselves and the lengths burglars are willing to go for the car?
    • How secure should your home and vehicle be to deter a theft?
    At the end of the day guys if I owned a car such as the ones I've mentioned I wouldn't be trying to get into a fight to stop someone stealing it, I'm not willing to risk my family's safety for something thats insured and can be replaced. What I'd like to know is, is it worth it to begin with. Thanks for any feedback you can give.

Holmes

I own now that RS4 and I can tell you I never even feared for my car to be stolen (again). It sleeps in a safe garage and I keep my keys in a safe place

However, it will all depend where you leave of course, and how safe ur area is.

I do understand you , initially I was going to get a GTR R34 but being so attrative to thieves I decided to go for something more settled! at least until I have my own garage

Bohrio wrote: »
    I own now that RS4 and I can tell you I never even feared for my car to be stolen (again). It sleeps in a safe garage and I keep my keys in a safe place

However, it will all depend where you leave of course, and how safe ur area is.

I do understand you , initially I was going to get a GTR R34 but being so attrative to thieves I decided to go for something more settled! at least until I have my own garage

Thanks for reaching out Bohrio. It was your story that I first came across after I'd been chatting with friends about a new car. Sorry to be reminding you of it :(.

I suppose if the car is tucked away and your house is secure that should just stop anyone bothering to begin with. Defo going to wait until we move somewhere.......... quieter before I buy anything nice.

Thanks for reaching out Bohrio. It was your story that I first came across after I'd been chatting with friends about a new car. Sorry to be reminding you of it :(.

I suppose if the car is tucked away and your house is secure that should just stop anyone bothering to begin with. Defo going to wait until we move somewhere.......... quieter before I buy anything nice.

dont worry, I bought the car just a few months ago, the Audi where I bought it from failed to mention it... even though I did ask them if the car had a past and they said no...

When I found out (a few days later) I was a bit concerned but then I read the whole story and saw that the car was used in an attempt of robbery and was left the day after with no damage whatsoever. Only a few km more than before. I know the owner sold the car a few years later so I know that it wasnt the reason why it was sold.

I live in Sandyford/Stillorgan, the previous owner lived also in Stillorgan so I dont think the area is always a major factor, although I use to live in Cabra and every week a car would be stolen from out appartment complex...

It is just luck I suppose, if you leave in a house you could buy one of those pillars that you put in the entrance that raise up to prevent anyone from driving away but if someone wants your car it doesnt really matter if they want it, they will get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

I know plenty of people how've had high value vehicles pinched from their homes per the years.

I'd make the following observations though

If you live on a main road where the car can be seen on a daily basis as people drive past - forget it

Housing estate - take your chances

I always note the amount of flash metal in carparks in the Grange and the Beacon as a good sign they're not goin missing! The access control makes it impossible to get out of some developments also getting the keys is that little bit trickier!

heate wrote: »
    I know plenty of people how've had high value vehicles pinched from their homes per the years.

I'd make the following observations though

If you live on a main road where the car can be seen on a daily basis as people drive past - forget it

Housing estate - take your chances

I always note the amount of flash metal in carparks in the Grange and the Beacon as a good sign they're not goin missing! The access control makes it impossible to get out of some developments also getting the keys is that little bit trickier!

.. in the Beacon most parking spaces have the apartment number on a plate beside it.,.. nota very smart thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Go for it.

If you buy a crappy micra you'd have the same problem of lil arse heads just looking for a bit of craic and taking your car around a field.

Any car can be nicked for no reason !

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

If the fear of theft of any vehicle is a big consideration, then perhaps moving house might be a better one?