Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish oral!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

shellita wrote: »
    They say here's a pic, look at it for 30 seconds. Then they say ok you can start.

Go through each pic and say what you see and use 1 tense, whichever you want unless you say "she said to him come home now" thats ok

You have 2 mins for pictures. If you go over 2 mins for description = no questions and you lose those 10 marks.

lines per picture 5=A, 4=B, 3=C and 2=D

you are NOT allowed to ask open questions, they are being extremely strict on the examiners for the 15 minutes.

my mock, you ask 3 questions then they ask you 3 questions, they will tell you what way though

Nobody every mentioned anything about questions to me, my is first thing on Monday morning, I've a lot to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Wesc.

Had an oral day last Thursday and the teacher explained
    you have 2 mins for pictures. If you go over 2 mins
    for description = no questions and you lose those 10 marks.

That's hardly true is it? I'm sorry but I really struggle to believe that you'll lose 10 marks for talking a little longer.. I talked for a good I'd say 2:30 mins in my mock oral and got almost top marks in my picture sequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭shellita

Was this your own teacher?

As I said they have been warned not to go over 15 minutes and if you go over on the pics, to skip the questions. This was an examiner and she had her stop watch out. Just what we were told.

intro - 1 min, poem 2 min, pics, 2 mins, 1 min for your 3 q's, 1 min for her 3 q's, that leaves 8 mins. Depends if your examiner doesn't mind breaking into your comhrá.

Examples.
    cé mhéad duine sa phictiúr seo
    cén t-am é sa phictiúr tríú/cúig
    conas a braith siad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Love how they've made it so clear what you're expected to do for the sraiths anyways :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Wesc.

Was this your own teacher?

As I said they have been warned not to go over 15 minutes and if you go over on the pics, to skip the questions. This was an examiner and she had her stop watch out. Just what we were told.

intro - 1 min, poem 2 min, pics, 2 mins, 1 min for your 3 q's, 1 min for her 3 q's, that leaves 8 mins. Depends if your examiner doesn't mind breaking into your comhrá.

No I don't know who he was tbh. Also I don't think it'd take 2 minutes to read a poem/piece of a poem! Look sure it doesn't matter don't mind me so :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭David1994

5 lines???!!! No way that can be right...Also my teacher told me 3 mins is the time limit(In and about that) so I was not informed of this and pretty sure a lot of other people were not either. In my mock oral I got 68/80 in my pictures with saying about 3 sentences on each picture...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

Can your questions be in a different tense to what you told the story in? Like for example, if I told the story in the present tense, could I then ask a question like "How did he/she feel when..."?

leaveiton wrote: »
    Can your questions be in a different tense to what you told the story in? Like for example, if I told the story in the present tense, could I then ask a question like "How did he/she feel when..."?

from what I know yes, you can

Wesc. wrote: »
    No I don't know who he was tbh. Also I don't think it'd take 2 minutes to read a poem/piece of a poem! Look sure it doesn't matter don't mind me so :L

Ha I know what you mean :D
    its down to the individual.

In my oral when I was in school I spoke French in Irish and Irish in French lol

Got a C in hons French and a D in pass Irish, now 11 years later doing the Irish again :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

Does anyone have any general things that you can say in the pictures, like little filler things? The only ones I know are:

1. Dealraíonn sé go - It appears that
    2. Is léir go/Tá sé soiléir go - It is obvious that
    3. Is dócha go - I suppose that
    4. Dearfainn go - I'd say that

I was just wondering about the pictures in the oral. Basically, I've heard two stories; one is that we are given a choice of eight by the examiner and we pick one of those, and the other is that all of them are upside down on a table and we select one at random, without knowing what it is.

I was hoping someone could tell me what is the procedure for the pictures. Do we get some bit of choice or are we to choose completely at random, without any idea of what we might pick? Thanks in advance. :)

Make that three stories: I heard the examiner chooses the picture for us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

My teacher is one of the senior oral examiners in the country and he said that 5-6 sentences per picture is required for an A. You should aim for around 3.5-4 minutes for the pictures because if you take too long they will hurry you up and eventually just stop you if you take too long.

When you go in they give you 30 seconds to read over the poem and picture after you have chosen them. Remember to say the name of the poet before you read the poem aswell.

Try to use modh coinniollach if you are able to in the general conversation.Examiners love to hear it used properly and you're guaranteed to get loads of marks for it.

Hope I've been some help to someone.Feel free to ask if you have any questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Cruel Sun

I do pass Irish and I don't know any of the 20 pictures yet, haven't looked at them. Do you think they'll mark them that hard. How much do we have to say on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

5 lines for an A? I cant imagine they'd be counting...surely someone fluent would be able to flow their sentences together? I think I got the full 80 marks in my mock or near enough to it and I dont know if I gave 5 lines per picture or not. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭68508224

Hey when you say you're not allowed ask open questions does that mean you can't ask how many people are in this picture etc.? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

Not a chance ill be saying 5 lines per picture! But then again I am doing Gnáth level :P
    EDIT: Also am I right in saying that schools in the west of ireland are having their orals the week after this week?

And surely it's better to have 3-4 good sentences than 5 crap ones?

Martin_94 wrote: »
    I do pass Irish and I don't know any of the 20 pictures yet, haven't looked at them. Do you think they'll mark them that hard. How much do we have to say on them?

I'm in honours and I haven't looked at them yet either... :p
    I'd say they'll be marked hard enough. If you don't say at least 2 sentences for each of the 6 pictures you fail it like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

There are some pictures that I don't even think I could get 5 sentences out of!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

Just a few off the top of my head! :)

Ceapaim go bhfuil - I think that
    Sílim go bhfuil - I think that
    Taibhsítear domsa go bhfuil - it seems to me that
    Is féidir a rá go bhfuil - you could say that
    Níl aon dabht ach go bhfuil - there's no doubt that
    Ní haon ionadh go bhfuil - it's no wonder that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

All Irish oral discussion threads merged here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Does anyone have any general things that you can say in the pictures, like little filler things? The only ones I know are:

Tá an cuma/cosúlacht ann go
    Ón teolas os mo chomhair amach
    Tá an fianaise ann go
    Tuigtear domsa go
    Feictear dúinn

Off the top of my hear they're a few I use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

ALWAYS: Is méanar do (person), e.g. "Ta athas uirthi. Is méanar di!" It means (person) is lucky, I use it in every picture sequence <3

edit: can someone please tell me what the story is with the poems? We're allowed to bring our own versions in I know, but apparently they've to be printed?? I wrote them out, my printer doesnt work, am I allowed to do that? :/

De reir dealraimh is another way of saying apparently
    Is amhlaidh
    And there are sayings you could use for a lot of them, like ni raibh/nil se pioc sasta leis sin, i bfhad Eireann nios fearr, ta/bhi an t-adh dearg leis/lei/leo

Lads anybody have a a few topics that could be thrown at you/... Because I am grand with everything else but not sure if I should know some things on politics and stuff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

David1994 wrote: »
    Lads anybody have a a few topics that could be thrown at you/... Because I am grand with everything else but not sure if I should know some things on politics and stuff..

Maybe learn some stuff about what you would do if you were taoiseach or minister for justice.Stuff like introducing more Gardai to reduce crime,antisocial behaviour.

Da mbeinn i m'aire dlì agus cirt shlatharoinn nìos mo airgead do gardaì chun còir a laghdù( If I were minster for justice I'd provide more money to the guards to reduce crime). Stuff like that is very good.

And if you dont feel comfortable with politics just try to avoid it.If they ask you a question on it just try to morph it into something you you can speak about.

Chavways wrote: »
    Maybe learn some stuff about what you would do if you were taoiseach or minister for justice.Stuff like introducing more Gardai to reduce crime,antisocial behaviour.

Da mbeinn i m'aire dlì agus cirt shlatharoinn nìos mo airgead do gardai chun coir a laghdù. Stuff like that is very good.

And if you dont feel comfortable with politics just try to avoid it.If they ask you a question on it just try to morph it into something you you can speak about.

Thanks ye I probably will not bother dwelling on politics so will try to talk about something else. Thanks for the ideas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭grantyrs10

Tá sé follasach - its obvious or tá sé sofheicthe.
    Ina dhiaidh sin - after that
    Chomh cinnte Is atá gob ar phréachán - certainly (basically as sure as the crows mouth)
    Dár ndóigh - of course
    Gan amhras/gan dabht/gan aon agó
    Dar liom-according to me
    Measaim/ceapaim/sílim/Is doigh liom
    Déarfainn - I would say
    Déantar trácht ar (rud éigin ) is mentioned
    Creidim- i believe
    Táim lánchinnte - i'm certain
    Chun an fhírinne a rá
    Ní mór dom a rá- i have to say
    Caithfidh mé a aimsiú/a adhmháil - i must admit
    Tuigtear domsa.... Is léir dom.... tá sé thar a bheith soiléir

srl Just some i thought of if i think of more I'll add :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

Lads, for the poetry reading bit, is a book provided for you or do you bring your own in?

Also, if you bring your own in, will it be okay that I have most of the more difficult words spelled out phonetically along the side?