Things That Were Acceptable In Your Youth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Having your school books covered in the most awful wallpaper.

Oh god the flashbacks!

Leaving your car unlocked. I remember when my dad used to leave his car unlocked all the time when i was a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Hopping on and off on the rear left hand corner of a double decker bus. Health & Safety regulations would not accept this today. :p

I remember a nutjob I went to school with jumped off the back off a bus ,over the bonnet of the car behind it and ran off.The 'ol one driving the car had a ****e hemorrage and called the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭aisher

Using a rope around a lampost for a swing - a bitch if no one caught you at the end.

No phone at home so being allowed to walk home on your own from school if you were sick.

Collecting empty lemonade bottles and selling them back to the shops for pennies

Always having hand me downs from distant cousins - and no one cared!

Second hand school books that had all the answers wrote in already - happy days............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I still play pokemon on my game boy, its a fairly common thing :rolleyes:
    H
    A lot of women on this thread like Pokemon :eek:

/mental note: Dress up as Snorlax and ask for belly rub :P
    Pity snorlax can't use string shot. ¦S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭alphanine

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    ...that are not accpetable now.

Being let out to play at 8am and not being expected back until dinner time.
    Going down the shops to get a packet of fags for yore ma
    'Catch a ni&&er by the toe'
    being told to get married just coz you were polled
    NOT leaving your husband / wife coz he / she is a cnut

Any more...........

May have been said earlier in this tread but Golly Bars. It had a nice picture on the wrapping too. It was just pure vanilla ice cream. Coincidence?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golly_Bar

Hope this doesn't offend, really don't feel like 56 days in jail right now.

Edit: Just read 4th post... silly me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

Sitting down next to the stereo with a tape and recording all of the songs with your finger hovering over the pause button as they were played on the Chart countdown, praying the DJ would shut his fookin mouth and just play the song and then pray he didn't stop it before it actually came remotely close to the end. Love to see the kids nowadays having to do it with their mp3 players and such.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Getting a ride in the trailor, no seat belts, riding in the boot of the car.

Even riding in the tractor barrels.

Those were the days....

I also had my school books covered in wall paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Sitting down next to the stereo with a tape and recording all of the songs with your finger hovering over the pause button as they were played on the Chart countdown, praying the DJ would shut his fookin mouth and just play the song and then pray he didn't stop it before it actually came remotely close to the end. Love to see the kids nowadays having to do it with their mp3 players and such.....

Did that so many times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭scudster

Hanging off the grill guard of a tractor to act as ballast while bringing round bales at aged 11, while my brother (12) drove up the lane as hard as he could while the front wheels danced above the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Someone's been watching too much Tommy Tiernan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Rolli

Getting a ride in the trailor, no seat belts, riding in the boot of the car.

Even riding in the tractor barrels.

Those were the days....

I also had my school books covered in wall paper.

I had to read that part twice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Bunch of us kids being taken away for a week by a priest.

Good times :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

ken wrote: »
    Or maybe they grew up in the same country and arriving at the same idea is possible for two seperate people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

Yeah, and did ya know? he was the only fella to grow up in the 80's & 90's in Ireland! People like you make people like me think twice from posting here because if someone else did it, it has to be a unique contribution. Genuniely sorry to everyone else for my rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yeah, and did ya know? he was the only fella to grow up in the 80's & 90's in Ireland! People like you make people like me think twice from posting here because if someone else did it, it has to be a unique contribution. Genuniely sorry to everyone else for my rant.

Don't be, he possibly had a very dull childhood and was unable to contribute to the thread in any other way...sad really.

I still have numerous tapes 'taped' from TF's Hitlist in the 80's unfortunately i dont have a tape player any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Mostly mentioned above but...

Holding on to the back of a bus to get a free lift into town. Actually...pretty much any van/lorry that you could get a grip

We used to call that 'scutting'. I remember when a lad who lived on my road (with the beautiful nickname Snotser -RIP) fell off seriously injuring himself. When going to hospital the ambulance overturned. He also lost a ball after falling down on those School railings with spikes at the top. He was actually one of the most unfortunate people I've known.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Being 9-4 down in a football match and calling ''next goal wins'' before your dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

If you think he stole that off Tommy Tiernan you didn't get it when you heard it first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Underage sex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Being in charge of 'the door' on the bus into school.
    Having muck fights on the bales.
    Robbing spuds from the fields.

Exploring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,083 ✭✭✭✭Degag

SteoL wrote: »
    We used to call that 'scutting'. I remember when a lad who lived on my road (with the beautiful nickname Snotser -RIP) fell off seriously injuring himself. When going to hospital the ambulance overturned. He also lost a ball after falling down on those School railings with spikes at the top. He was actually one of the most unfortunate people I've known.

Someone's been watching too much of the Den...

Probably shouldn't joke really i guess. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

Aw great thread. I miss un pc-ness, especially in kids programmes. If you look at oldskool zig and zag every second phrase is "shut up ya eejit"
    Also, grass fights in school, going to your neighbours asking did they want the papers in their garden picked up for 20p, and blessing any food that fell on any dirty floor made it sanitary to eat. Lol, ah those were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Grew up in the 90's, so after the family "boom years" holidays to Spain all the kids would be out with their pellet guns that their Dads bought for them. Some pellet gun wars we used to have, looking back, some of those things were like the real thing, and hurt like a bitch. Great times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

being able to get A LOT in the local shop for a few euro/pounds, and if you had a fiver you were over the moon :)

an expensive kids/teen magazine was about 2e/2.50 :eek:

you could watch nickelodeon all day, or at least most of the day and the programmes were awesome! remember all day sabrina or kenan and kel?! :pac:

Mtv had music the majority of the time, and any programmes they had were actually watchable, aka Beavis and Butthead, Daria, Osbournes :D

going to the park to collect conkers and stringing them up to play, simple pleasures

the kids club at the cinema, 1.50, and free popcorn/sweets/drink box/es for the kid/s :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Ah, I remember those callcards - trying to cover the chip with varnish in a vain attempt to get free calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Hard to believe that them callcards are collectors items now....

Really wish i didnt take a scissors to mine when I was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

about 10 kids jumping on the back of the milk van when the milk man pulled up and getting paid a pound if you brought the receipts up to peoples doors and collected the money.

now that i think about it our milk man was really lazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

CJC999 wrote: »
    Don't be, he possibly had a very dull childhood and was unable to contribute to the thread in any other way...sad really.

I still have numerous tapes 'taped' from TF's Hitlist in the 80's unfortunately i dont have a tape player any more.

he is probably a teenage web troll.... probably has no real life friends either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

_sparkie_ wrote: »
    about 10 kids jumping on the back of the milk van when the milk man pulled up and getting paid a pound if you brought the receipts up to peoples doors and collected the money.

now that i think about it our milk man was really lazy.

he probably has a jobsbridge intern doing it for free now :P