Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The effect of Mind games

• 23-03-2012 11:25am

Looks like one nil to Mancini in the so called mind games in this seasons title run-in.

Keegan's outburst is legendary and Rafa's "rant" gets a mention although I think he was trying to provoke more than losing the head ala Keegan.

Any other episodes spring to mind in the world of football?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Looks like one nil to Mancini in the so called mind games in this seasons title run-in.

Because of Tevez, or has something been said this morning that you are keeping a secret?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

LMAO GTFO

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Dropping from 1st to 2nd is a win?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

You seem to have misspelled Ferguson there lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

Keegan's outburst is legendary and Rafa's "rant" gets a mention although I think he was trying to provoke more than losing the head ala Keegan.

Sure the media spread Fergie's mind games to full effect..... I remember a City player being asked about 'Squeaky Bum time' before the game and Mancini was asked about it also...the media love Fergus....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

They are pretty much over hyped, the stuff that gets classified as mind games in the paper is the kind of stuff you'd expect from a child in an attempt to get their own way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭carlcon

I just heard what Fergie said in response to Vieira/Mancini and came here immediately because I was sure it would have been picked up.

What the hell did OP listen to? Fergie just tore the proverbials out of them.

To paraphrase for anyone who didn't hear;

Vieira said United brining Scholes back screamed "desperation" and showed "weakness".

Fergie's response; "If it's desperation bringing back the best midfielder in Britain for the last 20 years then I think we can accept that". He goes on to accuse Vieira of being "programmed" to say that by Mancini, and said that if Mancini wants to play mind-games, United have "plenty of ammunition".

The kicker was Fergie saying: "If you want to talk about desperation, they played a player the other night who refused to go on the pitch. The manager said he'd never play again and he takes a five-month holiday in Argentina. What is that? Could that come under the description of desperation?"

Fergie calmly swatted away City's attempts at mind-games, and turned the tables brilliantly. How OP thinks it's 1-0 to Mancini is beyond me. After a few sentences from Fergie, that's about 3-0 him in one blow.

Probably the best source

Des wrote: »
    Because of Tevez, or has something been said this morning that you are keeping a secret?

What i was referring to was Fergies response to Viera who said Scholes coming back was desperation by utd.

He got under Fergies skin, which I'm sure was the point of the excercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I cant believe people actually think what you posted in the OP mate.

Vieira's ****e may have had some merit if United hadnt been on a great run in the league since Scholes came back. The timing of him saying that was baffling seeing as we have just taken first place as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

there is no such thing as mind games, for the love of Christ.

talking shít, and someone else getting offended, is not "mind games".

such hyperbolic, Sky-peddled bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

SlickRic wrote: »

talking shít, and someone else getting offended, is not "mind games".

such hyperbolic, Sky-peddled bollocks.

The premiership is one huge hyperbole, filled with crunchy nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The concept of Mind Games is a particular Premiership confection that has gained credibility. Ferguson has a spontaneous bitch about a team not trying and Keegan loses it: now since that time, every single utterance from Ferguson is haled as some kind of subliminal feint.

Usual sky sh*te peddled by people that probably don't even watch the games, let alone understand them.

SlickRic wrote: »

Of course there is, its just this is not an example of one.
    stovelid wrote: »
    subliminal feint.

beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Trilla wrote: »
    Of course there is, its just this is not an example of one.

What would you consider an example?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Now that I think of it, assigning a motive to every utterance from certain managers and pumping it through the press and fans probably does unsettle some managers, and by extension teams.

But that's a world away from somebody like Ferguson sitting down and planning to wind other managers up. Most of these jibes (and the reactions) often occur in the heat of post-match interviews and are obviously not premeditated.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    What would you consider an example?

I dont consider the "Pressure is on them" comments as mind games. Little wind ups that modern professionals should and do deal with, with easy. I consider examples such delaying team selections, being vague about players availability to play and the likes as mind fúcks.

Genuinely can't think of any recent ones though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,812 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I remember the 'original' Fergie mind games comment, and I don't think he was aimed at unhinging Keegan.

We've all seen teams up their game when they play United - City are seeing it a bit now too. The underdog relegation candidate putting in a great performance vs the title challenger - we see it every season; and the reality is as Fergie said: If they put the same effort and heart into the other games in a season they wouldn't be in a relegation fight.

Player are, imo, constantly guilty of ripping fans and managers off, and not getting much blame for it.

Mind games are a load of tosh. managers are getting nailed by the pressure of the title push, not a comment someone has made. If anything most comments can help the opposition manager. Scholes will be looking to show it was not a move of desperation, as will Tevez. Most comments can be used as an opposition team talk, rather than some grand plot to take a manager out of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Fergie v Mancini is not even a contest, the Italian is way out of his depth. much better men have taken on fergie in this sorta rubbish and failed miserably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Friel

The so called "mind games" in football make me laugh. What Fergie done was simply make Mancini/Veira (more so Viera I'd think) look like a hypocrite, which is hilarious. But not mind games. It'll in no way affect anyone performance wise. Only cause Viera a little embarrassment for 5 minutes.

Most of the things that are said during "mind games" are pathetic, and if you actually think about them outside football, childish. Mind games wins you nothing other than the back pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,481 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Friel wrote: »
    The so called "mind games" in football make me laugh. What Fergie done was simply make Mancini/Veira (more so Viera I'd think) look like a hypocrite, which is hilarious. But not mind games. It'll in no way affect anyone performance wise. Only cause Viera a little embarrassment for 5 minutes.

Most of the things that are said during "mind games" are pathetic, and if you actually think about them outside football, childish. Mind games wins you nothing other than the back pages.

Does Fergie not do that to himself with nearly every two sentences he says

"Mind games" are the football equivilant of trolling.

Viera imo was trolling and Fergie responded. It'll be tit for that the rest of the season I'd imagine.

But yeah, they are Sky/tabloid exaggerated events. It's porn for SSN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Rafa was the only man that really got under fergusons skin, ferguson hated him, it was great to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

niallo27 wrote: »
    Rafa was the only man that really got under fergusons skin, ferguson hated him, it was great to watch.

Wenger.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

What i was referring to was Fergies response to Viera who said Scholes coming back was desperation by utd.

So let me get this straight: Vieira says Scholes coming back is a sign of desperation. He says it 3 months after Scholes comes back ignoring the fact that Scholes has pretty much bossed every game since he has come back. Fergie responds with an actual proper barb about City playing a guy who actually refused to come off the bench for them in a big Champions League game and enquires as to whether that is desperation.
    And you think Mancini wins this battle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Fergie v Mancini is not even a contest, the Italian is way out of his depth. much better men have taken on fergie in this sorta rubbish and failed miserably.

You should do a bit of reading up on the type of man Mancini is

Does Fergie

Sir Alex Ferguson to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

The first one and legendary as well, was good old Trap's outburst, when he was in charge of Bayern Munich in 1998 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Friel

Does Fergie not do that to himself with nearly every two sentences he says

At times, no doubt. All managers do, to protect your team you have to be a hypocrite to a certain degree. But that in no way takes away from the fact that he made Viera look like a hypocrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

The concept of mind games is a load of b*****!

All it is is managers leaving off steam/having a go. The manager that then wins (match/league) is considered a master of the mind games while the loser 'lost the plot'.

Ferguson is considered master of mind games - he isn't. He's just generally had the best team in the last 20 years, so wins more often than not. Hence he's deemed to be the mind game king. Had Man U finished runners up 11 times he'd be viewed as a complete moanbag.

Simple really - if your team is better than the rest you can spout s*ite, if it isn't then you should probably stay quiet or be thought a fool. (by the Sky brigade at least)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭CongoPowers

lol at people who take "mind games" in football seriously.

there are enough gullible people for Sky to milk it week after week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

At least the consistancy remains!! Utd fans claiming Ferguson was brilliant today with his mind games. Yet, if it was the other way round and Mancini was responding to a comment made by Ferguson about Tevez, the line the Utd fans would tow would be "Mancini's cracking up, Fergie will be smiling into his glass of wine tonight" Just the usual, predictable horsesh!te from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

monkey9 wrote: »
    At least the consistancy remains!! Utd fans claiming Ferguson was brilliant today with his mind games. Yet, if it was the other way round and Mancini was responding to a comment made by Ferguson about Tevez, the line the Utd fans would tow would be "Mancini's cracking up, Fergie will be smiling into his glass of wine tonight" Just the usual, predictable horsesh!te from them.

Coming from a Liverpool fan, that is just brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,095 ✭✭✭doc_17

So if wasn't desperation then just why did he bring scholes back? Rather than buy someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

doc_17 wrote: »
    So if wasn't desperation then just why did he bring scholes back? Rather than buy someone.

Didn't cost a penny. Everyone in the squad knows him and he knows them. We know what he can do. We needed a top class cm, where would we find one mid-season? A time when SAF usually doesn't like to spend, especially big. And its been a brilliant move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

doc_17 wrote: »

Scholes asked Ferguson to come back, not the other way around. Plus, even with his aging legs he's still one of the best midfielders in the league.

Utd don't spend big in January, and they will have to spend big in order to get the midfielder they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭mixed up

Mind games my bo**ox it's too managers talking crap.I have played many times and mind games do go on by players.I can think of many times i have stood on players toes and talking to them only to watch him lose he head and not focus on the game :D That's mind games ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

What a desperate pathetic attempt at a pop at Ferguson for God knows what reason. Absolutely pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Football fans defending the manager of the team they support? Shocking. But whinge away. It's amusing.

baz2009 wrote: »
    Football fans defending the manager of the team they support? Shocking. But whinge away. It's amusing.

Ah there is defending your manager and there is turning anything he does into the work of a genius. It was a fair point that was made.

What a desperate pathetic attempt at a pop at Ferguson for God knows what reason. Absolutely pathetic.

Why not have a pop at him, everyone else seems to be fair game on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I can think of a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Don't make me laugh, Fergie the master, brushed it aside as easy as a flicked snot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Neither come out looking good, but I think Fergie is clutching at straws a little with his response. Tevez was, and still is, a registered Man City player. He had a falling out that since appears to have been patched up. Thats not desperate at all, thats a smart move on Mancini's part. He knows how important Tevez can be to any club. It would have been a dumb move if he hadnt tried to get him back for the run in.

Bringing Scholes back wasnt desperate either, but it was the worse of the two. Scholes was done, gone, finished and then brought back once Fergie realised how poor his midfield was without him. City just had a dispute with a player, something I'm sure Fergie knows all about.

Neither are ideal, but neither are desperate either.

As for mind games, they dont exist. It's more banter than anything. Some people respond positivly, others respond like Keegan and lose the plot. I doubt any manager sits down and thinks of ways to try and one up other managers in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

niallo27 wrote: »

id say david ellery, martin atkinson, alan shearer, jaap stam, david beckham and a few more like that would be well ahead of the spanish waiter, especially considering that liverpool failed to beat united in the league for 4 years while rafa was in charge.

rafa took fergie on and failed flat on his face when it came down to it. and, i actually think there was a very good relationship between them and a good respect, but sure, you can have your story anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Woah woah woah, hang on now, did you not see it? he clearly didnt get under his skin, Fergie was having a laugh about it.

I can only assume you didnt see it tbh

Love how Rafa apparently got underneath his skin. Babbling moron he sounded like with his 'facht' rant.

rafa-facts.jpg

Oh he won that battle alrite.

Manchester_United_Premier_League_Champions.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Adolf Hipster

That's absolutely hilarious, surely someone like you wouldn't be guilty of those ridiculous statements, eh?
    Oh but you're wrong, don't you see!!! Sure it's Taggart who's losing the plot and cracking up under the pressure of chasing Liverpool who are top of the league. Sure last week he came out with mad statements about the authorities fixing the league fixtures so that Utd won't win a thing. Then he got all by paranoid by stating that he'd be sending Utd officials to the fixture list meeting to make sure that Utd aren't f*cked over again.
    Rafa basically told him to shut the f*ck up!!

You can be sure Fergie is cracking up over Rafa for a reason
    monkey9 wrote:
    Another fact is you win nothing for semi final appearances.
    You win nothing for being top on April 17th.

He's starting to crack cos Liverpool are chasing him and it would kill him if we won the league. Kill him.

He'd end up a wreck in his living room, a blanket on his lap knocking back the wine that all Utd fans were saying he was laughing into back in January, muttering Rafa's name over and over and over.

He's feeling the pressure, Boggles. He's trying to team up with Allardyce and Moyes cos he can't handle Rafa on his own.
    monkey9 wrote:
    Deep down, Boggles! You know Taggart is feeling the pressure. You feel it in that little heart of yours! You know himself and Sam colluding together is really ridiculous behaviour. You know it. You know Fergie is cracking up. You do.
    monkey9 wrote:
    You have to laugh at the thought of Ferguson ringing up Allardyce to hatch their little plan!

I'd say Rafa will be laughing into his wine tonight and thinking 'job done' when he sees Mad Fergie cracking up in the press conference.
    Yeah, that was embarrassing to watch alright. Fergie's cracking up with his crazy rants
    monkey9 wrote:
    He's cracking up
    He's cracking
    Fergie's cracking up

What a joke :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Vieira obviously has a lot to learn, media wise. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Aye, he really did leave City open to a very easy and obvious come back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Sure it's Taggart who's losing the plot and cracking up under the pressure of chasing Liverpool who are top of the league.
    He'd end up a wreck in his living room, a blanket on his lap knocking back the wine that all Utd fans were saying he was laughing into back in January, muttering Rafa's name over and over and over.
    You feel it in that little heart of yours! You know himself and Sam colluding together is really ridiculous behaviour. You know it. You know Fergie is cracking up. You do.
    I'd say Rafa will be laughing into his wine tonight and thinking 'job done' when he sees Mad Fergie cracking up in the press conference.

Classic case of a patient suffering from ''Delusionus inextremis'' or what is more commonly known as RAWK-itis.