Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hefier holding up tail

• 20-03-2012 2:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭

lads have a first time calver that seems to be holding her tail up a good bit lately and arching her back, she is calved a good few months and would have thought she was bulled by now, the bull seems to be rising on her a good bit lately and when she is peeing now she makes this farting noise that you hear sometimes with cows, i thought maybe she might have an infection or something and gave her an injection but she still seems to be at it, could it an internal injury or something? she seems in good shape otherwise eating well and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

She seems to be getting plenty of pipe.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Muckit wrote: »
    She seems to be getting plenty of pipe.... :D

+1 :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

would take her away from the bull for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

had vet to her this evening, she is badly torn, dont ask me to explain it now but vet reckoned no point trying to stitch her and to send her to the factory. fcuk it, she is only a young cow and very quiet, she is going to ask the other vets in the practice but i dont think it will come to anything..cant believe it, she calved there on 29th of nov, had a bit of a pull alright but didnt tear her, she is only at this crack the last week or so, vet reckoned bull might be the cause, ****ing sickened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 cowbox

My vet when he comes out to out to nearly everything he says there is no point in doing anything the best thing would be to put it down or go to the factory. I practically have to tell him what to do or else he will do noting.He is so lazy think i might change vets. And everything lived to far so good. So im sure there is something you can do get a second opinion I'd say. Is she forcing?? Id say leave her on her own in a seperate paddock and give her plenty of TLC! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

cowbox wrote: »
    My vet when he comes out to out to nearly everything he says there is no point in doing anything the best thing would be to put it down or go to the factory. I practically have to tell him what to do or else he will do noting.He is so lazy think i might change vets. And everything lived to far so good. So im sure there is something you can do get a second opinion I'd say. Is she forcing?? Id say leave her on her own in a seperate paddock and give her plenty of TLC! :)

Thats funny my vet has the same approach to some sticky problems he comes accross "She will Kill out well , send her to the factory" ... Thats brill , i coulda saved meself a call-out charge and came to that conclusion myself???? :cool:
    If she was mine and i didnt think she was in calf , Id take her away from the bull and wash her out with metricure .Its an antibiotic so should clear up any minor infections she may have . Then let her back with the bull ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 cowbox

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Thats funny my vet has the same approach to some sticky problems he comes accross "She will Kill out well , send her to the factory" ... Thats brill , i coulda saved meself a call-out charge and came to that conclusion myself???? :cool:
    If she was mine and i didnt think she was in calf , Id take her away from the bull and wash her out with metricure .Its an antibiotic so should clear up any minor infections she may have . Then let her back with the bull ...

We must have the same vet! I think we should of became vet we know our stuff.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Richk2012 wrote: »

I think this is good advice here.

Sorry Vander for being so flippant earlier. I wasn't laughing at your misfortune. Didn't realise it was that serious :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

cowbox wrote: »
    We must have the same vet! I think we should of became vet we know our stuff.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭dasheriff

I would agree there its always worth getting a second opinion in those cases i have been told to put down an animal on a few occasions and another vet saved them..good luck anyway vander..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Agree with the above,think some antibiotics and some cleansing in the area could help clear her up. Think the vet is being a bit lazy. Keep her away from bull as said,wouldn't be rushing into killing her off. Best of luck.

ya thanks for advice lads,
    ya i will be looking for a 2nd opinion on her, not easy though when 1 practice has a monopoly on north clare but anyway even if one of the other lads saw her they might have a different opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

It is difficult when this happens to a young animal. We have had to sent off two young cows over the last few years with a similar problem. Best thing is just to let her go as I do not think there is a lot that can be done at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

ya thanks for advice lads,
    ya i will be looking for a 2nd opinion on her, not easy though when 1 practice has a monopoly on north clare but anyway even if one of the other lads saw her they might have a different opinion.

Money grabbing hoor's is all they are. If a new practice started up here I dont think anyone in my parish would stay with them. Had a calf that wouldnt suck the other day and rang them. Met the young lad on the side of the road and he told me there was nothing wrong with him and gave him nothing...took the 25 euro mind you. Calf still wont suck a tit or a bottle so tubing her since. Must make another trip down with her and see what one of the older lads think. They can feck off if they think they are getting another 25 euro too. Definately get a second opinion I would say. I remember a few years ago the neighbour had a 4 year old cow that didnt open when calving, My auld lad handled her and said it was an out the side job. Vet came anyway and handled her and agreed the calf couldnt be pulled but wanted to put down the cow because the calf was dead with a few weeks and said there was no way the cow would survive, the auld lad reckoned it was alive when he handled her first. Anyway the auld lad wouldnt let the neighbour put down the cow and got the calf out and low and behold he lived for a minute and died then. He still has the cow. I lost all faith in them after that day!!

well i reckon they must provide the worst service of any practice in the country, as you say they are absolute robbers. a few weeks back i had a young cow in for calving, she was sick for so long i had a bad feeling, anyway eventually i handled her and sure enough calf was a whopper, he was turned wrong anyway so i called neighbour for a bit of help, we decided we better call vet. no one available i was told, we will ring you back! i says to the neighbour whatever happens we will have to try and get him out ourselves which we eventually did with both of barely able to move jack..cow was down for a day after but both survived..im still waiting for the call back! I hope i live to see the day another practice opens around here. i recently asked them to blood test a few heifers, asked could they do it around 5 in the evening when im home..NO they wouldnt, asked would they do them sat..maybe ring in on saturday and we will see.. they can treat people as they want since there is no alternative, they are too mean then to hire a few vets to do the work..i could go on and on about them :mad:

Thats a joke to be going on like that. The thing that annoys me the most about them is that they really dont seem to care whether the animal lives or dies once they get paid. No interest in their work whatsoever. Everything they have treated for us since liz left has without exception died!! I actually started going to a vet in kinvara with sick calf's last year I am that sick of them.

ya she was a great vet, I sometimes call into that buck in kinvara on the way home, funny old setup, sometimes no one there, manner not the greatest but in fairness the advice ive gotten there was always good i thought..with the local lads its the luck of the draw, some of them are very poor indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Redz,
    Did you pinch that calf in under the tongue? It's supposed to get them sucking. I can't testify to it though. Maybe worth a try.

i find sometimes that if a new calf has no appeitite and is generally lethargic its sometimes down to them having a bit of fluid in the lungs, you might see them shaking their head as if they are trying to snap themselves out of it, seems to absolutely knock the life outta them, suppose if the vet saw the calf it should rule that out

ya she was a great vet, I sometimes call into that buck in kinvara on the way home, funny old setup, sometimes no one there, manner not the greatest but in fairness the advice ive gotten there was always good i thought..with the local lads its the luck of the draw, some of them are very poor indeed
    Temperment can be shocking but a great vet around calfs. Hes a one man show so he does be out on call a lot of the time. More often than not he tells you to meet him somewhere.
    pakalasa wrote: »
    Redz,
    Did you pinch that calf in under the tongue? It's supposed to get them sucking. I can't testify to it though. Maybe worth a try.
    i find sometimes that if a new calf has no appeitite and is generally lethargic its sometimes down to them having a bit of fluid in the lungs, you might see them shaking their head as if they are trying to snap themselves out of it, seems to absolutely knock the life outta them, suppose if the vet saw the calf it should rule that out

The calf is running around the shed, very lively but just hasnt got the reflex to suck if ye get me. Have spent hours trying everything imaginable to get her to but stays putting the tounge out the side of her mouth. Have got shots off the vets before for calfs doing the same thing and it worked but sure there's nothing wrong with this calf I have been told :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭roran

well i reckon they must provide the worst service of any practice in the country, as you say they are absolute robbers.(snip)...i could go on and on about them
    Money grabbing hoor's is all they are. If a new practice started up here I dont think anyone in my parish would stay with them. (snip.. I lost all faith in them after that day!!

Wow, lads, steady on, not everyone is perfect and who are we to judge that your opinion is correct either? Your situation seems unfortunate, but lets not start attacking any other profession. I happen to know really terrific guys who slog harder than most of us and they don't need to read such vitriol. Just my view...

roran wrote: »
    Wow, lads, steady on, not everyone is perfect and who are we to judge that your opinion is correct either? Your situation seems unfortunate, but lets not start attacking any other profession. I happen to know really terrific guys who slog harder than most of us and they don't need to read such vitriol. Just my view...

My opinion is just that, my opinion. Im not saying its correct but im speaking from my own experience's. They have pretty much a quarter of Clare to themselves, too much for 3 vets in my opinion and speaking from having a lot of experience dealing with them have provided a poor service. Their is no alternative to them around here unlike the way things are in most other parts of the country. Im not attacking the profession, like I say I know some brilliant vets just not in that practice.