Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Found three months after death in town house. Stranger see's x-mas lights.

• 20-03-2012 9:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭

http://www.thejournal.ie/body-discovered-in-wexford-after-man-passed-away-at-christmas-390086-Mar2012/

'
    GARDAÍ ARE investigating the circumstances surrounding the death of a 62-year-old man in Wexford town.
    The body was discovered on Sunday after a member of the public raised concerns with the gardaí after noticing Christmas lights in the property.
    It is believed the man passed away at some point over the Christmas period, but that his body lay undiscovered until this weekend.
    The man’s identity will not be released until gardaí have notified his relatives.
    A post-mortem is due to be carried out on the remains today to determine if the man’s death should be treated as suspicious, and a forensic examination will be carried out at the scene.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Yes, I read that also.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

It's a really SAD story, RIP to the poor man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Some people chose to live relatively seperate lives and there is nothing wrong with that, but it seems off that someone living that sort of life would bother going to all the hassle of a Christmas tree with lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I thought we were country that looked out for our neighbours and friends?

sad news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Very sad indeed. R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

sad news

Who told ya that?

Very tragic story, though. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

sad news

People probably stopped doing that about 50 years ago.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

ejmaztec wrote: »
    People probably stopped doing that about 50 years ago.:(

No, no, neighbours still look out, but nowadays they look to see if you're not at home so they can break in.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭fox_1973

shocking stuff really, thank god the lights were noticed now, rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Stories like that are always sad, but not so uncommon, unfortunately. I remember a few years ago that the body of a man was found in a city apartment just a few blocks from where I lived at the time. Thanks to direct debit and such, his electricity, phone and property maintenance bills had been paid on time and the few distant relatives he had never tried to contact him when he didn't contact them. The police decided, on the basis of the post items inside his door, that he had been dead for about seven years, almost certainly of natural causes and his body had mummified because the air circulation in the apartment was not especially good.

It is, of course, sad when someone has a heart attack or something else like that and dies alone, but I suppose it makes no difference to the deceased whether his or her body is found minutes or years later. The deceased's suffering is over, but it's the friends and relatives who have to deal with the grief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Some people chose to live relatively seperate lives and there is nothing wrong with that, but it seems off that someone living that sort of life would bother going to all the hassle of a Christmas tree with lights.

So because he lived alone and kept to himself he can't enjoy Christmas?? Maybe it reminds of a time when his life was a bit better than it was. Maybe he was happy and enjoyed being alone.

What's off is the fact you think someone can't keep to themselves and like Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

These stories always make me sad.

Reminiscent of the case of Joyce Carol Vincent a 38 year women whose body was found in her central London flat some 3 years after her death.

Ms Vincent was a stunning looking women, popular and successful but nonetheless fell victim to such a desperately lonely ended.

I think such cases highlight some the differences between having family and(or only) having friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭alphasully

Very sad news R.I.P.
    You'd have thought that someone would have noticed before now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

It is amazing how many people go through life alone.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

how come the neighbours didnt notice the smell? the heating was left on...surely after 2 weeks the smell would be unbearable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Some people do not choose to be alone, its the way life worked out for them that they have no friends or relatives left especially for an elderly person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Buncha Fives

It very sad to think that someone was living in such isolation particulary at that time of the year... I cant understand how no one noticed him missing, if he had a job surely if he didnt turn in for work or collect his social welfare for a couple of months someone would have wondered where he went.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

Its a quality of our current society. Obvously we have not totally lost our since of community but it has failed in many areas. I couldnt tell you the names of any of my neighbours.

He could have died happy on the couch, glass of brandy in his hand listening to his favourite song or watching his favourite tv programme for all I Know.

Is it a thing that we should feel bad about this?
    Is community over rated have we a real need for a neighbour?
    Money and choice,are they more important?

I think not, this saddens me. It reminds me a lot of the Padraig Nally interview last week with Charlie Bird.

It seems unlikely to me he made the effort to decorate his house with Christmas decorations if he didnt at least hope for a visitor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I think some people may be confusing the point here.

Whatever about wanting to live alone; nobody ever wants to die alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

What a really sad story. To think someone could not be missed in months. I find that totally heartbreaking.

My mum worked for years in a nursing home, and I remember her bringing an old lady to our home at Christmas for a few years because she did not have a person in the world that would visit her or call her on Christmas day.

I was only about 8 at the time and remember not being able to understand how someone could have no-one. Obviously now as an adult I can understand, but it doesn't make it any more upsetting.

RIP. :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

It's always these stories of bodies being discovered months or years after death that make me very sad. How terrible it must be not to have anyone even notice you died and are no longer around :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Very sad. And so so tragic.

An indication perhaps of how self centered we have become. RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Very sad indeed, and it makes me wonder what kind of loneliness a lot of elderly go through.
    I remember we had a discussion about this in After Hours some time last year too.
    I'm surprised that the christmas tree lights managed to stay on for so long without bursting into flames to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Stories like that are always sad, but not so uncommon, unfortunately. I remember a few years ago that the body of a man was found in a city apartment just a few blocks from where I lived at the time. Thanks to direct debit and such, his electricity, phone and property maintenance bills had been paid on time and the few distant relatives he had never tried to contact him when he didn't contact them. The police decided, on the basis of the post items inside his door, that he had been dead for about seven years, almost certainly of natural causes and his body had mummified because the air circulation in the apartment was not especially good.

It is, of course, sad when someone has a heart attack or something else like that and dies alone, but I suppose it makes no difference to the deceased whether his or her body is found minutes or years later. The deceased's suffering is over, but it's the friends and relatives who have to deal with the grief.

Seven years...he must have had a fair few bob in the bank to keep those direct debits going :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Very sad news:(. Strange how nobody noticed till now that the Xmas tree lights were still on, or a horrible smell. I got the impression that this happened on a street in town? Sadly, it's a sign of the times when someone can go unmissed for so long. People are too busy with their own lives or maybe don't want to be seen as being nosey. RIP, what horrible news for his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Bambi wrote: »
    Seven years...he must have had a fair few bob in the bank to keep those direct debits going :confused:

he had a starring role in the mummy.... that kept the direct debits going. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

sad news
    It depends where you live. I live in a very tightknit community that can be suffocating at times. But when my father was sick a few years ago, the neighbours went above and beyond to help out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Lucky he had Xmas lights or it would have been even longer. Always very sad to hear of these stories. Many people want to live alone but very few want to have no one to communicate with. RIP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Ah the solitary life, the life I have always wanted.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

What a really sad story. To think someone could not be missed in months. I find that totally heartbreaking.

My mum worked for years in a nursing home, and I remember her bringing an old lady to our home at Christmas for a few years because she did not have a person in the world that would visit her or call her on Christmas day.

I was only about 8 at the time and remember not being able to understand how someone could have no-one. Obviously now as an adult I can understand, but it doesn't make it any more upsetting.

RIP. :(

It's people like your mam that make the whole world just that little bit better. Fair play to her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

number10a wrote: »
    It's people like your mam that make the whole world just that little bit better. Fair play to her!

Thanks, yeah.... Alma was her name. I will never forget her face when she turned up - she was just happy to be a part of someone's Christmas. She came to us for two christmases in a row but then sadly passed away. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

If it wasn't for the Christmas Tree lights property tax inspectors would have discovered the body in due course.

RIP to the person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

Would there not have been a bad smell? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭AboutTwoFiddy

Poor man. R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Similar thing happened near me. Couple of old women living together and you wouldnt seem them out much. Postman noticed the letterbox was clogged with post so called the guards.
    Looked like 1 died in bed and the other fell, maybe while going to get help (really no idea) :(