Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny People who fecked up in the boom analogies

• 16-03-2012 12:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭

Im tired of people whinging about negative equity and blaming the government and the bankers and the builders on their bad investment.
    People bought a house at the wrong time, bragged about how they were really intelligent for not paying dead money rent and bored everyone to death with property ladder talk and dead money speak .
    Now they are in trouble .
    If a business man bought a million bottles of Coke and then couldnt sell them could he blame the government ?
    If I bet on man city winning the premier league a few months ago should I be able to be re couped by the government if their bad form holds up?
    If I got all my savings and put them in shares in Dunnes Stores only to find out aldi and lidle were rolling into town should the government pay for that?
    Im all for feeling sorry for someone who made a bad investment but for jaysus sake man up and pay your debts and get on with it.
    Did you honestly never have an inkling that your 500 000 apartment in north dublin might drop in value. ?
    If the price suddenly rose again would you be willing to give the profit you made to the government or property developer that sold too cheap. ?
    Peope say I bought this house to live in now Im in negative equity . Why do you care so , you agreed to pay x amount for it , you will live there untill you die who cares what it resells for?
    Lets all be honest here everyone that bought a house during the boom thought it was a good investment and realised it wasnt then blames the government for their stupidity.
    Its like if in Jack and the beanstalk he had of just bought beans . Should he blame the government.
    Id love this thread to turn into a funny after hours one with examples of silliness but I bet itll end up with talk of OH IM SO HARD DONE BY I AGREED TO BUY A HOUSE NOW I CANT AFFORD IT I SHOULD BE ALLOWED JUST GIVE THE HOUSE BACK TO THE BANKERS BECAUSE THEY WERE GETTING BONUSES ****E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I remember people saying, "the smart money is in paragraphs".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Seriously, this thread has been done dozens of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Yes but this one welcomes the slagging of these people, and ignores the sob stories .
    I want just posts of itd be like ......................... the dots represent a funny analogy .
    Itd be like paying to hump a sheep only to find out humping sheep isnt cool anymore and wanting the government to pay for you to hump a dog instead kinda thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Ah jeez not this shíte again.

Have you got a better thread cj?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

OP'er.......the kids of that generation were rode solid. i know it may be getting boring to listen to the sob stories, but, and its a BIG BUT, it doesnt make it any less true. those people are hurting, sold a massive lie, and they will never get over it. cut them some slack.

emo72 wrote: »
    OP'er.......the kids of that generation were rode solid. i know it may be getting boring to listen to the sob stories, but, and its a BIG BUT, it doesnt make it any less true. those people are hurting, sold a massive lie, and they will never get over it. cut them some slack.
    I am a kid of that generation , I was sold an apprenticeship thats pretty worthless now, I did however resist the temptation to impulse buy a 40 year mortgage on the basis that i didnt need a deposit. Now back on topic funny analogy .

cloptrop wrote: »
    I am a kid of that generation , I was sold an apprenticeship thats pretty worthless now, I did however resist the temptation to impulse buy a 40 year mortgage on the basis that i didnt need a deposit. Now back on topic funny analogy .

sorry dude, i got nothing funny for you. anyone else got something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

I heard about a lad saying people were spending beyond their means! Too late for me, I bought a 42 inch HD Telly and then all of a sudden 3D came....WTF like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

You've got sense. I sense(no pun) that you are young, the excess of the last 10 or so years has educated you on what went on and I congratulate you to see the light! :)

I heard about a lad saying people were spending beyond their means! Too late for me, I bought a 42 inch HD Telly and then all of a sudden 3D came....WTF like?

i know that hurt. bought a 50 inch panny plasma. next thing ya know their all banging on about 3D, and im going, theres no ****ing way im wearing those glasses watching emmerdale. **** them in happy in 2D land.

I think the government should pay for your telly and let you get back on the telly ladder at a lower price.

I played snakes and ladders the other day with my oldest son, he rolled a 5 then i rolled a 3 . I think its only fair I m allowed move 2 free spaces courtesy of sean quinn .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

I remember people saying, "the smart money is in paragraphs".

He has paragraphs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

funny analogies, when I'm talking to my mate about sex/relationships/possibilities I refer to everything in terms of football because that's the only language he understands, so if I tell him I'm feeling like a left footed winger playing down the right hand side he knows what I'm talking about. We never really talked about the economy though.

I bought loads of paragraphs on the basis that they would be worth double in ten years and then I found out that we built too many paragraphs and now they are worthless. I now have to start again with stanzas and verses , I have a warehouse full of paragraphs and have to use them all up so I try start a new one every line.
    I should try get into the short story game they love a good paragraph there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Babybuff wrote: »
    if I tell him I'm feeling like a left footed winger playing down the right hand side he knows what I'm talking about. .

Are you talking about Ryan Giggs shagging his sister in law?

I thought it was a strictly come dancing analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Totally agree cloptrop. We're not the only generation to be in a recession and we will get through it.

him: "what about her?"
    me: "na she's too much of a centre forward."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Apparently Tommy Tiernan lost a sh1t load of money after the boom. Some people think he's funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

him: "what about her?"
    me: "na she's too much of a centre forward."

Women love men who are like centre forwards - good at scoring, great in the box & excellent finishers.

Wattle wrote: »
    Apparently Tommy Tiernan lost a sh1t load of money after the boom. Some people think he's funny.

People stop me all the time saying I look like tommy tiernan , is this a curly hair thing?

Women love men who are like centre forwards - good at scoring, great in the box & excellent finishers.
    know I'm going to regret asking it but what do men like?

Back and forward repetive motion until climax.

centre back it is

No midfield would be better who wants to do someone in the back?

"playing in the hole" k I'll let him know for future reference ;)

Hmmmmm sure the advice is for a friend,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, cough pervertcough.
    Sorry I have a cold.

yeah. all my beer is gone now I must go ..over here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Im tired of people whinging about negative equity and blaming the government and the bankers and the builders on their bad investment.
    People bought a house at the wrong time, bragged about how they were really intelligent for not paying dead money rent and bored everyone to death with property ladder talk and dead money speak .
    it..

The funniest is when people say things like "Bertie/ Cowen/ the bankers should be put on trial/ should be in prison"

For what, exactly? Gross negligence is, AFAIK, only a crime when it contributes to death or serious injury. It doesnt cover Bertie and the banks failing to educate muppets that investment properties in Bulgaria and a new car every year when you are working in a call centre are pie in the sky investments.

Despite his shady 90s dealings there is not one suggestion that Bertie did anything illegal whilst in office.

Nor Cowen.

The banks lent unwisely, but last time I checked stupidity wasnt a crime. If it was the people who took out the loans should be the first in the dock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Its lidl, not lidle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

It's Leedil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Not surprised tbh. That feckin Sky 3D channel was showing the Royal Wedding and the Ryder Cup in 3D......wassthefeckinpoint??!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

If a business man bought a million bottles of Coke and then couldnt sell them could he blame the government ?
    If I bet on man city winning the premier league a few months ago should I be able to be re couped by the government if their bad form holds up?
    If I got all my savings and put them in shares in Dunnes Stores only to find out aldi and lidle were rolling into town should the government pay for that?
    Im all for feeling sorry for someone who made a bad investment but for jaysus sake man up and pay your debts and get on with it.
    Did you honestly never have an inkling that your 500 000 apartment in north dublin might drop in value. ?
    If the price suddenly rose again would you be willing to give the profit you made to the government or property developer that sold too cheap. ?
    Peope say I bought this house to live in now Im in negative equity . Why do you care so , you agreed to pay x amount for it , you will live there untill you die who cares what it resells for?
    Lets all be honest here everyone that bought a house during the boom thought it was a good investment and realised it wasnt then blames the government for their stupidity.
    Its like if in Jack and the beanstalk he had of just bought beans . Should he blame the government.
    Id love this thread to turn into a funny after hours one with examples of silliness but I bet itll end up with talk of OH IM SO HARD DONE BY I AGREED TO BUY A HOUSE NOW I CANT AFFORD IT I SHOULD BE ALLOWED JUST GIVE THE HOUSE BACK TO THE BANKERS BECAUSE THEY WERE GETTING BONUSES ****E.

to be rephrased as 'I didnt buy a house or apartment during the boom and i'm enjoying sitting in my ivory tower looking down at everyone who did'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

The funniest is when people say things like "Bertie/ Cowen/ the bankers should be put on trial/ should be in prison"

For what, exactly? Gross negligence is, AFAIK, only a crime when it contributes to death or serious injury. It doesnt cover Bertie and the banks failing to educate muppets that investment properties in Bulgaria and a new car every year when you are working in a call centre are pie in the sky investments.

Despite his shady 90s dealings there is not one suggestion that Bertie did anything illegal whilst in office.

Nor Cowen.

The banks lent unwisely, but last time I checked stupidity wasnt a crime. If it was the people who took out the loans should be the first in the dock.

i'm not sure where you've been for the last 10 years but the mahon tribunal might beg to differ.

Oh and there's the small matter of bertie failing to provide a tax clearance certificate since around 2005..which is meant to be provided by all public representatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I like watching people's lives shatter before them on Deal or No Deal.

I just get a buzz off the economic obsession thread heads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Care to share that leaked Mahon Tribunal report with the class?
    Or... perhaps you are only presuming that El Berto did nothing illegal?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Nobody goes down faster than a Portuguese winger.

Its lidl, not lidle.

No I think you will find I spelt it lidle . Its my post.
    bamboozle wrote: »
    to be rephrased as 'I didnt buy a house or apartment during the boom and i'm enjoying sitting in my ivory tower looking down at everyone who did'

No I am enjoying property prices crashing because now I can buy a nice house. I waited until they were reasonably priced. If everyone was given debt forgiveness they would all run out to buy another one like a gang of gambling addicts looking to win back the 20 euro they stole on their son. This would lead to the prices skyrocketing again .
    It would also lead to more bailouts for the banks who were good enough to lend these people money but are now being called all sorts of names for this.
    The banks are being called all sorts of names for not lending at the minute. They just cant win.

For all the people who defend the bankers, developers and the previous government(s), have you ever actually read into anything beyond the header of an article on Journal.ie? Jesus Christ some of the things that have gone down in this country in the last 25 years alone is stomach churning. Anyone who does feel like partaking in further reading, Matt Cooper's 'Who Really Runs Ireland?' is a good (horrifying) place to start. It gives a good (horrifying) picture of the elitist scene in our country, the kind of deals that were done along with all the back scratching. If at least 25% of the events he writes about bears 25% of truth, it really is shocking. If you are the kind of person who would be likely to climb a clock tower with a sniper rifle, it might not be the book for you.

Me personally, I don't 'own' a house, I will rent for life. No matter what treachery went on behind the scenes, there are no known accounts of a banker putting a gun to a persons head and forcing them to take out a mortgage. But still, I won't start a thread telling the unfortunate people in negative equity to quit their moaning and just get over it when I don't know the first thing aboout it,i.e. you cloptrop, and then try to make a humorous thread out of it.

However cloptrop, I may have laughed at your 'warehouse full of paragraphs' post, but I will never thank you, I made up my mind that you were a troll planted by Boards very early in your Boards career. Also please, for the love of God and all potential readers of your posts, will you learn how to use apostrophes, commas, quotation marks, full stops etc? Or if you do know how to use them and just don't bother, then please bother! See, now you've made a grammar nazi out of me! And just one more thing, your 'analogies' are not even in the same country of the ball park of the base subject. Troll on my wayward son!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I don't blame the government or the bankers for me buying a house during the boom...sure it was overpriced a bit but it was my decision. Hindsight is a great thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

darokane wrote: »
    It's Leedil
    No, it's lyeedil, roll the 'L'.

However cloptrop, I may have laughed at your 'warehouse full of paragraphs' post, but I will never thank you, I made up my mind that you were a troll planted by Boards very early in your Boards career. Also please, for the love of God and all potential readers of your posts, will you learn how to use apostrophes, commas, quotation marks, full stops etc? Or if you do know how to use them and just don't bother, then please bother! See, now you've made a grammar nazi out of me! And just one more thing, your 'analogies' are not even in the same country of the ball park of the base subject. Troll on my wayward son!
    This was priceless , I love how you think boards plant trolls . I have more infractions than an inmaths teacher.
    I don't blame the government or the bankers for me buying a house during the boom...sure it was overpriced a bit but it was my decision. Hindsight is a great thing.

You could have atleast added a funny analogy , itll cheer you up a bit . The housing market was great for some but you know the old too good to be true saying .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Lets ban any thread in AH which has Boom , Recession, Social welfare, Dole . in the title or subsequent statement.

Lets not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

Every man to be a box to box midfielder, solid in the tackle and clinical finisher.

This was priceless , I love how you think boards plant trolls . I have more infractions than an inmaths teacher.

That part of my comment was said with tongue-in-cheek, fúck there are enough trolls on Boards without them planting some. You're a funny character cloptrop, 99% of your posts that I've read, to me are... is there another word for 'trolling'?? But I don't dislike you*, which is normally my reaction to potential trolls, I just think you are a full mad c*nt! And it's not that I'm giving you a pass because you are a fellow fan of a certain English Premiership team, most of the stuff you write in that forum is tripe too. I don't actually know why I haven't stopped reading your posts, you're the Boards equivalent of a car crash in that I know I'm going to regret what I'm looking at, but I just can't help it. I for one hope that you are around here for a long time to come, seriously!

*'you' being a name on a screen to me, as we all are to each other.

Back on topic, I was half hoping you'd come back at me with the dyslexia card when I mentioned your grammar, then I could join the fun and suggest you blame the government, for every I.Q. point you lack they could issue you with a new bond which could be cashed in at a bookshop. It just wasn't meant to be though.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

CJC999 wrote: »
    Ah jeez not this shíte again.

I don't understand people like you, you giving out about the thread topic, is actually bumping it and keeping the thread alive :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

boohoo