Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(us) Crack head burns down 3500 year old tree

• 15-03-2012 3:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭

Model 'burned down 3,500-year-old tree because she needed light to see what drugs she was taking'

A young model allegedly set a fire that caused one of the world's oldest cypress trees to burn and collapse because she needed light in the darkness to see what drugs she was doing.
    Sara Barnes, 26, of Winter Park, Florida, was identified by two witnesses as the person who caused the 118ft bald cypress tree named ‘The Senator’ to burn and collapse on January 16, police said.
    The woman allegedly took photos of the fire on the 3,500-year-old tree with her phone but did not call 911 - and authorities found methamphetamine, scales and drug paraphernalia at her home.
    One of the first photos seen on her public Facebook profile is of clumps of marijuana. Agricultural officials searched her home on Tuesday and also confiscated her mobile phone and laptop.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2108028/Sara-Barnes-burned-3-500-year-old-tree-called-The-Senator-needed-drugs-doing.html#ixzz1pCKem8CI

Absolutely fking galling. I long life only to be ended by the addled mind of some fecking eejit :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

And how the fk was she ever a model the bleeding judge dredd on her..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

What a ****ing idiot

Btw OP dont reference the daily mail again(:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

RichieC wrote: »
    And how the fk was ever a model the bleeding judge dredd on her..

Can you translate in to English please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Model!?! I wouldn't ride her if she came with pedals.

godtabh wrote: »
    Can you translate in to English please?

The head on her... :pac:

Governments and corporations collude to harvest ecologically essential rainforests until none remain - tears shed over one tree.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Oh whhop de doo, more daily mail crap, or is that more daily crap mail.

One day someone on boards will start a thread without quoting the daily crap or linking to some of their tripe and me be so happy.

mathepac wrote: »
    Oh whhop de doo, more daily mail crap, or is that more daily crap mail.

One day someone on boards will start a thread without quoting the daily crap or linking to some of their tripe and me be so happy.

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/abc-blogs/florida-woman-admits-burning-down-3-500-old-221427987--abc-news.html

here you go, your majesty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Model??????????????

If thats whats a model these days theres hope for me yet.

Off to milan.

On the cat walk on the cat walk yeahhhhhhhhhhh

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I see in the Daily Mail a boy is due a haircut as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Could she not have used her phone to see what drugs she was taking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

blaze1 wrote: »
    Model??????????????

If thats whats a model these days theres hope for me yet.

Off to milan.

On the cat walk on the cat walk yeahhhhhhhhhhh

She looks like a model for one of those "Here's what 5 years of crystal meth will do to you" galleries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Hah 26 years old and still called a young model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Foghladh

"Native American Indians who lived throughout central Florida would use the tree as a landmark"

That's them screwed so. I have visions of lots of Indian lads running around in circles not knowing where the f*** they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

It's only a bleedin tree!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

And how the fk was ever a model the bleeding judge dredd on her..

First she was the before photo.

Then the after.

Now both.

It's tragic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Quiet Human!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Foghladh wrote: »
    "Native American Indians who lived throughout central Florida would use the tree as a landmark"

That's them screwed so. I have visions of lots of Indian lads running around in circles not knowing where the f*** they are.
    ah yes, the Fugawi tribe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Model 'burned down 3,500-year-old tree because she needed light to see what drugs she was taking'

A young model allegedly set a fire that caused one of the world's oldest cypress trees to burn and collapse because she needed light in the darkness to see what drugs she was doing.
    Sara Barnes, 26, of Winter Park, Florida, was identified by two witnesses as the person who caused the 118ft bald cypress tree named ‘The Senator’ to burn and collapse on January 16, police said.
    The woman allegedly took photos of the fire on the 3,500-year-old tree with her phone but did not call 911 - and authorities found methamphetamine, scales and drug paraphernalia at her home.
    One of the first photos seen on her public Facebook profile is of clumps of marijuana. Agricultural officials searched her home on Tuesday and also confiscated her mobile phone and laptop.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2108028/Sara-Barnes-burned-3-500-year-old-tree-called-The-Senator-needed-drugs-doing.html#ixzz1pCKem8CI

Absolutely fking galling. I long life only to be ended by the addled mind of some fecking eejit :(

Usually america (most states) takes protection of flora and fauna very seriously. Hopefully she gets a lengthy sentence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

An tree in america burned down. Big swing of the mickey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I imagine a bleedin' tree is quite a unique specimen.

Might be a religious portent.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    An tree in america burned down. Big swing of the mickey

3500 year old tree. I don't think you need to be a pagan to feel ****ty about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Why didn't she just do around the other side of the tree?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Dumb bitch yes, but funny that people will throw such a hissy fit over this yet don't give a **** about the thousands more being demolished every few minutes..
    Their will be more old trees, unless junkies burn em or corporations destroy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I valued that tree's life more than hers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

In all fairness.....it's a tree! So it's old....but it's still a f*cking tree! Since when do we actually care about how old something is when we prosecute people? We don't apply that law to humans, so why should we care about a tree!

And I'll further my role as devil's advocate, she was hot before she meth'd the **** out of herself.

3500 year old tree. I don't think you need to be a pagan to feel ****ty about that.

22 kids killed in a bus crash is bad. I find it very hard to be bothered about a tree burning down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

cocoshovel wrote: »
    I valued that tree's life more than hers

Yeah that says more about you than her really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hopeully, when all this is behind her, she'll turn over a new leaf, or buy herself a fuckin torch if she doesn't.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    22 kids killed in a bus crash is bad. I find it very hard to be bothered about a tree burning down.

Some of us humans have the brain capacity to care about more than one thing at a time, you know.

You could question the brain capacity of someone that's "absolutely fking galled" at a tree being killed 8000 km away

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Could well be bullshít with it being the daily mail and whatnot, still though even if it's not it's only a tree after all, better than being somebodies house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

she makes me look sexy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Florida, land of flowers, land of light, Florida, where our dreams can all take flight, Whether youth's vibrant morning or the twilight of years, There are treasures for all who venture here - in Florida.

There's a good reason this place has its own category on Fark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭pache

Hopefully when they checked her house they carried out a full "root and branch" search:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I don't see how this is galling. Why should I be concerned about an old tree in the US being burned down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

in fairness she aint bad come on now i would

She is that bad, she has a face like an arse chewing a wasp!

m@cc@ wrote: »
    I don't see how this is galling. Why should I be concerned about an old tree in the US being burned down?

Hey dude, I'm honestly sorry if my OP was misinterpreted as a demand for everyone else to be galled.

Sorry for the mix up.

Embarrassed.

Richie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Hey dude, I'm honestly sorry if my OP was misinterpreted as a demand for everyone else to be galled.

Sorry for the mix up.

Embarrassed.

Richie.

Some biting sarcasm there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

she must have been out of her tree when she did that.

seriously tho, it seems like it was only a section of tree that got burned down, not the whole thing for goodness sake.

Why should we even be getting this news?