Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knocked off bike in Dublin. Worth reporting driver to Gardai?

• 14-03-2012 11:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭

Hi all

My boyfriend was cycling to work today and got knocked down by a driver. At Leeson Street Bridge where there's 2 lanes of traffic (the inside lane for turning left to go over the bridge and the outside lane for driving straight on), a driver who was in the outside lane, turned to go over the bridge and completely cut off my boyfriend who was in the cycle lane.

He was knocked off his bike and rolled a few times and the driver kept driving. The driver got stuck at traffic lights somewhere at the junction of Leeson Street/Fitzwilliam Street/Adelaide Road and it wasn't until people started shouting at him that he got out. My boyfriend, who thankfully wasn't too badly hurt, went down to him. The first thing the driver said was "did you not see me?"! :rolleyes: No apology.

Just wondering is it worth reporting this man for dangerous driving? My boyfriend didn't get a vehicle reg (just year and county). I had a look and there is a traffic camera at Leeson Street Bridge (although it's blacked out so not sure if it's in use).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Always worth reporting any accident anyway as a formality. It puts one in a better position later should anything crop up.

Glad to hear he's OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Definitely report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

Definitely report,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Technically a hit and run - serious offence! I'd report him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Nevore wrote: »
    Definitely report.
    abcdggs wrote: »
    Definitely report,

weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Good god yes, report it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

You shouldn't have to ask- your boyfriend was knocked from his bike by a careless driver. Report it first chance you get tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

Your boyfriend should have taken his details. You should ALWAYS take the other persons details. What happens if your boyfriend wakes up tomorrow with back pain that turns into a chronic issue? Who's going to pay the bills? Why didn't he make a note of the full reg?

In my opinion you can report it but without any details you're just wasting everyone's time and letting a dangerous driver get away with it. CCTV cameras are all well and good but people should take a bit more initiative themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

i think given that this is a cycling forum you'll find most people would endorse reporting it for a variety of reasons.

I'd say report it - it's probably only dumb luck that your boyfriend wasn't more seriously injured, the next cyclist who "doesn't see" this driver may not be so fortunate - plus it's possible your boyfriend may have injuries that really only come to light over the next few days (unlikely but possible).

The Guards tend to be very good a dealing with these sort of incidents - they take them seriously and they generally respond appropriately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 jenko1982

Glad to hear he is ok. Mainly for the reason the driver was such a dick. i was knocked off a few months ago, went to garda station next day to report it. the garda on duty wasnt very helpfull. if you dont call the garda to the scene they cant really do anything apart from just putiton file. Take it easy for the next few days some injuries can be delayed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Snako

Had a very similar experience to this myself about three weeks ago, very disappointing he didn't get the reg,

I reported mine to the Gards, had to go to the station as they never arrived on the scene, but as said above without the full reg, stinging the driver is a massive task, If you want them to pull the CCTV you have to go in and make a statement, but you will be greeted with more than usual agitation and heavy sighing when they realise you have no reg,

I felt absolutely fine until about an hour after when my whole right side developed various ailments, which are still very much with me three weeks later,

My advise would be:
    1: Check you bike for any damage
    2: Get Yourself looked over by a GP (Even if your not in bits this will document the incident)
    3: After these first two steps asses if you want to go further, and make a statement
    4: should you decide not to pursue, as said above ALWAYS collect details at the scene in future, and ALWAYS wear a helmet!!

Snako wrote: »
    If you want them to pull the CCTV you have to go in and make a statement, but you will be greeted with agitation and heavy sighing when they realise you have no reg,
    Exactly, I didn't like to say but it can be a problem. A lot of guards won't hesitate to give you a bit of a scolding if you report it without any vital details and, not trying to be mean, with good reason.

Even if he can give the guards a description of the car and they manage to pull over for example a blue Nissan blah with a 06 D reg they can't prosecute the guy since god knows how many Nissan blahs were produced in Dublin in 06.

It is worth asking about the CCTV though if you don't mind the lecture though. It's how they caught that bus driver that knocked yer man off the bike a few weeks back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭JH_raheny

report it, it is defo a hit and run - chances are the driver was on his way to work and go that route every morning, so get the boyfriend to spend a bit of time in that spot around same time a couple of mornings to try and spot the ****er and get the reg.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

...and ALWAYS wear a helmet!!

:eek::o:rolleyes:confused::P:(

JH_raheny wrote: »
    report it, it is defo a hit and run - chances are the driver was on his way to work and go that route every morning, so get the boyfriend to spend a bit of time in that spot around same time a couple of mornings to try and spot the ****er and get the reg.
    And he's going to prove its the same guy how???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭JH_raheny

MyKeyG wrote: »

well at least the guy would end up with a visit from the guards, sure if he just denies it there is probably not much they can do but chances are he'll be a little more cautius in the future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

monument wrote: »
    :eek::o:rolleyes:confused::P:(

what he said......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭suzie987

Had a very similar experience to this myself about three weeks ago, very disappointing he didn't get the reg,

I reported mine to the Gards, had to go to the station as they never arrived on the scene, but as said above without the full reg, stinging the driver is a massive task, If you want them to pull the CCTV you have to go in and make a statement, but you will be greeted with more than usual agitation and heavy sighing when they realise you have no reg,

I felt absolutely fine until about an hour after when my whole right side developed various ailments, which are still very much with me three weeks later,

My advise would be:
    1: Check you bike for any damage
    2: Get Yourself looked over by a GP (Even if your not in bits this will document the incident)
    3: After these first two steps asses if you want to go further, and make a statement
    4: should you decide not to pursue, as said above ALWAYS collect details at the scene in future, and ALWAYS wear a helmet!!

Very good advice here - anyone who has ever been in a cycling or car accident will know you feel perfect afterwards - all you feel is anger, adrenaline, embarrasment (in my case :o) - but no pain or stiffness.

I didn't even realise I had a broken my elbow and my cheekbone until 3-4 hours later as I was in shock! And because I didn't go to GP at the time of the accident, I had to go to A&E at 9 o clock that night when I realised something was wrong and had the joy of sitting waiting for x-rays until 6 o clock the next morning! Lovely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Snako

suzie987 wrote: »
    I didn't even realise I had a broken my elbow and my cheekbone until 3-4 hours later as I was in shock! And because I didn't go to GP at the time of the accident, I had to go to A&E at 9 o clock that night when I realised something was wrong and had the joy of sitting waiting for x-rays until 6 o clock the next morning! Lovely!

That's sounds miserable, my condolences, hope your feeling better now, I didn't even break a bone, but still spent a week feeling sorry for myself,

Going to the GP is a beauty of a move, you skip the first wait in the hospital, and get referred straight on to x-ray, and better yet there is NO charge for a GP referred x-ray (besides the initial GP consultation cost)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

By looking at him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

snakes on a plane

glad hes ok , but seriously

a guy nearly kills you and you dont take his reg when its literally on a plate ?

he hit and ran , he commited a crime .

did you get any contact details from witnesses ?

its not legal to do this obviously but he deserved a kick in the sack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

DaDumTish wrote: »

its not legal to do this obviously but he deserved a kick in the sack.

Perhaps a judicial review is required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Just wondering is it worth reporting this man for dangerous driving?

It's worth remembering that the victim is not the person that determines what the driver is charged with, and it's also not the victim's call whether the driver is even charged at all. Those choices lie entirely with the gardai and if a case is taken against the driver then the victim is simply a witness.

It may seem pedantic to point that out but I get the impression that some people are disinclined to report an incident as they feel like it'll somehow be them versus the other party, and they might have concerns about that for a variety of reasons (such as not wanting to feel responsible for the other party ending up in court, for example). In reality it's a judgement call on the part of the gardai as to whether the incident warrants a court case and the onus is on the gardai to prove that the other party was at fault (based on statements from the victim, the other party, any witnesses, video footage from "their" traffic cameras, etc.), so as the victim you are essentially simply asking the gardai to decide what actions are appropriate. In my view it is always worth pursuing, even though it may eventually come to nothing. Also, if you do report it but have little or no contact from the relevant garda, then chase them for an update as sometimes they need to be reminded.

Immediately after the incident itself, it is worth recording not just the registration of the other party's car but also the registrations of other cars that contain likely witnesses - take photos if can't write them down. That's all easier said that done of course, given that you could be quite badly shaken after an incident even if you are not badly hurt. Witnesses can swing things one way or the other in terms of who the gardai perceive as responsible, so it is extremely important to give the gardai as much information as possible to allow witnesses to be identified and contacted (should the gardai decide to do so).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

doozerie wrote: »
    Also, if you do report it but have little or no contact from the relevant garda, then chase them for an update as sometimes they need to be reminded.

Yes, I got a call related a road rage incident several months after giving my statement, and the Garda more or less gave me an hour to decide whether to go to court or seek to put the offender on the caution register. The case was about to lapse. Not a lot of time to make an important decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tayto2000

DaDumTish wrote: »
    snakes on a plane
    a guy nearly kills you and you dont take his reg when its literally on a plate ?

he hit and ran , he commited a crime .

did you get any contact details from witnesses ?

Funnily enough a combination of adrenaline and injury often mean people aren't really thinking straight just after being involved in an accident... Best idea is take a few pics if possible. Proves who was driving as well if it comes to it.

I've had close calls on that bridge a few times, mainly with traffic coming from Donnybrook direction. People tend to go for the shortest queue on the Lower Leeson Street side then go weaving across lanes to go left or right after crossing the bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Thanks for all the advice guys.

I passed on all your opinions but he won't go to the Guards. Like some of you have mentioned, he reckons not a lot can be done without the car reg. Unfortuately as he was still in shock, he never thought to get it or take the drivers details.

Some great advise to keep in mind though should it happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,178 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Thanks for all the advice guys.

I passed on all your opinions but he won't go to the Guards. Like some of you have mentioned, he reckons not a lot can be done without the car reg. Unfortuately as he was still in shock, he never thought to get it or take the drivers details.

Some great advise to keep in mind though should it happen again.

Same thing happened to me. I was knocked down on my bike a couple of years ago while on a training spin on a Saturday morn. Clearly the drivers fault who admitted liability at the scene. I flew over the front bonnet of the car landing on my face and head (lucky the helmet was on my head). I was in total shock and midly concussed and the lady took me in her car to the nearest gp. She said she would wait for me in the waiting room and cover the bill but when I was finished with the doctor she was gone. I didn't take the reg of the car because I too was in a shock and it blanked my mind i.e was not thinking straight to get it. I really thought she was genuine but having left me in the lurch and not covered the doctors visit or the damage to te bike I learned my lesson about always getting the details (insurance, car reg, witness details if igod forbid it ever happened again). I did go to the guards the following day top report it but once I had no reg they weren't bothered with what I had to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

billyhead wrote: »
    She said she would wait for me in the waiting room and cover the bill but when I was finished with the doctor she was gone.

Aw, what a lousy thing to do!

Well he reckons he must've left a dint in the drivers car, so hopefully he will pay in some way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭stevemac

http://www.mibi.ie/uninsured-unidentifi.html

I don't know if this is only for vehicle accidents or if cyclists or pedestrians can make claims off it as well.

RT66 wrote: »
    By looking at him?
    Oh for crying out loud. It will be the OP's word against what to the guards will be a random stranger. If he had called the guards on the spot he'd be flying. The ridiculousness of some people on these boards boggle the mind!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Oh for crying out loud. It will be the OP's word against what to the guards will be a random stranger. If he had called the guards on the spot he'd be flying. The ridiculousness of some people on these boards boggle the mind!!!

He's met the guy, and spoken to him. All he's missing is the reg. If he meets him again and obtains identifying info he's flying.
    I agree with your last sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

That whole area is covered by CCTV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Uhm, he wouldn't be basing his ID on the second meeting, the second meeting would be just to help track him down. Put this in a different context: A man stabs me in an alleyway, I get a good look at him and he runs away. The cops can't find him. A week later I see him working in a coffee shop, I tell the guards and they arrest him. Would that "boggle" your mind? I'd hope not.

They won't convict on that alone, of course, but if he ID's the driver they would at least question him, meaning he'd have to lie to the police if he claimed it wasn't him.

Anyway this story makes me angry because it's another case of a driver thinking they have automatic right of way over a bike, as shown by his "did you not see me?" comment. I don't have to brake and swerve to avoid you you jerk, you wait for me to pass before you turn.