Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Pubs in London to Watch 6 Nations on St. Patricks Day

• 14-03-2012 10:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Heading to London for the weekend, booked flights etc months ago in the hopes that tickets would materialise. They didn't but we're still heading over & just wondering where would have the best atmosphere to watch the match. Don't want to miss out on all the craic!

Any point in heading up to Twickenham either? Any advice?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

Heading to London for the weekend, booked flights etc months ago in the hopes that tickets would materialise. They didn't but we're still heading over & just wondering where would have the best atmosphere to watch the match. Don't want to miss out on all the craic!

Any point in heading up to Twickenham either? Any advice?

Cheers.
    Yes head to Richmond or Twickenham and soak up atmosphere. England Ireland is the hardest Six Nations ticket to get hold off, but you might get lucky in the pubs before hand. If your not there, you can't get lucky. I'd head to Cabbage Patch in Twickenham, always a good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭yeraulone

There are a few good pubs down around twickenham, but it can be awkward to get to and from with all the crowds.

where are you staying?

http://thefullback.co.uk/ - watched a few games here, good buzz. Loads of screens.
    Quinns in camden - My local! Always good atmosphere. Loads of places to go in Camden after. Theres only a few screens though.
    O'neills in Angel - O'neills pubs are a bit lame but this place will be mental for the game. There is another o'neills in Covent garden. Plenty of other good places near by for after the game.

I'm going to the Porterhouse this year in Covent Garden. No idea what its like, but I'm guessing its going to be packed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

yeraulone wrote: »
    O'neills in Angel - O'neills pubs are a bit lame but this place will be mental for the game. There is another o'neills in Covent garden. Plenty of other good places near by for after the game.

Was in there last weekend for the Scotland game, quality atmosphere and a good big screen at the end of the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

yeraulone wrote: »

I'm going to the Porterhouse this year in Covent Garden. No idea what its like, but I'm guessing its going to be packed.

I know the owner Peter quite well. He was telling me the other day the queue is down the road to get in from 1pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭yeraulone

cronin_j wrote: »
    I know the owner Peter quite well. He was telling me the other day the queue is down the road to get in from 1pm

Really? Man, thanks for the heads up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

2 years ago i went to london for the match but couldnt get tickets. we watched it in the bar outside (but built into) the stadium. great atmosphere and you can soak up all the pre and post match atmosphere too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 MRSC London Branch

Hi guys, I hope you enjoy your trip over here for the weekend.....

The suggestions above are fine, and are popular centrally located Irish bars. The Leinster exiles have started using the Porter House recently to watch Leinster games....the 1 word of caution is, that any of the big bars that central would always be quite busy on a Saturday in general, would be packed for the rugby, and would be packed for Paddys day- with all 3 events happening in one day(which is rare) Id imagine they will be totally wedged so if your happy with that, then you are sorted!

As an aside, We put together a list of a few (Irish) rugby related events going on over here this weekend...... might be of interest to anyone coming over.

http://www.mrsc.ie/News_Detail.aspx?type=1&rowid=63299&branchid=49959

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

MRSC managed to omit the Irish women playing in Esher at 2pm on Saturday.

I'll be heading along to that myself. Under 20s the night before... Hopefully 3 wins for Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭cork exile in london

Hi guys, I hope you enjoy your trip over here for the weekend.....

The suggestions above are fine, and are popular centrally located Irish bars. The Leinster exiles have started using the Porter House recently to watch Leinster games....the 1 word of caution is, that any of the big bars that central would always be quite busy on a Saturday in general, would be packed for the rugby, and would be packed for Paddys day- with all 3 events happening in one day(which is rare) Id imagine they will be totally wedged so if your happy with that, then you are sorted!

As an aside, We put together a list of a few (Irish) rugby related events going on over here this weekend...... might be of interest to anyone coming over.

http://www.mrsc.ie/News_Detail.aspx?type=1&rowid=63299&branchid=49959

Do ye not use the sheephank in camden anymore? think thats the name of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 bumblebee2012

Thanks for all the suggestions, sounds like a lot of good options. Will probably head out to Richmond or Twickenham.

Thanks Random, that's what I really want to do, head out to the ground and watch it there. I just wasn't sure what the set-up would be.

Have a great one everyone, fingers crossed we'll have the some luck on Paddy's Day :D

MRSC managed to omit the Irish women playing in Esher at 2pm on Saturday.

I'll be heading along to that myself. Under 20s the night before... Hopefully 3 wins for Ireland!

Look again!:)

Do ye not use the sheephank in camden anymore? think thats the name of it

Sheephaven Bay (closer to Mornington Cresent) I presume your talking about....

That was never our official base, thou we have used it from time to time for events, most recently for this years early 6N games as our official venue was under refurb.

The Sheephaven is a good Irish pub, but just not central enough for our remit to keep our base central and near multiple tube options.

Yager (formally known as Mustard), in the shadows of St Pauls is our official home, and will show ALL Irish/Munster rugby games in full volume, while being jersey friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

If you are in Clapham region the Alex at Clapham Common is always a decent spot for Irish games, both provincial and international. Jersey friendly pub and has a passionate crowd for matches.

I have to hand it to the MRSC London for their dedication. When I was living in London they had very well organised events and the contingent that they sent to the match against the Saints in Milton Keynes was quite impressive. Kudos lads

D-Generate wrote: »
    I have to hand it to the MRSC London for their dedication. When I was living in London they had very well organised events and the contingent that they sent to the match against the Saints in Milton Keynes was quite impressive. Kudos lads

Thanks for the feedback/kind words. We had 277 on the buses up to MK that day- 4 coaches including 2 double deckers- it got a bit hectic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

Have to put shout out for my local the Blythe Hill Tavern, best Irish pub in london (esp around cheltehma time) but its a ways out south east, recommend Twickenham, the patch or down to White Swan, Foxes, etc. all within shooting distance, all the buzz banter will be over there.

bear in mind, its gonna be wet, ****ty out..... CMON THE LADS!!!!