Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alfa Romeo Would you buy one ??

• 13-03-2012 10:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

Hi Folks,

Ive being asking about and everyone Ive asked have been telling us to stay away from them, the wife is looking at buying an Alfa Romeo 159 1.9 JTS TURISMO its 2007, hes looking for 7400e for it. What do any of yes think about them have u had any experience with them??? Any feed back would be much appreciated Thanks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Limbo123

Nice looking motors. Never had one. Had a drive in one and it was great but Alfa are renowned for burning a hole in your pocket when something goes wrong. Alfa and problems go hand in hand from what I have been told and read.

I wouldn't be put off by fears of increased maintenance costs over other yokes these days tbh, unless the alternative is a petrol Accord :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭gowley

nice looking car but have heard horror stories about reliability.would look at a hyundai coupe although it would be a petrol engine. Good reliability and easy to source and sell on. Accord is a great car as well but is not as sporty looking as the gt or hyundai in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭gowley

sorry thought it was the gt u were talking about. Would agree with the accord against a 159 and u could also look at a mondeo

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

On my second alfa, first a 01 and second a 00

Love those cars, adore them.

But if you are a fair weather driver, and don't take note of funny noises, weird flucuations in behaviour, and generally expect to get in and go, don't buy one.

Alfas in my opinion are for people who love cars, will take care of them, and are willing to learn about their foibles.

The 1.9 diesels are considered a great car, not my cup of tea as I drive petrol alfas, but don't take the reputation for granted.

Head over to alfaowner.com and ask there you will really get honest opinons :) From enthusiasts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

The 1.9 jts is generally considered to be not as good as the 1.8 from what i read on alfaowners. ( ie no more power but uses more petrol)

I have a 159jtdm lusso and i love it, no horror stories (yet;)

Isnt the tourismo the base spec?

I would still love my car without cruise, blue&me, leather, fog sensor, rain sensing wipers, etc but not as much:)

If its exclusivity you are after, its great, i have only seen 4 other 159s since i bought mine in jan.

Buy A 159 they are lovely cars, but do your homework and buy the right one for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

gowley wrote: »
    nice looking car but have heard horror stories about reliability.would look at a hyundai coupe although it would be a petrol engine. Good reliability and easy to source and sell on. Accord is a great car as well but is not as sporty looking as the gt or hyundai in my opinion

Off topic for this thread but gowley, your not seriously touting a Hyundai Coupe as an alternative to an Alfa GT are you? The Alfa is in a completely different league. The only Hyundai coupe worth getting is the 2.7l v6. And try selling that on!

Back on topic:
    OP, if you get the Alfa 159 you won't regret it. And as with any modern car, look after it and it will look after you.
    The JTDm is one if the best diesels around. It's the same unit that is used by Opel and other GMs.
    If you can get one in TI spec with leather interior. Won't get more when you sell it on but it will be easier to sell.
    If you don't get it you'll regret it. And every time you pass one on the road you'll wonder.... What if, what if!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I got my first Alfa, a 166, in December. In these days of fuel economy and running costs I got a.... 2.5 V6 :pac:
    • Parts are expensive
    • There are some electric niggles (airbag lights go bananas, cl works when it wants :rolleyes:)
    • Strange cabin leak...

Would I recommend one? I sure would for the thrill alone :) Would I get another one? Hell yes, I'd go for a 3.0 if one cropped up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Shhh!, they are a good car but don't tell everyone or their resale values will increase. ;)

As for what people say, I tend to ignore it as the man down the pub knows nothing about cars and will probably steer you towards the likes of a VW which he sees as the pinnacle of reliability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

If you really want it then just buy it and forget what everybody else thinks. Apart from the people supporting your decision of course! Yes cars break some more than others and they need costly repairs but thats life. Go on ya know you want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Twin-go wrote: »
    And every time you pass one at the side of the road with the bonnet up, you'll wonder.... What if, what if!

Fixed it for ya!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

mrs crilly wrote: »
    If you really want it then just buy it and forget what everybody else thinks. Apart from the people supporting your decision of course! Yes cars break some more than others and they need costly repairs but thats life. Go on ya know you want to.

He said it's for the wife though. I wouldn't let me wife buy one, she'd kill it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

One of our cars is a Alfa GTV (the other is a 318). It's like comparing chalk and cheese. The 318 is my regular drive, it's steady and has a real sense of solidity.

The Alfa is like something that is barely touching the road, constantly looking to take off. I mean this in a good way - it's a real fun car to drive. It doesn't have the sense of solidity, but it's got character. And it moves pretty damn fast too.

Jimdagym wrote: »
    He said it's for the wife though. I wouldn't let me wife buy one, she'd kill it.

Well not all women are car killers :rolleyes:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I had a 156 which I loved but it kept breaking down on me - left me stranded around 4 times on the side of the roads in 3 years and there were numerous trips to the Alfa garage in Finglas in between, where I was actually on first name terms with most of the mechanics by the end.

I likened it to dating a supermodel who kept cheating on you, you'd swear the next time she did it, it would be the end of the relationship, but you kept taking her back, telling yourself 'this time would be different'.

I eventually had to end my affair with my Italian supermodel when I had kids and have settled down with a more reliable German partner, but I still dream of those times we spent together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I had a 156 which I loved but it kept breaking down on me - left me stranded around 4 times on the side of the roads in 3 years and there were numerous trips to the Alfa garage in Finglas in between, where I was actually on first name terms with most of the mechanics by the end.

I likened it to dating a supermodel who kept cheating on you, you'd swear the next time she did it, it would be the end of the relationship, but you kept taking her back, telling yourself 'this time would be different'.

I eventually had to end my affair with my Italian supermodel when I had kids and have settled down with a more reliable German partner, but I still dream of those times we spent together.
    You brought your Alfa Romeo to a main dealer for servicing? No wonder she got the hump with you.

That is the best description of a car I have ever heard! Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

Have owned a 156 for 4 years now and it currently has just over 200,000 miles on it. They need to be looked after and if you let the little things pile up you will soon find a big hole in your wallet allright, but I honestly can't fault it for a car with such mileage. I have had no major work done, just servicing and a couple of other bits a bobs.
    On the 159 I know the early ones had a massive issue with the steering rack so make sure this has been looked at/replaced. Other than that, as with all Alfa's, make sure it has a full service history and verify it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 paulysoprano

HA Ha Brilliant, i think we ill go for the Supermodel feck it, thanks again everyone you were all great help :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

OP,

Read these treads:

Buying a 159

Advice about alfa 159 Ti (in case you're thinking of pushing the boat out)

Main thing is to check for full service history, regular oil and filter replacements, validate the mileage and service work done with garages.

If it doesn't check out or doesn't have full service history, WALK AWAY. Another one with the documented history will come up. Thats the best advice I can give you buying an Alfa. Wait for the right one, with the right history.

Also consider the UK too. You wont save any money, in fact it might cost you a little bit more, but you'll get a wider selection with a better spec. Again, check and validate the service history and Mileage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'd buy a diesel 159 but not a petrol 156.

Confab wrote: »
    I'd be the opposite!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Whatever you do DON'T powerhose the engine. My father did his. Got to know the Alfa dealer VERY well over the following 6 months!!

He'd two 147s.....cracking car to drive and gorgeous interior. I'd buy and Alfa no problem....especially the 159 but would love a 156 GTA.

I thought you were a HUGE fan Confab?
    Surely a gearbox on a 10 year old car failing wouldn't turn you off the petrol 156s totally?

RoverJames wrote: »
    I thought you were a HUGE fan Confab?
    Surely a gearbox on a 10 year old car failing wouldn't turn you off the petrol 156s totally?

Nah not a huge fan, bought on a whim really. I'm not put off Alfas, just the 156. I'd gladly buy a 159 in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Chonker

mrs crilly wrote: »

This is the answer pretty much in a nut shell,

You have to really want one to buy one, other wise it makes no sense buying an Alfa. You may never find anyone who will tell you its a good idea, but you will find many who love driving them. You can usually identify these people by the oily fingers and cut knuckles.

Great to drive and look at, scary to think about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

I think the whole unreliability stigma attached to modern alfas is a bit over-hyped IMO. They are not half as bad as some people make them out to be.

The 159 is a great car, esp the 1.9 diesel. If I was going for a petrol 159 I would go for the 2.2 JTS (I wouldn’t like to be paying tax on a 3.2JTS Q4 even though they are super nice).

The Ti spec is the one you want, they look awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I've had 2 Alfas and I would buy another, but I wouldn't buy a 159 unless it was a jtdm. I had the 1.8 petrol for a weekend and it was a dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

We have had an Alfa 156 2.4JTD Sportwagon for about 2years now. Only issue that really stands out is its hard on suspension bushings, certainly original ones. The engine itself is quite unlike the petrol models by reputation at least, doesnt consume oil (and its a diesel!) and rock solid. So much so that family members joke that its been the most reliable car Ive had.. which is mostly true.

As it happens, its for sale (see here). The original plan was to buy a 159 Sportwagon, but I have a wacky plan for a (very cheap) old BMW e34 Touring that caught my eye instead. But I would absolutely buy another Alfa at some point.

9fc7aded.jpg

Very nice sportwagen Matt! Love those Ti wheels ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭excaliburhc

have a 156 2001 and it has ruined every other car for me ,
    nothing quite like hitting a straight dropping backto 3rd and hitting 5000 revs just to hear how she sounds - i giggle like a school girl :D and i can wait for my next one

so much so i have already looked into how i will afford my new 159 :D.

from investigations online
    http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/carbycar/alfa-romeo/159-2006/ (not sure how reliable a website it is)

it is no more unreliable then any other car out there - know there were issues with the 156 / 147 but i have to say i have done 60 k so far in mine and other then bushels not much has gone wrong with her.

get a test drive and trust me you will want one even more.
    good luck and hope you find one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 paulysoprano

Cheers :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Great post!

Never had my 156 break down on me I have to admit, it died following my murdering the back door on one side and the steering rack failing (known issue on both the 156 and 159)
    Anan1 wrote: »
    You brought your Alfa Romeo to a main dealer for servicing? No wonder she got the hump with you.

I did it once, when I was new to alfa ownership, and didn't know better.

I learned :D My current mechanic asks me "how's your baby?" these days, and talks about how well it runs, and how all the work has paid off, he's as much interest in the car as I have :)
    I'd be the opposite!

Jaypers so would I, a Brera petrol is my next target :)
    Nah not a huge fan, bought on a whim really. I'm not put off Alfas, just the 156. I'd gladly buy a 159 in the future.

Buy the right one with the suspension issues fixed :) You'll still have the timing belt issues to deal with
    Matt Simis wrote: »
    We have had an Alfa 156 2.4JTD Sportwagon for about 2years now. Only issue that really stands out is its hard on suspension bushings, certainly original ones. The engine itself is quite unlike the petrol models by reputation at least, doesnt consume oil (and its a diesel!) and rock solid. So much so that family members joke that its been the most reliable car Ive had.. which is mostly true.

As it happens, its for sale (see here). The original plan was to buy a 159 Sportwagon, but I have a wacky plan for a (very cheap) old BMW e34 Touring that caught my eye instead. But I would absolutely buy another Alfa at some point.

Rare car over here the 2.4 JTDs apart from yours I've only ever seen one.

Fantastic reputation they have too!

OP if you go for an alfa, maintain it, check the fluids every week (or two at the most) get to know the car and how it feels/sounds, and don't ignore any weirdness, unless it does weird things, mine had a few days of turning on the interior light when I hit the indicator then it stopped, alfas can be slightly possessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It would be difficult not to buy something like this imo.

media?xwm=y&id=13438001&width=400&height=300media?xwm=y&id=13438024&width=400&height=300

media?xwm=y&id=13438035&width=400&height=300media?xwm=y&id=13438034&width=400&height=300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I think this post that I put up about 6months ago on the motors forum here sums up the opinion of many would be alfa owners:
    In terms of Alfa, I have been soo tempted to pickup one, and some day I will have the likes of a GT in the driveway, but the whole reliably thing just scares me off. I try not to be an alfa basher, I love the styling, and how they are different to all the boring run of the mill golfs/corollas etc, but only just a few weeks ago I was looking at a GT, it had about 63kmiles on the clock, and the list of things that the owner had changed on it scared the bejezzus out of me, he was trying to make the point that all the parts changed was a good thing, I was like how can so many things go wrong with a car in such low mileage. Thats certainly not a once off, time and time again I look at a GT, think wow, ****it I'll get one, then when I go read up reviews etc, I come across horror story after horror story. Some day when I'm rich enough not to care about the depreciation and garage costs of an Alfa I'll happily own one, but for now I'll stick to the Hondas, which in my opinion are almost as good (well not styling wise, but in terms of sportiness) to alfas, but there is no comparison in terms of reliability, the likes on the Honda will be cheaper long run simple as is.

I've had an Alfa GT in the driveway for the past month, and don't have one regret!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Complete Alfa fan here so excuse the bias in the next few lines of this post!:D

I'm a real fan of the 159 however it has to be diesel all the way, that includes the Brera. The only exception being the 1750tbi engine. The 1.8, 2.2, and 3.2 petrols are all a disappointment after the likes of the twin spark engines and the proper Alfa V6 and not that crap GM lump. There's just nothing to the 1.8 and 3.2 with the 2.2 being the best of the worst in my opinion.

The diesels are a class act. The 1.9 has been going a while but is still a very strong contender and responds well to a remap while also being economical and reliable. There is a new 2.0jtdm out which I have yet to be in but I'm sure it is just an improvement on it's predecessor. The 2.4 is a peach if a little loud and fuel economy and tax are all higher, but then this is a 200bhp+ powerplant.

Never been in a 1.9jts 159 so can't comment, but it's more powerful than the 1.8 so expect it to be a bit nippier. Fuel economy and tax are similar and there a few around going for decent money. Fabulous car but as said earlier just
    make sure it has been and will continued to be maintained appropriately.

I would encourage you to invest some time in the Alfa owner sites as these will give you more info regarding the 1.9jts engine and other advice along the way. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

goshhh.. everyone exited about alfas, and me now thinking go for one to try... never had any chance to drive one, just as part time mechanic heard horror stories about them, reason why kept away. are them so grate to drive ? i am consider go for 2004 one... what i can see in carzone, that year engine range is 1.6 ti petrol,( no have a clue what that" ti " about), and 1.9 diesel. actually looking for nippy car, to drive for pleasure. would be diesel powerful and economical ? actually car goin to be used for short journeys, so might petrol shall be go for.... also i am thinking about saab 9-3 2.0 t ... hmmmm .

i know, Im always getting unpopular car, then biting elbows... might it is more fun, than boring and reliable german or japnese counterparts .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

Mar4ix wrote: »
    goshhh.. everyone exited about alfas, and me now thinking go for one to try... never had any chance to drive one, just as part time mechanic heard horror stories about them, reason why kept away. are them so grate to drive ? i am consider go for 2004 one... what i can see in carzone, that year engine range is 1.6 ti petrol,( no have a clue what that" ti " about), and 1.9 diesel. actually looking for nippy car, to drive for pleasure. would be diesel powerful and economical ? actually car goin to be used for short journeys, so might petrol shall be go for.... also i am thinking about saab 9-3 2.0 t ... hmmmm .

i know, Im always getting unpopular car, then biting elbows... might it is more fun, than boring and reliable german or japnese counterparts .

Do or do not, there is no try

So, thought i'd weigh in here, looking for a new (used) car and thinking of getting an Alfa
    My story is that we are expecting our 4th child this July and the next 18 months is the last chance i'll have to drive something nice for myself for about 15 years :P

At the moment we have a 06 S-Max for the kids and a beautiful 02 megane saloon for myself to go to and from work and transport the odd kid, squeezing the three of them in from time to time

When herself goes back to work, probably end of summer next year, I reckon we'll need another 7 seater for when I'm picking up the 4 of them, so that gives me a window and a budget of about 7k max.

I nearly bought a beautiful 156 ti 1.6 when we got the megane 2 years ago but the seller backed out and we were forced into buying something quickly, I've been yearning for one since but having spent the last few days looking i'm leaning towards a 159 JTD

Is this a viable option? Would need to have a car seat and or booster seat in the back the odd time but not very often, reckon i could get about €500 for the megane, needs a little work but only 70k on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I'ld love to own a Brera!

Mar4ix wrote: »
    ( no have a clue what that" ti " about)

Ti is a specification type- being the best spec that is available for the 156 (apart from the GTA). Car comes with unique alloys, updated brakes, leather seats etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Bought one. Drove it. Love it. Still love it 2 over years later.

When I'm not driving her, i'm thinking about the next time I will be.

She's the Monica Bellucci of cars.

pah wrote: »
    I nearly bought a beautiful 156 ti 1.6 when we got the megane 2 years ago but the seller backed out and we were forced into buying something quickly, I've been yearning for one since but having spent the last few days looking i'm leaning towards a 159 JTD

Is this a viable option? Would need to have a car seat and or booster seat in the back the odd time but not very often, reckon i could get about €500 for the megane, needs a little work but only 70k on it.

Purely from a safety point of view- if you intend on having your kids in the back then I would go for the Alfa 159. The 156 has a poor safety rating from what I have read. The 159 is a more robust car. Just my 2 cents anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

I bought a 2007 GT in '09. I've just had the timing belt replaced and a few other bits and pieces so I should be good for another 30/40k miles. it's the 1.9 jtdm. No hassle with it at all apart from standard servicing.

I am still insanely fond of it. I can't see another car out there that would tempt me away from it. I can see me driving it for the next 3/4 years at least before even considering moving on.

Veloce wrote: »
    Purely from a safety point of view- if you intend on having your kids in the back then I would go for the Alfa 159. The 156 has a poor safety rating from what I have read. The 159 is a more robust car. Just my 2 cents anyways.
    You're right, the 195 scored 5 stars in the Euro NCAP, whereas the 156 only got 3. The 156 is just so much more elegant, though!

The 156 never did an official Euro NCAP. If it did, it'd do worse than 3 stars.

I just checked, and you're actually right. The 147 was tested and got three stars, though. I would have expected the 156 to get three too, given its age and the standards prevalent at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

I just checked, and you're actually right. The 147 was tested and got three stars, though. I would have expected the 156 to get three too, given its age and the standards prevalent at the time.
    You have to look at the detailed report though to make a better judgement. Often cars perform quite well on frontal and side impact but lose out on 4 stars because of lack of things like safety belt lights for belts in the rear etc.
    Toyota once complained because the Laguna scored higher than the Avensis due to it having a warning sound for seatbelts for driver and passenger. The Toyota also had the same warning, but it wasn't tested for the time the Avensis was tested, they only introduced it as a new thing to award points for when the Laguna came along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

I have a '02 Alfa 166. Its a 2.0 Twinspark. I love it. I drop our 3 kids to school/creche in it everyday on my way to work.

Good points:
    1. Extremely reliable. No probs after 4 years of ownership. It flew through it's most recent NCT.
    2. Amazing interior. Seats are big & solid. Kinda like armchairs (except they have "Alfa Romeo" embossed on the leather!!) :D
    3. It's built like a tank - but unlike it's German rivals, it doesn't look like a tank!
    4. It is a pleasure to drive. For such a big car, it handles like a go-kart. I'm not joking. It's just as happy skipping over back roads as it is cruising on the motorway.
    5. It's a fine looking machine & is aging very well. It always reminds me of a shark for some reason.
    6. The sound of the Twinspark. ;)
    7. Other Alfa drivers always flash/wave at me.
    8. My 9 year old son loves it and as a result thinks his Dad is very cool (I expect this to change in 2-3 years)
    9. Superb sound system
    10. Very rare, but very easy to live with

Bad points:
    1. 26mpg (I only do about 5k miles/yr)
    2. Almost €700 road tax
    3. Use a bit more oil than most cars (maybe €30 over a year)

Dont mind the naysayers. If you want an Alfa, go out & buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

What's the difference between 8v and 16v variants?

Like this

pah wrote: »
    What's the difference between 8v and 16v variants?

Like this

Difference is about 30bhp. The 8v has 120 bhp and the 16v has 150 bhp. Both pull very well though.

That's my father's old car in that link :D