Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. Patrick's Day 2012

• 10-03-2012 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

So here we are again, one week from St. Patrick's Day. How will you celebrate this year? If your abroad, will this mean more to you now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,765 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

I'm up a session any day but is that all Paddy's day means to people? A day to go on the piss? (having said that I'll be on the piss that day)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Working til 9, then out on the p!ss. Might run into a boardsie too, we shall see! Either way, getting hammered is the main goal of the night. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Another excuse for people to get hammered. Great.

Not doing a thing for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭beco2010

This thread is just going to end with drink and more drink. not about getting rid of thouse snakes and i dont think any of us will be minding our pot of gold, just spending it as we follow the rain bow to any pub which will take us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

There's nothing else to do on Paddys day besides drink.

Though I happen to be going to the dogs also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Going to portugal for the week :-) So I will leave yous to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Dont normally celebrate St.Patricks day, however as this is to be our last National day held in March I might make an attempt to go out and have fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Will be doing nothing for it, just like every other year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Thankfully its a saturday this year, no work till tuesday!

baggot street pub crawl for me, with ireland v england in the six nations on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I'm abroad again this year. Will probably be a bit homesick, always spent the day with my family and had a family dinner. My mam posted me some funny stuff to wear :)

Going to a party on Friday, pubs downtown Saturday, maybe try find some people for a cure Sunday....

My aim is to be drunk for the weekend but not pay for a single drink. I'm Irish, its my right! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I'm going to an Irish pub in a Czech town ironically called The Immigrant, and I plan on get rat arsed and look like an eejit by wearing a guinness leprechaun hat and maybe Orla will paint my nails green(again).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

My absolute least favourite holiday of the year, I despise it. Just an excuse for binge drinking, violence and vandalism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Can't stand Paddy's day - too packed and messy. I'll go out either the night before or the Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

any decent old style owlfella pubs to go on a booze cruise on maxi paddys day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

I'm up a session any day but is that all Paddy's day means to people?

Yes, obviously. What the hell else would it mean, something to do with snakes??

It's about getting ****faced - that, tourism and finally chucking the crusties off Dame St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭beco2010

My aim is to be drunk for the weekend but not pay for a single drink. I'm Irish, its my right! :pac:
    sounds like a plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Well I won't be destroying my own city like thousands will this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭HappyBalance

Dont normally celebrate St.Patricks day, however as this is to be our last National day held in March I might make an attempt to go out and have fun.

What does that mean? Plans to change date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

mass, fry, pub, another pub, home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm going to see Leprechaun on the 16th, that's as close as I'll ever get to celebrating Paddy's day. Leave it for the teenagers and tourists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Im going on a big bender all next week for Cheltenham, going to get ****faced for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

hate it, usually just go for a drive for the day, pain in the hole with so many garda checkpoints though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

If your abroad, will this mean more to you now?

Sexist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sleep, run, watch rugby. Pretty normal Saturday, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Will head to East Belfast to check out the ceremony and see what the craic is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Going to the pub for 9 for an Irish breakfast and a Guinness and then I don't intend on leaving for the next 18 hours or so :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I'll be in Montreal hamming up my accent and wearing a 'Kiss me, I'm Irish' t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭wivy

Goin ta Mullingar for a session!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,732 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

wivy wrote: »
    Goin ta Mullingar for a session!

You are the eye of a toe.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Sleep, run, watch rugby. Pretty normal Saturday, tbh.

Ireland Vs England on St.patricks day?

I'll be watching.

(Is there a chance we could win??)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Doing what I did last year.

Ingesting suspicious looking pills I found on the ground. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

I spent Paddys day last year in Chicago, so have a feeling I'll spend the day saying "This time last year I was doing this, this time last year I was doing that..blah blah blah!"
    But apart from that will probably head back to the home town, meet up with the old friends, come outta the pub to watch the parade then straight back in for the remainder of the day/night!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

So here we are again, one week from St. Patrick's Day. How will you celebrate this year? If your abroad, will this mean more to you now?

Mean more? I find it hard to understand how it can mean anything at all.

It's an excuse to get drunk for everyone. Anyone who says otherwise is a liar.

Although, it is on a Saturday this year so I guess most people will be hammered anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I'll be tuning in to the late night news to catch up on the inevitable rioting and attacks on police and the fire service. St Patrick would be so proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Begrudgingly(but it wont show)taking the kids to stand in town to look at the backs of loads of people,get their face painted,be ripped off for tacky crap,go hoarse trying to talk over the noise,get them fed and home and then spend the rest of the day moaning about "stupid fookin paddywhackery day"

I Hate it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭angry kitten

I'll be half watching the parade on RTE, while listening to the local parade in the distance. We'll definitely watch the rugby, but we're both off booze and junk for Lent, as a health kick, so not going to be doing much. TBH I hate the paddywhackery, I know its a necessary evil, it just makes me cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I'll be half watching the parade on RTE, while listening to the local parade in the distance. We'll definitely watch the rugby, but we're both off booze and junk for Lent, as a health kick, so not going to be doing much. TBH I hate the paddywhackery, I know its a necessary evil, it just makes me cringe.

Nonsense. Everyone knows St. Patricks' Day is a break for Lent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

I'll be in Chicago dressed as a green stormtrooper holding a boom box with Bill Withers 'Use Me' on repeat. That's the plan anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

Very jealous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Foul temptress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I reckon it'I be total bedlum in the pubs this year!

The majority of people can't afford to be out every weekend and so will wait until Paddy's and just let rip!! It will be very messy, very early!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I will be dxrinking myself into a stumpor as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

InTheTrees wrote: »

Ireland Vs England on St.patricks day?

I'll be watching.

(Is there a chance we could win??)

It will be a close one I'd say, which means if we do win it will be all the sweater. Last minute drop from ROG to sneak it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭angry kitten

I can't, I'd drive myself nuts being annoyed at having given in, I think its become like a grudge match with myself at this point. Ah roll on Easter, lots of Absolute pear vodka and a Doritos chilli heatwave binge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I'll be in Canada, checking out Niagara Falls because they are dying it green and then getting absolutely hammered drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

MungBean wrote: »
    It will be a close one I'd say, which means if we do win it will be all the sweater. Last minute drop from ROG to sneak it.

Yup, we decided not to watch it at home and go to the pub instead.

A big screen and some atmopsphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭delricyo

What does that mean? Plans to change date?

Everybody knows it will be Oktoberfest from next year on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I might go to Cologne and spend all day drinking in German pubs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Going drinking at 12, maybe take in some of the parade, then back to the pub to watch the Ireland-England match. Let the fun commence..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 millhaven

can anyone tell me is sunday 18th late opening hours in pubs or is it normal hours