Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jaguar X-Type

• 07-03-2012 10:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭

Hi all, new poster on here, and wondering if anyone has or had a jag x type 08 or newer and could tell me their thoughts on them...costs,mileage, performance

I currently have an 03 a4 1.9 tdi and have just over 150k miles on it but its staring to show signs of wear.. and thinking of trading up

am doing over 500 miles a week so need a good mpg car.. am 6'4 and also need good comfort...

am a bit snobby on what i drive and would like executive car...rather than normal ford, opel etc...and was looking at BMW, A4's and mercs but prices are generally to high..have about 15k to spend and can't get anything reasonable..either mileage in excess of 100k miles and size of car is too small...so checked out on Jags and was surprised prices were less and got more kit....

P.S. am early 30's and my wife is worried am having an early mid life crisis...she thinks of men in late 40's early 50's as Jag drivers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

full steam ahead man, my brother in law is 31 and has a 2009 xtype, diesel, he travels from dublin to portlaoise daily, he swears by it, he has had little or no problems (there was something but it was sorted by the dealer, cant remember), ive driven it and its great. i dont think the xtype is an old mans car, it is a definite alternative to a a4 or 3 series. i think they have that bit more class than the rest.

its a third party review but i hope it helps

brinty wrote: »
    ..............and was looking at BMW, A4's and mercs............

P.S. am early 30's and my wife is worried am having an early mid life crisis...she thinks of men in late 40's early 50's as Jag drivers...

What kind of sad bastad does she reckon ends up in an A4 so :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

cheers man.about.town.....

dunno what you saying there rover james...

cheers man.about.town.....

dunno what you saying there rover james...

I don't see how an X type is an ole lads car in comparison to an A4 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

A4 is a pikeywagon these days. Get what you like, feck anyone else.

No offence to your own car of course, but too many people aspire to those yokes, the jag is less obvious.,

RoverJames wrote: »
    I don't see how an X type is an ole lads car in comparison to an A4 :)

Dunno i kinda think A4's are a 25's-45's age range car myself, so could understand her point

but as man.about.town said the Jaguar has that bit more class....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Running gear and diesel engines are from the 2000 to 2007 Ford Mondeo which is a good thing which means they are nice to drive. Interior and boot space is limited though but probably no smaller than the A4 you have a present.

A 08/09 model would be the facelifted model (side indicators moved to the door mirrors being the most obviouse clue) so any known issues should have been ironed out at that stage. I'd try and get the 2.2 in Sport trim.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

the jag x type is a mk3 mondeo tdci underneath, reliable, frugal and easy to service. Chain driven engine too so no expenive cam belt changes like an a4.

The x-type to me is small inside, but classy and rare'er - so good in my book. I'd have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

A4 is the new starlet turbo:P

Joking aside, the Jag is not a bad car at all. Reliable mondeo underpinnings but with a nice high end feel. I wouldn't consider the x-type as an old mans car either, in fact Jag's in general are going through a bit of a change in their buyer demographic these days I think.

Jag's in general are going through a bit of a change in their buyer demographic these days I think.

Cheers all for responses so far...liking what am hearing....

Actually forgot a friend of a friend has offered me a test drive of an imported 08 520d this weekend and he might do a deal for 16k but don't think it'd be a runner..has almost 100k miles on clock

plus the x types have lower mileage for about 2-4k less on price

X type is more a 3 series rival. Don't rule out the 5 completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Nice spec on this one for the price of a similar age high mile bog standard 320d:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=5013307755434660

The design has aged well considering they have been on sale for 11 years.

colm_mcm wrote: »

Except for S-types....they are definitely a coffin dodgers car.:P

Cheers Bazz...fantastic looking version of what i'm looking at

Are there any x-type drivers out there who might post a review and share their thoughts and experiences..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

am a bit snobby on what i drive and would like executive car...rather than normal ford, opel etc...
    You are aware that the X-Type is a Ford Mondeo in a posh frock? They're a nice car for all that, although at 6'4" i'd try one for size first.

Cheers Anan1
    Am aware of the Mondeo engine of course..its the posh frock bit is more the appeal
    And yea comfort will be most important when i do buy so thanks for the heads up

Cheers Anan1
    Am aware of the Mondeo engine of course..its the posh frock bit is more the appeal
    And yea comfort will be most important when i do buy so thanks for the heads up

Its quite a bit more then just a mondeo engine, but the mondeo is a good car, so it certainly isn't a bad point IMO.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I think they look great as an estate car.

car_photo_21058_7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

Lovely looking motor.

I wonder would a trip to the UK/NI be a good idea. Would be more selection and better spec available. For example, and this is IMO, the dash looks a bit mid 90's for me on most of them. But if you get the ones with the Nav installed, they look a LOT better (again this is all IMO).

Or you could retro fit something in there....

Still, bloody lovely car. Wish I could afford an XF :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

Great example here

Could be landed for about 16500 (with a bit of haggling) with VRT included...A touch over budget but would be worth it for THAT interior!

GavMan wrote: »
    Great example here

Could be landed for about 16500 (with a bit of haggling) with VRT included...A touch over budget but would be worth it for THAT interior!

Cheer GavMan,

Looks great inside indeed....

Still no reviews from an owner...surely there's someone on here that drives an x-type and would provide a review

Surely you can find more than a few reviews online elsewhere?

Thanks RoverJames,

Have checked out reviews online and they are mixed, so was hoping for an Irish opinion or two, maybe how they handle on irish roads, fuel consumption, service costs in ireland etc etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭JuniorB

Bought this one 2 weeks ago for €10,500
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=813267155022120
    Got a years warranty, vrt paid, NCT'ed, new tyres, serviced and a free service in 6 months time thrown in.

I'm late 30's and first reaction everyone has is - aren't you a bit young to be driving a jag!!

Delighted with it. Commuting 150 mile motorway round trip twice a week. Cruise control works as expected. Very comfortable car. Great pick up in the high gears. Corners well on country roads. Bluetooth for the phone, Climate control works well.
    Foot is a bit heavy on motorway - getting 40mpg according to the very usefull trip display thingy. Hoping to push that out a bit.
    Only negative so far is the arm rest type thingy in the middle is very cheap feeling/looking - gives a good few squeaks when you rest the arm on it.
    When researching cars it was the only one that didn't really seem to get much negative feedback - a good solid car.

Well wear with the new car Junior B

Was looking at that car myself and it was sold before i could check it out so good on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Guy at work had a 2005 2l diesel imported from NI,lovely motor with leather etc and 50k on it but the injectors started giving trouble,cost ocer 1k in main dealer so got rid after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭JuniorB

Well wear with the new car Junior B

Was looking at that car myself and it was sold before i could check it out so good on you.

Cheers mate, was looking at 04/05 versions - sellers were all a bit optimistic with their prices and didn't appear willing to budge. Moved up to 08 for an extra 5k and blew the budget rightly !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

What kind of sad bastad does she reckon ends up in an A4 so :pac:
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    A4 is a pikeywagon these days. Get what you like, feck anyone else.

No offence to your own car of course, but too many people aspire to those yokes, the jag is less obvious.,
    A4 is the new starlet turbo:P

Joking aside, the Jag is not a bad car at all. Reliable mondeo underpinnings but with a nice high end feel. I wouldn't consider the x-type as an old mans car either, in fact Jag's in general are going through a bit of a change in their buyer demographic these days I think.

I bought an A4 last week to replace the stolen Beemer...:o

OSI wrote: »
    Have you looked at the S-Type? At 6"4 I reckon it would be much more comfortable and they don't stray too far from the X-Type price wise.

Eg, an 07 2.7D here for €15,995

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201207206950657

Few quid extra in tax a running costs though.

The x-type's Ford underpinnings make many parts cheaper.

Few quid extra in tax a running costs though.

The x-type's Ford underpinnings make many parts cheaper.

Cheers OSI but they are all automatics and tax and insurance and the fuels costs would give me the money too go for an A4 or 520d.... great interiors though..