Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too late to get involved with a club?

• 04-03-2012 2:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭

Thinkbike are the closest club to me at the minute, but I have seen on their facebook page that they've closed registration at the end of last month, and I got in touch with UCDCC as I'm studying there and was told that it was a bit late to get involved with them too as they have all their club gear ordered and spins are irregular with people racing etc.

With a view to doing a few events and maybe something a bit more competitive I'd imagine the best way to go would be to join a club for more focused training? Is it a bit late in the season now to try and get involved with a club? And if not, are there any clubs within a 5-10km radius of D6 that would still take on new members? I've been clocking up a few km and am comfortable enough on my bike so I'm not a complete newbie to cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

colm_gti wrote: »
    Thinkbike are the closest club to me at the minute, but I have seen on their facebook page that they've closed registration at the end of last month, and I got in touch with UCDCC as I'm studying there and was told that it was a bit late to get involved with them too as they have all their club gear ordered and spins are irregular with people racing etc.

With a view to doing a few events and maybe something a bit more competitive I'd imagine the best way to go would be to join a club for more focused training? Is it a bit late in the season now to try and get involved with a club? And if not, are there any clubs within a 5-10km radius of D6 that would still take on new members? I've been clocking up a few km and am comfortable enough on my bike so I'm not a complete newbie to cycling.

Thinkbike havent sent in our new members applications as of yet you are still more than welcome to pop into shop and sign up if you could get in tomorrow that would be great. You can download all relevant forms from our website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Thinkbike havent sent in our new members applications as of yet you are still more than welcome to pop into shop and sign up if you could get in tomorrow that would be great. You can download all relevant forms from our website

Excellent! I can even pop in after the rugby today if need be. Do you have the forms in the shop? I don't have access to a printer til I go into college tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Excellent! I can even pop in after the rugby today if need be. Do you have the forms in the shop? I don't have access to a printer til I go into college tomorrow.

Yeah that would be cool we have forms printed in shop

Yeah thar would be cool we have forms printed in shop
    Excellent, I'll be down after the rugby so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Answer = it's never too late. Any club that tells you that is probably worth avoiding. You might run into the problem of missing the orders for gear alright, but that's not a huge issue. You'd be more than welcome out in Bray, Orwell and Usher would also be close to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Plastik wrote: »

Answer = it's never too late. Any club that tells you that is probably worth avoiding. You might run into the problem of missing the orders for gear alright, but that's not a huge issue. You'd be more than welcome out in Bray, Orwell and Usher would also be close to you.

It all boils down to who has the nicest Jersey.

(Hint - it's white, grey and green).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

daragh_ wrote: »

It all boils down to who has the nicest Jersey.

(Hint - it's white, grey and green).

Have to say that is a lovely jersey. A lot nicer than the previous one.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I know we'll get another blast of eager beavers in about a month or so. I'd say the sportives n that will be face paced with so many taking advantage of the fantastic winter.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

Ok.. sorry to steal the op thread!

I was put off joining a club as I thought it was too late; Other than commuting, not been cyclying too much of late.. could prob knock out 50-70kms now in current fitness (I know.. not great..!) but would soon get that up.. (I am happy cycling in a group tho and not likely to screw everyone up!)

However main reason for joining a club this year would be to train a bit more and I reckon if I am out in a group I will be motivated more to stick at it!
    I only want to do some more sportives etc this year.. no racing (way too late for that!).. but maybe for next year?

What I am unsure of is what a club would be doing at this time of year? Are most members focused fully on race training? Or will there still be regular club spins that not racers would be out on? What size of club would be best suited?

I am in also D6 (Rathgar) so I think Thinkbiike or Orwell are closest?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I believe thnkbike is a leisure club and Orwell have a leisure section. They both have websites that will give you more info.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Cheers lads, went down and payed the membership to Thinkbike yesterday, just want some more organised weekend group spins to get me used to cycling in a group, I kill myself enough on the hills on weekdays :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

Cheers lads, went down and payed the membership to Thinkbike yesterday, just want some more organised weekend group spins to get me used to cycling in a group, I kill myself enough on the hills on weekdays :cool:

killed me aswell yesterday on the hills ye fecker :)

glad yer sorted on a club Colm

lennymc wrote: »
    killed me aswell yesterday on the hills ye fecker :)

glad yer sorted on a club Colm

Haha sure you were well able for it :)