Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Muppets sequel in the works already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

oh i sooo cant wait for this tbh!!
    i thought they were going to ruin the current one tbh, wasnt at all sure what to expect when i went to see it, it would take a lot to ruin it imho :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭bfocusd

The small kids in my family went to see it 4 of them aged between 3-4, they've been to see loads of other films, but the couldn't of cared less about this movie, they didn't like it at all and wanted to leave half way through it along with a fair few other kids, it's not like our lot at all, they sat through the smurfs and other movies, they didn't want to leave!

I haven't seen the Muppets movie, is it any decent? Is it directed to an older age group and thats why they didn't like it?

I love the originals, the Christmas one in particular!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

tbh its got a much more nostalgic feel to it, than just your average kids movie imho anyway, i wouldnt say its aimed particularly at an older age group but i think its meant to be enjoyed more by them than kids tbh.
    i went to it with one of my mates, 2nd time for me :o , and she just thought it was meh, funny in parts but nothing special.
    i was incredibly surprised when she said that, but she does prefer a lot of the more up to date cgi toons like Chipmunks,Smurfs etc :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    tbh its got a much more nostalgic feel to it, than just your average kids movie imho anyway, i wouldnt say its aimed particularly at an older age group but i think its meant to be enjoyed more by them than kids tbh.
    i went to it with one of my mates, 2nd time for me :o , and she just thought it was meh, funny in parts but nothing special.
    i was incredibly surprised when she said that, but she does prefer a lot of the more up to date cgi toons like Chipmunks,Smurfs etc :eek:

You realise this means you have to kill her?
    Report back if you need help hiding the body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

When I went to see The Muppets there was a little boy there who was about 2 or 3 and he was having the time of his life! It was adorable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

totally dependant on the kids tbh, i have seen some amount of families coming out of this with giant smiles on them all , its great to see actually a film that everyone can enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

There was a young kid sitting behind me when I went to see it. I'd say he was about 5. Throughout the movie he was enthralled and really loved it, but what killed me was before the movie started, when the ads were on, and I mean commercials for persil etc not trailers, he was giving out. He shouted out "We can watch these at home on tv for free, why would they make us watch them here when we paid!" The indignation in his voice was brilliant.

Anyways, I'll reserve judgement on the new upcoming Muppets flick till I hear more about it. Jason Segel was a driving force for the last one and it really shows as a labour of love, so would hate to see him not involved at all.

Skinfull wrote: »
    There was a young kid sitting behind me when I went to see it. I'd say he was about 5. Throughout the movie he was enthralled and really loved it, but what killed me was before the movie started, when the ads were on, and I mean commercials for persil etc not trailers, he was giving out. He shouted out "We can watch these at home on tv for free, why would they make us watch them here when we paid!" The indignation in his voice was brilliant.

Anyways, I'll reserve judgement on the new upcoming Muppets flick till I hear more about it. Jason Segel was a driving force for the last one and it really shows as a labour of love, so would hate to see him not involved at all.

I'd say that Segal will sign on soon enough, not all that unusual for the more prolific writer out of a team to not get his deal till last. I imagine that negotiations for Segal who will most likely write and star are far more intricate than the others.

Hopefully with the sequel they place less emphasis on the human characters and give us more of the Muppets being the Muppets. Hopefully Amy Adams won't be back, she brought absolutely nothing to the original and her scenes seemed thrown in so as to justify her presence in the film. The entire film could easily have followed Walter's attempts to reunite the Muppets and been all the better.

I did love it in the cinema, me and my girlfriend took my 4 year old and 8 year old brother to see it and both loved it. When Miss Piggy declined to rejoin the team my 4 year old brother turned to me and said "Piggy gone". A lot of the human scenes weren't appreciated but every time the Muppets were onscreen he was in heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Its hard to know will he cause hes basically saying that he would like to but there literally no room on his schedule to do it at the moment.

I hope he does change his mind, although he might want a script to read before he commits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Kids that didn't enjoy the Muppets? Perhaps this could act as an early warning system to see who has ADHD? Incidentally my mother hates the Muppets. We'll have to lock her away too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Not too pushed on how kids viewed the move. I absolutely loved it. I reckon anyone who doesn't feel good after watching the movie is beyond saving from cynicism.

On the figures alone, a sequel was inevitable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,023 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Skinfull wrote: »

Hopefully Jason Segel returns in some capacity for the sequel

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Hopefully Jason Segel returns in some capacity for the sequel

Not happening apparently, here's a quote from the man himself:
    "It’s true but it’s totally amicable. My goal was to bring The Muppets back and I did that leaving them in very good hands, my writing partner and James Bobin the director. I did what I set out to do, and now I want to pursue more human-related projects. All I wanted to do was to set the stage for them to do whatever they wanted. I’m sure I’ll return in some capacity here and there, but that was half a decade of my life. Five years of hard work. I’m ready for a little puppet break."

full story at collider: http://collider.com/jason-segel-the-muppets-sequel/150004/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Bump just to say it has been made official:

524169_10150670342922035_177534557034_9554160_466503485_n.jpg
    Kermit and Miss Piggy made a special appearance at CinemaCon today to make it official: We're making a new Muppet movie!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Disney have just tweeted the news that part of this will be shot in Dublin.

The punning potential better be utilised ('what a shower of muppets' etc...).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Not happening apparently, here's a quote from the man himself:

full story at collider: http://collider.com/jason-segel-the-muppets-sequel/150004/

Aw boo. Still, can't complain if he doesn't want to do it. He revived it brilliantly IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Sarxos

Disney have just tweeted the news that part of this will be shot in Dublin.

The punning potential better be utilised ('what a shower of muppets' etc...).

Part of the film will be set in Ireland. Disney have now confirmed that they are unsure if any actually filming will take place here.

A muppet with an Irish accent? Intriguing! Wonder how hard it would be to become an extra!