Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are you going?

• 02-03-2012 4:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭

Since boards is about to shoot itself in the foot with a knee jerk reaction to this new law, tell us where you will be online after this place is deserted?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Broads.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Round your gaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

How exactly did Boards shoot itself in the foot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

porn.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Bebo. Lolz.

MrStuffins wrote: »

let the gun drop and then KABOOM,straight in the foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

subway wrote: »
    Since boards is about to shoot itself in the foot with a knee jerk reaction to this new law, tell us where you will be online after this place is deserted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

pmcmahon wrote: »

Bloody Vietnam deserters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Politics.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

is boards going under?! :(

no i dont mean to Australia, as thats the trend now it seems for most :)

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    is boards going under?! :(

first time i've heard a girl being sad about something going down/under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

How come?

The mods will have to start a support group:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I'm sure Boards.ie are using it's rapid response unit to make the change-over less painful for everyone. at least you can still use youtube links and also use a paragraph of a news story at the moment with a link allowed as well, so not all that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I can't see Boards being deserted for a very very long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Spud gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

I am pie wrote: »
    Round your Ma's gaff

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

They are just being cautious as the feelers for this new legislation are put out.
    I t just means that we have to give a little synopsis (that we write ourselves) alongside a link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

pmcmahon wrote: »

Anthony keidis in point break :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

potentially, i may have left that word out, but i believe its copyright, can a mod please clarify and approve my post?
    zenno wrote: »
    I'm sure Boards.ie are using it's rapid response unit to make the change-over less painful for everyone. at least you can still use youtube links and also use a paragraph of a news story at the moment with a link allowed as well, so not all that bad.

what this man says!
    I can't see Boards being deserted for a very very long time.

obviously, i didnt mean you :pac:

ive reported almost every person on this thread, variously for using:
    copyright avatar images
    copyright signature images
    copyright logos
    copyright youtube video
    uncredited quotes

thank you for your compliance and hopefully a mod can sort this mess out, you people sicken me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Alright, what's going on? :confused:
    I am really confuse.

Alright, what's going on? :confused:
    I am really confuse.
    As most people are aware during the week Sean Sherlock but into place some new legislation in relation to copyright infringement.

This new legislation has forced us to make some changes to what can and can not be posted. As some material which may have been fine before could now lead to boards being more open to legal proceedings.

So what's changed

News Articles

It will no longer be possible to re-publish full articles from other sites or news papers. If people want to reference the full article they will have to link to it. The only exception to this is if the author has given their expressed permission for it to be republished.

Users can quote up to one paragraph of an article however if you do this you must provide a link back to the article.

You Tube

Only copyright holder officially uploaded videos should be embedded. As a lot of highlights and snippets of games will fall foul of this law, they should not be embedded.

Match Streams

This has always been a grey area and unfortunately now it has gotten to the point where we will no longer allow the linking of streams.

In match threads people can link to sites that have the official rights to broadcast the match on-line, however if there are any geo location restrictions there is to be no mention of ways to bypass this.

Photos

Again unless you have the copyright holders permission to reproduce the image you will have to link to it instead.

Anything else

The above are the main areas effected however anything that is copy righted is covered and should be reproduced here

It is with great regret that we have to take these steps however due to Sean Sherlock we have no option.

If you would like to voice your opinion about the legislation with Sean Sherlock all his contact details can be found at http://www.labour.ie/seansherlock

this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Typical. Just as the rule about quoting articles in the OP was going to be enforced, along comes Sherlock with his ill-thought out law to scupper the whole thing.

I just read it in feedback. Shocking.
    Need to get these radical bastards out of government now.

I think boards should move it's business to another country until this law is over turned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Domo230 wrote: »
    Time to test the waters with a little cp* violation

*copyright protection violation that is ya sick feckers :P

JESUS CHRIST YOU'LL KILL US ALL YOU MANIAC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

this...
    Eh listen champ, all that stuff was already illegal. Welcome to Ireland, land of the "we'll enforce them if we feel like it" laws.

Also in response to the thread title

Sangidges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    champ Sangidges.
    This isn't the culchie thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Outside, I need air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Doesn't that screen name of yours belong to The State of New York?

You're screwed ;)

**** :(