Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

springer might have been stuffed by mongrel

• 01-03-2012 10:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭

lads my springer is in heat since lst wk, and escaped dis mornin with a mutt ,an i think he nailled her de b!2tard!:mad:i cant afford 45e a pop for the dual injections needed is there a tablet out there that can do the same job, my vet said only tablet is to stop her goin in heat, help she is only about 14 mnths old i dont want her in pup til she is at least 2 -3 yrs old at least:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

would the vet take weekley instalments give him the poor mouth worth a try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

wish he would its a an animal hospital, big overheads etc, jaysus i was feeling sorry for him after ringing he gave mre the poor mouth lol i dont know what im goin to do, just hope an cross the fingers that she isnt stuffed and that she isnt in the receptive stage, i know that f!3ckin mongrel was hanging round the last 3-4 days, ansd as i live in an estate i couldnt drop him:(:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭sean raff

id try the poor mouth with weekly payments or social welfare card,if have access to one, unwanted pups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

hi if you get an older person to bring the dog to the vets the give discounts for pensioners worth a call first i know this works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

first dont leave it to chance cause she may well be , second bring that other dog away for a walk and return on ur own .

try bringing her to one of those dog shelters things that seem to be popping up explain that your dog got caught and that you cant afford the injection and ask can they help or you will be delivering pup to them in the near future .

in general there willin to help or try another vet . dont leave it to chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Chopperdog 2

Why all this talk about 'bringing this other dog out for a shot and not returning with it'...

Are you advocating shooting someone else's dog simply for doing what comes naturally to him, i.e. mating?

I think that the greater onus is on the bitch's owner to keep his dog out of circulation and away from other dogs while she is in season, as he said, it was his bitch that escaped, not that the mongrel dog entered his property (pardon the pun) to have his way with the bitch.

If anyone shot your dog for the same reason I think there would be a totally different conversation on here.....

Additionally, very irresponsible of same owner not to take precautions now against his bitch being impregnated at an early age and with a possible litter to a mongrel squire.
    Somehow, find the €45 to have the bitch injected. What will happen if she goes full term with a litter of 9 pups that are not wanted?

What will the financial cost then be to have them ethically euthanised?
    Or dare we even consider the alternatives??
    Time to act is now...

Why all this talk about 'bringing this other dog out for a shot and not returning with it'...

Are you advocating shooting someone else's dog simply for doing what comes naturally to him, i.e. mating?

I think that the greater onus is on the bitch's owner to keep his dog out of circulation and away from other dogs while she is in season, as he said, it was his bitch that escaped, not that the mongrel dog entered his property (pardon the pun) to have his way with the bitch.

If anyone shot your dog for the same reason I think there would be a totally different conversation on here.....

Additionally, very irresponsible of same owner not to take precautions now against his bitch being impregnated at an early age and with a possible litter to a mongrel squire.
    Somehow, find the €45 to have the bitch injected. What will happen if she goes full term with a litter of 9 pups that are not wanted?

What will the financial cost then be to have them ethically euthanised?
    Or dare we even consider the alternatives??
    Time to act is now...

Why is there alway someone on here to take everything posted seriously .

Any way to and your question it is the onus of both dog owners to ensure there dogs are not wondering where they shouldn't be and if this dog entered the mans property then he has the right to deal with the threat before any damage is done . I'm not saying blow the head of him in the front garden !

And I agree with ya it cheaper in the long run to pay for injections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Why is there alway someone on here to take everything posted seriously .

Any way to and your question it is the onus of both dog owners to ensure there dogs are not wondering where they shouldn't be and if this dog entered the mans property then he has the right to deal with the threat before any damage is done . I'm not saying blow the head of him in the front garden !

And I agree with ya it cheaper in the long run to pay for injections

Obviously I can't speak for Chopper,but I would imagine he took it seriously as shooting someone else's dog is a serious matter. I agree with you that it's the responsibility of both owners but therein lies the problem. If you have a bitch in heat then you need to take the proper precautions to prevent her from getting nailed,but sometimes dogs will be dog(and bitches) and will escape. All we can do as responsible dog owners is be as careful as possible.however, I agree with Chopper that if the OP's dog was shot we would be having a very different conversation.
    Just my 2c
    LR

And chopper I never said anything about shooting anyone's dog .

lads firstly as well as bein an avid hunter, i love all animals, having worked in an animal shelter for an number of years, so if i said anything in first post it was posted out of annoyance with myself,i bear no ill feelings for said mongrel,therefore i most certainly will not be harming him:mad: and i thought i,d done everything humanly possible as a responsable owner to prevent this, oviusly i didnt account for a springer to clear a 12ft wall:confused::confused: i know i posted recently that walls round my yard where 14ft high,i forgot to measure back wall at side of the fecking shed:o:o i have know learned a very valuable lesson for the future

p.s i have thanks to a very sound and decent boards member ,will have the problem sorted,shortly,once again i am very grateful and glad i became a member of the hunting forum here on boards,many thanks to all the ops for the advise on and off and for the advise i may need in the future,there are a lot of very sound lads on here,keep up the good work, regards p.s:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Fair play lad, I understand you being pissed off, as I and most here would be. It just sounded bad at first. Like I said dogs will be dogs, but a twelve foot wall! Is she part antelope? ;) they don't call them springers for nothing do they! I hope everything works out for you and your dog, and start working on that fifteen foot fence:D happy hunting(in 6 months:() give the pooch a pat on the head from me;) LR

thanks lad, ive it sorted:) and i wouldnt have believed that a springer could jump that height either:eek::eek: but i have bein told and have seen her do it just there 15mins ago:eek: but springers are the most determined breed of dogs ive bein told and ive ever seen as she is my first ever springer so the lessons continue for me:o and by jayus the mixer is been fired up 2mora and all walls are goin up another 3ft higher,it be the maze prison by the time im finshed;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Don't worry about it,I don't know anyone with a working dog that wouldn't say the same as u did :D
    Some people just don't understand LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

I've never seen a dog jump a wall over ten foot without some sort of lauchpad like the small wall at the start of this video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Q_8PJLQ8dg. Its not beyond them to go from the kennel to the roof of the shed and over a 14+ft wall. I cant imagine a dog jumping 12 feet clean onto the top of a wall. If they are getting they're front legs that high and climbing up I would grease the top of the wall so they slide back off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Octopus

second bring that other dog away for a walk and return on ur own .
    And chopper I never said anything about shooting anyone's dog .

Reading this independently I would only interpret your first comment to mean what you deny in your second comment.

To the OP as an owner of two bitches, one of which if currently in heat, there is nothing they won't do to do what comes naturally. Don't blame the male, if he comes calling they will do anything to run with him.
    Bitch spray has some effect, it stops dogs on your walking route following her home. Can't do anything about dogs close to where you live.

What was the mongrel. Droppers aren't the end of the world ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

glad you got your problem sorted, little sympathy for you though due to the opening post of your 'springer bitch in heat goes missing' thread. you knew your dog was in heat, you knew she could get out over the wall... i myself advised you that if she could get out then others could get in. bit of a silly mistake when you had two pages of advise from other lads on here as to how you could stop her getting out.

~bitch in heat stays locked up and is only brought out for a walk on a lead. nothing like parting with a few quid to learn a lesson well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Amazed at all the holier than thou replies the mongrel dog shouldnt be straying around the locality and his owner is as responsible as the op! @ least the op was trying to keep his dog secure