Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My new Retro Room Setup...still ongoing....

• 01-03-2012 2:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

Hello retro fellowers,

Started changing around my retro setup over the last couple of weeks and its in the latter stages (I hope). Thaught I would share my progress so far with ye. My girlfriend at the time, (now wife) kindly let me use the 3rd bedroom as my getto, well, my daugther and I that is. She is 11 and as much into retro gear as myself. We have a sytem in place were we pick a console once a week and play a game or two a week and try and clear the bloody thing. This week we are on the PS3 and playing Rayman Origins. (what a game)

Anyhow, here are a few pics for ye:

ioohvo.jpg
    Got the glass stands in argos, last 2 after christmas in the sales, they fitted perfectly.

2epn029.jpg

My Christmas present to myself, a nice 47er, Philips 3D TV

bdo7b5.jpg

My favourite baby, one of my C64s...

x6mv6o.jpg

Small selection of my PS3, PS2 and PS1 games (plus a few C64 games as well)

1q1gsy.jpg

Sorry about the crappy pic, but basically, a nice storage solution with each container labelled and contains, mostly joypads, leads, multi taps for each system.

345ybz6.jpg

Some of my megadrive games

Well any suggestions on how to improve, comments welcome:pac:

Thinking my next system will be the PC Engine or NES ( I know, never really had one as a young one as I was more of a sega head)

My last 2 items will be to fix a) Scart issue b) power issue. Thanks for your suggestions for these.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Very nice, nice Saturn :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Dale Parish

No Sinclair ZX Spectrums? o_0
    Very nice though :D
    If only I were allowed do something similar..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Lovely setup you have dude, very nice! PC Engine or NES, I would go with the NES next, cheaper and easier to source and quite iconic looking imo. Should be able to pick up most of it's top games for cheap too I would imagine. Much respect for the lovely looking newer model C64! :D

P.S. Those speakers either side of the tv aren't level, would bug me looking at them all day. :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

No CDi - No respect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,906 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Lovely setup you have dude, very nice! PC Engine or NES, I would go with the NES next, cheaper and easier to source and quite iconic looking imo. Should be able to pick up most of it's top games for cheap too I would imagine. Much respect for the lovely looking newer model C64! :D

P.S. Those speakers either side of the tv aren't level, would bug me looking at them all day. :p

I thought it was an Amiga!

Always nice to have a C64 around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭djsim101

@ Andrew76 That never bothered my now at all until now... (hammer and nail in hand)

@ Dale - just because you have plenty of Sinclair to hand....only kidding, and nes's :)

@ Steve SI - think your right, nes first, although been playing pc engine emulator lately and very impressed by the games :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,906 ✭✭✭Steve X2

djsim101 wrote: »
    @ Andrew76 That never bothered my now at all until now... (hammer and nail in hand)

@ Dale - just because you have plenty of Sinclair to hand....only kidding, and nes's :)

@ Steve SI - think your right, nes first, although been playing pc engine emulator lately and very impressed by the games :)

Think you meant Andrew, but I do agree with him. Grab the NES first but don't discount the PC Engine, it has a lot of very good games and a load of shmups if you like that sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Ignore them, PC Engine all the way! :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Ignore them, PC Engine all the way! :D

Hmmm, not sure your dodgy Jimmy Carr look-a-like "sports" game would be suitable for him and his daughter to play with. :pac:

@djism1: Just spotted the t-shirt stuck to the ceiling - anything interesting written on it?

Hey Andrew76, I have a few of em up, that was my stag one.

I also have a video games live one, but I will take a pic of my favourite one, I wore it the night after da wedding:)

BTW, whats a CDI :D @ Retr0gamer, only really started collecting about 2 years ago.

@ EnterNow - Thanks man, one of my favs after C64. Got a bomberman multitap for it a few weeks back, having a great laugh with that I must admit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

djsim101 wrote: »
    BTW, whats a CDI :D @ Retr0gamer, only really started collecting about 2 years ago.

A gateway to awesome!

I only found out recently what the I in CDI stands for, 'Don't buy it!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

The CDI is the main reason why you can't say "There's never been a bad Zelda game."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭Doge

Wow, that's a sweet collection you have there! Had no idea you had that much.

Did the 1541u arrive safely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 underpantshead

really sweet set up op. i am one of those (sad) guys that loves checking out game room set ups and someday soon i hope to have one of my own. anyone else willing to put up pics of their set ups? always great to get set up tips/decor ideas from other people. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

really sweet set up op. i am one of those (sad) guys that loves checking out game room set ups and someday soon i hope to have one of my own. anyone else willing to put up pics of their set ups? always great to get set up tips/decor ideas from other people. :)

Mine is up earlier in the thread, Ciderman should def put one up as his is the daddy of them all really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

I've a video up of mine. Check the YouTube link in my sig.

It has changed a bit though. I'm going to do another video or something soon. Love checking out game room snaps and stuff. Great craic!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

Nice setup, heres a link to the thread that has pics of everyone elses "Man Caves"

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055078178

I must put up some new ones actually ive a lot of new cr*p in there since i posted last.

Cool lads, thanks for all your comments, feel like im getting there now. Still though, will never finish, just keep collecting really, better than spending it on booze, fags, etc....oh wait....:pac:

Here is the other T - Shirt I was talking about, as I said, wore it on the after wedding party, thaught it was well cool, something different...thats me, bet ye would never get our first wedding dance song...and no..its not the bubble bobble theme tune :cool:

2dciqrk.jpg

@ waveform - I was going mad today, thinking it didnt arrive, but I forget it was shipping to the parents, I think it has arrived :) How are you getting on with yours????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭Doge

Absolutely great my friend!

Was up until 5am playing it last night! :eek:

I'll have to link you to some romsets off boards ;), the trained/cracked disk images get a bit annoying sometimes as you have have to hit either "Y" or "N" 20 times, then either Run Stop, Space, Return or an F key just to start the game.

The "No Intro" romset only has the original disk images so there's no messing around.

Next thing to do is build the Tape adapter, have only tried loading via the cartridge and serial port so far and works flawlessly.