Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If money was no object who would be your dream Irish manager

• 01-03-2012 11:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭

For me it would be Wenger, would love to see him having to manage a bunch of sloggers and see if he could impose some culture on Ireland's committed but agriculture style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

georgia salpa...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

Giovanni Trappatoni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Demba Ba

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The dream team

Father-Ted-007.jpg

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

José Mourinho, says Captain Obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Martin O'Neill - no manager is better at getting more out of a limited pool of players.

Always thought he was far more suited to international management than club management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

My dad.

Unfortuately he would care more about getting an opportunity to tell international media how overrated S Gerrard is despite his non involvement in what he is being asked about.

Still....twould be funny....

Outside of non reality there is nobody bar Il Trap that I would rather have at the helm of our team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Mike_Bassett_England_Manager_6208_Medium.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRCVpISNQrqgyga4pwdR1I4Q0y23ftr69625rJsoyablDMfz1PQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

El Diego. Only to see his inevitable freakout when he sees McGeady lose possession when he gets the ball. Probably wouldn't pick Paul Green either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Trap or Mourinho.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

The idea that Martin O Neill is a better manager than Trappatoni is laughable. His sides also play rubbish football also.

Very overrated manager. Surely you would want a footballing manager. Anyway money was no object, otherwise Trappatoni wouldn't be here.

There is no foreign manager better than trap that would come here. As for Irish linked, I would give the likes of Coyle, Hughton, O'Leary approaches after Trap leaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Jimmy Iovine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭AwayWithFaries

Me. I'm an awesome manager I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Guus Hiddink every day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,941 ✭✭✭✭CSF

I reckon O'Neill would be well suited also. Could I pick him ahead of Ferguson, Mourinho or Guardiola though? Nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Jimmy Iovine.

Thanks very much :D. So kind of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Jose Mourinho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

DB10 wrote: »
    The idea that Martin O Neill is a better manager than Trappatoni is laughable. His sides also play rubbish football also.

Very overrated manager. Surely you would want a footballing manager. Anyway money was no object, otherwise Trappatoni wouldn't be here.

There is no foreign manager better than trap that would come here. As for Irish linked, I would give the likes of Coyle, Hughton, O'Leary approaches after Trap leaves.

Think you've missed the point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Big Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

In all fairness it would be hard to beat our current man Trap. For our quality of players it would be impossible to look beyond Mourinho even though i cant stand the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

capello.........:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

O neil, or moyes . Managers who can get the best out of mediocre players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Sin City wrote: »
    Managers who can get the best out of mediocre players

Unlike Trap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

Martin O'Neill as already said above would be my and a lot of other peoples first choice. Also Chris Hughton isn't really going to break the bank to hire but I think he's a good manager and would be great for a post-Trap Ireland. Especially as we will probably lose a lot of our established players through international retirement around the same time he leaves.

Managers who can get the best out of mediocre players

Unlike Trap?

true, but trap will put better players behind arse licking ones , paul green is not good enough, especailly when young mccarthy is there

You think Trappatoni picks players because they kiss his arse? Seriously deluded.

Paul Green is **** yeah. So what, even the best manager have **** squad players, hes not a starter. As for Moyes or O'Neill. If thats your "dream" manager, well we are ****ed so.
    I'm a Moyes fan but his sides play turgid football as do O'Neills.
    There is no better manager at this style of play than Trap, bar Mourinho who is a pipe dream.

O'Neill or Moyes wouldnt come here I'd say. O'Neill is just flavour of the month in the Premier League in England. Hes even more negative than Trap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

Me. I'm an awesome manager I am.

My FM resumé speaks for itself :D

Jose cant win the champions.league with superstar.players what hope has he with our lot

Paul green should not be allowed near the pitch, we have.way better players.who are behind.him , how.do you explane his cameo last night ?

O'Neill or Moyes wouldnt come here I'd say. O'Neill is just flavour of the month in the Premier League in England. Hes even more negative than Trap.

Neither are fit to lace Traps jock strap.

Jose cant win the champions.league with superstar.players what hope has he with our lot

Paul green should not be allowed near the pitch, we have.way better players.who are behind.him , how.do you explane his cameo last night ?
    Hes a workhorse.

The same sort O'Neill loves as well. Cattermole at Sunderland comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

I wouldnt mind seeing someone like Hitzfeld or Low.

Hes a workhorse.

The same sort O'Neill loves as well. Cattermole at Sunderland comes to mind.
    We stay already have whelan and andrews for that

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Des

For the Delaney-Des progress meetings:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

Kate Upton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

You think Trappatoni picks players because they kiss his arse? Seriously deluded.

Paul Green is **** yeah. So what, even the best manager have **** squad players, hes not a starter. As for Moyes or O'Neill. If thats your "dream" manager, well we are ****ed so.
    There is no better manager at this style of play than Trap, bar Mourinho who is a pipe dream.

Well said, young man!

O'Neill brought Neil Lennon around with him like he was a designer pooch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Andy Roxborough or Berti Vogts for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Pat Dolan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Rafa Benitez
    Brian Cody
    Emilio Estevez of Mighty Ducks Fame
    Mickey (Rockys manager/trainer)
    Jimmy Barry-Murphy
    Coach Carter

But you can't look past Pat Dolan or Roddy Collins :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Rafa Benitez
    Brian Cody
    Emilio Estevez of Mighty Ducks Fame
    Mickey (Rockys manager/trainer)
    Jimmy Barry-Murphy
    Coach Carter

But you can't look past Pat Dolan or Roddy Collins :)

Or both.. The Dream Team!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Andy Roxborough or Berti Vogts for me!

I had to google him to check to see if he was still alive. He hasn't managed a team in 18 years-This isn't Liverpool we're on about here you know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Ireland do not have a style of play. Other than hang on for dear life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mick Wallace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

He had jobs before Real Madrid you know, look it up, you'll be pleasantly surprised. (Particularly with the trophy he won in both 2004 and 2010:pac:)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Mourinho, Hiddink, and Keane for the laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Gazza and Jimmy 5 bellies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Money no object you say??

harry_1809069b.jpg

It would be great craic altogether. We'd play nice football and the lads would all be happy out: No more stodgy pasta for a pre-match meal - bacon and cabbage all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Guus Hiddink without a doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

he's won the champions league twice, what are ye on about?