Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

police lights in car

• 29-02-2012 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭

How illegal is it to buy police lights off ebay and put them in your own car. Ones like for the dash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Why would u want to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

is it a show car or would it be used on the road ... are you on about full blue lights or flashing headlights... roof bar or covert ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

cena wrote: »
    How illegal is it to buy police lights off ebay and put them in your own car. Ones like for the dash

Very illegal...obviously, I'd have thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You are only permitted to have flashing lights on your vehicle (aside from the indicators smartarses!) if it's a work vehicle.

It's illegal to have any kind of flashing light on your vehicle which is visible to other road users.

If you went for a blue flashing light or a conversion of your headlights into flashing, you could also be prosecuted for the much more serious offence of impersonating a Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

seamus wrote: »
    You are only permitted to have flashing lights on your vehicle (aside from the indicators smartarses!) if it's a work vehicle.

It's illegal to have any kind of flashing light on your vehicle which is visible to other road users.

If you went for a blue flashing light or a conversion of your headlights into flashing, you could also be prosecuted for the much more serious offence of impersonating a Garda.

Unless you're Kieron "Wolfie" Ducie in which case you've nothing to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

ebay link? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

If you use them off the road they are legal but once you use them on the road it is illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

there are levels of illegality now?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Riskymove wrote: »
    there are levels of illegality now?:pac:

Sure, this is Ireland. It starts at "That's grand, biy!" and progresses up through "Ah here, Jaysis..." to "Come on now! Cop yereselves on, ta fcuk!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

I know someone who was done for having police lights in his car, was pulled at the side of the road, the lights confiscated and then given a hefty fine, a court appearance and a criminal record for Impersonating police. Not worth it IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

It's just asking for trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Is you a pulice mans?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Saw a big pickup the other day, older guy dropping off stuff in a trailer, blue strobes built into his grille and /mirrors/. Couldn't have been cheap. How thick do you have to be?

Seamus, what's the actual legislation on flashing lights? I've always wondered about the legality of altering standard lighting to alternating heads as an alternative to simple flashing to signal overtaking, move those outside lane loolahs out of the way. I know if it isn't already illegal it soon would be, but I've often wondered what line a Garda would take if he saw it.

Would it be actually covered under the law, or would a Garda have to stretch the law a little, as they sometimes do in these cases. (I'm thinking along the lines of citing for dangerous driving when nothing concrete is available. And the old reliable Offenses Against The State Act? :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

dahamsta wrote: »
    Seamus, what's the actual legislation on flashing lights? I've always wondered about the legality of altering standard lighting to alternating heads as an alternative to simple flashing to signal overtaking, move those outside lane loolahs out of the way. I know if it isn't already illegal it soon would be, but I've often wondered what line a Garda would take if he saw it.
    It's specifically illegal.
    SI 189/1963
    Restrictions on flashing lights.
    42. No lamp (other than direction indicators) fitted to a vehicle shall show or be constructed or adapted so as to be capable of showing a flashing light unless such light is invisible to persons outside the vehicle.

Interestingly, the same S.I. also states that Gardai, ambulances, etc are exempt from this rule, only if the flashing light is blue and at least five feet from the ground.

But this may have been changed in later S.I.'s to allow flashing headlights, grill lights, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

There's a wine colored mondeo I see up and down the m50 now and again. The fella drving it flashes his headlamps on and off thinking he is a garda or something and giggling with his buddy in the passanger seat. Twice he drove up my ass In the over taking lane and done this to me. He timed his flashes on and off maybe 7 times obviously trying to impersonate a garda. It's a late Mk3 titanium spec mondeo with 0Z style wheels. I'd love to have had an in car recorder so i could report the fool.

It's specifically illegal.
    SI 189/1963

Thanks Seamus, I thought that might be the case. I'll just have to wait for the Koenigsegg. ;)
    mondeo wrote: »
    There's a wine colored mondeo I see up and down the m50 now and again. The fella drving it flashes his headlamps on and off thinking he is a garda or something and giggling with his buddy in the passanger seat. Twice he drove up my ass In the over taking lane and done this to me. He timed his flashes on and off maybe 7 times obviously trying to impersonate a garda. It's a late Mk3 titanium spec mondeo with 0Z style wheels. I'd love to have had an in car recorder so i could report the fool.

Ok, I'll bite: I trust you were in the overtaking line to actually overtake, and not doddling along out there just because everyone else was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

I have seen this dude aswell, I've spotted him in the bus lanes/HS in the morning a few times always booting along . He has the fake aerials on top that look nothing like the standard. I took and picture of him once, on an old phone. Someday he'll flash the wrong type of car

dahamsta wrote: »
    Thanks Seamus, I thought that might be the case. I'll just have to wait for the Koenigsegg. ;)

Ok, I'll bite: I trust you were in the overtaking line to actually overtake, and not doddling along out there just because everyone else was?

Ye I was over taking on both occasions.

Excellent. He's just an ahab so. :)

........... He timed his flashes on and off maybe 7 times obviously trying to impersonate a garda. ..............

Don't Garda vehicle lights flash alternately, ie lhs rhs rather than just on and off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Dont its illegal and you will look like a spa.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Don't Garda vehicle lights flash alternately, ie lhs rhs rather than just on and off?

Ye they do flash alternatively.

This was no garda anyways, just a sh!t head thinking he was one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Illeagle

Sorry for digging up an old thread, just made an account as I'm very interested in this idea, I was thinking of doing the same myself, but I'm unsure if the law

"Restrictions on flashing lights.
    42. No lamp (other than direction indicators) fitted to a vehicle shall show or be constructed or adapted so as to be capable of showing a flashing light unless such light is invisible to persons outside the vehicle."

Means you could have exterior lights as long as they are off on public roads, and thus not in public view-or do these have to be interior lights aren't visible outside the vehicle?
    Many thanks for your help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Illeagle wrote: »
    Sorry for digging up an old thread, just made an account as I'm very interested in this idea, I was thinking of doing the same myself, but I'm unsure if the law

"Restrictions on flashing lights.
    42. No lamp (other than direction indicators) fitted to a vehicle shall show or be constructed or adapted so as to be capable of showing a flashing light unless such light is invisible to persons outside the vehicle."

Means you could have exterior lights as long as they are off on public roads, and thus not in public view-or do these have to be interior lights aren't visible outside the vehicle?
    Many thanks for your help!

yes you can have it on private land only, nowhere near the public.

they can be fitted to the car on a public road but use a light flashes then its full on illegal.

not worth it in any way.

just because you have a "D" reg mondeo or avensis doesnt mean you'll get away with it either, garda reg's are recorded and noted. another garda can run a reg in seconds to catch you out,

and just because you have blue lights flashing does not mean you avoid speed cameras, again all recoreded on the reg plate and nothing to do with the lights !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

if you must have them just download the app "police lights", install it on an IPAD on full brightness and drive around at night.....it will still be illegal but....if it helps get it out of your system :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭serious3

so let me get this straight, you'll give out about the guards checking tax, speed trapping, pulling lads over for nothing and yet you want to put lights on your car to make it look like a guarda vehicle......how ironic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Come on guys ... maybe he has another job we don't know about:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSO7E6gh1PNLn_nm9VEayc_4JZgbOnsr434e2Zhb6vgXrldljIIBw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Why are people so handicapped!!? Had a capper in a skoda felicia do this to me last year on the m7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

kona wrote: »
    Why are people so handicapped!!? Had a capper in a skoda felicia do this to me last year on the m7.

wtf is wrong with you?
    A capper?

That's a disgusting comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Kona infracted.

If someone wants to know the legalities of fitting police lights into a non-police car I'm sure the lads in Emergency Services forum can help...
    I'm arresting this thread.