Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How high (or low as the case may be) of a running level would this be.

• 27-02-2012 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭

Here's my story.

The October before last I ran / walked in parts the 5 mile race in the phoenix park in a time of 49min. I subsequently fell completely off the wagon and lost all semblence of fitness. I put on quite a bit of weight and decided in January to get up of my fat arse, lose some weight and start running again.

I'm using a couch to 5k app on the iphone and am 6 weeks in - managed to run 20 minutes in one go on Friday averaged out at around 8.5kmph. I'm well aware that this level of running would be best described as amatuer if not worse :)

I have set myself a goal of running this Octobers 5 mile race in sub 40 minutes. I want to smash my old time and be at a place fitness wise that is a big improvement on the 2010 me. This would mean running a min of 12kmph for 40 minutes which is double my best run so far and 50% faster again. I'm currently 15.5 stone but this is coming off me at a rate of 2-3lbs a week.

I'm wondering how realistic is this time. Could anyone do it, would it be considered a decent time etc ?

(Don't get me wrong btw - I AM going to hit this time at the very feckin least but it it's too easily achievable I will be aiming lower !)

Thanks for your thoughts on it in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

OP, from the information you've given us, I think that 40 minutes is a good target for you. It's definitely not too easy but it's certainly achieveable.

I hope not to insult anybody by saying that 40 minutes for 5 miles is not very fast, but it will only be done by somebody who has been doing some consistent running for a few months. After a few months of an injury layoff after my first marathon, where I would've been capable of running 5 miles in under 35 minutes, I could barely run 5 miles in 45 minutes. So, it does take a bit of fitness, make absolutely no mistake about that.

Did you ever have much of a background in running or are you totally new to it? I'd advise on getting into training slowly but steadily. Don't try and do too much too soon, as you'll end up injured and demotivated. You've given yourself a realistic, long-term goal so you can make it happen. If you find as you get closer to the time of the race that the target may be too soft, instead aim for sub 38 or whatever. Best of luck with your goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I finished couch25k in November/December 2009, and scraped under 40 minutes at the Sportsworld 5 mile in May the next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I have set myself a goal of running this Octobers 5 mile race in sub 40 minutes...
    I'm wondering how realistic is this time. Could anyone do it, would it be considered a decent time etc ?

(Don't get me wrong btw - I AM going to hit this time at the very feckin least but it it's too easily achievable I will be aiming lower !)

Thanks for your thoughts on it in advance.

No point beating around the bush, its not a decent time, anyone of moderate fitness should be able to better it. Since you are setting your sights on an October race, you should be looking to run much faster, anywhere from 30-35 mins for the 5 miles, FWIW. Best of luck, you're doing the right thing in getting fit for a 5 mile race 8 months away (as opposed to the many who ask "could I run a marathon in 3 months?").

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

No point beating around the bush, its not a decent time, anyone of moderate fitness should be able to better it. Since you are setting your sights on an October race, you should be looking to run much faster, anywhere from 30-35 mins for the 5 miles, FWIW. Best of luck, you're doing the right thing in getting fit for a 5 mile race 8 months away (as opposed to the many who ask "could I run a marathon in 3 months?").
    I think sub 7min miles by October may be setting the bar a bit high. From your post OP, you have'nt actually got to 5 miles running yet so that should be your first goal, then you will have a idea of a finishing time in the 5 mile race. You need to get the miles in your legs before you start setting time goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

For the vast majority of people on boards we're only ever racing against ourselves. Doesn't matter how slow/fast it is, the important thing is to start training and keep trying to improve. Personally I think that your target sounds like a good one, the important thing is to be sensible with your training and keep running regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Going by the results of this years 5 mile race in the park.

30 minutes would place in the top 90 !
    35 minutes in the top 435
    40 minutes in the top 1300

I really don't think even with the best of determination and intentions I could place in the top 100 of a race like that when competing against established runners. :D Would also seem a little stretch to make top 400-500 but then again maybe not that many serious runners enter the 5 mile ???

40 minutes would have placed in the top 25% which seems quite reasonable to me now that I've thoroughly looked into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Going by the results of this years 5 mile race in the park.

30 minutes would place in the top 90 !
    35 minutes in the top 435
    40 minutes in the top 1300

I really don't think even with the best of determination and intentions I could place in the top 100 of a race like that when competing against established runners. :D Would also seem a little stretch to make top 400-500 but then again maybe not that many serious runners enter the 5 mile ???

40 minutes would have placed in the top 25% which seems quite reasonable to me now that I've thoroughly looked into it.
    Don't place limits on yourself, The main thing to progress in running is consistancy, if you set yourself a target of been getting out the door and doing the training the times will come.
    I was in the same boat a couple of years ago ran 49 mins for 5 miles and 62/3 for 10k. I'd hope to be looking at been in the top 400 now. Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Id agree with some and say 40mins could be a bit soft. You've heaps of time to October! Id say just get out there, keep it consistent and see how it goes. If the weight keeps falling off and you stay consistent 40mins should be easy enough but you wont really know until you're a bit into it. Best of luck with it, why not keep a training log here to seek advice and encouragement from others? If i were you i'd not set a time to aim for in October until July/August. You'll have a much better idea around then. TO keep motivation up why wait to race until then? Maybe pick a few intermediate shorter races (5k's etc) to keep the interest there as i know it can be hard to focus on 1 thing so far away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

It doesn;t matter how agressive or soft the target seems to others, its your target.

If do make your target of 40mins for 5miles, lots of people will do it faster than you and lots more will do it slower than you.

I think that 40minutes for 5miles is a good target for you to have at the moment, but October is a long way off. If your training goes well, you can ( and should) revise the target.

Set intermediate goals, every 8 weeks, and enter a few races.
    The St Patricks weekend 5K could be a good start, then the Terenure 5 miles in May.

The only important thing is that you are motivated to keep going.

Good luck and enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Embarrassing movement of the goal posts. Seems what I thought was on every October is actually on in June. It was / is the 5 mile in the Phoenix park I ran before and will be running again this year.

I never thought of doing a public training log until it was suggested earlier in the thread. I think it would be a great motivator and interesting to see how close peoples thoughts were to reality time wise (will put one up tomorrow when at a pc and have thought of a good title)

Considering the goal posts just moved by 3 months :D anyone want to change their opinions ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Stop thinking about times and beating pbs. The worst thing you could do is judge yourself off what other people think is fast or slow.

Around the time of the race you'll know better than anyone here what time will be realistic for you.

In other words just put your head down, work hard till the race and you'll have your answer in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

By reference to some of the previous post, i am an utterly c.r.a.p runner...but i am proud of what i have achieve to date: 7 marathons, 2 half ironman, and few olympic tri.
    They are a lot of people ahead of me, and a lot of people behind me when i finish a race. But you can't judge anybody without fully understanding their background.

Fair play, Pageant Messiah, you are on the right track. Consistency and structured training (e.g. mixed of speed work, hill work, long slow session) is the key to YOUR success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

I don't think there's any real need to change the goalposts too much with the time target. At the end of the day, it's a target and if you don't reach it, you will be motivated to keep training and get it the next time. It might actually be better if you don't reach it in one sense. I missed out on a target time in a marathon in April 2008 by 21 seconds that for one reason or another, I didn't actually achieve until February 2011. But, it might've been the making of me as a runner.