Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Current costs for a wedding band / DJ

• 27-02-2012 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭

We're looking for a band for our wedding reception, just want to get an idea of the average cost people are paying for their band and DJ, if included.

I've been quoted 1600€ for a really excellent band, excluding DJ, that includes travel costs - approx 200km each way.

What are other people paying or have paid in last 12 months for

a) just the band cost or
    b) band that provides DJ also

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

We paid about that for a band and then I think the DJ was about 250 quid for a couple of hours. Those prices were standard with the bands we checked out last year, also got married last year. It was some of the best money we spent, two couples at our wedding booked our band after seeing them at our wedding because they were so good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

€1600 is good considering they have to travel. If you love them then definitely go with them. We're paying a good bit more than that but we're happy to pay it because the band is fantastic.

If they don't have a DJ included then ask them if the have a DJ that they work with regularly. Our band work with a DJ regularly and as a result were able to get us a fantastic deal with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭wildflower

hi, we booked our wedding band for nov- cost 3100. pricey i know but they are unreal and they are doing ceremony, reception and dj. could knock off 600 if we didnt want a 5 piece band. 1600 sounds fantastic if u know the band are good- id def go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

We got band (from dublin to Athlone) + ceremony piper + DJ for £1600

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

1600 sounds like a very good deal, we paid a lot more than that, something like 2500 with dj.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Band and Dj 2grand, think that's around the norm so your price is good esp considering the distance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭clint_silver

your cost is the norm, 1600 without a DJ is about right.

Im on the entertainment side, I wrote a post on this recently so I'll just copy and paste here..

Theres a number of bands in in each rough price bracket.

600-1000e (usually 2 or 3 pieces)
    1000-1500e (usually 3-4 pieces who are either starting or not getting gigs)
    1500-2400e (4-6 piece bands usually of the higher quality variety, but higher quality not guaranteed)
    2400+ Usually in-high demand bands, big brass sections, big venues, showbands.

the price bands charge is in proportion to how much in demand they are. One 4 piece might charge 1200, another might charge 2000. Are they worth it? Youll only really know on your wedding night but you have to make a best guess when booking them. You generally get what you pay for, as in theres a reason one band charges higher then another, its because someone will pay the price asked. The market finds its own rate over time here.

You'll pay more for a long established band with a large setlist of songs they know work rather then songs they think will work. the poorer bands will trump out the same songs from the same setlist, if the set is hitting a lull and noone reacts, they dont have the fallback of years playing to change it and even sometimes dont even care whether people dance or not as theyve already got paid. Generally the longer a band has been about the better your chances are theyll be "great" rather then "just ok". After youve paid 4 figures for the music, you'd expect it to be "great".

Thats not to say there isnt great up and coming bands but they'd be charging appropriately, you have to find these bands, you gotta go out to pubs and weddings and make a choice based on budget and chance that the band arent going to let you down on the night with not being able to react to the crowd. 1 or 2 online recommendations should be treated with a pinch of salt, if you look in the bands thread, EVERY band were "brill" and "had the dancefloor full all night". I know some of those bands really are great, but also some of them would make you leave the room so youd have to question why someone put "brill" up. If you dont have a first hand recommendation, look for multiple recommendations for a band online, its usually an indicator theyre worth a view at least.

The work is seasonal, hefty discounts can be had for a weekday wedding off season. e.g a saturday in july or august can be booked ten times over for popular bands so they can charge top dollar. Ask them will they do a wednesday in january for half that price and you might get a yes as theres very little chance of that being booked elsewhere.

Most bands will provide an additional afterband DJ service at a cost of anything from 200 up to 400 depending on who's doing it and how much they care and how good they are. Some of these are awful, some of these are great, you have to see and hear them in action. Talk to them, ask what equipment and lighting theyre using, do they use laptops or cds, do they take requests, have they uptodate chart music?

All night DJs will charge anything from 450-600. All day and night DJs seem to charge anything from 600-900. Some people have no problem with an all day and night DJ, others dont. Totally up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Most bands will provide an additional afterband DJ service at a cost of anything from 200 up to 400 depending on who's doing it and how much they care and how good they are. Some of these are awful, some of these are great, you have to see and hear them in action. Talk to them, ask what equipment and lighting theyre using, do they use laptops or cds, do they take requests, have they uptodate chart music?

All night DJs will charge anything from 450-600. All day and night DJs seem to charge anything from 600-900. Some people have no problem with an all day and night DJ, others dont. Totally up to you.

Some great advice here but I would be asking whether a wedding dj has the musical knowledge/back catalogue to cover the 50s - 90s (if required) aswell as the recent chart stuff which is easy to keep up with these days and which a fellow chancing his arm would be able to acquire without much fuss. Laptop or cds? - shouldn't matter as long as the equipment is good (It can be easier to find a song on laptop imo.) My main question would be how many weddings the dj has done and to ask for references. Also, the dj's pa system should be appropriate for the room and include bassbins if necessary for those bigger venues commonly used for Irish weddings. Also find out if the disco lights are sufficent to cover the dancefloor. Its very easy to spend a few hundred in maplins on pa and lights that would suit a backroom in a pub but not a wedding venue. Another importnat thing is that the overall presentation of the rig is good - A bride could spend thousands dressing a venue and then a dj could come in plonk everything on a table, put the speakers on the ground and not put the lighting up high enough; looks awful. Someone that pays attention to all this will be the more expensive side of the coin and will have the experience to smooth any bumps that may come during the gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

your cost is the norm, 1600 without a DJ is about right.

Theres a number of bands in in each rough price bracket.

600-1000e (usually 2 or 3 pieces)
    1000-1500e (usually 3-4 pieces who are either starting or not getting gigs)
    1500-2400e (4-6 piece bands usually of the higher quality variety, but higher quality not guaranteed)
    2400+ Usually in-high demand bands, big brass sections, big venues, showbands.

Thanks man, useful info. The band I want typically have 4 or 5 members. I know some of them are in more than 1 band. I would most certainly catergorise them in the higher quality and high in demand. Therefore the price quoted sounds reasonable to me.

I'll ask them about a DJ or may source one closer to the venue, the hotel have list of guys who usually DJ for the weddings.

Enigma IE wrote: »
    Thanks man, useful info. The band I want typically have 4 or 5 members. I know some of them are in more than 1 band. I would most certainly catergorise them in the higher quality and high in demand. Therefore the price quoted sounds reasonable to me.

I'll ask them about a DJ or may source one closer to the venue, the hotel have list of guys who usually DJ for the weddings.

Its a good price for a good band if its a high season date.

I play in a band and DJ but take as much pride DJing as well I see both sides of the fence for hiring a DJ.

The argument for getting the band to provide the DJ is that

1. They may do it cheaper then a mobile DJ as they are there already

2. They'll play through the same equipment which does provide sound consistency and levels. Some mobile DJs do not have good equipment. Most band equipment would generally be of a higher standard due to what its needed for. Sweetie made a good point above on the equipment, I play in a band and have a 5000w rig, which doesnt necessarily mean I play at those levels but it does mean Im never found wanting in the bigger rooms. Ive then seen "hotel" DJs coming after me with 200w speakers and a single small gobo spinning light trying to fill a room with 250 people, even after theyve started I get asked when is the DJ coming on. Genuinely embarrased for them, these guys give the rest a bad name. I love seeing good gear.

3. Less setting up on the night. Most hotels arent a problem but depending on where it is, the DJ may need the band to finish before he can start putting up gear due to space restrictions. Ive seen waits of 20 minutes after band is finished.

Arguments for the dedicated mobile DJ

1. The band member who invariably does it isnt experienced enough to cater for "those bumps" that occur. bumps might be someone asking to play an old skool dance set, an 80s set for more then an hour. etc. can he control the floor for the 2-3 hours he'll be on, will he build the night up to finish well, how is he on the mike? You need to ask and see this.

2. DJ specific equipment, despite the bad guys turning up with cheap maplins level or rented gear, theres some guys with brilliant gear and take pride and delight in using it. theyre not what we call "bedroom" DJs. they know how and when to play songs just by looking at a dance floor. they can make an average night great, or a great night amazing. the bad guys can turn a so-so night into a VERY damp affair but band provided DJs can be good or bad at this too.

While I appreciate most people might not know the difference in the specific equipment they use, if you speak to whoever is doing it you'll get a feel very quickly for whether they care about what theyre doing, it may be some indicator. do they want to speak to you beforehand to find out what kind of music you want? that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

We're not having a band were just having a DJ. We're paying 700 for 9pm till 2am. We booked him through a proper music agency and he actually DJ's occasionally for a well known radio station.
    They obviously provide all equipment and lights etc, and the cost also includes getting him to and from the venue, which they take care of.

Most importantly, we get to meet with him beforehand to discuss playlists and we already know he will play the style Of music we want.

We're not having a band were just having a DJ. We're paying 700 for 9pm till 2am. We booked him through a proper music agency and he actually DJ's occasionally for a well known radio station.
    They obviously provide all equipment and lights etc, and the cost also includes getting him to and from the venue, which they take care of.

Most importantly, we get to meet with him beforehand to discuss playlists and we already know he will play the style Of music we want.
    not to make you sick but.....

Im at this 15 years or so, I DJ'd a wedding last year from 9-2 for 450e after taking a booking through an agency, by chance, I knew someone at the wedding so I found out the agent gave the couple a price of 750 and had taken 300e deposit. So that 300 was the agents cut.
    The 450 price included travel a 200km round trip on the night, included sound and lighting and I met the couple 2 times and mailed 3-4 times. the agent normally took 100. He chanced his arm at the 750 and the couple paid it but I take the price off the agent and he had said 450 to me. Night went great but I heard after that I was "expensive" which is not a comment I liked hearing because I know Im not. So words were had with the agent. Going direct will always see a discount.

Every DJ should meet you beforehand to suss out music, include their travel in their price and have ample sound and lighting for ANY room theyre playing, if they dont, no matter what price theyre charging, theyre not doing their job.

Moral of the story, meet the DJ beforehand, even if its the hotel DJ at 150-200e or part of a package. Youll know very quickly whether its worth it.

Sorry for rabbiting on about this in this thread but I genuinely care about this kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

clint_silver, not sure what we're doing with regards to a DJ / Playlist / just getting one of the band to do it yet but if you could PM me a quote for DJ'ing after the band for Sat 23rd Feb 2012 in the Riverside Park in Enniscorthy I'd appreciate it.

clint_silver - Dont worry I dont feel too sick! I figured the agency would be taking a cut, its not quite 300 in this case though. To be honest I'm just glad we got the guy we wanted, the music is going to be a very important aspect for us, we didnt really want a typical wedding DJ. We wanted someone who likes the music we like, and knows the artists back catalogues already, we didnt want to just give him a list of obscure bands and the DJ just throw them together. If he enjoys the kind of music we want too, then he will know how to play them better on the night.

Thats what I'm telling myself anyway :D

I would still be asking the questions outlined above by Clint and myself. I personally know quite a few radio djs and most of them wouldn't know one set of decks from another. There is also a new trend for celebrities/personalities to attempt djing and they often turn up at a gig without any prior knowledge and expect the resident to help them out. Recently a certain midlands resident with a great 'voice' did a set straight from a laptop without any dj gear whatsoever but his audience were a load of drunk students so he got away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

sweetie wrote: »
    I would still be asking the questions outlined above by Clint and myself. I personally know quite a few radio djs and most of them wouldn't know one set of decks from another. There is also a new trend for celebrities/personalities to attempt djing and they often turn up at a gig without any prior knowledge and expect the resident to help them out. Recently a certain midlands resident with a great 'voice' did a set straight from a laptop without any dj gear whatsoever but his audience were a load of drunk students so he got away with it.

+1 on the above and i've been in the mobile dj industry for 16 years.

I appreciate all the comments, but I can assure you we did our research. The guy we have hired is a very experienced and well known DJ, he has done sets at Oxegen, Electric Picnic and regularly plays numerous clubs.
    He's also the editor of a very succesful music magazine/website, so his knowledge of music is very good. I have n doubts what so ever about his capabilities.

Anyway, enough defending my DJ choice, I dont wanna hijack this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Shyboy

I appreciate all the comments, but I can assure you we did our research. The guy we have hired is a very experienced and well known DJ, he has done sets at Oxegen, Electric Picnic and regularly plays numerous clubs.
    He's also the editor of a very succesful music magazine/website, so his knowledge of music is very good. I have n doubts what so ever about his capabilities.

Anyway, enough defending my DJ choice, I dont wanna hijack this thread.

Ok, no worries then. As long as he has experience at weddings (which, believe me, is a complete different ballgame than clubs, festivals, etc.) and can cater for all of your guests, regardless of age, taste, etc. then perfect:)

Best Regards
    Shyboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭fuddy1

I was quoted anything from 1800-3000 from various wedding bands.A family friend is in a very popular long standing 5 piece wedding band & offered 'mates rate' of 1800 including DJ. Luckily for me it wasnt an issue cos the first thing i decided re: wedding was no band! Have been to a few weddings with terrible bands & have never really been a fan of the 'good' ones either. Getting married in small enough venue so its better for us just to have DJ. For 5 hours am paying a DJ 450. Got a discount cos wedding is on off peak day in off peak month. He has been playing weddings for 20 years & appears to have a great catalogue of music from '50's onwards. Will meet before to discuss our music tastes & will be able to submit online 'must play' and 'must not play' list. Fingers crossed its a great night, sometimes you just have to be lucky!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭frankspencer

as someone who dj's nationwide for weddings mainly I can tell you the main thing to ask for when booking is experiance and exactly what music you want, before the wedding I have had couples email me 5 pages of requests (many of which I would have played regardless) gives me time to prepare any songs which I might not have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭squeky

€3.400 we are paying for our wedding band inc DJ, i know its very expensive but they are amazing, have went to see them and was very happy with there performance and they read the crowd and i have been in touch with people who have got them before for there weddings and they said they were the best ever and the floor was filled all night and people were commenting about them for weeks and months after telling people about the band!!
    What i always wanted was a fab venue, fab food and a brilliant band and our bulk of cash went to these things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

we got a the band and dj for a grand. we really haggled

what kind of a band was it (young or old, how many members) and time of year and day of week was that on?

As Id said earlier you can get high season top bands for half price, mid week or at short notice as guys have to work.

The nearer it gets to a date, the more chance a band is booked, but also the better chance theyll do it cheaper if theyre not. Ask them will they do it for 1000 on a bank holiday in august 2 years from now and theyll say no, ask them will they do it tomorrow night and if theyre free, I guarantee you theyll say yes. And if they say no, I'll list you a bunch of top bands who would if they were! problem is, the closer a date gets, the greater chance that a band wont be free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Our band was 2650 - when I got the quote initially I nearly fell over in shock but when we went to see them I could justify spending it. They're flippin amazing and I cannot wait for the wedding to enjoy them. Then it was another 400 for the DJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I've seen a lot of wedding bands who provide the dj and the dj turns out to be someone from the band. They're usually nackered after playing for 2+ hours so they just sit back, change songs and they dont interact with the crowd.

Senna wrote: »
    I've seen a lot of wedding bands who provide the dj and the dj turns out to be someone from the band. They're usually nackered after playing for 2+ hours so they just sit back, change songs and they dont interact with the crowd.

You may have seen a bad DJ, but dont use the argument he played in the band beforehand to excuse it. 2 hours doesnt knacker you out unless youve got some sort of blood disorder.

A DJ is either good or bad. A DJ will either care or not. He will interact with the crowd or not. The fact he was playing in a band before he came on as a DJ doesnt change this.
    Using your argument for an all night DJ who started at 8, is he not knackered by 11 and still has to play til 2am?

You may have seen a bad DJ, but dont use the argument he played in the band beforehand to excuse it. 2 hours doesnt knacker you out unless youve got some sort of blood disorder.

A DJ is either good or bad. A DJ will either care or not. He will interact with the crowd or not. The fact he was playing in a band before he came on as a DJ doesnt change this.
    Using your argument for an all night DJ who started at 8, is he not knackered by 11 and still has to play til 2am?

No, I think what he was saying that the band wasn't using a Professional DJ, just a member of the band who was throwing on a few tunes. I know a few bands who used members of the band as the DJ after them and pretty much all of them now use a Pro DJ instead as they found the whole night too long.

Shyboy wrote: »
    No, I think what he was saying that the band wasn't using a Professional DJ, just a member of the band who was throwing on a few tunes. I know a few bands who used members of the band as the DJ after them and pretty much all of them now use a Pro DJ instead as they found the whole night too long.

So, brides (and grooms), if the band is supplying the DJ, make sure they are using a dedicated Pro DJ, not a member of the band who is staying on for a few hours:)

So what I got from that was that all dedicated Pro DJs are good, and all band member DJs are bad? And a Pro DJ? Thats quality. :D

Last 4 DJs that came on after my band where the bride hadnt booked me as the DJ.

1 had no lights "I dont bring lights" was his comment when I asked.
    1 had 200w rented tops in knightsbrook, 280 people.
    1 had a laptop, no backup cd player, no mixer, no mike. "not my job mate, Im only here to play some sounds, theyll be grand".
    1 had the best setup Ive ever seen, 4-5 grand worth of gear. He was great.

I say again, theres good and bad DJs everywhere. If you're a bride, go and listen and ask questions as outlined earlier.

So what I got from that was that all dedicated Pro DJs are good, and all band member DJs are bad? And a Pro DJ? Thats quality. :D

No, that's not what I am saying. The band's DJ could be a brilliant DJ if he is an experienced DJ (I say Professional - or Pro for short, meaning experienced) and I know many that are. And yes, there are many stand-alone wedding DJ's who don't quite make the cut. What I am saying is there are many bands using, a band member who has little, or no experience DJ'ing, as the DJ.

But, yes, I totally agree when you tell couples to make sure to go and hear the DJ just like they would do with the band:).

I know there are good Djs in bands like Clint and I myself do most of my gigs as part of a band package. I think a good rule of thumb is that if the Dj is being provided free or very cheap then try to see them in action and ask about their equipment and backup etc. as like everything in life you get what you pay for.

sweetie wrote: »
    I know there are good Djs in bands like Clint and I myself do most of my gigs as part of a band package. I think a good rule of thumb is that if the Dj is being provided free or very cheap then try to see them in action and ask about their equipment and backup etc. as like everything in life you get what you pay for.

Sorry, didn't mean any offence to you guys with the earlier posts as you are obviously both experienced DJ's that work with/as part of the band:).

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

our band is costing 300e and the is DJ free

it really does pay to have friends in the music industry:D:D

irishbird wrote: »
    our band is costing 300e and the is DJ free

it really does pay to have friends in the music industry:D:D

I paid 200, that was the bar tab for the lads, youre being done mate, Id go back and haggle for some seat covers. :D

@shyboy, theres no offence taken. As we're in the industry I think all we can do on here is inform those looking what to look out for where they might not otherwise. So we can say "make sure your DJ is a pro and these are the X,Y and Z things to look out for in a pro DJ". whether he plays in a band or drives up wearing a pink tutu beforehand doesnt matter as long as X,Y,Z is satisfied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I've got the band for the same deal as yourself for the band, clint, cover their bar tab :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

We got our DJ with the band, he's the sound guy for the band. Off the top of my head its 2,400 for 5 piece band and DJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Quebec Delta Mike

Hi folks,

Just curious, all those prices, are they including vat, and receipted?:D
    Just asking...!!!:rolleyes:

QDM

Hi folks,

Just curious, all those prices, are they including vat, and receipted?:D
    Just asking...!!!:rolleyes:

QDM

If you were "just asking", why the rolly eyes as though youve already convinced yourself of the answer?

any vendor should always give a receipt in some form or another to protect the person who paid the money. This is just common sense and if you aint getting a receipt, dont book.

VAT is only payable on services over 35k. most musicians pay tax on extra income each october rather then register for VAT as very few if any make that much as an individual. Or at least they should pay it if they dont want to get a knock on the door from an inspector, but thats not your problem.

Tell ya what, if you're booking a band, and youre REALLY concerned about it, and they say theyre paying tax if you ask them, ease your guilt and add ~20% on the bill to make doubly sure and say "this is for the tax lads, just in case". They wont say no. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Quebec Delta Mike

Hi Clint,

Jeepers, glad I had the volume down....:eek:
    Sorry if I touched a nerve there...the emoticons are meant to convey mood, or humour, are they not? So cool down please.:cool:

The general issue of tax compliance is probably for another thread, but I had to ask, as the thread was very interesting to me, as a curious onlooker, that's all. I don't really care if bands or djs pay tax or not, that's between them and revenue.

Over and out.....

QDM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

The band we are thinking of getting is charging 2600 - no DJ included.
    I saw them at a friends wedding years ago and they were fantastic.
    Is this type of price fair for a wedding in April ?

Gamb!t wrote: »
    The band we are thinking of getting is charging 2600 - no DJ included.
    I saw them at a friends wedding years ago and they were fantastic.
    Is this type of price fair for a wedding in April ?
    Well how much do they charge in August? Are they high profile? Did you ask them when booking would they do it cheaper or include Dj? How many are in the band? Did you book through an agent?

If you've already agreed it, and it's this month, best not to think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

My band were around 2000. "The paddies".

They were brilliant!

1500-2500 is the going rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Beffy

I am dismayed by a lot of wedding bands out there for people that don't want swing/irish show band type music. Tacky white suits etc We found one we like but they are looking for over 3k!

Beffy wrote: »
    I am dismayed by a lot of wedding bands out there for people that don't want swing/irish show band type music. Tacky white suits etc We found one we like but they are looking for over 3k!

define what you mean by dismayed, not sure its clear. do you mean you dont want the usual cheesey white suit type band? are you looking for an indie/rock type band? LOTs of them out there. and nowhere near the 3k youve been quoted.

see my earlier post on pricings, if its not in this thread its near the end of the sticky on the bands. (I work with a band).

as always, did you go through an agent? how many are in the band? what time of year? go direct to the band if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Beffy

define what you mean by dismayed, not sure its clear. do you mean you dont want the usual cheesey white suit type band? are you looking for an indie/rock type band? LOTs of them out there. and nowhere near the 3k youve been quoted.

see my earlier post on pricings, if its not in this thread its near the end of the sticky on the bands. (I work with a band).

as always, did you go through an agent? how many are in the band? what time of year? go direct to the band if you can.

Sorry my post wasn't very clear. There just seems to be a lot of the cheesey type wedding bands out there. No I didn't go through an agent. There are 5 in band, wedding is in March. I've looked at a lot of wedding band websites, looked at videos and most of them I scramble to turn off. Just makes me cringe.

Beffy wrote: »

Sorry my post wasn't very clear. There just seems to be a lot of the cheesey type wedding bands out there. No I didn't go through an agent. There are 5 in band, wedding is in March. I've looked at a lot of wedding band websites, looked at videos and most of them I scramble to turn off. Just makes me cringe.
    Yes, some of them are cringing but they're usually very unrepresentative of what the band can do. 2 of the best bands I know on the circuit have 2 of the worst promo vids. They know who they are!!!. I always say talk to the band, look at their set lists, ask do they play pubs as well as this where youll see a band at their most comfortablest if that's the type of band you want. But remember if a band didn't play cheesey type music they wouldn't be working very much as 90% of weddings are where the bride says "will you play waltzy music to get auntie Joan up ". If you say no, you're not eating that night. but if you ask the same band to not do the cheese they'll be more then Happy to oblige.

Well how much do they charge in August? Are they high profile? Did you ask them when booking would they do it cheaper or include Dj? How many are in the band? Did you book through an agent?

Not a bad idea
    Yes
    No waiting to see one of their shows again and will ask in person rather than email or phone.
    6 or 7 I think
    No,their website
    Wedding is next year.

Gamb!t wrote: »

Not a bad idea
    Yes
    No waiting to see one of their shows again and will ask in person rather than email or phone.
    6 or 7 I think
    No,their website
    Wedding is next year.
    If they are hi profile, theres 6-7 in the band, if u get the Dj with it I think the price is about right.
    They will nearly definitely not talk about money at a gig.
    The reason it's about right is as I've said many times before on here, thats the price they've found that people will pay for them. If you don't pay it someone else will.
    If they weren't worth it you'd know very quickly if you seen other bands to compare.
    Still ask will they do it for less. No harm. They can only say no.

If they are hi profile, theres 6-7 in the band, if u get the Dj with it I think the price is about right.
    They will nearly definitely not talk about money at a gig.
    The reason it's about right is as I've said many times before on here, thats the price they've found that people will pay for them. If you don't pay it someone else will.
    If they weren't worth it you'd know very quickly if you seen other bands to compare.
    Still ask will they do it for less. No harm. They can only say no.
    Yeah it wont hurt to ask -Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭andylennon11

Can anyone recommend a dj for ballinasloe wedding? I'm havin no band so he ll have to be a brilliant one who gets the crowd going and is able to interact with them. I'm on a budget but would like an experienced one, I appreciate any help

I cant suggest anyone down that far but just to set some expectation.
    A brilliant DJ who interacts with the crowd will do so as he is good at his job so will know his worth and will charge accordingly.
    If you seen a couple of bad ones and then get a good one you'll know why they charge more so its up to you after that.
    If youre prepared to pay the 500-700 mark for an all night DJ youll have your pick of most of the countrys top guys who will travel there. If your budget doesnt stretch that far, did you talk to the hotel who will have a list of guys who play there regularly? The locals guys wouldnt charge you extra for travel.
    If you're on a really low budget, say 200e, like anything there's guys that will do it, but you cant be really picky about their gear or crowd interaction skills (mic skills) or floor reading.
    Talk to hotel, hit weddingsonline, donedeal, buyandsell, gumtree, theyre more regional ads will show you a few guys..