Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just how good is Tony Mangan

• 24-02-2012 8:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭

6 of the best(ish) ultra/endurance athletes around tried to beat his 48hr record on a threadi..........FAILED...
    http://www.ultrathletic.fr/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

i seen tony set this record up in longford,i remember watching him and he still had 20hours left,i was staying in a hotel around the corner and coulnt sleep all night thinking hows he getting on,first thing in the mornig i went to the shop and got him a can of coke and some cookie bisscuits,i thought he would love some suger,he thanked me for them but he didnt eat them or the coke,i watched him for the last hour and a half,i remember his mother having to drag him off the tredmill and to the toilet,them i watched him just come to life with a hour to go,he just picked up the pace,he was smiling his head off looked like he could do it again,i dont think it will ever be beaten,hes oldschool and irish,dont make em like that anymore:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

ultraman1 wrote: »
    6 of the best(ish) ultra/endurance athletes around tried to beat his 48hr record on a threadi..........FAILED...
    http://www.ultrathletic.fr/

A club mate of mine. What is his record? 410km or 415km. It's crazy stuff. The mental side of running that far is hard enough, without throwing in the boredom of doing it stationary and indoors.

I had the pleasure of acting as one of his wingmen during the early morning hours when he set his first 24/48 record. Was gas, we were locked inside the RDS and security locked the bathroom so I had nowhere to refill his water bottle. Running out of water wasn't an issue. I had to break out of the RDS hall but the spar across the road was also closed. Ended up on the RDS pitch looking for a water tap which I duly found. Not before 2 RDS security guards nearly killed me though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Would have loved to see Tony during that record attempt.

The man has the most can do attitude imaginable it seems. His blog from his world run has some gas stuff.

his blog is some read alright,and i think hes keeping all the good bits for the book,cant wait to read that,when you read his daily blog and c some of the hardship he goes through on his world solo run,you get to c what the man is made of for sure,hes a legend.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

He's great and all, but not worthy to clean the footwear of David Gillick, Derval O'Rourke, Deirdre Ryan or Joanne Cuddihy :D:cool:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

04072511 wrote: »
    He's great and all, but not worthy to clean the footwear of David Gillick, Derval O'Rourke, Deirdre Ryan or Joanne Cuddihy :D:cool:;)

This has to be one of the most pathetic posts I've ever seen on boards.

I would imagine that David Gillick, Derval O'Rourke, Deirdre Ryan or Joanne Cuddihy would be absoultely appalled if they were to discover that they are being referenced by you in an effort to denigate a great Irish athlete. I've yet to meet any top-level athlete who would be anything other than disgusted at that.

Tony Mangan is a superb athlete, and a great representive of Irish athletics. He lives and breathes running like no other person I've ever met. He is an inspiration to many other athletes, both here in Ireland and around the world. And I very much count myself as one of those... and there are very few people I can say that about.

The only unworthy person here is you, and your pathetic attempt to denigrate someone you clearly don't know, and drag other more worthy athletes into your childish post.

What is you problem? Did an ultra-runner beat you up at school, or steal your lunch money or something? You really need to grow up.

i agree,i coulnt believe what <mod edit>he<mod edit> wrote,i was told once a story about him that a guy was having a hard time during a event in a atempt to beat one of his world records,i think he was close to quitting,and tony helped him through his bad batch,and he went on to beat his record,that to says all i need to no about the man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Guys, I'm sure 5362354 was just trying to be funny. He's a short-distance guy

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Guys, I'm sure 5362354 was just trying to be funny. He's a short-distance guy

Exactly. 12345 would consider 24minutes a long distance run, never mind 48hours. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Some of the yarns about him are as legendary as his records. Never met him unfortunately, he must be some character.

Enduro wrote: »
    This has to be one of the most pathetic posts I've ever seen on boards.

I would imagine that David Gillick, Derval O'Rourke, Deirdre Ryan or Joanne Cuddihy would be absoultely appalled if they were to discover that they are being referenced by you in an effort to denigate a great Irish athlete. I've yet to meet any top-level athlete who would be anything other than disgusted at that.

Tony Mangan is a superb athlete, and a great representive of Irish athletics. He lives and breathes running like no other person I've ever met. He is an inspiration to many other athletes, both here in Ireland and around the world. And I very much count myself as one of those... and there are very few people I can say that about.

The only unworthy person here is you, and your pathetic attempt to denigrate someone you clearly don't know, and drag other more worthy athletes into your childish post.

What is you problem? Did an ultra-runner beat you up at school, or steal your lunch money or something? You really need to grow up.

You ultra guys are a touchy bunch. Notice my smiley faces beside my comments.

But let's be real here, the guys who reach the top of track and field events are in a different league to people who excel at niche events like 48 hours! He make be great at what he does, but the amount of people who do what he does is not very high on a worldwide scale.

I was having a bit of a laugh. Everybody knows I prefer track and field to road running and ultras. Lighten up.

But let's be real here, the guys who reach the top of track and field events are in a different league to people who excel at niche events like 48 hours! He make be great at what he does, but the amount of people who do what he does is not very high on a worldwide scale.

I was having a bit of a laugh. Everybody knows I prefer track and field to road running and ultras. Lighten up.
    None of the people you mentioned have reached the top of track and field at world level. In fact they are a long way off. Any of the atheletes you mentioned would be delighted to reach an olympic final and content with a semi. To be, as you say,real.

Oh the hypocrisy. If somebody made a similar comment regards our race walkers you'd be up in arms. That's a niche event in it's own right also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

ultrapercy wrote: »
    None of the people you mentioned have reached the top of track and field at world level. In fact they are a long way off. Any of the atheletes you mentioned would be delighted to reach an olympic final and content with a semi. To be, as you say,real.

David Gillick, Derval O'Rourke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

None of the people you mentioned have reached the top of track and field at world level. In fact they are a long way off.

Derval O'Rourke is a world champion indoors and was 4th in the world outdoors and 2 European silver medals. David Gillick has been in a world final, finishing 6th, not to mention his 2 European gold medals.
    Any of the atheletes you mentioned would be delighted to reach an olympic final and content with a semi.

How can you speak on behalf of those athletes?

Derval O'Rourke - 4th in the World 2009 (not to mention all her European and Indoor medals)

David Gillick - 6th in the World 2009 )along with indoor gold medals)

Deirdre Ryan - 6th in the World 2011

Joanne Cuddihy - 11th in the World 2007

Fair going in the most highly competitive of sports.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Mangan

Look at Tony Mangan’s PB’s. Check out all the shorter distances from Marathon down. Those times are nothing at an elite level. In fact there would be people here on Boards who could do better. Generally speaking people who can’t compete in shorter distances gravitate to niche events like the Ultra distances. If Tony Mangan could have qualified for the Olympics then he would not be doing 24 hours. No doubt about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Oh the hypocrisy. If somebody made a similar comment regards our race walkers you'd be up in arms. That's a niche event in it's own right also.

Yes there’s less race walkers in the world than there is runners, but the amont of events (2 for men, 1 for women) reflect that, so the competitiveness is still fierce.

Jesus Christ I can't believe I'm on here defending ultrarunning as it doesn't really interest me. However mangan is world class at the events he competed in full stop.

Yes there’s less race walkers in the world than there is runners, but the amont of events (2 for men, 1 for women) reflect that, so the competitiveness is still fierce.

Doesn't address my comment. Your post is hypocritical wrt your general stance.

This thread really proves what I always suspected. That Ultra runners are delusional and live in their own little bubble. Firstly the ignorance towards O’Rourke, Gillick et all is astonishing. And secondly if you really think Tony Mangan would be the best in the world if the Kenyans cared a jot about Ultra running then you are seriously living in the clouds.

How many kenyans race walk?

The race walk is a technical event, as well as endurance. There is no evidence to suggest that they would excel in an event of technical nature. Maybe they would, but it is not certain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Show a bit of a respect. This is a thread celebrating a world class Irish athlete.

You can make the same petty arguments you're making about virtually any event. They wouldn't hold up then either. Make a new thread rather dragging this off topic.

The race walk is a technical event, as well as endurance. There is no evidence to suggest that they would excel in an event of technical nature. Maybe they would, but it is not certain.

Using your rationale maybe they aren't suited to running for 2 days continuously either then. Maybe europeans have a genetic endurance advantage that is different from their speed endurance advantage.

Do you really believe this?

Derval O'Rourke - 4th in the World 2009 (not to mention all her European and Indoor medals)

David Gillick - 6th in the World 2009 )along with indoor gold medals)

Deirdre Ryan - 6th in the World 2011

Joanne Cuddihy - 11th in the World 2007

Fair going in the most highly competitive of sports.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Mangan

Look at Tony Mangan’s PB’s. Check out all the shorter distances from Marathon down. Those times are nothing at an elite level. In fact there would be people here on Boards who could do better. Generally speaking people who can’t compete in shorter distances gravitate to niche events like the Ultra distances. If Tony Mangan could have qualified for the Olympics then he would not be doing 24 hours. No doubt about that.
    Fair going is not a world record or world leading. I have the greatest admiration and respect for all those athletes and their achivements.I also respect and admire Tony Mangan. Do you think undermining one persons achievement casts anothers in a better light? As for your comments regarding Tonys pbs at shorter distances and the competition hed face from Boardies, how many would match him over 24 or 48 hours? A few might beat him on the playstation too but thats not his thing either.What do you mean" people who cant compete in shorter distances"? People generaly gravitate towards what they excel at, that dosent mean one event is better than another.

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Show a bit of a respect. This is a thread celebrating a world class Irish athlete.

You can make the same petty arguments you're making about virtually any event. They wouldn't hold up then either. Make a new thread rather dragging this off topic.

Ok let's just pretend a man who can't even run a women's Olympic marathon qualifier is a world class athlete, and live in denial.

As I said, great at what he does, but not that many do what he does.

As you say hes great at what he does.

Fair going is not a world record or world leading. I have the greatest admiration and respect for all those athletes and their achivements.I also respect and admire Tony Mangan. Do you think undermining one persons achievement casts anothers in a better light? As for your comments regarding Tonys pbs at shorter distances and the competition hed face from Boardies, how many would match him over 24 or 48 hours? A few might beat him on the playstation too but thats not his thing either.What do you mean" people who cant compete in shorter distances"? People generaly gravitate towards what they excel at, that dosent mean one event is better than another.

A world record or world leading in 400m is a completely different beast to a similar achievement in obscure distances like 48 hours.

What I mean is, if Tony Mangan was capable of running Olympic qualifying standards he would not be running ultras. It's a no brainer really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

I think the comparison of ultra to race walking is a good one. Race walking really doesn't have much respect in track and field world. Great athletes but most people really don't respect the event or like it.

You just keep bringing me back to my race walking argument. Ive nothing to back it up but the numbers of ultrarunners must be equal or greater than race walkers. this is definitely the case in Ireland anyway. Over 70 people in national 50k a couple weeks back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

nerraw1111 wrote: »

Ok let's just pretend a man who can't even run a women's Olympic marathon qualifier is a world class athlete, and live in denial.

You can make that ridiculous and petty argument about any non major sport. Incredibly narrow point of view.

Your comment re race walking and Kenyans is beyond parody. Too technical my arse.

thirtyfoot wrote: »
    I think the comparison of ultra to race walking is a good one. Race walking really doesn't have much respect in track and field world. Great athletes but most people really don't respect the event or like it.

Agreed and that is my problem with mr digits. I've no real interest in either race walking or ultras but can recognise somebody who is the best at what they do.

So to get back on topic. Mangan is a legend in his event.

You just keep bringing me back to my race walking argument. Ive nothing to back it up but the numbers of ultrarunners must be equal or greater than race walkers. this is definitely the case in Ireland anyway. Over 70 people in national 50k a couple weeks back.

I’d be surprised if that was the case. Race walking in an Olympic event. Ultra running is not. It’an Olympic event for a reason. If there wasn’t many people doing such an event I don’t believe it would have Olympic status. Also thyere is just 1 walk event for women, and 2 for men. Compare this to the ridiculous amount of ultra events: 50k, 100k, 24 hours, 48 hours, indoor events, 50 miles, 100 miles, whatever else. I’d put an Olympic gold medal in racewalking far higher than any ultra achievement. Look how good Olga Kaniskina is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 thehack

Maybe thats because not many people can do what he does. i think it's you that live in the bubble as you seem to be angry and very critical at anyone that doesnt run your type of event.
    I've noticed that from your comments on lots of other threads.

thehack wrote: »
    Maybe thats because not many people can do what he does. i think it's you that live in the bubble as you seem to be angry and very critical at anyone that doesnt run your type of event.
    I've noticed that from your comments on lots of other threads.

Not really. Fair play to him. He’s brilliant at what he does. Just the amount of attention that guys who “go long” get on this forum compared to people who go short and fast (O’Rourke, Gillick etc) is significant. It’s always the same 10-15 people chatting about Ireland’s best athletes, but when somebody tries to run around the world then everybody is interested.

I may do sprints, but I love watching distance running and Sonia was my idol growing up, so not sure what you are getting at these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Race walking in an Olympic event.
    Synchronized swimming is an Olympic event.

As is sailing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Whether its 100m or 100Km that he is competing in, its the manner in which he competes, and the respect he shows for his fellow athletics/human beings that make him stand head and shoulders above us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

@04072511
    There is more to athletics than a sub 45sec 400m.

The guys that win events like the UTMB... that is serious fitness and racing mentality.

The training and conditioning needed to win an event like the UTMB makes training for a 400 seem like a joke.
    I've seen people train for both.
    Yes 400m training has people on the ground vommitting after reps - but clearly you have never seen a killer mountain racing session. Your belief that its just miles in the legs is as far off as saying that a 400m running just runs 400m reps of a track.

Show a bit of respect

Just the amount of attention that guys who “go long” get on this forum compared to people who go short and fast (O’Rourke, Gillick etc) is significant. .

A significant proportion (based on a poll a while back) of posters here are people who have come to running late and are generally in their 30s or 40s. They may start running to get fit and will naturally gravitate towards longer distances as they can relate to them. Track in Ireland is unforgiving and not welcoming. You need to get over this fact or move on and post on another athletics forum. I say this as a track and field fan.

ocnoc wrote: »
    The training and conditioning needed to win an event like the UTMB makes training for a 400 seem like a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Maybe the key problem here for some struggling to recognise the level of performance Tony has delivered(and continues on his current trip) is that shag all people have, or wish to ever, race an ultra distance event. And when I say ultra I don't mean 50k, I mean days on end, racing.

Everyone who ever took part in a school sports can have a feel for the effort required to complete a 400 or 800, at their pace. So they can understand to some degree the elite performances at those events.

If you don't want to try understand it, and if you don't wish to appear to have little respect for athletics in general, then don't comment about Tony/ultra running at all.

jeffontour wrote: »
    Maybe the key problem here for some struggling to recognise the level of performance Tony has delivered(and continues on his current trip) is that shag all people have, or wish to ever, race an ultra distance event. And when I say ultra I don't mean 50k, I mean days on end, racing.

Everyone who ever took part in a school sports can have a feel for the effort required to complete a 400 or 800, at their pace. So they can understand to some degree the elite performances at those events.

If you don't want to try understand it, and if you don't wish to appear to have little respect for athletics in general, then don't comment about Tony/ultra running at all.

Fully entitled to make comments about Ultra running. It is an open forum after all. Just pointing out some facts:

1) Ultra running is a niche sport with small participative numbers – FACT
    2) None of the most genetically gifted athletes (Kenyan’s, Ethiopians) compete in them – FACT
    3) Many people (there are exceptions) move towards ultras if they can’t compete to a high level in middle distance/ marathons. That is the definition of a niche. Find something that not as many know about/ do, and excel at it. It is no different in sport, as it is in business.

You have just inadvertently proven my point by saying that not many do what Tony does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Fully entitled to make comments about Ultra running. It is an open forum after all. Just pointing out some facts:

2) None of the most genetically gifted athletes (Kenyan’s, Ethiopians) compete in them – FACT
    3) Many people (there are exceptions) move towards ultras if they can’t compete to a high level in middle distance/ marathons. That is the definition of a niche. Find something that not as many know about/ do, and excel at it. It is no different in sport, as it is in business.

You have just inadvertently proven my point by saying that not many do what Tony does.

I think you have inadvertently confirmed that Tony Mangan = Rob Heffernan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

Thinking about it, I reckon more people run Ultra's than track!

thirtyfoot wrote: »
    I think you have inadvertently confirmed that Tony Mangan = Rob Heffernan.

The similarities between marathon running and ultra running are a hell of a lot closer than that of marathon running and 50k walk. Ultra running and marathon running are essentially the same thing, just one being much longer than the other. Racewalking on the otherhand is a completely different event to distance running, and is very technical (those who deny that have clearly never tried the event). I’m not convinced that a failed marathon runner could just hop into racewalking and win an Olympic medal. However if such a person decided to go into ultras he/she would have much more joy.

And seriously, Tony Mangan isn't in the same league as Rob Heffernan. Look at Tony Mangan’s 100km time. It scores about 500 points on the IAAF tables. That’s not world class. That’s an average club standard. Not even that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭RandyMann

I think the main problem people here are having with you is that you are making a distinction against Tony Mangan based on the events he competes in and the ultarunning fraternity rather than on his individual merit.
    It does not read well and you should give him the respect he deserves and if you can't then no comment would suffice.

ocnoc wrote: »
    Thinking about it, I reckon more people run Ultra's than track!

L O L