Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro12: Glasgow vs Leinster, Firhill, Sat 25th Feb 6:00PM, Live on TG4

• 24-02-2012 12:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

LEINSTER TEAM TO FACE GLASGOW WARRIORS...

The Leinster team to face the Glasgow Warriors in Saturday evening's RaboDirect PRO12 clash in Firhill (KO: 6pm, LIVE TG4) has been named...Isa Nacewa, who has now scored 105 points in 12 PRO12 games so far this season, continues in the back three alongside Fionn Carr and David Kearney, with Brendan Macken resuming his centre partnership with Colm O'Shea who started the 42-8 victory over Benetton Treviso two weeks ago.
    At half back, Ireland international Isaac Boss again partners Ian Madigan who is the tournament's second top try scorer this season with 6.

Meanwhile, Heinke van der Merwe joins Richardt Strauss and Nathan White in the front row with Mullingar second row Mark Flanagan set to earn his sixth Leinster cap when he lines up alongside Damian Browne at lock. Shane Jennings leads the team and is joined by Dominic Ryan and Leo Auva'a in the back row.

Andrew Conway takes his place amongst a replacements bench which also includes the likes of Eoin O'Malley and Devin Toner.

GLASGOW WARRIORS:

15: Peter Murchie
    14: David Lemi
    13: Alex Dunbar
    12: Troy Nathan
    11: Colin Shaw
    10: Ruaridh Jackson
    9: Henry Pyrgos

1: Ryan Grant
    2: Pat MacArthur
    3: Mike Cusack
    4: Nick Campbell
    5: Tom Ryder
    6: Rob Harley CAPTAIN
    7: Chris Fusaro
    8: Ryan Wilson

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Dougie Hall
    17: Jon Welsh
    18: Gordon Reid
    19: Rob Verbakel
    20: Calum Forrester
    21: Scott Wight
    22: Federico Aramburu
    23: Tommy Seymour

LEINSTER:

15: Isa Nacewa
    14: David Kearney
    13: Brendan Macken
    12: Colm O'Shea
    11: Fionn Carr
    10: Ian Madigan
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Nathan White
    4: Damian Browne
    5: Mark Flanagan
    6: Dominic Ryan
    7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN
    8: Leo Auva'a

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Aaron Dundon
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Jamie Hagan
    19: Devin Toner
    20: Jordi Murphy
    21: John Cooney
    22: Eoin O'Malley
    23: Andrew Conway

REFEREE: John Lacey (IRFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Andrew McMenemy, Graeme Marshall (both SRU), TMO: Jim Yuille (SRU)

Interesting selection from Leinster. Good to see a lot of Academy starts; O'Shea and Flanagan will be trying to impress, so they're 'ones to watch' for me. Also hopefully Ryan impresses and Conway shows something off the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

Toner has played as many minutes as anyone this year so not surprised to see him benched; feel sorry for Browne though having to play through the pain barrier!

Good to see Joe not afraid to give O' Shea and Macken another outing in what will be a much tougher test. O' Shea was fourth choice 12 for Ireland Under 20s last year behing Marshall, Hanrahan and Nat McDonald so his progress is particularly noteworthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Ryan made a big impact in this fixture last season though it was a poor performance by Leinster overall.

Looking forward to seeing Madigan vs Jackson. This will be a good test for Madigan, most of his games for Leinster have come at the RDS, if he can marshall the troops to a win in Firhill it'll be another important step in his development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

That's actually a pretty decent side. And we aren't massively lacking experience - the centre being the obvious exception. I'd be a little concerned about the second row. How much longer can Browne play through the pain? And I'm assuming we'll be seeing a Toner/Flanagan pairing in the second half then which could be lacking a little in the power/grunt work department.

Other than that we have a strong front row, a solid back row and a very potent back 3. Boss has been playing well for us lately and it'll be interesting to see how Madigan does over there.

When you look at our track record over there the last few years a lot has been made of the fact that we haven't won there in a while in the Celtic League. But most of those losses were tight enough affairs with only 1 big loss (2 years ago) when it really was men (& officials) against boys. If our pack can get the upper hand and our centres front up this is one we could win.

Heading over tomorrow morning so really looking forward to it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Legion2008

I thought they were targeting this game to bring Fitz back in .... he's not named in the squad, has there been a setback?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Disappointed that there is no mention of Fitzgerald but that is a strong team alright, looking forward to seeing more of two lads at centre.

The importance of Browne in maintaining Leinster's run of results deserves a mention; he's playing week in, week out while carrying an injury and I think he's been a key player for us. Great to see Flanagan getting another start too.

This is going to be tight but I think the 18-game unbeaten streak is going to come to an end tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Disappointed to say this but it looks like they've just asked Browne to take on for the team. He's putting himself through the absolute grinder these days. He needs surgery, is in pain on the field but is continuing. I suspect he's just going to get through to the arrival of Thorn and then he'll be given time off/surgery and Toner, Cullen and Thorn will close it out. He hasn't been spectacular this season by any stretch but he has been a real battler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

This is the first time this season where I'm not sure Joe has selected a team good enough to win.

I presume he reckons the 10 point cushion gives him license to take a few more risks.

We are weak in the centre and second row, and at the back we have Ryan only back from a long layoff, with no Ruddock or KvM in sight, and Auvaa is a bit of a one trick pony - I like him coming off the bench and smashing through people.

I think Glasgae will be favourites to win this. WE never do well up there and I think they will fancy themselves to put one over on us.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

How long is Browne signed for? I think he's a bloody good addition to the squad. Obviously just battering through til Thorn gets here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Glasgow is a tough place to go but I'm not particularly worried by that team.

I think it will be close but Leinster will win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

is Rudduck injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Think he's with the Irish setup...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

... actually, where's Locky? He's been hitting form. Based on last week I would've started a backrow of 6. Locky, 7. Ryan and 8. Auva. Jennings forced his game last week, so aside from his experience and niggily game style, I can't see why he's there and Locky is not. Any injury concerns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

I'm not completely sure, but I think a few of the lads were drafted into the Ireland set-up. Given how long it's been since they had a game, apparently they had some pretty intense match-like training sessions, and a few lads were drafted in to put it about. I'd imagine Locky was one of them.

• Personally think Browne has been immense this season.

He's never once looked out of his depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭ongarite

What injury is Browne carrying?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

ongarite wrote: »

Some kind of shoulder injury I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

ongarite wrote: »

Shoulder injury. He's been playing through it for the last few weeks. There was a thing in the paper about it a week or so ago, and Schmidt said that he'd probably need surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

Podge_irl wrote: »
    How long is Browne signed for? I think he's a bloody good addition to the squad. Obviously just battering through til Thorn gets here.
    When is Thorn expected? Beginning of March is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

ray jay wrote: »
    When is Thorn expected? Beginning of March is it?

Yeah, supposed to be. I think the theory was that by starting in March, the three month period would cover up to end of May to include potential HC final and league knockouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Well there is the famous Joe rotation in action.

Good to have the likes of O'Malley/McGrath/Hagan/Conway to spring from the bench.

Not very confident about this game, always hard.

Any points from this game will be a decent result. Glasgow are hard hit by selections too but we've a very mixed side. Think we lack one or two class performers up front that we need to take control of a game. Our bench is better but I'm not sure we'll be able to get the score board moving enough to be in with a shot when they enter the fray. Leinster need to keep the ball at all costs. No kicking from Madigan. Firhill is a tight ground and his kicking radar is unreliable at best. Keep it, run at them hard, suck them in, get Auva'a, Strauss and Ryan taking it into contact. Then strike with the back three hitting the line. Nacewa needs to deliver a big game, I feel, if we're to get anything.

Glad that COS and Macken are given another game to develop their partnership. BOD and Darce. EOM and McFadden. COS and Macken. Developing partnerships and the future nicely there. Not sure COS is of the required standard but think he'll be able to do a solid job in Pro12 over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭leonard7

all we need now is a leinster victory for a full set of irish victories in the rabo

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Toner has played in 20 games this season. Leinster have played 21 games this season! His average time on the pitch per his 20 games is 67 mins. He gets a lot of undeserved stick but is a very valuable member of the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Toner has played in 20 games this season. Leinster have played 21 games this season! His average time on the pitch per his 20 games is 67 mins. He gets a lot of undeserved stick but is a very valuable member of the squad.

At the end of last season there were a lot of people giving out about Toner, I think he even had his own thread here. He's proved his doubters wrong this season. He's become an important player for Leinster this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Anyone got English radio commentary? Too tired to do Irish after just watching 2 games on the trot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Let's finish off a clean sweep for Irish teams!

No red button bbc alba it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Let's finish off a clean sweep for Irish teams!
    We're on for 6/7
    Ireland, Ireland U20s, Women, and three provinces only Leinster to finish things off

big ask but we can do it

John Lacey reffing. Good stuff. Always enjoy his approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

No red button bbc alba it seems

Damn!

Madigan kicks. Maybe only the long ones?

Unlucky, off the post!

Fantastic defence by VDM. Great hit.

Right, who is this lad pinging touch finders in behind the opposition and taking kicks at goal? Where's Madigan?

I'm very conflicted here. I bet on Glasgow to win.
    Totally ruining my enjoyment of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

durkadurka wrote: »

Never bet against your team. Kills the fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

You should get banished to the Munster thread for that kind of carry on... :D

Apologies.
    Nasty one there from Browne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Some boot on Jackson there!

Carr has a boot on him hasn't he.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

this match is bloody awful.

The weather and pathetic crowd are helping.

Poison to watch but that's Scottish rugby generally. Drag the opposition into trench warfare and make then play at your level. Then they beat you with experience. Weather is fitting the plan nicely.

Everything about it is shyte.
    Weather, pitch, intensity , team selections,Tactics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

ah jaysus...now nacewa is dropping catches. i hate firhill

3rd game in a row of awful weather for Leinster

Madigan 0/2 with the boot will never make it :p:p

Is he only taking the long ones I wonder?

Very lucky not to be yellow. Ball was long, long gone.

Is he only taking the long ones I wonder?
    looks like it, Nacewa has this kick but misses